如何保护备份免受勒索软件攻击

我们现在几乎所做的一切都被数字化,以便于存储和访问。无论是私人个人存储在自己PC上的项目,还是公司拥有的大量员工,日程安排,商品和服务,几乎每一件与某人相关的信息都会得到同样的待遇 - 它会变成数据并上传进入网络空间。这就是为什么说通过被一块令人讨厌的勒索软件击中来锁定数据并不是一种夸大其词的原因可能会变成一场真正的灾难。

当一个人或公司严重依赖IT来运营其日常活动时,尤其如此 - 在这个时代,什么公司没有?这里的底线是,这是一个人们应该意识到并需要认真对待的威胁。为什么?

网络攻击,特别是勒索软件,多年来变得越来越复杂,虽然网络安全专家已经做出了很好的工作来识别和消除大量的威胁,但这些恶意攻击背后的犯罪分子和犯罪机构仍然很多而且非常巧妙。

很久以前,他们已经超越了他们对勒索软件最初的草率尝试,并且已经完善了方法,以确保他们的受害者无法追索,但是一旦他们对受害者的数据进行肮脏的手指就能满足他们的要求。为此,一旦它进入,勒索软件通常会删除阴影卷副本并禁用可能已经实现的其他方法,目的是恢复丢失的数据。有些人特别攻击服务器并试图尽可能多地感染链接机器,这不仅是一种传播方式,而且是为了确保受害者没有其他办法,只能遵守犯罪分子的要求。

那么你能做些什么来确保你不会成为毁灭性勒索软件攻击的牺牲品呢?

好吧,除了全面收紧网络安全,教育与您的IT系统就网络威胁和使用适当的反恶意软件解决方案进行交互的人员之外,您还应该考虑另一个至关重要的步骤。

备份

备份是将恶意攻击从绝对灾难中转变为可能毁了您的公司或将您的不可替代的个人数据花费给您的行为,这会让您在工作中花费几个小时的时间。最初设计用于防止由于系统或硬件故障导致的数据丢失,它们现在是许多IT系统中的内置功能。但是,正如我们上面提到的,由于网络犯罪分子对此功能是明智的,他们现在攻击并禁用它,然后开始做其他肮脏的工作。那么如何解决这个问题呢?

答案非常简单。只需添加更多备份系统 - 它们越多样化,您的宝贵数据就越安全。可以理解的是,多个系统上的定期备份可能看起来只是需要跳过的另外几个额外的箍,只是为了能够运行 - 但是在紧要关头,这种类型的维护的好处超过了可能产生的资源成本。没法比。

但是你应该备份多少呢?

现在流行的“3-2-1”规则规定,为了使您的数据具有最低安全性,您需要在两个不同的媒体上拥有三个不同的数据副本,其中一个是非现场的. 即使在最糟糕的情况下,这也是确保您有追索权的最低限度 - 而且哪种情况比丢失所有本地存储的数据更加严重,这些数据被加密并置于一些网络骗子的摆布之下?当然,媒体的确切性质以及您需要使用的非现场服务的详细信息由您自己决定。应根据您的个人喜好和需求进行选择 - 当然,您可以根据需要添加额外的保护层。但是,至关重要的是要记住“3-2-1”规则 ,作为保护数据免受一般数据丢失相关灾难,特别是勒索软件攻击所必需的最低限度备份。

August 23, 2019
Uncategorized

How to Protect Backups Against Ransomware Attacks

Almost everything we do nowadays gets digitalized for the purpose of easy storage and accessibility. Whether it's a private person's projects stored on their own PC, or a huge list of employees, schedules, goods and services owned by a company, nearly every piece of information that's relevant to someone gets the same treatment – it gets turned into data and uploaded into cyberspace. This is why it's not an overstatement to say that getting locked away from that data by being hit with a nasty piece of ransomware is could turn out to be a real catastrophe.

This is especially true when it happens to a person or company that relies heavily on IT to operate its day to day activities – and in this day and age, what company doesn't? The bottom line here is that this is a threat that people should be aware of and needs to be taken seriously. Why?

Cyber-attacks, especially ransomware, has only gotten more sophisticated over the years, and while cybersecurity experts have done excellent work identifying and neutralizing a vast amount of threats, the criminals and crime outfits behind such malicious attacks are still numerous and ingenious.

They have outgrown their initial sloppy attempts at ransomware from a long time ago and have perfected methods to make absolutely sure that their victims have no recourse but to comply with their demands once they get their grubby fingers on the victim's data. To this end, once it gets in, ransomware usually deletes shadow volume copies and disables other methods that may have been put into place with the goal of recovering lost data. Some specifically attack servers and try to infect as many linked machines as possible, not only as a way of propagating but to ensure that the victim has no other recourse but to comply with the criminals' demands.

So what can you do to ensure that you don't fall prey to a devastating ransomware attack?

Well, aside from overall tightening your cyber-security, educating the people that interact with your IT systems on the subject of cyberthreats and employing adequate anti-malware solutions, there is another, crucial step that you should consider.

Backups

Backups are what turn a malicious attack from an absolute disaster that can ruin your company or cost you your irreplaceable personal data, into a nuisance that will set you back a couple of hours in your work. Originally designed to prevent data loss due to system or hardware failure, they are now an inbuilt feature in many IT systems. However, as we mentioned above, since cybercriminals are wise to this feature, they now attack and disable it, before setting out to do their other dirty work. So how can this be fixed?

The answer is surprisingly simple. Just put more backup systems in place – the more and more varied they are, the safer your precious data will be. Understandably, regular backups on multiple systems may look like just another couple of extra hoops that you need to jump through, just to be able to function – but in a pinch, the benefits of this type of maintenance outweigh whatever resource costs may have been incurred immeasurably.

But how much should you back up, exactly?

The now popular "3-2-1" rule states that in order to have the minimum amount of security for your data, you need to have three different copies of your data, on two different media, one of which is off-site. This is the bare minimum that ensures that you have recourse, even in the direst situation – and what situation can be more grievous than losing all your locally stored data encrypted and placed at the mercy of some cyber crook? The exact nature of the media and the details concerning the off-site service that you need to employ, is, of course, up to you. It should be chosen based on your personal preferences and needs – and naturally, you can add extra layers of protection as you see fit. However, it is crucial to keep the "3-2-1" rule in mind, as a bare minimum of backup necessary to keep your data safe from all sort of data-loss related disaster in general, and ransomware attacks in particular.

August 2, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 3 ?