CovidLock Ransomware通过恶意Android应用程序利用对周围冠状病毒的恐惧

fake covid-19 app

在人们度过艰难时期的同时,尽最大努力生存在冠状病毒周围的全球大流行中,网络骗子正在度过美好的一天。与冠状病毒相关的恶意软件每天都在弹出,已经有几个月了。利用围绕冠状病毒(也称为COVID-19)的恐惧,已有数十种新型特洛伊木马和勒索软件威胁。

这是一个热门话题,每天都会在新闻上进行讨论,并在社交媒体上进行讨论,并且您每天都不能不听和阅读专家的陈述而度过一天。而且,尽管有所有这些,但是公众仍然渴望获得有关该主题的信息。人们永远无法获得有关冠状病毒的足够消息。不幸的是,网络犯罪分子正在积极利用这一流行病来谋取利益。

网络犯罪分子正在将恐惧变成他们最大的盟友

网络骗子尝试欺骗的方法有数不清。他们提供了伪造的地图,可以“跟踪感染”,网站可以“监视感染的患者”,等等。潜在欺骗的清单很长。到目前为止,这些技巧已被证明是有效的。人们接受“跟踪”和“监视”,并成为恶意的牺牲品。他们对信息的渴望使他们容易受到恶意软件的攻击。

网络犯罪分子最新的欺骗手段包括coronavirusapp.site网站。恶意人员称赞该站点为包含有关冠状病毒信息的站点。不仅如此,该页面还提供服务。标榜“有帮助”的人。当然不是。

相信谎言之网,这些黑客将您推向高潮,并将您的信念放到该站点上,最终您将获得CovidLock勒索软件。这是情况的演变过程。

coronavirusapp.site网站是导致安装勒索软件的重要工具。它会促使您安装Android应用程序。该网站在宣传与COVID-19大流行相关的需要了解的数据时,将该应用程序宣传为不可或缺的工具。据说,它可以跟踪有关冠状病毒爆发的所有传入更新-传播,受害者,仍在护理中的患者,幸存者等。

更重要的是,它声称只要受感染的人到达您附近,就会向用户推送通知。您可能想知道,该应用程序是否能够检测到受感染的个人?好吧,它声称使用了热图视觉效果。而且,如果这是真的,那将会很有帮助。但这不是!都是假话试图让您下载勒索软件,以使背后的网络骗子可以从恐惧和天真中获利。不要让他们。不要成为奸诈的受害者。

仅从可靠的来源中查找信息-世界卫生组织(WHO)和疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)的官方声明。请勿点击或打开或下载未经您确认为可靠来源的网站上的任何内容!如果要避免麻烦,小心至关重要。

如果您下载“ Covid-19跟踪”应用程序会怎样?

coronavirusapp.site页面似乎显示了CDC和WHO的认证,但这并没有使它更值得信赖。这是一个虚假网站,无非就是网络感染的渠道。如果您购买了骗局并获得了应用程序,这就是您可能会发生的事情。

该应用程序在您的设备上开始运行后,便会要求您允许它进行电池优化。看起来像这样:


应用程序对电池优化的要求。资料来源:zscaler.com

感染确保您允许该功能使其自身在后台运行。确保Android不会关闭应用以优化电池性能。启用此功能后,应用程序将继续发出更多请求。它要求访问Android的辅助功能,如下图所示。它执行此操作的唯一原因就是确保其永久保存在您的手机中。


应用程序对辅助功能的请求。资料来源:zscaler.com

然后,该恶意应用将遵循另一个请求-要求管理员特权。即使先前的请求没有对您发出危险信号或对您来说似乎可疑,现在也要变得可疑!此类应用程序不应要求管理员特权,如果允许,则不应授予他们特权。该应用程序提供其为何需要这些管理员权限的原因是,如果拥有这些管理员权限,它可以向您发送通知。据推测,当冠状病毒患者在您附近时,它可以通知您。那是谎言。该应用程序不这样做。


应用程序对管理特权的请求。资料来源:zscaler.com

该应用程序获得这些管理员权限后,攻击就迫在眉睫。单击“扫描冠状病毒区域”后,它将发起CovidLock屏幕锁定攻击。如果您想解锁屏幕并重新获得对设备的控制权,它将更改您的锁定屏幕并要求付款。

如果遵守,您将得到一个保证,将获得一个唯一的密码。然后,一旦您输入密码,屏幕便会解锁,您可以再次使用手机。这就是CovidLock勒索软件背后的网络罪犯所声称的。

最重要的是,您必须承认自己正在与恶意黑客打交道。如您所料,它们几乎不是可信赖的类型。您应该注意,这些人可以骗走您的钱,不给任何回报,使您的手机处于锁定状态。对于勒索软件,这始终是一个选择。


勒索软件消息CovidLock显示在屏幕上。资料来源:zscaler.com

CovidLock锁定屏幕后,解锁屏幕值多少钱?

勒索软件要求比特币(BTC)作为付款。一些用户报告说总价值为100美元的BTC,另一些用户报告为250美元。无论金额多少,付款都是不明智的。
感染甚至设置了最后期限来激励您及时付款。 CovidLock使您可以在48小时内完成付款。如果不这样做,勒索软件可能会删除您保留在手机上的所有内容。图片,视频,曲目,消息,社交媒体帐户,联系人–所有这些都被CovidLock删除了!

为了进一步加强威胁,网络勒索者在您的屏幕上显示以下消息:

“您的GPS已被监视,并且您的位置是已知的。如果您尝试进行任何愚蠢的操作,则会自动删除您的电话。”


应用程序的威胁,截止日期和赎金请求。资料来源:tr2.cbsistatic.com

尽管存在这些残酷的威胁,专家们还是敦促不要付款。

您是否需要支付CovidLock赎金才能重新获得对手机的访问权限?不,你没有。

安全专家检查了勒索软件的攻击,以确定其声明是对还是错–它是否对您的文件进行了真正的加密,并且可以删除它们?这些研究人员推断,事实上,该应用程序不加密任何内容。他们确认该应用程序根本不使用互联网。这意味着,威胁您的私人数据已发送给黑客并由他们使用的消息是骗人的!黑客与其勒索工具之间没有直接通信。

恶意软件研究人员走得更远,甚至对密码进行反向工程以解锁受害者的手机,从而切断了中间人–勒索应用背后的不可靠恶意网络骗子。

如果您已成为CovidLock勒索软件的受害者,请使用以下密码解锁手机: 4865083501

输入密码并解锁手机后,必须尽快从设备的应用程序列表中删除该应用程序。转到“设置”,打开“应用程序”列表,然后找到“ Coronavirus Tracker”应用程序。立即卸载!如果您在卸载过程中遇到问题,请确保撤消先前授予该应用程序的管理员权限。执行完此操作后,卸载应用程序应该没有问题。

对于应用程序,请尽最大努力仅从官方来源(例如Google Play)安装它们。不要单击未知链接,如果收到来自广告,电子邮件,SMS消息等的链接,请当心。这样可以为您处理麻烦的应用程序省去很多麻烦,精力和时间。另外,不要相信那些看起来不现实的承诺。一个应用可以跟踪感染冠状病毒的人是否在您附近的说法就是这样的说法。这类技术尚不存在。

March 19, 2020

发表评论

CovidLock Ransomware Exploits Fear Surrounding Coronavirus with a Malicious Android App

fake covid-19 app

While people are living through these trying times, doing their best to survive the global pandemic surrounding Coronavirus, cybercrooks are having a field day. Coronavirus-related malware has been popping up daily, for months now. There have been dozens of newly-crafted Trojans and ransomware threats exploiting the fear that surrounds Coronavirus, also known as COVID-19.

It's a hot topic, discussed on the news each day, talked about on social media, and you can't spend a day without hearing and reading about statements made by experts. And, despite all of that, the general public remains starved for information on the topic. People can never get enough news on Coronavirus. Unfortunately, cybercriminals are actively exploiting the pandemic to their advantage.

Cybercriminals are turning fear into their greatest ally

There are countless tricks with which cybercrooks attempt deception. They offer bogus maps that 'track the infection,' websites that 'monitor infected patients,' and so on. The list of potential trickery is long. And, so far, these tricks have proven somewhat effective. People buy into the 'tracking' and the 'monitoring' and fall prey to ill-intentions. Their hunger for information makes them vulnerable to malware.

The latest dupe, cybercriminals resort to, includes the coronavirusapp.site website. Malicious individuals acclaim the site as one containing information regarding the Coronavirus. Not only that, but the page also offers services. Ones advertised as 'helpful.' Of course, they are not.

Believe the web of lies, these hackers push on you and put your faith onto the site, and you'll end up with the CovidLock ransomware on your hands. Here's how the situation unfolds.

The coronavirusapp.site website is a crucial tool in leading to the installation of the ransomware. It pushes you towards installing an Android application. The site advertises the app as an integral instrument in receiving need-to-know data related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Supposedly, it tracks all the incoming updates regarding the Coronavirus outbreak – the spread, the victims, patients still in care, survivors, and so on.

What's more, it claims to push notifications to its users whenever an infected person gets in your vicinity. You might wonder, does the application manage to detect an infected individual? Well, it claims to use heat-map visuals. And, that would have been quite helpful if it were true. But it is NOT! It's all a sham. It's an attempt to get you to download ransomware so that the cybercrooks behind it can profit off of your fear and naivety. Don't let them. Don't fall victim to their treachery.

Look for information only from reliable sources – official statements by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Do NOT click or open or download anything from a website that you have not verified as a reliable source! Caution is crucial if you wish to avoid trouble.

What happens if you download the 'Covid-19 tracking' app?

The coronavirusapp.site page appears to show a certification from the CDC and WHO, but that doesn't make it any more trustworthy. It's a sham site that's nothing more than a conduit for a cyber infection. If you buy into the scam, and get the application, here's what you can expect to occur.

As soon as the app starts running on your device, it asks you to allow it to conduct battery optimization. Here's what that looks like:


The application's request for battery optimization. Source: zscaler.com

The infection makes sure you allow that feature to keep itself running in the background. To ensure that Android doesn't close the app to optimize battery performance. After you allow this feature, the application continues to make more requests. It asks for access to Android's Accessibility feature, as you can see in the image below. It does this for no other reason than to ensure its stay on your phone, in perpetuity.


The application's request for the Accessibility feature. Source: zscaler.com

The malicious app then follows yet another request – for administrator privileges. Even if its previous requests didn't raise a red flag or seem suspicious to you, this is the time to become suspicious! No such app should ask for administrator privileges, and you should not grant them if it does. The reason the application provides for why it needs these admin rights is that if it has them, it can send you notifications. Presumably, it can notify you when a Coronavirus patient is near you. That is a lie. The application does not do that.


The application's request for Administrative privileges. Source: zscaler.com

As soon as the app receives these admin rights, the attack is imminent. Once you click on 'Scan Area For Coronavirus,' it launches a CovidLock screen-lock attack. It changes your lock screen and demands payment if you wish to unlock your screen and regain control over your device.

If you comply, you receive a promise that you'll get sent a unique password. Then, as soon as you input the password, your screen gets unlocked, and you can use your phone again. That's what the cybercriminals behind the CovidLock ransomware claim.

Above all, you must acknowledge that you're dealing with malicious hackers. As you can guess, they are hardly a trustworthy type. You should note that these people can swindle you out of your money, and send nothing in return, leaving you with a locked phone. That's always an option when it comes to ransomware.


The ransomware message CovidLock displays on your screen. Source: zscaler.com

How much is it worth to unlock your screen, after CovidLock locks it?

The ransomware requests Bitcoin (BTC) as payment. Some users have reported a sum of $100 worth of BTC, and others $250. Whatever the amount, paying is ill-advised.
The infection even sets a deadline to incentivize you to pay up promptly. CovidLock allows you 48 hours to complete the payment. If you don't, the ransomware threatens to delete everything you keep on your phone. Pictures, videos, tracks, messages, social media accounts, contacts – all of it erased by CovidLock!

To further amp up their threats, the cyber extortionists display the following message on your screen:

"YOUR GPS IS WATCHED AND YOUR LOCATION IS KNOWN. IF YOU TRY ANYTHING STUPID YOUR PHONE WILL BE AUTOMATICALLY ERASED."


The application's threats, deadline, and ransom request. Source: tr2.cbsistatic.com

Despite these atrocious threats, experts urge against payment.

Do you have to pay the CovidLock ransom to regain access to your phone? No, you don't.

Security experts have examined the ransomware's attack to determine whether its claims are true or false – does it genuinely encrypt your files, and can it delete them? These researchers have deduced that as a matter of fact, the app does NOT encrypt anything. They verified that the app does NOT use the Internet at all. That means, the message threatening that your private data got sent to the hackers, and is at their disposal, is a lie! There is NO direct communication between the hacker and their extortion tool.

Malware researchers went a step further and even reverse-engineered a password that unlocks the victim's phone, cutting out the middle-man – the unreliable malicious cybercrooks behind the extortion app.

If you've fallen victim to the CovidLock ransomware, use the following pin to unlock your phone: 4865083501.

After you input the password and unlock your phone, you must remove the app from your device's applications list ASAP. Go to Settings, open the Application list, and find the Coronavirus Tracker app. Uninstall it at once! If you experience issues with the uninstall process, be sure to revoke the admin permissions that you previously gave to the application. After you do that, uninstalling the app should be no trouble.

When it comes to apps, do your best to install them only from official sources, like Google Play. Don't click unknown links, and be wary if you receive a link from an ad, email, SMS message, and so on. That can save you a lot of headaches, energy, and time in dealing with troublesome applications. Also, don't believe promises that seem unrealistic. The claim that an app can track whether a person, infected with Coronavirus, is near you is one such claim. That type of technology does not yet exist.

March 19, 2020

Leave a Reply