Shade Ransomware不再構成威脅:惡意行為者關閉所有操作並釋放了750K解密密鑰

Shade勒索軟件是一種可怕的加密工具,於2014年開始入侵。隨著時間的流逝,該威脅(也稱為Troldesh或Encoder.858)在加密受害者的文件並要求付款以換取其後,開始在受影響的計算機上分發其他惡意軟件。解密。看起來,經過六年的惡意實踐,Shade勒索軟件運營商已決定將其退出。

經過六年的惡意活動,網絡犯罪分子停止了他們的幕後惡意軟件操作

4月,Shade幫派創建了一個GitHub存儲庫,他們在此處宣布他們已在2019年底停止傳播勒索軟件。他們的聲明解釋了2019年底和2020年初受Shade勒索軟件影響的受害者的可疑下降率(圖1)。 ),而不是往年。

多年的陰影惡意軟件感染率

圖1:該圖顯示了從2019年第三季度開始Shade勒索軟件案例的突然下降。下降率在整個2019年剩餘時間和2020年初一直在持續。來源:卡巴斯基

“我們是一支創建了特洛伊木馬加密程序的團隊,主要被稱為Shade,Troldesh或Encoder.858。實際上,我們在2019年底停止了其發行。現在,我們決定將這個故事的最後一點放在發布所有我們擁有的解密密鑰(總共超過750,000個);我們還發布我們的解密軟件;我們也希望防病毒公司能夠擁有這些密鑰,發布自己的,更加用戶友好的解密工具。我們的活動(包括木馬的源代碼)被無可挽回地遭到破壞。我們道歉,木馬和希望,我們發表了鑰匙將幫助他們恢復他們的數據的所有受害者,“國,它們在GitHub上崗位

Shade Team存儲庫不再可用,但是下面的屏幕快照(圖2)將使您大致了解它的外觀。

陰影團隊GitHub存儲庫

圖2:該圖顯示了Shade Team的GitHub存儲庫,其中包括註釋,解密密鑰下載鏈接以及文件解密說明。

超過750K的解密密鑰可供陰影受害者恢復丟失的數據

在他們的GitHub存儲庫中,Shade犯罪團伙包含五個主解密密鑰和超過750K的單個受害者的解密密鑰。他們還提供了其解密軟件的鏈接,以及有關受害者如何恢復丟失的數據的說明。不幸的是,正如惡意行為者指出的那樣,他們的解密工具不是用戶友好的。因此,一些網絡安全公司已經開始研究解密程序,該程序可以簡化所有受影響用戶的流程。話雖如此,每個不幸成為該惡意威脅的受害者的用戶現在都可以找回其加密文件。為此,只需從信譽良好的安全公司中搜索可用的解密器。

Troldesh勒索軟件被評為2019年通過電子郵件營銷活動最活躍的分佈式惡意軟件

根據Group-IB的計算機緊急響應小組(CERT-GIB)進行的研究,Shade(Troldesh)勒索軟件是2019年上半年通過惡意電子郵件活動傳播最活躍的威脅。CERT-GIB聲稱在此期間,用於攻擊的三種最廣泛的工具是Troldesh(53%),RTM(17%)和Pony Formgrabber(6%)。

IB集團關於Shadeler索軟件的推文

圖3:該圖顯示了Group-IB在Twitter上有關其對2019年上半年最普遍威脅的研究的帖子。來源:Group-IB

已知的Shade勒索軟件是針對法國,德國,英國,意大利,烏克蘭和俄羅斯等歐洲國家的威脅。研究人員報告說,俄羅斯是遭受Shade惡意軟件攻擊損失最大的國家。看來,Shade團隊52%的惡意電子郵件附件是專門發送到俄語地址的。這些信息不足為奇,因為大多數報告都支持Shade勒索軟件起源於通過垃圾郵件活動傳播的面向俄羅斯的威脅這一理論。

一旦感染可以訪問受害者的計算機,它將對所有有價值的文件(例如照片,文檔,媒體文件以及其他數據)進行加密,並為它們附加不同的擴展名。這是Shade勒索軟件使用的已知擴展的列表:

  • .xtbl
  • .ytbl
  • 。絕命毒師
  • .heisenberg
  • .better_call_saul
  • .los_pollos
  • .da_vinci_code
  • .magic_software_syndicate
  • .windows10
  • .windows8
  • .no_more_ransom
  • .tyson
  • .crypted000007
  • .crypted000078
  • .rsa3072
  • .decrypt_it
  • .dexter
  • .miami_california

之後,Shade將更改桌面背景(圖4),並刪除一個README.txt文件,作為贖金記錄,其中包含兩種語言的文本-英語和俄語。

陰影勒索軟件桌面背景

圖4:該圖顯示了Troldesh(陰影)用來替換受害者計算機的桌面背景的牆紙。

關於這種威脅的有趣之處在於,它的編程目的不僅僅是文件加密。人們發現,Shade勒索軟件可以用於加密貨幣挖掘,以及用於產生和增加在線流量的手段,以便從廣告活動中獲得收入。如前所述,Troldesh還可以充當其他惡意軟件的“載體”。隨著時間的流逝,它開始在受害者的PC上安裝遠程管理工具(RAT)。另一個有趣的事實是,一旦勒索軟件滲透到系統中,它將掃描特定類型的數據,這表明該設備已被俄羅斯會計部門使用。如果找到此類數據,則該惡意軟件將發起Teamspy Trojan攻擊,而不是勒索軟件。此外,Shade還將刪除TeamViewer,7ZIP,NirCmd,RDP包裝器和TeamViewer VPN驅動程序等工具的修改版本,以更改操作系統的設置並通過計算機進行遠程訪問。

這真的是Shade Ransomware的終結嗎?

雖然已經確定解密密鑰是真實的,但一些安全研究人員並不完全確定共享密鑰的是真正的Shade幫派。畢竟,偽裝成真正的Shade操作員的人可以在互聯網上竊取和共享解密密鑰。就我們所知,一個敵對的幫派可以做到。

人們不應該放心使用它,而是要依賴可以使用解密軟件的事實。僅僅因為用戶現在可以使用可用的解密工具恢復丟失的數據,並不意味著他們受到了保護。最好不要與垃圾郵件進行交互,尤其是當它們包含文件附件時。此外,檢查發件人的電子郵件憑據可能會走很長一段路。任何人都可以聲明主題標題中的所有內容,並假裝是知名的公司或組織。但是,他們無法使用他們所模仿的人或公司的實際電子郵件地址。郵件的接收者應在打開電子郵件之前將給定的地址與合法的地址進行比較。如果地址不匹配,則意味著該郵件是欺詐的一部分,而發件人不是他們聲稱的身份。

May 19, 2020

發表評論

Shade Ransomware No Longer a Threat: Malicious Actors Shut Down All Operations and Released Over 750K Decryption Keys

Shade ransomware is a dreadful cryptor, which began its invasion back in 2014. Over time, the threat (also known as Troldesh or Encoder.858) began to distribute other malware on affected machines after encrypting the victim's files and demanding payment in exchange for their decryption. It seems that after six years of malicious practice, the Shade ransomware operators have decided to call it quits.

Cyber Criminals Pull the Plug On Their Shade Malware Operations After Six Years of Malicious Activity

In April, the Shade gang created a GitHub repository where they announced that they've stopped spreading the ransomware at the end of 2019. Their statement explains the suspicious drop rate of victims affected by Shade ransomware in late 2019 and early 2020 (Fig.1), as opposed to previous years.

Shade malware infection rate through the years

Figure 1: Image shows a sudden decline in Shade ransomware cases that starts from the 3rd quarter of 2019. The drop rate continues throughout the rest of 2019 and the beginning of 2020. Source: Kaspersky

"We are the team which created a trojan-encryptor mostly known as Shade, Troldesh or Encoder.858. In fact, we stopped its distribution in the end of 2019. Now we made a decision to put the last point in this story and to publish all the decryption keys we have (over 750 thousands at all). We are also publishing our decryption soft; we also hope that, having the keys, antivirus companies will issue their own more user-friendly decryption tools. All other data related to our activity (including the source codes of the trojan) was irrevocably destroyed. We apologize to all the victims of the trojan and hope that the keys we published will help them to recover their data," states their post on GitHub.

The Shade Team repository is no longer available, but the screenshot below (Fig.2) will give you an idea of what it looked like before.

Shade team GitHub repository

Figure 2: Image shows Shade Team's GitHub repository, which includes a note, decryption key download links, and instructions for file decryption.

Over 750K Decryption Keys Are Available For Shade Victims To Recover Their Lost Data

In their GitHub repository, the Shade gang included five master decryption keys and over 750K individual victim's decryption keys. They also provided links to their decryption software and instructions on how victims can recover their lost data. Unfortunately, as the malicious actors point out themselves, their decryption tool is not user-friendly. Because of this, some cybersecurity companies have started working on decryptor that can simplify the process for all affected users. That being said, every user that was unfortunate to fall victim to this malicious threat can now get their encrypted files back. To do that, simply search for available decryptors from reputable security companies.

Troldesh Ransomware Ranked As The Most Actively Distributed Malware Via Email Campaigns for 2019

According to research made by Group-IB’s Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT-GIB), Shade (Troldesh) ransomware was the most actively distributed threat through malicious email campaigns for the first half of 2019. CERT-GIB claims that during that time, the three of the most widespread tools used in attacks have been Troldesh (53%), RTM(17%), and Pony Formgrabber (6%).

Group-IB tweet about Shade ransomware

Figure 3: Image shows Group-IB's post on Twitter regarding their research on the most prevalent threat for the first half of 2019. Source: Group-IB

Shade ransomware is a threat known to target European countries like France, Germany, the UK, Italy, Ukraine, and Russia. Researchers report that Russia is the country that has suffered the most significant losses from Shade malware attacks. It appears that 52% of the Shade team's malicious email attachments went to Russian addresses specifically. This information comes as no surprise since most reports support the theory that Shade ransomware started as a Russian-oriented threat spread via spam campaigns.

Once the infection has access to the victim's computer, it will encrypt all valuable files like photos, documents, media files, as well as other data, and attach different extensions to them. Here's a list of known extensions used by Shade ransomware:

  • .xtbl
  • .ytbl
  • .breaking_bad
  • .heisenberg
  • .better_call_saul
  • .los_pollos
  • .da_vinci_code
  • .magic_software_syndicate
  • .windows10
  • .windows8
  • .no_more_ransom
  • .tyson
  • .crypted000007
  • .crypted000078
  • .rsa3072
  • .decrypt_it
  • .dexter
  • .miami_california

After that, Shade will change the desktop background (Fig.4) and drop a README.txt file that serves as a ransom note containing text in two languages – English and Russian.

Shade ransomware desktop background

Figure 4: Image shows the wallpaper used by Troldesh (Shade) to replace the desktop background of the victim's computer.

What's interesting about this threat is that it was programmed for more than file encryption. It was discovered that Shade ransomware could be used for cryptocurrency mining, as well as means for generating and increasing online traffic, in order to receive revenue from ad campaigns. As previously mentioned, Troldesh can also act as a 'carrier' for other malicious software. Over time, it began installing a remote administration tool (RAT) on the victim's PC. Another interesting fact is that once the ransomware infiltrates the system, it will scan for a particular type of data, which would indicate that the device is used by Russian accounting departments. If such data is found, the malware will launch a Teamspy Trojan attack, instead of a ransomware one. In addition, Shade will drop modified versions of tools like TeamViewer, 7ZIP, NirCmd, RDP Wrapper, and TeamViewer VPN driver, to change the OS's settings and gain remote access over the computer.

Is This Really the End of Shade Ransomware?

While it was established that the decryption keys are real, some security researchers are not entirely sure that it was the real Shade gang who shared them. After all, decryption keys can be stolen and shared on the internet by someone pretending to be the real Shade operators. For all we know, a rival gang could've done it.

People shouldn't play it safe and rely on the fact that there's decryption software available. Just because users can now recover lost data with available decryption tools, doesn't mean that they are protected. It's best not to interact with spam email messages, especially if they contain file attachments. Also, checking the email credentials of the sender can go a long way. Anyone can claim everything in the Subject Title, and pretend to be a well-known company or organization. However, they cannot use the actual email address of the person or company they're impersonating. The receiver of the message should compare the given address with the legitimate one, before opening the email. If the addresses do not match, it would mean that the message is part of a scam, and the sender is not who they claim to be.

May 20, 2020

Leave a Reply