Buran Ransomware繼續其前身VegaLocker的破壞性遺產

buran ransomware encryption

Buran勒索軟件於2019年5月首次開始取得進展。惡意軟件感染是一種勒索軟件即服務(RaaS)威脅。利用RaaS威脅是網絡犯罪分子賺錢的一種相當普遍的方式。解釋這種過程的最簡單方法是理解RaaS攻擊是基於訂閱的模型的一部分,該模型甚至允許最不熟練的網絡攻擊者將勒索軟件威脅發佈到網絡上。這也不是一個新的,嶄露頭角的方案。它已經在線可用了很長時間。您甚至可以在市場上遇到大量RaaS軟件包,這些軟件包完全消除了編寫惡意軟件的需求。

這就是為什麼它對於想要發動惡意感染並在網上造成嚴重破壞但不具備相應技術知識的人們的理想服務。該模型使任何人都可以成為RaaS軟件包的“會員”。該過程涉及聯盟成員將勒索軟件分發給毫無戒心的受害者,勒索軟件的創建者從隨後的勒索中獲得了一定的收益。其他臭名昭著的RaaS威脅包括流行名稱,例如REVil,GandCrab,Phobos。此類威脅的範圍相當廣泛,其中包括Buran的前身VegaLocker勒索軟件。

整個會員RaaS系統都是在協作的基礎上工作的。這是惡意軟件代碼作者和使用該代碼的人將其釋放給毫無戒心的受害者之間的信任系統。編寫惡意代碼的人將從勒索軟件攻擊中獲得收入作為佣金。大多數RaaS威脅的收費在30%到40%之間。 Buran僅要求25%,這大大降低了競爭對手的價格。更重要的是,Buran的創作者可以進行談判。有可能將佣金金額降低得更低,從而使利用Buran的想法對網絡犯罪分子更具吸引力。

Buran勒索軟件甚至都有廣告!他們宣布,每個潛在的會員都可以與惡意軟件代碼創建者進行個性化交易。勒索軟件在一個受歡迎的俄羅斯論壇上進行了廣告宣傳,試圖引起人們的更多關注。消息如下:





Buran是一款穩定的脫機加密時鐘,功能靈活且支持24/7。
功能性:
使用全局和會話密鑰+隨機文件密鑰的可靠加密算法;
掃描所有本地驅動器和所有可用的網絡路徑;
高速:每個磁盤和網絡路徑都有單獨的流;
跳過Windows系統目錄和瀏覽器目錄;
基於加密文件的解密器生成;
從Windows XP,Server 2003到最新的所有操作系統上都可以正確工作;
儲物櫃沒有依賴關係,不使用第三方庫,僅使用數學和vinapi。
完成釋放打開文件的某些過程(可選,已協商);
無需更改擴展名即可加密文件的能力(可選);
刪除專用服務器上的恢復點+清理日誌(可選);
標準選項:點擊,啟動,自我刪除(可選);
在CIS段中安裝了防止啟動的保護措施。
條件:
根據數量和材料,為每個廣告分別協商價格。
開始與我們一起賺錢!

如上所讀,該廣告聲稱Buran“在CIS細分市場中安裝了防止啟動的保護措施”。如果您不熟悉,CIS就是獨立國家聯合體,從根本上說是一個曾經是獨立國家聯合體的國家的聯邦前蘇聯。聯盟中包括的國家是亞美尼亞,白俄羅斯,哈薩克斯坦,吉爾吉斯斯坦,摩爾多瓦,俄羅斯,塔吉克斯坦,土庫曼斯坦,烏克蘭和烏茲別克斯坦。排除Buran的潛在攻擊也可能是其創建者屬於所列國家之一的線索。

研究人員進行了徹底的檢查,以驗證十個邦聯國家的排除聲明。僅有三名被證實是真正安全的Buran離合器。一旦勒索軟件侵入您的系統,它就會運行檢查–試圖找出您的計算機在哪裡註冊。而且,如果透露它已在白俄羅斯,俄羅斯或烏克蘭註冊,則Buran退出並且沒有明顯的作用。

Buran誇大其詞是“在Windows XP,Server 2003到最新的所有操作系統上正確工作”的說法。儘管有“包容性”的說法,但研究人員已經證明這是騙人的。但是,Windows XP似乎不受Buran的攻擊。

Buran勒索軟件的演變

在談論Buran勒索軟件之前,請不要提及Jumper(Jamper)威脅和VegaLocker威脅。 Buran勒索軟件是前兩個的演變。 VegaLocker勒索軟件於2019年2月首次發現,而Jumper於2019年3月被發現。而且如上所述,Buran勒索軟件於2019年5月出現。這三種感染是所謂的“惡意軟件家族”的一部分。一個是原始版本,它被其他兩個創建者所困擾,並困擾著Web用戶。

VegaLocker,Jumper和Buran勒索軟件具有許多相似之處,並且鏈接在一起。已知所有這三種威脅都會修改註冊表–它們會創建多個註冊表項,以試圖鎖定到您的PC上並導致移除困難。威脅還以相同方式在臨時文件夾中創建和存儲文件。它們共享相同的基本代碼,隨著威脅的每次演變都對其進行修改。惡意軟件作者修改了他們的惡意軟件代碼,以使其功能更好(入侵您的系統並儘可能有效地造成破壞)。他們試圖繞過防病毒程序並避免安全研究人員進行檢測。這是VegaLocker進行盡可能多的修訂的最可能原因。 Buran只是該代碼的最新重申。

Buran勒索軟件可以掃描本地驅動器和網絡路徑。它可以在不更改擴展名的情況下加密文件 ,以及刪除恢復點,清除日誌和刪除備份目錄。如果Buran需要隱藏自己以逃避偵查,它也可以自行刪除。

惡意軟件研究人員發現,網絡上存在兩種版本的Buran勒索軟件,它們會積極影響計算機用戶。兩者都是用Delphi編寫的,這使得逆向工程變得相當棘手。它們仍然非常相似,但確實存在一些關鍵差異。首先,更新後的Buran具有兩個新功能可供使用。它的創建者引入了兩個新過程–卷影副本刪除過程;和備份目錄刪除。 Buran勒索軟件似乎每幾個月都會遭受其創建者的改進。可以公平地說,不能排除勒索軟件的新變體,也類似於VegaLocker勒索軟件。除了更新,如果來自安全專家的壓力太大,Buran甚至可以忍受另一個品牌更改。

Buran Ransomware的入侵策略-它如何最終出現在您的系統中

Buran勒索軟件通過Rig Exploit Kit傳送到您的PC中。它使用Microsoft Internet Explorer VBScript Engine Engine RCE漏洞(CVE-2018-8174)利用計算機進行部署。一旦漏洞利用成功,它將啟動一系列命令,將Buran下載到您的系統上。

當Rig攻擊工具包將Buran可執行文件拖放到PC上時,將立即執行。然後,勒索軟件確保將其自身複製到文件路徑%APPDATA%\ microsoft \ windows \ ctfmon.exe,然後啟動。它會繼續進行加密,但不會針對計算機上的每個文件。而是,它從加密中排除某些擴展。它們如下: .cmd,.com,.cpl,.dll,.msc,.msp,.pif,.scr,.sys,.log,.exe,.buran。它還排除某些文件夾和文件。

排除的文件夾:






\Windows媒體播放器\
\蘋果電腦\野生動物園\
\ Windows照片查看器\
\ Windows便攜式設備\
\ Windows安全\
\嵌入式鎖定管理器\
\參考程序集\
:\ windows.old \
:\ inetpub \ logs \
:\ $ recycle.bin \
:\ $ windows。〜bt \
\應用數據\
\谷歌瀏覽器\
\火狐瀏覽器\
\ opera軟件\
\ tor瀏覽器\
\共同文件\
\IE瀏覽器\
\Windows Defender的\
\ windows mail \
\ Windows NT \
\ windowspowershell \
\ Windows日記\
\ Windows邊欄\
\程序包緩存\
\ Microsoft幫助\
:\回收站
:\視窗\
c:\ windows \
:\英特爾\
:\ nvidia \
\所有用戶\
\應用程序數據\
\ boot \
\谷歌\
\ mozilla \
\歌劇\
\ msbuild \
\微軟\

排除的文件:





!!!您的文件已加密!!!。txt
引導程序
bootfont.bin
bootsect.bak
防御者
desktop.ini
iconcache.db
ntdetect.com
ntuser.dat.log
解鎖器
主程序
大師
ntldr
ntuser.dat
ntuser.ini
臨時文件
thumbs.db
解鎖文件

鑽機攻擊工具包並不是Buran入侵的唯一方法。也有通常的技巧–免費軟件,垃圾郵件運動,鏈接損壞,網站或種子。也使用IQY文件附件方法發現了Buran。這些Microsoft Excel Web查詢附件在打開後會執行遠程命令。該命令繼續將勒索軟件安裝到計算機上。如果您不確定什麼是IQY文件,它們就是Excel Web Query文檔。當您打開這樣的文檔時,它會嘗試使用外部源將數據導入工作表中。始終保持謹慎和謹慎的態度。勤奮可以防止您不經意地將感染感染到PC中。最後,謹慎使用可以為您節省大量麻煩,並可能因丟失數據而使您不得不恢復系統。

德國公司淪為Buran勒索軟件攻擊的受害者

2019年10月,有報導稱無數德國組織成為Buran分發活動的目標。他們成為使用eFax誘餌的垃圾郵件活動的受害者,此外還包含惡意的Word文檔。贖金記錄已翻譯成德語以適應該地點。

這些組織收到的用於最初傳播勒索軟件的垃圾郵件包含指向PHP頁面的鏈接。然後,該頁面放送了惡意的Word文檔,這些文檔將以後言的形式下載Buran威脅。這種使用超鏈接而不是附件的方式表明,發起惡意活動的人們試圖避免被惡意軟件掃描程序檢測到(掃描儀通常設置為阻止垃圾郵件)。

以德國公司為目標的具體案例只是一個例子,它證明了Buran並不是以過度針對性的方式傳播的感染。它適應了每個廣告系列背後的會員的需求。該惡意軟件的使用方式已獲得“商品惡意軟件”的名稱。這僅意味著其開發不依賴於特定目標。目標不會塑造它,而是Buran塑造它以適合目標。

從Buran勒索軟件攻擊中可以期待什麼

在Buran勒索軟件對您的PC發起攻擊之後,您可能會想到一些事情。勒索軟件將一系列文件和文件夾列入黑名單。它的行為有一個目的-感染希望確保其能夠像創建者所期望的那樣運行,而不會破壞其功能。在被識別為威脅之前,Buran優先考慮加密驅動器號和文件夾。

一旦Buran勒索軟件進入您的系統,它就會使用強大的加密算法來鎖定您的數據。它使目標文件不可訪問。圖片,文檔,檔案,視頻。您的文件被重命名。勒索軟件將您的唯一ID附加到每個文件的背面,您會發現文件上有一堆新添加的數字。例如,文件名“ sample.jpg”變成“ sample.jpg.48E7EE9F-3B50-B177-0614-DF09178EE722”。

buran加密的文件
Buran勒索軟件加密文件後,重命名文件的示例。

完成加密過程後,Buran會留下贖金單。這是一個名為“!”的文件!您的所有文件都被加密!.TXT。”您可以在每個包含鎖定文件的文件夾中以及您的桌面上找到它。攻擊的受害者報告了一些贖金,並且他們之間略有差異。


Buran的兩個贖金票據之間的偏差示例。

Buran贖金票據的文字內容:





!!!您的文件已加密!!!
您所有的文件,文檔,照片,數據庫和其他重要內容
文件已加密。
您無法自行解密!唯一的方法
恢復文件的方法是購買唯一的私鑰。
只有我們才能為您提供此密鑰,只有我們才能恢復您的文件。
為確保我們擁有解密器並且它可以正常工作,您可以發送
給polssh1@protonmail.com發電子郵件,並免費解密一個文件。但是這個
文件應該沒有價值!
您真的要還原文件嗎?
寫電子郵件至polssh1@protonmail.com,polssh@protonmail.com,BhatMaker@protonmail.com,BhatMaker@tutanota.com,stopcrypt @ cock.email,decryptor @ cock.email,sofiasqhwells0gw@gmail.com,harveyjq9freemannl1@gmail.com
您的個人ID:-
注意!
*不要重命名加密文件。
*請勿嘗試使用第三方軟件解密您的數據,
它可能會導致永久性數據丟失。
*可能會在第三方幫助下解密文件
導致價格上漲(他們會向我們收取費用),或者您可以
成為騙局的受害者。

該說明指出,除非您付款,否則文件將仍然丟失。這是因為Buran為每個受害者創建一個唯一的解密密鑰,並將其存儲在遠程服務器上,而您作為受害者無法訪問它。 Buran竭盡所能,將您帶入一個唯一的選擇-合規性。據說,一旦您支付了贖金,便會收到解密所有內容所需的密鑰。問題是,大多數(如果不是全部)勒索軟件被證明是騙局, 可能永遠不會放棄文件 。感染使您想听到的東西充滿了您的耳朵,並希望您愛上它。確保您沒有!

沒有指定確切的贖金金額,但假定約為500美元和1500美元,預計將以某種類型的數字貨幣(比特幣,門羅幣,以太坊等)支付。儘管有Buran的承諾,付款還是徒勞的。您正在與詐騙者打交道-惡意的網絡犯罪分子,他們會騙您的天真性,希望能迅速賺錢。不要成為他們為您設置的陷阱的受害者。不要被騙到付款。您可能擁有的唯一避難所是文件和特定反惡意軟件資源的系統備份,以消除威脅,從而努力保存和恢復盡可能多的可訪問數據。

February 10, 2020

發表評論

Buran Ransomware Continues the Destructive Legacy of Its Predecessor VegaLocker

buran ransomware encryption

Buran ransomware first began making headway in May 2019. The malware infection is a Ransomware-as-a-Service threat, or RaaS. Leveraging RaaS threats is a rather common way for cybercriminals to make money. The simplest way to explain such a process is to understand that a RaaS attack is part of a subscription-based model that allows even the most unskilled cyber attacker to launch a ransomware threat onto the web. That's not a new, up-and-coming scheme either. It's been available online for quite some time. You can even come across a multitude of RaaS packages on the market, ones that completely cut out the need to code malware.

That's why it's a perfect service for people who want to launch a malicious infection and wreak havoc online but don't have the technical knowledge to do so. The model lets anyone become an 'affiliate' of a RaaS package. The process involves affiliates distributing the ransomware to unsuspecting victims, and, the ransomware's creators get a cut of the profits from the extortion that follows. Other notorious RaaS threats include popular names like REVil, GandCrab, Phobos. The list of such threats is rather extensive, including Buran’s predecessor known as VegaLocker ransomware.

The entire affiliate-RaaS system works on the grounds of a collaboration. It's a system of trust between the malware code author, and the person using said code to unleash it onto unsuspecting victims. The person who crafted the malicious code gets a commission of the income earned from the ransomware attacks. Most RaaS threats charge anywhere between 30% to 40%. Buran demands only 25%, which undercuts its competitors' prices quite well. What's more, Buran's creators are open to negotiations. There is the potential to drop the commission amount even lower, making the idea of leveraging Buran even more attractive to cybercriminals.

Buran ransomware even has ads! They announce that each potential affiliate gets to make a personalized deal with the malware code creator. The ransomware was advertised in a popular Russian forum in an attempt to garner additional attention. The message is as follows:

Buran is a stable offline cryptoclocker, with flexible functionality and support 24/7.
Functional:
Reliable cryptographic algorithm using global and session keys + random file keys;
Scan all local drives and all available network paths;
High speed: a separate stream works for each disk and network path;
Skipping Windows system directories and browser directories;
Decryptor generation based on an encrypted file;
Correct work on all OSs from Windows XP, Server 2003 to the latest;
The locker has no dependencies, does not use third-party libraries, only mathematics and vinapi;
The completion of some processes to free open files (optional, negotiated);
The ability to encrypt files without changing extensions (optional);
Removing recovery points + cleaning logs on a dedicated server (optional);
Standard options: tapping, startup, self-deletion (optional);
Installed protection against launch in the CIS segment.
Conditions:
They are negotiated individually for each advert depending on volumes and material.
Start earning with us!

As it reads above, the ad claims that Buran has ''installed protection against launch in the CIS segment.'' In case you're unfamiliar, CIS is the Commonwealth of Independent States, fundamentally a confederation of countries that were once part of the Soviet Union. The countries included in the confederation are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. The exclusion from Buran's potential attack may as well be a clue that its creators belong to one of the listed countries.

Researchers performed thorough checks to verify the statement of exclusion for the ten confederation countries. Only three were confirmed to be truly safe from Buran's clutches. As soon as the ransomware slithers into your system, it runs a check – it attempts to find out where your machine is registered. And, if it's revealed to be registered into Belarus, Russia, or Ukraine, Buran exits and has no apparent effect.

An exaggeration on Buran's part is its statement ''Correct work on all OSs from Windows XP, Server 2003 to the latest.'' Despite these claims of 'inclusivity,' researchers have proven this to be deceitful. However, Windows XP seems to be immune to attacks from Buran.

The Evolution of Buran Ransomware

You cannot talk about Buran ransomware without mentioning the Jumper (Jamper) threat, and the VegaLocker menace. Buran ransomware is an evolution of the previous two. VegaLocker ransomware was first discovered in February 2019, Jumper – in March 2019. And, as stated, Buran ransomware came to be in May 2019. Those three infections are part of what's known as a 'malware family.' One is the original, which gave way for the other two to be created and plague web users.

VegaLocker, Jumper, and Buran ransomware are linked together with many similarities. All three of the threats are known to modify the Registry – they create multiple registry keys in an attempt to latch onto your PC and render removal difficult. The threats also create and store files on temporary folders, in the same way. They share the same base code, which gets modified with each evolution of the threat. Malware authors modify their malware code to make it better at its job (invading your system and wreaking havoc as efficiently as possible). They're attempting to pivot around anti-virus programs and avoid detection at the hands of security researchers. That's the most probable reason why VegaLocker has had as many revisions as it has. Buran is only the latest reiteration of the code.

Buran ransomware can scan local drives and network paths. It can encrypt files without changing extensions, as well as remove recovery points, clear logs, and delete the backup catalog. Buran can also self-delete, if it ever has the need to hide itself to evade detection.

Malware researchers have discovered two versions of Buran ransomware floating around the web, that actively affect computer users. Both are written in Delphi, which makes reverse engineering a rather tricky process. They remain quite similar but do share a few key differences. For one, the updated Buran has two new features attributed at its disposal. Its creators have introduced two new processes – shadow copies delete process; and backup catalog deletion. The Buran ransomware seems to endure improvements from its creators every few months. It's fair to say that new variants of the ransomware, also similar to VegaLocker ransomware, cannot be excluded as an option. Other than updates, Buran might even get to endure another brand name change, if it gets too much pressure from security experts.

Buran Ransomware's Invasion Strategy – How It Ends Up in Your System

Buran ransomware gets delivered into your PC via the Rig Exploit Kit. It uses Microsoft Internet Explorer VBScript Engine Engine RCE vulnerability (CVE-2018-8174) to exploit machines for deployment. Once the exploit is a success, it launches a series of commands that download Buran on your system.

When the Rig exploit kit drops the Buran executable on your PC, immediate execution follows. The ransomware then makes sure to copy itself to the file path %APPDATA%\microsoft\windows\ctfmon.exe, and launches. It proceeds with encryption but does not target every single file on your machine. Rather, it excludes certain extensions from encryption. They are as follows: .cmd, .com, .cpl, .dll, .msc, .msp, .pif, .scr, .sys, .log, .exe, .buran. It also excludes certain folders and files.

Excluded folders:

\windows media player\
\apple computer\safari\
\windows photo viewer\
\windows portable devices\
\windows security\
\embedded lockdown manager\
\reference assemblies\
:\windows.old\
:\inetpub\logs\
:\$recycle.bin\
:\$windows.~bt\
\application data\
\google\chrome\
\mozilla firefox\
\opera software\
\tor browser\
\common files\
\internet explorer\
\windows defender\
\windows mail\
\windows nt\
\windowspowershell\
\windows journal\
\windows sidebar\
\package cache\
\microsoft help\
:\recycler
:\windows\
c:\windows\
:\intel\
:\nvidia\
\all users\
\appdata\
\boot\
\google\
\mozilla\
\opera\
\msbuild\
\microsoft\

Excluded files:

!!! your files are encrypted !!!.txt
boot.ini
bootfont.bin
bootsect.bak
defender.exe
desktop.ini
iconcache.db
ntdetect.com
ntuser.dat.log
unlocker.exe
master.exe
master.dat
ntldr
ntuser.dat
ntuser.ini
temp.txt
thumbs.db
unlock.exe

The Rig Exploit Kit is not the only method of invasion Buran uses. There are also the usual tricks – freeware, spam email campaigns, corrupted links, sites, or torrents. Buran has been spotted using the IQY file attachment method, as well. When opened, these Microsoft Excel Web Query attachments execute a remote command. That command proceeds to install the ransomware onto the machine. In case you're unsure of what IQY files are, they are Excel Web Query documents. When you open such a document, it attempts to import data into a worksheet using external sources. Always be wary and cautious in doing so. Diligence prevents you from unwittingly inviting infections into your PC. In the end, using caution can save you a ton of trouble and the aggravation of potentially having to restore your system due to lost data.

German Companies Fall Victim to Buran Ransomware Attacks

In October 2019, reports came out that a myriad of German organizations became targets of a distribution campaign for Buran. They fell victim to a spam campaign that used an eFax lure, in addition to a malicious Word document. The ransom note was translated in German to accommodate the location.

The spam email these organizations received, used to initially spread the ransomware, contained links to a PHP page. That page then served the malicious Word documents, which would, afterwords, download the Buran threat. This use of hyperlinks, instead of attachments, indicates that the people that started the malicious campaign tried to avoid detection by malware scanners (scanners are usually set up to block spam emails).

The specific targeting of German companies is only one example that adds evidence to the idea that Buran is not an infection distributed in a hyper-targeted manner. It's adapted to the needs and desires of the affiliates behind each campaign. The malware is used in a way that has earned the name 'commodity malware.' That only means that its development is not reliant on a particular target. Targets do not mold it, but rather Buran molds it to fit the targets.

What to Expect from a Buran Ransomware Strike

After Buran ransomware initiates its attack on your PC, there are a few things you can expect to happen. The ransomware blacklists an array of files and folders. There's a purpose to its actions - the infection wants to ensure that it can perform as its creators expect, without breaking its functionality. Before it's recognized as a threat, Buran makes it a priority to encrypt the drive letters and folders.

As soon as Buran ransomware slithers its way into your system, it uses strong encryption algorithms to lock your data. It renders the targeted files inaccessible. Pictures, documents, archives, videos. Your files get renamed. The ransomware attaches your unique ID to the back of each file, and you find your files have a bunch of newly-appended numbers stuck to them. An example would be the file name 'sample.jpg' turning into 'sample.jpg.48E7EE9F-3B50-B177-0614-DF09178EE722.'

buran encrytped files
Example of renamed files after Buran ransomware encrypts them.

Once it finishes the encryption process, Buran leaves you the ransom note. It's a file called ''!!! ALL YOUR FILES ARE ENCRYPTED !!!.TXT.'' You can discover it in each folder that contains the locked files, as well as on your Desktop. There are a few ransom notes that victims of the attack have reported, and they have slight variations between them.


Example of the deviations between Buran's two ransom notes.

Text contents of a Buran ransom note:

!!! YOUR FILES ARE ENCRYPTED !!!
All your files, documents, photos, databases and other important
files are encrypted.
You are not able to decrypt it by yourself! The only method
of recovering files is to purchase an unique private key.
Only we can give you this key and only we can recover your files.
To be sure we have the decryptor and it works you can send an
email polssh1@protonmail.com and decrypt one file for free. But this
file should be of not valuable!
Do you really want to restore your files?
Write to email polssh1@protonmail.com, polssh@protonmail.com, BhatMaker@protonmail.com, BhatMaker@tutanota.com, stopcrypt@cock.email, decryptor@cock.email, sofiasqhwells0gw@gmail.com, harveyjq9freemannl1@gmail.com
Your personal ID: -
Attention!
* Do not rename encrypted files.
* Do not try to decrypt your data using third party software,
it may cause permanent data loss.
* Decryption of your files with the help of third parties may
cause increased price (they add their fee to our) or you can
become a victim of a scam.

The note states that unless you pay up, your files will remain lost to you. That's because Buran creates a unique decryption key for each victim, and stores it on remote servers, where you, the victim, cannot access it. Buran does its best to back you into a corner with one remaining option – compliance. Supposedly, once you pay the ransom, you'll receive the key you need to decrypt everything. The thing is, with most, if not all, ransomware proves to be a con and may never relinquish the files. The infection fills your ears with what you want to hear and hopes you fall for it. Make sure you don't!

The exact ransom amount is not specified but it is presumed that it's around $500 and $1500, which is expected to be paid in some type of digital currency (Bitcoin, Monero, Ethereum, and so on). Despite Buran's promises, payment will prove futile. You're dealing with scammers – malicious cybercriminals, who prey on your naivety in hopes of making a quick buck. Don't fall victim to the trap they lay for you. Don't get scammed into payment. The only refuge you may have is a system backup of your files and particular antimalware resources to eliminate the threat in an effort to save and recover as much accessible data as you can.

February 10, 2020

Leave a Reply