黑客襲擊負責COVID-19疫苗試驗的醫療中心

Hackers Attack COVID-19 Vaccine Trials

雖然誠實,勤奮的人們被要求留在家中以防止可怕的COVID-19病毒傳播,但黑客們卻像以往一樣忙碌。如果有的話,冠狀病毒的爆發為他們打開了新的機會,使他們能夠利用人們的恐懼和普遍的恐慌狀態,在這些艱難時期吞噬了許多人。

在過去的幾周中,啟動了使用該流行病的許多計劃,以誘騙人們用惡意軟件感染其計算機或洩露其個人信息。這麼多是可以預期的。影響成千上萬的全球事件通常在精心設計的在線欺詐中發揮作用。但是,人們也可以預料到,網絡犯罪分子將表現出一些常識,並且將不破壞與傳染病作鬥爭的人們的工作。事實證明,我們期望過高。

一個醫學研究中心遭到Maze勒索軟件的襲擊

3月14日,Maze勒索軟件的運營商破壞了屬於英國醫學研究公司Hammersmith Medicines Research,Ltd.的IT系統和加密數據。通常,受勒索軟件打擊的企業會受到嚴重影響,而當目標是醫療保健組織時,患者通常也會非常清楚地看到後果。但是,當您了解Hammersmith Medicines Research的功能時,您會發現該攻擊可能已經影響了更多的人。

根據SiliconAngle.com的報導 ,過去,漢默史密斯醫學研究公司(Hammersmith Medicines Research)一直致力於開發針對埃博拉的疫苗以及用於治療像阿爾茨海默氏病這樣的疾病的各種藥物。像所有醫療機構一樣,它也參與了對抗新冠狀病毒的鬥爭。實際上,SiliconAngle寫道,它“將針對COVID-19的可能疫苗進行試驗”。黑客通過網絡攻擊將這些試驗置於危險之中,並威脅要延遲一種疫苗,這種疫苗可以阻止被稱為世界上傳播最迅速的病毒之一。

我們很高興地報告Hammersmith Medicines Research的準備工作相對完善。該研究機構具有備份,可以從中恢復數據並迅速使一切恢復正常。不幸的是,這還不是故事的結局。

Maze勒索軟件幫派洩漏患者的敏感數據

那些密切關注勒索軟件的人可能已經註意到幾個月前出現的新趨勢。勒索軟件團伙已經將攻擊主要針對組織而不是個人用戶已有一段時間了,但是他們面臨的問題之一是像Hammersmith Medicines Research一樣,相當多的公司保留著重要數據的最新備份,並拒絕支付贖金。為了給自己提供更多的勒索手段,勒索軟件運營商除了對數據進行加密之外,還開始竊取數據。現在,拒絕支付贖金的組織被告知,如果他們不遵守贖金規定,則數據將被公開洩露。

這正是Hammersmith Medicines Research發生的情況。根據ComputerWeekly.com的報導,在醫療機構明確表示不會滿足黑客的要求之後,騙子洩露了護照,駕駛執照和2,300多名患者的國家保險號碼以及一些醫療問卷的副本。

像往常一樣,最後遭受最大損失的是毫無戒心的人。

騙子中普遍存在常識嗎?

在過去的幾個月中,Maze勒索軟件及其操作員獲得了相當多的歡迎。他們正在追究其威脅,以洩露從受害者那裡竊取的信息這一事實表明,他們是完全無情的。然而,即使他們似乎已經意識到,世界正在與之抗爭的冠狀病毒大流行並不是開玩笑。

上週,他們發布了“官方新聞稿”,並宣布將停止對醫療機構的所有攻擊,直到大流行結束。顯然,如果他們宣布將要完全從事不同的職業,那就更好了,但是即使如此,有關他們不會妨礙試圖讓我們脫身的人們的消息也變得更好。這種情況很好。希望騙子信守諾言。

March 23, 2020

發表評論

Hackers Attack a Medical Center Responsible for COVID-19 Vaccine Trials

Hackers Attack COVID-19 Vaccine Trials

While honest, hard-working people are asked to stay at home in order to prevent the spread of the terrible COVID-19 virus, the hackers are as busy as ever. If anything, the coronavirus outbreak has opened new opportunities for them to exploit people's fears and the general state of panic that has engulfed many in these trying times.

Over the last few weeks, numerous schemes were set into motion that use the pandemic in order to trick people into infecting their computers with malware or giving away their personal information. This much was to be expected. Global events that affect thousands often become instrumental in well-socially engineered online scams. What was also to be expected, however, was that the cybercriminals would show a bit of common sense and would try not to disrupt the work of the people who are battling the infectious disease. As it turns out, we were expecting too much.

A medical research center gets hit by the Maze ransomware

On March 14, the operators of the Maze ransomware compromised the IT systems and encrypted data that belongs to Hammersmith Medicines Research, Ltd., a UK-based medical research company. Normally, businesses hit by ransomware are severely affected, and when the target is a healthcare organization, patients often see the consequences all too clearly as well. When you learn what Hammersmith Medicines Research does, however, you'll see that the attack could have impacted a much larger number of people.

According to SiliconAngle.com, in the past, Hammersmith Medicines Research has worked on developing a vaccine for Ebola as well as various drugs that treat diseases like Alzheimer's. Like all healthcare organizations, it too, is involved in the fight against the new coronavirus. In fact, SiliconAngle wrote that it "is set to carry out trials of a possible vaccine for COVID-19." With their cyberattack, the hackers put these trials at risk and threatened to delay a vaccine that could stop what has been described as one of the most rapidly spreading viruses in the world.

We're happy to report that Hammersmith Medicines Research was relatively well-prepared. The research facility had backups from which it restored the data and quickly brought everything back to normal. Unfortunately, this wasn't the end of the story.

The Maze ransomware gang leak patients' sensitive data

Those of you who follow the ransomware scene closely might have noticed a new trend that emerged a few months ago. Ransomware gangs have been mostly aiming their attacks at organizations rather than individual users for a while now, but one of the problems they've faced is that like Hammersmith Medicines Research, quite a few companies keep fresh, working backups of their important data and refuse to pay the ransom. To give themselves more blackmail leverage, ransomware operators started stealing data in addition to encrypting it. Organizations who refuse to pay the ransom are now told that if they don't comply, the data will be publicly leaked.

This is exactly what happened with Hammersmith Medicines Research. According to ComputerWeekly.com, after the healthcare organization made it clear that it won't cave in to the hackers' demands, the crooks leaked copies of passports, driving licenses, and national insurance numbers of more than 2,300 patients along with some medical questionnaires.

As usual, in the end, it was unsuspecting people that suffered the most.

Is common sense prevailing among crooks?

The Maze ransomware and its operators have gained quite a lot of popularity over the last few months. The fact that they're following through on their threats to leak information stolen from their victims goes to show that they are completely ruthless. Nevertheless, even they seem to have realized that the coronavirus pandemic that the world is fighting against is no joke.

Last week, they issued an "official press released" and announced that they will stop all attacks on medical organizations until the pandemic is over. Obviously, it would have been even nicer if they announced that they're about to pursue a different career entirely, but even so, the news that they're not going to get in the way of the people who are trying to get us out of this situation is good. Let's hope the crooks keep their promise.

March 23, 2020

Leave a Reply