SilverTerrier網絡犯罪集團針對與冠狀病毒作鬥爭的關鍵工人

在冠狀病毒大流行不減緩的情況下,我們更加依賴與COVID-19威脅進行正面對抗的人們。我們全都在前線的醫療專業人員和其他組織的手中。網絡犯罪分子無視我們的依賴,士氣和舉止來支持惡意目的。他們選擇從試圖幫助世界抗擊冠狀病毒的重要人員中獲利。網絡罪犯沒有停止攻擊。

來自尼日利亞的一個特定的網絡犯罪集團並沒有鬆懈,而是堅持不懈。 SilverTerrier小組已將這些重要工作人員作為網絡攻擊的主要目標。

SilverTerrier網絡攻擊者遭受的打擊最大。

惡意網絡犯罪組織將目光投向了在與COVID-19戰鬥中至關重要的行業中的組織。他們通過企業電子郵件洩露(BEC)廣告系列來定位他們。這種類型的攻擊已成為SilverTerrier的名片,因為他們專門從事這種攻擊。

圖。1
SilverTerrier在2018年和2019年確定的前五大行業。來源:unit42.paloaltonetworks.com

在短短三個月內,三個SilverTerrier參與者負責發起了一系列以COVID-19和冠狀病毒為主題的惡意軟件活動。他們設法製作了170多種不同的網絡釣魚電子郵件,並且據專家稱,他們在選擇目標時採取了“最小限度”措施。他們的目標清單包括在各個國家領導對冠狀病毒的全國反應的組織。例如,澳大利亞,意大利,加拿大,英國和美國。政府,醫療保健,保險,醫學研究和出版以及公用事業組織都受到攻擊者的圍攻。

圖2
在COVID-19襲擊之前,尼日利亞的惡意軟件活動在2019年的最後幾個月一直在下降。資料來源:unit42.paloaltonetworks.com

這些騙子基於以下事實:大多數企業現在依靠遠程勞動力,因為許多員工在家工作。自然,每當他們收到與冠狀病毒相關的電子郵件時,由於想知道與COVID-19相關的所有信息,因此誘使他們單擊。

按照慣例,SilverTerrier小組使用BEC攻擊來傳播惡意軟件。這些攻擊還受到“ 電子郵件中 ”的攻擊,重點是通過包括高級管理人員在內的高級管理人員受感染的帳戶可以訪問公司資金的員工。

圖3
僅電子郵件攻擊的分發方法。資料來源:trendmicro.com

這些網絡騙子的目標是獲得將資金從公司資金轉移到他們控制的銀行帳戶的目標。他們使用所有可能的方法來實現這一目標。 BEC攻擊是達到目的的一種手段–目的是說服目標用戶將錢存入特定帳戶的請求是合法的。他們利用虛假信息來確保這一轉移。很多時候,他們聲稱這是緊急事件,需要迅速採取行動。例如,斷言“必須緊急支付季度末付款”。

圖4
BEC攻擊中的惡意附件中使用的最受歡迎的文件名類別。資料來源:trendmicro.com

專家指出,這些策略行之有效,因為根據FBI統計,在2019年,BEC攻擊導致全球損失17.7億美元(14.2億英鎊/16.2億歐元)。知道了這些數字之後,網絡騙子開始修改攻擊並考慮到COVID-19對其進行定制就不足為奇了。

圖5
FBI報告了2015年至2019年由BEC / EAC攻擊造成的損失。資料來源:www.proofpoint.com

SilverTerrier的騙局帶來了無數威脅。特洛伊木馬,勒索軟件,廣告軟件,這些騙子沒有什麼可恥的。專家估計,目前,他們傳播了LokiBotFormBook ,AgentTesla和Renals。

圖6
最受歡迎的文件名類別通過網絡釣魚相關的BEC攻擊附件傳播。資料來源:trendmicro.com

如何保護自己免受BEC攻擊?

捍衛員工免受BEC攻擊之害的最佳方法之一是一種相當簡單的方法。如果您不希望您的員工根據欺騙性電子郵件批准將資金轉移到未經授權的帳戶,請這樣做,以使他們無法這樣做。

實施更多的工作流控件,並使其成為所有金融交易必須得到多個人的批准。這導致攻擊者不得不欺騙多個人,這反過來又增加了至少一個人會注意到請求中某些內容的機會。這是一種簡單而有效的策略,可確保金錢只在應有的地方使用,而不在罪犯手中。故障保險越多,越好。

培訓您的員工以保持對在線計劃的高度了解,並確保他們知道如何避免這些惡作劇。他們應始終留意網上誘騙電子郵件。在下面,您可以看到兩封此類電子郵件的示例。

圖7
樣本電子郵件,詢問目標客戶購買實際的Apple iTunes禮品卡。資料來源:symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

圖8
樣本電子郵件,請求薪資/薪金問題的幫助。資料來源:symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

電子郵件進入收件箱後,請對其進行仔細檢查。語法可以嗎?拼寫和標點呢?電子郵件地址和徽標是否匹配?您是否希望收到該電子郵件,還是措手不及?所有這些小事加起來很重要,它們可以為您節省大量金錢和麻煩。

誰最容易受到此類攻擊?

專家斷言,到2020年為止,BEC計劃試圖將惡意軟件潛入您的系統仍然是對網絡安全的最大威脅。在下面,您可以根據國家/地區查看這些攻擊的統計信息,以及攻擊中使用的最常見關鍵字。

圖9
從2018年7月到2019年6月,BEC十大受害者地區。資料來源:symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

圖10
從2018年7月到2019年6月,攻擊中使用的前10個BEC關鍵字。來源:symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

BEC攻擊的本質使各種各樣的機構處於危險之中。安全研究人員建議謹慎。醫療保健和保險組織,政府機構,公共事業,甚至設有醫學課程的大學也應保持警惕。

與冠狀病毒相關的電子郵件必須得到仔細檢查並仔細檢查。特別是這樣,如果它們包含鏈接,“ 您必須單擊” ,“附件”( 必須下載) ,或列出的銀行帳戶“ 您必須將資金轉入” 。仔細檢查所有內容,不要盲目地做任何事情。安全總比後悔好。花額外的時間來驗證電子郵件的合法性。這不僅使您省心,而且還擁有可靠的系統。

May 20, 2020

發表評論

SilverTerrier Cybercrime Group Targets Key Workers Fighting Coronavirus

With the Coronavirus pandemic not slowing down, we rely on the people fighting the COVID-19 menace head-on even more. We're all in the hands of medical professionals, and other organizations on the front lines. Cybercriminals disregard our reliance and their morale and decency in favor of malicious purposes. They choose to profit off of these essential individuals trying to help the world in the battle against Coronavirus. Cybercriminals have not ceased their attacks.

A particular cybercrime group, originating from Nigeria, has not relented but pressed on. The SilverTerrier group has taken those essential workers as their prime targets for cyber attacks.

The SilverTerrier Cyber Attackers Hit Where It Hurts Most.

The malicious cybercrime group has its sights on organizations in sectors that are critical in the fight with COVID-19. They target them by business email compromise (BEC) campaigns. That type of attack has become a calling card for SilverTerrier as they specialize in it.

Fig.1
Top five industries targeted by SilverTerrier in 2018 and 2019. Source: unit42.paloaltonetworks.com

In a mere three months, three SilverTerrier actors are responsible for launching a slew of COVID-19 and Coronavirus-themed malware campaigns. They managed to craft over 170 distinct phishing emails and, according to experts, exercised 'minimal restraint' in their targets of choice. Their target list comprises organizations leading national responses to Coronavirus in various countries. Like, Australia, Italy, Canada, the UK, and the US. Government, healthcare, insurance, medical research and publishing, and utility organizations are all under siege by the attackers.

Fig.2
Nigerian malware activity had been declining during the last months of 2019 before COVID-19 struck. Source: unit42.paloaltonetworks.com

These crooks prey on the fact that most businesses now rely on a remote workforce as many employees work from home. Naturally, every time they get an email related to Coronavirus, they're enticed to click as they want to know of all that relates to COVID-19.

As established, the SilverTerrier group uses BEC attacks to spread malware. These attacks also go by 'man in the email' and focus on employees who have access to company funds via compromised accounts that belong to senior management, including c-suite executives.

Fig.3
Distribution methods for email-only attacks. Source: trendmicro.com

These cybercrooks' objective is to get their targets to transfer money from company funds to bank accounts, which they control. They use every method possible to achieve that. The BEC attack is a means to an end – it aims to convince the target that the request to send money to a particular account is legitimate. They use falsehoods to secure that transfer. More often than not, claiming that it's an urgent matter that requires prompt actions. Like, asserting that an 'an urgent end-of-quarter payment has to get made.'

Fig.4
Most popular filename categories used in malicious attachments in BEC attacks. Source: trendmicro.com

Experts note these tactics work as, according to FBI statistics, in 2019, BEC attacks lead to global losses of $1.77 billion (£1.42bn/€1.62bn). Knowing these numbers, it shouldn't come as a surprise that cybercrooks have started to modify their attacks, and tailor them with COVID-19 in mind.

Fig.5
FBI reported losses caused by BEC/EAC attacks, from 2015 to 2019. Source: www.proofpoint.com

SilverTerrier carries a myriad of threats via its scams. Trojans, ransomware, adware, these crooks have no shame. Experts estimate that, currently, they spread LokiBot, FormBook, AgentTesla, and Renals.

Fig. 6
Most popular filename categories spread via attachments of phishing-related BEC attacks. Source: trendmicro.com

How Can You Protect Yourself From a BEC Attack?

One of the best ways you can defend your employees from falling into the clutches of a BEC attack is a rather simple one. If you don't want your employee to approve the moving of funds into an unauthorized account based on a deceiving email, make it so they cannot do that.

Implement more workflow controls, and make it so all financial transactions must get the approval of multiple individuals. That leads to the attacker having to deceive several people, which in turn increases the chances at least one will notice something off with the request. It's a simple yet effective strategy to ensure money only goes where it's supposed to, and not in the hands of criminals. The more fail-safes you have, the better.

Train your employees to stay hyper-aware of online schemes, and make sure they know how to avoid these shenanigans. They should always remain on the lookout for phishing emails. Below, you can see examples of two such emails.

Fig.7
Sample email asking the target to buy physical Apple iTunes gift cards. Source: symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

Fig.8
Sample email asking for help on a payroll/salary issue. Source: symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

After an email lands in your inbox, subject it to close inspection. Is the grammar okay? What about spelling and punctuation? Do email addresses and logos match up? Did you expect to receive the email, or did it catch you off-guard? All of these little things add up and matter, and they can save you a ton of money and troubles.

Who Is Most at Risk of Such Attacks?

Experts assert that so far in 2020, the BEC scheme trying to sneak malware into your system remains the most prominent threat to cybersecurity. Below you can see statistics of these attacks, based on country, as well as the most common keywords used in the attacks.

Fig.9
Top 10 BEC victim regions from July 2018 to June 2019. Source: symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

Fig.10
Top 10 BEC keywords used in attacks from July 2018 to June 2019. Source: symantec-enterprise-blogs.security.com

The very nature of the BEC attack places a wide variety of institutions at risk. Security researchers advise caution. Healthcare and insurance organizations, government agencies, public utilities, and even universities with medical programs should remain vigilant.

Coronavirus-related emails must get examined with attention and scrutiny. Especially so, if they contain links, 'you must click on,' attachments 'you must download,' or a listed bank account 'you must transfer funds to.' Double-check everything, and don't do anything on blind faith. It's always better to be safe than sorry. Take the extra time to verify the legitimacy of the email. That earns you more than peace of mind, but also a reliable system.

May 20, 2020

Leave a Reply