勒索軟件運營商現在可以在加密數據之前竊取您的數據

Zeppelin Ransomware Steals Data Before Encryption

勒索軟件一次又一次被證明是網絡犯罪分子武器庫中最強大的武器之一。最初,黑客需要創建自己的文件加密惡意軟件家族,這並不是在公園裡散步,但是現在,租用或下載免費使用的病毒很容易。大多數用戶仍未完全意識到潛伏在互聯網各個角落的危險,這意味著感染率通常很高,而同樣的缺乏意識意味著,許多人不定期備份其文件,反過來,對騙子的加密貨幣錢包中的餘額產生積極影響。

這是一種久經考驗的業務模型,已經為許多人使用。但是,這並不意味著威脅沒有發展。事實並非如此。

過去,勒索軟件主要用於主要針對家庭用戶的噴霧和祈禱活動中。但是,近幾個月來,網絡犯罪分子意識到,打擊大型組織的利潤可能會更大,而且重點已經轉移了一些。網絡安全專家現在發現了另一個更加令人擔憂的趨勢。

Zeppelin勒索軟件在加密之前會竊取組織的數據

12月初,Morphisec的研究人員目睹他們在房地產行業工作的一位客戶的襲擊 。經過更深入的調查,他們意識到黑客正在嘗試使用Zeppelin勒索軟件(VegaLocker勒索軟件即服務系列的最新版本)感染該公司。攻擊者正在使用名為ConnectWise Control(fka ScreenConnect)的遠程桌面應用程序,通常,感染鏈沒有什麼異常之處。

但是,研究人員注意到,勒索軟件一旦在受害者的Windows數據庫服務器之一中發現自己,便試圖創建數據的副本,然後將其發送到騙子的命令與控制(C&C)服務器。此後,它嘗試進一步傳播到網絡,最後部署了文件加密模塊。

換句話說,Zeppelin勒索軟件試圖在鎖定數據並將其保存以進行勒索之前先竊取該公司的數據。根據ZDNet的Catalin Cimpanu所說 ,這絕非唯一採用這種策略的勒索軟件。他說,使用Maze,REvil和Snatch勒索軟件樣本的攻擊者也進行了類似的活動。但是為什麼他們突然認為這是個好主意呢?

更可靠的還原機制

如果您考慮一下,對於黑客來說,在加密文件之前先竊取文件並索要贖金是很有意義的。在竊取大量數據的同時,確實確實存在引起懷疑的風險,但是通常被捕獲的可能性並不高。當您查看附加步驟所帶來的優勢時,您甚至會開始懷疑他們為什麼沒有更早地想到它。

在常規的勒索軟件攻擊中,當受害者決定支付贖金時,他們將比特幣發送到騙子的錢包,作為回報,他們希望有一個程序可以解密鎖定的文件。在某些情況下,騙子只是為了賺錢而奔波,但是有許多勒索軟件運營商確實有真正的意圖,一旦他們收到付款,便將受害者的數據還給他們。他們確實需要編寫自己的解密器,但是不幸的是,有時它們會犯錯誤。

我們已經聽到許多關於由於解密工具故障而儘管支付了贖金卻丟失了數據的人的故事。用戶是丟失錢財和數據的人,但對騙子的影響也是負面的,他們最終看起來並不十分值得信賴,因此不太可能被未來的受害者獲得報酬。

但是,如果黑客擁有未加密數據的副本,則他們可以在付款後將其簡單地發送回受害者,並確保事情能夠相對輕鬆地恢復正常。

請注意,如果受害者有備份,那麼所有這些都是毫無意義的。除非,當然,除非贖金未付,否則黑客威脅要洩漏數據。

更多勒索槓桿

正如我們已經提到的,目標通常是大型組織。黑客無法從中竊取假日照片或令人尷尬的自拍照,但可以洩露商業秘密和其他極有價值的信息。當受攻擊的公司說因為有備份而不會付款時,騙子很容易威脅到它洩漏所有敏感數據。

根據ZDNet的報告,勒索軟件運營商已經將被盜的數據庫用作第二勒索點,而運行Maze勒索軟件的騙子甚至創建了一個網站,其中列出了所有拒絕支付贖金並隨後將其數據暴露給他人的公司。群組。

必須說,並非所有黑客團隊都能夠發動這種破壞性攻擊。如果他們想竊取和加密來自許多不同用戶或公司的信息,則他們將需要龐大的C&C基礎架構,這對於建立和維護而言可能是昂貴的。但是,那些設法提出正確設置的人將具有一定的優勢。

December 19, 2019

發表評論

Ransomware Operators Can Now Steal Your Data Before Encrypting It

Zeppelin Ransomware Steals Data Before Encryption

Ransomware has proven time and again to be one of the most powerful weapons in the cybercriminals' arsenal. Initially, hackers would need to create their own family of file-encrypting malware, which isn't exactly a walk in the park, but right now, renting or downloading free-to-use strains is easy. Most users are still not fully aware of the dangers that lurk around every corner of the internet, which means that the infection rates are usually pretty good, and the same lack of awareness means that many don't keep regular backups of their files which, in turn, has a positive effect on the balance in the crooks' cryptocurrency wallets.

It's a tried and tested business model that has worked for many. This doesn't mean that the threat isn't evolving, though. Far from it, in fact.

In the past, ransomware was used mostly in spray-and-pray campaigns primarily targeted at home users. In recent months, however, the cybercriminals have realized that the profits from hitting large organizations could be bigger, and the focus has shifted somewhat. Cybersecurity experts have now spotted another, more worrying trend.

Zeppelin ransomware steals organizations' data before encrypting it

In early December, Morphisec researchers witnessed an attack on a customer of theirs working in the real estate sector. After a closer investigation, they realized that the hackers were trying to infect the company with the Zeppelin ransomware, the latest version of the VegaLocker ransomware-as-a-service family. The attackers were exploiting a remote desktop application by the name of ConnectWise Control (f.k.a. ScreenConnect), and in general, there was nothing too unusual about the infection chain.

The researchers noticed, however, that once it found itself on one of the victim's Windows database servers, the ransomware tried to create a copy of the data and then send it to the crooks' Command & Control (C&C) server. After that, it tried to propagate further down the network, and it finally deployed the file-encrypting module.

In other words, the Zeppelin ransomware tried to steal the company's data before locking it and holding it for ransom. According to ZDNet's Catalin Cimpanu, this is far from the only ransomware strain to employ such tactics. He said that attackers using the Maze, REvil, and Snatch ransomware samples have also engaged in similar activities. But why have they suddenly decided that this is a good idea?

A more reliable restore mechanism

If you think about it, for hackers, stealing the files before encrypting them and demanding a ransom makes a lot of sense. They do indeed run the risk of raising suspicion while trying to exfiltrated a lot of data, but the likelihood of getting caught usually isn't that high. And when you take a look at the advantages the additional step brings, you'll even start to wonder why they didn't think of it earlier.

In a regular ransomware attack, when the victim decides to pay the ransom, they send bitcoins to the crooks' wallet, and in return, they expect a program that decrypts the locked files. In some cases, the crooks just take the money and run, but there are plenty of ransomware operators that do have the genuine intention to give victims their data back once they've received the payment. They do need to write their own decryptors, though, and unfortunately, they sometimes make mistakes.

We've heard plenty of stories of people who have lost data despite paying the ransom because of a faulty decryption tool. The users are the ones who lose money and data, but the impact is also negative for the crooks, who don't end up looking very trustworthy and are therefore less likely to get paid by future victims.

If the hackers have a copy of the unencrypted data, however, they can simply send it back to the victims after the payment and ensure that things will get back to normal relatively painlessly.

Mind you, if the victim has a backup, all this would be pointless. Unless, of course, the hackers threaten to leak the data if the ransom isn't paid.

More blackmail leverage

As we mentioned already, often, the targets are large organizations. Hackers can't steal holiday photos or embarrassing selfies from them, but they can exfiltrate trade secrets and other extremely valuable information. And when the attacked company says that it won't pay because it has backups, the crooks can easily threaten it to leak all the sensitive data.

According to ZDNet's report, ransomware operators have already used the stolen databases as a second extortion point, and the crooks running the Maze ransomware have even created a website in which they list all companies that refused to pay the ransom and subsequently had their data exposed by the group.

It must be said that not all hacking crews are capable of pulling off such a destructive attack. If they want to steal and encrypt information from many different users or companies, they will need a large C&C infrastructure, which could be expensive to set up and maintain. Those who manage to come up with the correct setup, however, will have a definite advantage.

December 19, 2019

Leave a Reply