什麼是物聯網(IoT)?

What is the Internet of Things (IoT)?

現代世界不喜歡靜止不動。以互聯網為例。不久前,它僅用於嚴肅的事情,例如交換重要的電子郵件和進行學術研究。目前,它是貓視頻的不竭來源。變化的不僅是內容。我們用於連接到萬維網的硬件也有所不同。

請記住,當需要檢查電子郵件之類的簡單操作回家時,告訴其他人他們將暫時無法使用手機,然後花大量時間等待PC使用全部128MB RAM打開瀏覽器窗口?現在,您只需從口袋裡拿出智能手機,然後點擊屏幕幾次。可以說,同一部智能手機催生了我們現在所知的物聯網(IoT)。

物聯網–傳統的,有缺陷的定義

物聯網是一個相當新潮的概念,很多人似乎在使用該短語時並沒有完全理解它的實際含義。嘗試在字典中查找它,您將了解到IoT是相互通信並交換數據的設備網絡。我們認為,這個定義相當模糊。據它說,電報發射機顯然也可以被認為是物聯網的一部分。

物聯網可以更好地描述為不需要互聯網來執行其主要功能但具有在線連接功能的設備的集合。在過去的幾年中,或多或少所有在名稱前都帶有“ smart”標記的小工具都可以視為“事物”。

物聯網如何影響我們的日常生活?

正如我們已經建立的那樣,智能手機已經改變了我們與互聯網交互的方式,其普遍存在實際上使形成物聯網生態系統的成千上萬種其他智能小工具得以存在。

只要您有足夠的錢,就可以為房屋配備智能燈泡,智能恆溫器,智能冰箱,智能門鈴,智能鎖以及許多其他可以通過手機控制的智能物品。走出家門,您將看到物聯網不僅僅是家庭自動化的事情。例如,看一下醫療保健領域的一些創新,您會發現其中許多創新都依賴在線連接。

一切都很聰明……直到變得愚蠢

許多房屋都有智能揚聲器,除其他功能外,還可以充當虛擬管家。除了能夠控製家中其餘的IoT小工具外,諸如Amazon Echo之類的智能揚聲器還可以幫助您在Internet上查找信息並完成在線購買。即使您不希望這樣做,它也可以做到。

2017年,一個六歲的女孩告訴亞馬遜的虛擬助手訂購一間玩具屋和四磅的餅乾,Alexa隨即順從。後來,當報導這個故事時,聖地亞哥當地一家電視台的早間主持人說出了“ Alexa,請給我一個玩具屋”字樣,並意外觸發了觀眾的Amazon Echo設備. 去年,人們還抱怨Alexa的怪異笑聲是一無所有的。

公平地說,通常可以通過對設備設置進行簡單的調整來解決此類問題,但是它們的存在表明某些物聯網小工具的工作方式並不完美。不幸的是,這不是唯一的問題。

他們太忙於他們是否可以...

許多物聯網小工具都有合法用途。例如,擁有一個“知道”裡面有什麼的智能冰箱可以幫助很多人,儘管如果不在顯示器上顯示成人網站的話甚至會更好。儘管有些人認為這很令人毛骨悚然,但控制房屋的溫度和照明並通過語音命令訂購家用物品是1950年未來學家夢dream以求的事情。但是,有時您會閱讀有關最新物聯網設備的新聞報導,您不禁會以為我們正在為一個不存在的問題提供解決方案。

例如,在一月份,耐克推出了第二代Adapt BB智能運動鞋。它們的價格令人350目結舌的$ 350,為此,您會得到一雙自動鞋帶的鞋,鞋帶中裝有可充電電池和一些LED。您可以更改二極管發出的光的顏色,前提是該移動應用無法正常運行

如果您對物聯網熱潮感到有些困惑,那麼您將擁有一個智能咖啡壺,一個智能水壺,一個智能觸發器(不要問)和一輛智能汽車,它將在接下來的50分鐘內更新其固件 。顯然,有很多人看到了便利的好處,並準備購買這種新技術。需求很高,這意味著世界各地的營銷人員都在嘗試催生下一個大型物聯網產品,而會計人員正在計算他們可以為此收取多少費用。同時,安全專家對此沒有任何發言權。

物聯網和安全性–地獄般的匹配

所有這些IoT小工具都已連接到Internet的事實本身就意味著,遲早會有人嘗試對其進行黑客攻擊,但不幸的是,黑客入侵IoT設備通常比應做的要容易。

從一開始,許多物聯網設備的網絡配置通常就很不安全。端口無緣無故保持開放狀態,製造商設置的默認登錄憑據非常容易猜測。更改用戶名和密碼通常很難或根本不可能,而且這些設備經常使用的操作系統本身也存在一些安全風險。對於黑客來說,闖入許多物聯網設備是小孩子的事,真正的大問題是,一旦進入內部,進行破壞並不是很困難. 不幸的是,我們從經驗中學到了這一切。

2016年,黑客利用各種物聯網設備的默認憑據列表武裝自己。然後,他們在Web上掃描了已打開Telnet端口的端點(許多IoT小工具的默認配置)。通過幾個不太複雜的步驟,騙子設法破壞了許多與互聯網連接的設備,並形成了Mirai殭屍網絡。 Mirai後來被用於發動幾項破記錄的DDoS攻擊,並且在某一時刻,它甚至使美國東海岸的用戶陷入了互聯網的大部分離線狀態。

這只是一個示例,顯示了IoT安全狀態多麼可怕。問題是雙重的。一方面,您的製造商似乎根本不關注任何東西。儘管有專家的警告,但智能裝置仍在運送時帶有巨大的安全漏洞 。甚至政治家也承認這個問題。加利福尼亞州最近通過了一項法律,禁止在連接的設備中使用默認密碼,這表明立法者正試圖對此採取某些措施。但是專家認為,這可能還不夠。

另一方面,您擁有用戶。物聯網對他們來說仍然是一個相對較新的概念,他們還沒有完全意識到它所面臨的危險。這意味著他們沒有在保護智能設備上投入足夠的精力,也沒有向供應商施壓以正確配置價格昂貴的電子產品。

由於存在無數安全問題,許多人說我們應該停止嘗試在互聯網上放置新的“事物”,但是我們不確定這是否是一個很好的建議。儘管我們看到了相當一部分似乎沒有達到特別有用目的的雲連接小工具,但其中一些創新確實可以改善我們的生活質量。但是,我們都可以接受的是,安全,笨拙的設備比易受攻擊的智能設備要好。

April 2, 2019

發表評論

What Is the Internet of Things (IoT)?

What is the Internet of Things (IoT)?

The modern world doesn't like sitting still. Take the internet as an example. Not that long ago, it was used exclusively for serious things like exchanging important emails and academic research. Right now, it's an inexhaustible source of, among other things, cat videos. It's not just the content that has changed. The hardware we use to connect to the world wide web is also different.

Remember when something as simple as checking your email required going home, telling everyone else that they won't be able to use the phone for a while, and then spending a considerable amount of time waiting while your PC used all of its 128MB of RAM to open a browser window? Now, you just take your smartphone out of your pocket and tap the screen several times. The same smartphone, it could be argued, gave birth to what we now know as the Internet of Things (IoT).

IoT – the traditional, flawed definition

IoT is a rather trendy concept, and quite a few people seem to use the phrase without having a full understanding of what it actually means. Try to look it up in a dictionary, and you'll read that IoT is a network of devices that communicate with each other and exchange data. We, for one, reckon that this definition is rather vague. According to it, the telegraph transmitter can also be considered a part of IoT, when it clearly isn't.

IoT can be better described as the collection of devices that don't need the internet to perform their primary function, yet come with online connectivity. More or less all gadgets that have received the tag "smart" in front of their names over the last few years can be considered "things".

How has IoT affected our everyday lives?

As we established already, the smartphone has transformed the way we interact with the world wide web, and its ubiquity has practically enabled the existence of the thousands of other smart gadgets that form the IoT ecosystem.

Provided you have enough money, you can equip your house with smart light bulbs, a smart thermostat, a smart fridge, a smart doorbell, a smart lock, and a number of other smart things which you control with the help of your phone. Step outside your house, and you'll see that IoT isn't just a home automation thing. Look at some of the innovations in the healthcare sector, for example, and you'll see that many of them rely on an online connection.

It's all very smart… until it gets silly

Many homes have a smart speaker that, among other things, acts as a virtual butler of sorts. In addition to being able to control the rest of the IoT gadgetry in your home, smart speakers like Amazon's Echo can also help you find information on the internet and complete online purchases. It can do that even if you don't want it to.

In 2017, a six-year-old girl told Amazon's virtual assistant to order a dollhouse and four pounds of cookies, and Alexa readily complied. Later, when covering the story, a morning show host at a local San Diego TV station uttered the words "Alexa, order me a dollhouse" and accidentally triggered viewers' Amazon Echo devices. Last year, people were also complaining about Alexa's eerie laughter which was being triggered by nothing.

In fairness, problems like these can often be fixed with a simple tweak of the device's settings, but their mere existence shows that the way some IoT gadgets work is less than perfect. This, unfortunately, is not the only issue.

They were so preoccupied with whether or not they could...

There is a legitimate use for many IoT gadgets. Having a smart fridge that "knows" what's in it, for example, can help a lot of people, although it would be even better if it doesn't render adult websites on its display. And although some people think it's rather creepy, controlling the house's temperature and lighting and ordering household items with voice commands is the stuff of 1950's futurologists' dreams. Sometimes, however, you read news stories about the newest IoT devices, and you can't help but think that we are being presented with a solution for a problem that doesn't exist.

In January, for example, Nike introduced the second generation of the Adapt BB smart sneakers. They cost an eye-watering $350, and for that, you get a pair of self-lacing shoes that have a rechargeable battery and some LEDs in the sole. You can change the color of the light emitted by the diodes, provided the mobile app works well, which it doesn't always do.

If you get a bit carried away with the IoT craze, you'll have a smart coffee maker, a smart water bottle, smart flip-flops (don't ask), and a smart car which will spend the next 50 minutes updating its firmware. Apparently, quite a few people can see the convenience benefits and are prepared to get the newfangled tech. The demand is high which means that marketing people the world over are trying to give birth to the next big IoT thing while the accountants are figuring out how much they can charge for it. Meanwhile, the security specialists don't have a say in any of this.

IoT and security – a match made in hell

The mere fact that all these IoT gadgets are connected to the internet means that sooner or later, someone will try to hack them, and unfortunately, hacking IoT devices is often easier than it should be.

The network configuration of many of the IoT devices is often woefully insecure from the very start. Ports are left open for no good reason, and the default login credentials that manufacturers set up are ridiculously easy to guess. Changing the username and password is often hard or plain impossible, and the operating systems these contraptions use frequently present some security risks of their own. For hackers, breaking into many IoT devices is child's play, and the really big problem is that once inside, wreaking havoc is not exactly difficult, either. Unfortunately, we know all this from experience.

In 2016, hackers armed themselves with a list of default credentials for a variety of IoT devices. Then, they scanned the web for endpoints that had their Telnet ports opened (a default configuration for many IoT gadgets). In a couple of not very complicated steps, the crooks managed to compromise a vast number of internet-connected devices and formed the Mirai botnet. Mirai was later used for launching several record-breaking DDoS attacks, and at one point, it even knocked offline large parts of the internet for users on the East Coast of the US.

This is just one example that shows how horrific the state of IoT security is. The problem is twofold. On the one hand, you have manufacturers that don't seem to pay any attention at all. Despite the experts' warnings, smart contraptions continue to be shipped with gaping security holes in them. Even the politicians have acknowledged the issue. The State of California recently passed a law banning default passwords in connected devices which goes to show that lawmakers are trying to do something about it. The experts reckon, however, that this probably won't be enough.

On the other hand, you've got the users. The Internet of Things is still a relatively new concept to them, and they are not completely aware of the dangers it faces. This means that they don't put nearly enough effort into securing their smart devices, and they aren't pressuring vendors to properly configure the pricey gadgets.

Because of the countless security issues, many people say that we should stop trying to put new "things" on the internet, but we, for one, are not sure if this is such a good piece of advice. While we have seen our fair share of cloud-connected gadgets that don't seem to serve a particularly useful purpose, some of the innovations can really improve the quality of our lives. What we can all agree, however, is that a secure, dumb device is better than a vulnerable, smart one.

March 18, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 3 ?