更新的HawkEye键盘记录器利用冠状病毒威胁牟利

hawkeye malware coronavirus exploit

自2013年以来,HawkEye键盘记录程序一直在网络上进行搜索。在2019年,该威胁的最新版本已更新-HawkEye Reborn v9。现在,它又回到了安全专家的视野中,并且利用冠状病毒的恐慌,似乎已经加入了长长的感染清单。

掠夺冠状病毒的恐惧似乎已成为恶意软件的常态。到目前为止,这是一种行之有效的社交工程策略,会对其路径造成破坏。网络骗子会竭尽全力从可怕的COVID-19中获利。他们转向恶意软件攻击,凭据填充欺诈,URL损坏,其可能性似乎是无限的。这是因为人们感到害怕,并在恐惧中转向他们前进道路上的所有信息来源。不幸的是,它们遇到的大多数资源都是恶意的,并由恶意的网络骗子操纵。

根据恶意软件研究人员的报告,网络攻击数量增加了40%。他们似乎专注于允许其员工进行远程工作的公司。大多数家用计算机和笔记本电脑都没有办公室提供的防御措施,这使它们处于暴露状态,并且更有可能感染恶意软件。

这些恶意活动在全球范围内造成了巨大损失。正如您在下面看到的那样,英国的人收到了惊人的41,000多种恶意软件和垃圾邮件攻击。法国紧随其后,恶意软件和垃圾邮件分别为24,000和23,000。美国和加拿大仍设法保持在20,000的水平以下,但是没有迹象表明网络犯罪分子会随着这些活动的发展而放慢脚步,因此谁能说出这个数字将维持多长时间。

冠状病毒恶意软件攻击
法国和英国的冠状病毒相关恶意软件和垃圾邮件攻击。资料来源:trendmicro.com

美国加拿大冠状病毒恶意软件攻击
在美国和加拿大,与冠状病毒相关的恶意软件和垃圾邮件攻击。资料来源:trendmicro.com

HawkEye键盘记录器感染的简要历史

当它首次出现在现场时, HawkEye键盘记录器通过恶意广告活动 (更确切地说是网络钓鱼电子邮件) 进入了计算机 。该恶意软件似乎是CGMiner的第一阶段下载器。 CGMiner是一个开源的加密货币矿工。然后,矿工背后的黑客就可以使用它并挖矿获取数字货币(比特币,门罗币等),以从他人的计算机上获取收益。他们利用受害者的系统和资源,让受害者去处理诸如滞后之类的后果,而他们只能从中受益。

让我们仔细看看渗透过程是如何发生的。感染发出的电子邮件似乎都与求职有关。每封电子邮件都包含一个.zip存档,该存档在打开后会显示求职者的简历。或者,看起来如此。实际上,当您打开.zip文件时,它会直接向您的系统中提供HawkEye键盘记录程序的示例。专家认为这是一种相当普通的攻击,但是可以解决问题。

到目前为止,该恶意软件在其类别的标准代表的所有方框中打勾。在将其释放给毫无戒心的网络用户后的某个时候,它的攻击改变了战术。黑客没有使用它来加载加密货币矿工,而是开始使用HawkEye的最新间谍软件。

一旦恶意软件在您的PC上发现了自己,您就容易受到间谍活动的攻击。诸如HawkEye之类的键盘记录器以监视恶意活动为目的而闻名。他们会跟踪您所做的一切–每次击键,您访问的所有网站以及您输入的数据。让它陷入片刻。这包括所有形式的个人和财务信息。例如,密码,信用卡详细信息,银行帐户信息等等。 HawkEye键盘记录程序可以访问所有这些敏感数据。而且,一旦恶意软件认为已经收集了足够多的数据,就会将数据渗漏到攻击者控制的命令与控制(C&C)服务器。

恶意网络罪犯使用HawkEye键盘记录器恶意软件进行有针对性的攻击。 保健 ,农业,市场营销,运输和物流,进出口以及其他许多部门的组织成为主要目标。攻击者将瞄准他们的员工,向他们发送损坏的电子邮件,并等待他们入侵和罢工的机会。

如果您希望避免陷入诸如HawkEye键盘记录程序之类的恶意工具中,请保持警惕。接收电子邮件时请保持谨慎–尽力检查并验证其真实性。如果它们包含附件或链接,请更加小心,它们敦促您下载并单击。如果您细心周到,则可以为您节省一系列潜在的不满。

更新的HawkEye键盘记录程序利用了冠状病毒的威胁

HawkEye恶意软件有一个新变种,困扰着用户。一是试图从恐惧中受益的冠状病毒。在感染的改进中,您发现了扩展的信息窃取能力。

背后的人们有一个目标–利用当今时代和围绕冠状病毒威胁的新闻。网络犯罪分子使用最新的HawkEye变体,捕食人们对冠状病毒及其毒株COVID-19的了解的渴望。

试图从Coronavic恐慌中受益的大多数恶意软件威胁,都转向了恶意电子邮件活动来传播其感染。最常用的主题之一是围绕所谓的“冠状病毒更新”。您可以在下面看到一个示例。恶意电子邮件通常声称来自信誉良好的来源,并显示有价值的信息和“更新”。那是不对的。它们是伪造的,带有恶意软件。

covid 19垃圾邮件电子邮件恶意软件
带有主题行“ Corona Virus Latest Updates”的电子邮件,其中包含恶意软件。资料来源:trendmicro.com

当涉及到HawkEye键盘记录器时,其背后的人会遵循这种结构。他们通过垃圾邮件发送恶意软件 。这次,他们的电子邮件不是围绕求职申请,而是围绕冠状病毒的警报。据称,它们包含致命病毒的更新信息,甚至提供药物建议。该电子邮件声称这些虚假警报来自世界卫生组织(WHO)总干事。为了澄清,他们没有。都是骗局,是恶意软件入侵您系统的手段。不要相信电子邮件的内容,最重要的是,不要遵循他们为您提供的任何毒品建议!

该恶意软件的电子邮件活动不久前就开始了。专家报告说,它始于2020年3月19日。即使在很短的时间内,它也设法造成了可观的受害者人数。

您会收到一封显示个性化的电子邮件,而且只有您一个人。邮件正文中的称呼包含从电子邮件地址中删除的用户名。忽略这种合法性尝试。这些电子邮件是虚假且危险的。不仅是因为他们试图将恶意软件传播到您的计算机中,还因为他们正在传播虚假信息,某些人可能会将其视为可信的。它不是!请记住,您正在与网络犯罪分子打交道,他们希望从冠状病毒周围的痛苦中受益。

HawkEye键盘记录器已更新,以包含其他抗分析技术。它还进行了许多更改,以改进其混淆技术。但是,感染的主要目标仍然是相同的-盗窃敏感数据。

新的恶意软件样本旨在从浏览器和电子邮件客户端窃取凭据。像Mozilla,WaterFox,Flock,BlackHawk,CyberFox,PaleMoon,IceDragon等。

一旦恶意软件获得了凭据以及它设法捕获的任何其他数据,它就会对其全部加密。加密后,它将通过简单邮件传输协议(SMTP)将所有内容发送给其背后的人员。如果您不知道,SMTP是一种通讯协议,可用于电子邮件传输,或者简而言之,是电子邮件。网络犯罪分子已经在恶意软件本身内对电子邮件地址和密码进行了编码。这样,它们可以自动传送被盗数据。

看一下更新后的恶意软件的工作原理

HawkEye变体从加载程序开始-一个.net可执行文件,该文件被Cassandra保护器和ConfuserEx组合在一起进行了模糊处理。一旦执行,就会发生一些事情。它将搜索并运行另一个.net可执行文件,并在其资源部分中加载位图图像rgXREoRSAprmgvAqTsKhilTYhemNa .png

第二个可执行文件的任务是读取位图图像并从中提取编码的汇编代码。随后,在获得密码后,可执行文件使用位图图像的前16个字节作为XOR密钥来解码其余图片。详细地说,XOR是“ exclusive or”的缩写,它习惯于以快速,直接的方式对消息进行加密。 XOR操作是大多数加密技术的基础。您可以将XOR视为切换开关,从而可以打开和关闭特定位。

让我们回到收益上。被解码的有效负载是另一个.net可执行文件。这是一个名为ReZer0V2.exe的文件。它努力关闭Windows Defender。它通过更改各种注册表项来实现。它还运行PowerShell命令,以在关闭Windows Defender扫描和更新之前发现受感染系统的首选项。

然后,它寻找虚拟机(VM)和沙箱(运行新的或未经测试的软件或秘密编码的虚拟空间)。完成之后,该示例使用过程挖空将其有效负载注入.net framework目录中的文件。进程挖空技术被恶意软件用来加载授权进程,其唯一目的是充当恶意代码的容器。实际上,最终的有效负载是HawkEye键盘记录程序。

鹰眼恶意软件内存攻击
描述了使用进程挖空对一个版本的HawkEye恶意软件进行内存内解压缩。资料来源:cloudblogs.microsoft.com

面对HawkEye键盘记录器,您面临的最大风险是数据丢失。感染有可能会抓住您的敏感信息,然后将其用于恶意目的。一旦攻击者在恶意软件的背后拥有了该恶意软件,便可以按照自己的意愿进行处理–自行使用或通过暗网出售。无论哪种情况,他们都会获利,并且您会遭受严重的后果。

没有足够的方法来强调警惕的重要性。要彻底,谨慎,不要束缚单击链接或从声称包含冠状病毒相关新闻的电子邮件中下载附件。一粒盐带走所有东西,而额外的专注力可能会为您省去很多麻烦。

March 25, 2020

发表评论

Updated HawkEye Keylogger Exploits Coronavirus Scare for Profit

hawkeye malware coronavirus exploit

The HawkEye keylogger has been making the rounds on the web since 2013. In 2019, there was a newly-released update of the threat – HawkEye Reborn v9. Now it's back on security experts' radars, and it appears to have joined the long list of infections, taking advantage of the Coronavirus panic.

Preying on Coronavirus fears seems to have become the norm when it comes to malware. By now, it's a well-established social-engineering tactic, causing damage in its path. Cybercrooks use all in their power to profit off the horrific COVID-19. They turn to malware attacks, credential-stuffing scams, corrupted URLs, their possibilities seem limitless. That's because people are scared, and in their fear, turn to every source of information in their path. Unfortunately, most of the sources they come across are malicious and run by ill-intentioned cybercrooks.

There's a 40% increase in cyberattacks, as reported by malware researchers. They seem to focus on companies that have allowed their workers to work remotely. Most home computers and laptops don't have the defenses that their office ones provide, which leaves them exposed and at a higher risk of catching malware.

These malicious campaigns have taken their toll globally. As you can see below, people in the UK receive a staggering number of over 41,000 malware and spam attacks. France follows close behind, at almost 24,000 for malware and about 23,000 for spam. The US and Canada still manage to stay below the mark of 20,000, but there are no signs of cybercriminals slowing down with these campaigns, so who could say how long that number will remain low.

coronavirus malware attacks
Coronavirus-related malware and spam attacks in France and the UK. Source: trendmicro.com

us canada coronavirus malware attacks
Coronavirus-related malware and spam attacks in the US and Canada. Source: trendmicro.com

A brief history of the HawkEye keylogger infection

When it first popped up on the scene, the HawkEye keylogger made its way into computers via malvertising campaigns, more precisely, phishing emails. The malware appeared as a first-stage downloader for a cryptocurrency miner – CGMiner. CGMiner is an open-source cryptocurrency miner. The hackers behind the miner could then use it and mine for digital currency (Bitcoin, Monero, and so on) for their gain on someone else's computer. They exploit the victim's system and resources, leaving the victim to deal with the consequences, like lag, while they experience only benefits.

Let's take a closer look at how exactly the infiltration process occurred. The infection sent out its emails that all seemed to revolve around job applications. Every email contained a .zip archive, which, when opened, revealed a job applicant's resume. Or, so it seemed. In reality, when you open the .zip file, it delivers a sample of the HawkEye keylogger straight into your system. Experts consider it a pretty generic attack, but it does the trick.

So far, the malware ticks all the boxes of a standard representative of its category. Sometime after it got unleashed onto unsuspecting web users, its attack shifted tactics. Instead of it getting used for loading cryptocurrency miners, hackers began using HawkEye's most recent variant for espionage.

Once the malware finds itself on your PC, you're vulnerable to espionage. Keyloggers like HawkEye have a reputation for monitoring your activities for malicious purposes. They keep track of everything you do – every keystroke, all the sites you visit, data you input. Let that sink in for a moment. That includes all manner of personal and financial information. Like, passwords, credit card details, bank account information, and so much more. All that sensitive data is within reach of the HawkEye keylogger. And, once the malware deems it has gathered enough, it exfiltrates the data to a command-and-control (C&C) server that the attacker controls.

Malicious cybercriminals used the HawkEye keylogger malware for targeted attacks. Organizations in healthcare, agriculture, marketing, transportation and logistics, import and export, and a slew of other sectors, became prime targets. The attackers would aim at their employees, send them the corrupted emails, and await their chance to invade and strike.

If you wish to avoid getting stuck with a malicious tool, like the HawkEye keylogger, be vigilant. Stay cautious when receiving emails – do your best to examine and verify their authenticity. Be even more careful if they contain attachments or links, which they urge you to download and click. If you're attentive and thorough, it can save you an array of potential grievances.

An updated HawkEye keylogger takes advantage of the Coronavirus scare

There's a new variant of the HawkEye malware, plaguing users. One, attempting to benefit from the fear, surrounding Coronavirus. Among the infection's improvements, you find an expanded information-stealing capability.

The people behind it have a goal – to exploit the current times and the news revolving around the Coronavirus menace. The cybercriminals, using the latest HawkEye variant, prey on people's desire for knowledge on Coronavirus, and its strain COVID-19.

Most malware threats, seeking to benefit from the Coronavic scare, turn to malicious email campaigns to spread their infections. One of the most commonly used subject lines revolves around supposed 'Coronavirus updates.' You can see an example below. The malicious emails often claim to come from a reputable source and display valuable information and' updates.' That is not true. They're bogus and carry malware.

covid 19 spam email message malware
An email with a subject line 'Corona Virus Latest Updates' carrying malware. Source: trendmicro.com

When it comes to HawkEye keylogger, the people behind it follow that structure to a tee. They distribute malware via spam emails. This time, their emails don't revolve around job applications, but around Coronavirus' alerts.' Supposedly, they contain updates on the deadly virus and even offer drug advice. The email claims that these bogus alerts come from the Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO). To clarify, they don't. It's all a scam, a ploy for malware to slither into your system. Do NOT believe the contents of the email, and, above all, do NOT follow any drug advice they offer you!

The malware's email campaign began not that long ago. Experts report that it started on March 19, 2020. Even in that short time, it has managed to claim an impressive amount of victims.

You get an email that appears personalized for you, and you alone. The salutations in the message body contain a username stripped out of the email address. Disregard that attempt at legitimacy. These emails are bogus and dangerous. Not only because they're trying to spread malware into your machine, but also because they're spreading false information that some people may look at as credible. It is not! Remember that you're dealing with cybercriminals, who wish to benefit from the misery surrounding Coronavirus.

The HawkEye keylogger has gotten updated to include additional anti-analysis techniques. It has received a plethora of changes to improve its obfuscation techniques, as well. But the infection's primary objective remains the same – theft of sensitive data.

The new sample of the malicious software aims to steal credentials from browsers and email clients. Like Mozilla, WaterFox, Flock, BlackHawk, CyberFox, PaleMoon, IceDragon, and an array of others.

As soon as the malware gets a hold of the credentials and any other data it manages to capture, it encrypts it all. Following encryption, it sends everything via the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) to the people behind it. If you're unaware, SMTP is a communication protocol that gets used for electronic mail transmission or, simply put, emails. The cybercriminals have coded the email address, as well as the password, within the malware itself. That way, they automate the delivery of stolen data.

A look into the workings of the updated malware

The HawkEye variant starts with a loader – a .net executable file, obfuscated by a combination of Cassandra protector and ConfuserEx. As soon as it gets executed, a few things will happen. It will search and run another .net executable, and load a bitmap image rgXREoRSAprmgvAqTsKhilTYhemNa‎.png in its resource section.

That second executable has the task of reading the bitmap image and extracting an encoded assembly code from it. Following that, after the cipher gets obtained, the executable file uses the first 16 bytes of the bitmap image as an XOR key to decode the rest of the picture. To elaborate, XOR is short for 'exclusive or,' and it gets used to cipher messages in a fast and straightforward manner. XOR operations are the basis of most cryptography. You can think of XOR as a toggle switch, allowing you to flip specific bits on and off.

Let's get back to what proceeds. The payload that gets decoded is another .net executable. It's a file called ReZer0V2.exe. It endeavors to turn off Windows Defender. It achieves that by changing a variety of registry items. It also runs a PowerShell command to discover the infected system's preferences for Windows Defender scans and updates before it turns them off, as well.

It then looks for Virtual Machines (VMs) and sandboxes (a virtual space that runs new or untested software or coding in secret). After that gets done, the sample uses process hollowing to inject its payload into files the .net framework directory. The technique of process hollowing is used by malicious software to load an authorized process with the sole purpose of acting as a vessel for hostile code. That final payload is, in actuality, the HawkEye keylogger.

hawkeye malware memory attack
A depiction of the in-memory unpacking of a version of HawkEye malware using process hollowing. Source: cloudblogs.microsoft.com

The gravest risk, you face courtesy of the HawkEye keylogger, is data loss. The infection threatens to get a hold of your sensitive information, and then use it for malicious purposes. Once the attackers, behind the malware, have it, they can do with it as they wish – use it themselves or sell it through the dark web. In either case, they profit, and you suffer severe consequences.

There aren't enough ways to stress the importance of vigilance. Be thorough, be cautious, and don't get roped into clicking links or downloading attachments from emails that claim to contain Coronavirus-related news. Take everything with a grain of salt, and that extra attentiveness may spare you a lot of issues.

March 25, 2020

Leave a Reply