网络罪犯使用冠状病毒为主题的垃圾邮件传播恶意软件

Coronavirus Malspam Campaign

武汉冠状病毒(也称为2019-nCoV)仍在新闻中占据主导地位,不幸的是,这不太可能很快改变。死亡人数以惊人的速度增加,人们处于恐慌的边缘,这对网络犯罪分子而言是个好消息。

在过去几天中,黑客一直在使用以冠状病毒为主题的垃圾邮件来分发恶意软件。根据ThreatPost的说法 ,来自卡巴斯基和IBM X-Force的研究人员检测到了几种不同的垃圾邮件活动,这些活动使用致命病毒作为诱饵。

许多垃圾邮件发送者试图利用冠状病毒的爆发

显然,卡巴斯基研究人员检测到的电子邮件是由几组不同的黑客发送的。不幸的是,专家们并没有过多地介绍陷阱的设置方法。电子邮件内容和附带的恶意软件也没有很多信息。

研究人员确实说过,他们已经看到十种不同的附件,散布着各种各样的木马和蠕虫,它们可以窃取,破坏和修改数据,并干扰计算机和网络的工作方式。这些文件使用冠状病毒作为诱饵,并伪装成PDF和DOC文档以及MP4视频。

一些垃圾邮件发送者比其他垃圾邮件发送者更加重视思想

与卡巴斯基不同,IBM 报告了一次由一群看起来更复杂的网络犯罪分子组织的活动。黑客使用僵尸网络向日本各地的用户发送大量电子邮件。

这些消息是日语的,据说来自本地的残疾人福利服务提供商。受害者被愚弄了,认为该电子邮件是从其所在地区的组织发送的,这使该消息看起来更具说服力,并且在很好的情况下,罪犯在页脚中包含了所述组织的正确联系方式。

受害者被告知,他们所在地区已经注册了新的冠状病毒病例,并敦促他们打开所附的Word文档,据称该文档为他们提供了有关如何保护自己的提示。但是,那些确实打开附件的人会看到一条通用的Office 365消息,敦促他们单击“启用内容”按钮。完成后,宏指令将运行模糊的VBA脚本,该脚本会在其计算机上下载并安装Emotet

黑客们确实试图通过此活动最大程度地获得成功的机会。日本地理位置优越,与疫情的爆发地相距甚远,再加上令人信服的电子邮件,无疑会骗过很多人。但是,即使设计不周密的运动也可以成功,因为人们完全被新型冠状病毒的威胁吓坏了。

这种疾病确实非常可怕,来自中国和世界其他地区的消息也不是很好。人们感到害怕,这给骗子一个绝妙的机会,以许多不同的方式欺骗他们。

可悲的事实是,无论新闻报道多么恐怖,您都必须在网上和现实世界中保持对自己的智慧。

February 3, 2020

发表评论

Cybercriminals Use Coronavirus-Themed Spam to Spread Malware

Coronavirus Malspam Campaign

The Wuhan coronavirus (also known as 2019-nCoV) is still dominating the news, and unfortunately, this is unlikely to change any time soon. The death toll rises at an alarming rate, and people are on the verge of panic, which is good news for cybercriminals.

Over the last few days, hackers have been using coronavirus-themed spam emails to distribute malware. According to ThreatPost, researchers from Kaspersky and IBM's X-Force have detected several different malspam campaigns that use the deadly virus as a lure.

Many spammers try to take advantage of the coronavirus outbreak

Apparently, the emails Kaspersky's researchers detected were sent by several different groups of hackers. Unfortunately, the experts didn't go into too many details on how the traps were set. There isn't a whole lot of information on the contents of the email and the attached malware, either.

The researchers did say, however, that they've seen ten different attachments distributing a wide variety of trojans and worms that can steal, destroy, and modify data and interfere with the way your computer and network works. The files use the coronavirus as bait and are disguised as PDF and DOC documents as well as MP4 videos.

Some spammers put more thought into their campaigns than others

Unlike Kaspersky, IBM reported on a single campaign organized by what looks like a group of more sophisticated cybercriminals. The hackers use a botnet to fire a large number of emails at users in various bits of Japan.

The messages are in Japanese, and they're purportedly coming from a local disability welfare service provider. The victims are fooled into thinking that the email is sent from organizations in their own prefectures, which makes the message look far more convincing, and for good measure, the criminals have included the correct contact details for the said organizations in the footer.

The victims are told that new cases of the coronavirus have been registered in their region, and they are urged to open an attached Word document, which supposedly gives them tips on what they can do to protect themselves. Those who do open the attachment, however, see a generic Office 365 message urging them to click the "Enable Content" button. When that's done, macro instructions run an obfuscated VBA script, which downloads and installs Emotet on their computer.

The hackers have really tried to maximize their chances of success with this campaign. Japan's geographical proximity to the epicenter of the outbreak, coupled with the convincing-looking emails, can certainly fool a lot of people. Even campaigns that are not as well-engineered as this one can succeed, however, because people are completely terrified by the threat of the new coronavirus.

The disease is indeed pretty horrific, and the news coming from China and other parts of the world isn't very good. People are scared, which gives scammers a brilliant opportunity to deceive them in many different ways.

The sad truth is, no matter how horrifying the news reports are, you must keep your wits about you, both online and in the real world.

February 3, 2020

Leave a Reply