孩子們在校外時上網衝浪的夏季安全提示

summer kids out school internet safety tips

隨著數百萬學校的孩子準備在家里和校外度過接下來的幾個月,數以百萬計的父母應該在他們的家中準備這項技術以獲得更多的孩子屏幕時間。

根據國家信託基金會的一項調查,10名父母中有9名希望自己的孩子能夠度過與自然相關的珍貴童年。此外,在全國信託調查中,大約96%的父母在4至14歲的兒童中接受調查,認為孩子與大自然有關係並表達了他們在戶外玩耍的重要性。不幸的是,這樣一個夢想已經逐漸消失,讓技術在兒童的生活中發揮更大作用,因為他們開始在夏季將大部分空閒時間花在電腦屏幕前。

孩子們的花費不到他們父母外出時間的一半 ,這通常意味著在夏天,屏幕時間會增加。這可能意味著安全問題的風險增加。對於使用家庭計算機上網的孩子的父母來說,這是我們為孩子們上網提供的五大夏季安全提示,以幫助孩子和計算機在夏季及以後保持安全。

兒童上網的五大夏季安全提示

  1. 備份您的重要數據。有時孩子和電腦不會混在一起。這就是為什麼定期備份最重要的數據始終至關重要的原因。最好有一個物理備份(在外部硬盤中)和一個基於雲的備份。如果孩子意外刪除了重要數據或不可替代的圖像,或者他們錯誤地用病毒感染了計算機,那麼系統備份就會派上用場。
  2. 使用防病毒軟件。根據最近的一份微軟安全情報報告,世界上大約四分之一的PC都沒有受到病毒,惡意軟件和其他可能造成嚴重傷害的威脅的保護。必須始終使用更新的防病毒或反惡意軟件應用程序來幫助抵禦可能會破壞可能竊取個人數據的基本文件或新興計算機病毒的最新惡意軟件威脅。
  3. 跟踪在線帳戶密碼。很多人相信他們的瀏覽器會記住他們對各種網站的密碼,這樣可以快速訪問常用網站或在線帳戶。但是,當孩子們在線時,您可能不希望他們自動登錄您的亞馬遜帳戶或您的網上銀行。密碼管理器(如Cyclonis Password Manager)可讓您方便地存儲加密保管庫中站點的密碼。使用Cyclonis Password Manager等應用程序,您可以為不希望孩子自動訪問的站點創建主密碼。
  4. 跟上孩子的社交媒體帳戶。今天的社交媒體熱潮必將吸引那些適合使用Facebook,Twitter,Instagram,Snapchat等服務的年齡段的孩子。在夏季,當孩子們失學時,他們會想要去他們最喜歡的社交場所。媒體服務分享豐富的信息. 父母必須不斷監控孩子的社交媒體帳戶,以確保他們不會分享個人信息,非法圖像或與不穩定的個人聯繫。許多社交媒體平台允許專業的隱私和安全功能,每個家長都應該定製到他們認為適合孩子的水平。
  5. 設置一些規則並限制計算機時間。在孩子們上網衝浪的時間與外出玩耍或在沒有技術的幫助下與其他孩子進行社交互動之間找到一個愉快的媒介是一項艱鉅而重要的任務。但是,減少迫在眉睫的安全風險的一個重要部分是限制在互聯網上花費的時間。如果孩子花更多時間上網,這種風險的可能性就會增加。從根本上說,如果孩子不經常使用家用電腦,他們就不會遇到麻煩或偶然發現惡意軟件。此外,通過制定一些規則或鼓勵孩子在互聯網上看到任何看起來錯誤或威脅的事情時告訴您,您可以立即解決問題,而不是讓它演變成對整個家庭造成嚴重後果的嚴重問題或安全威脅。
May 23, 2019

Summer Safety Tips for Kids Surfing the Internet While They're Out of School

summer kids out school internet safety tips

As millions of school kids prepare to spend the next few months at home and out of school, millions of parents should be preparing the technology in their homes for more kid screen time.

According to a National Trust survey, 9 out of 10 parents would prefer their children to spend their precious childhood years connecting with nature. Moreover, about 96% of the parents questioned in the National Trust survey with children between the ages of 4 and 14 thought that it is essential for their kids to have a connection with nature and expressed the importance of them playing outdoors. Unfortunately, such a dream has faded to give way for technology to play a more involved roll in the lives of children as they embark on the summer season to spend most of their free time in front of the computer screen.

Kids are spending less than half the time that their parents did outside, which generally means that in the summer, screen time goes up. That could mean an increased risk for security problems. For parents of kids who surf the Internet using the family computer, here's our top 5 summer safety tips for kids surfing the Internet to help keep kids and computers safe during the summer and beyond.

Top 5 Summer Safety Tips for Kids Surfing the Internet

  1. Backup your important data. Sometimes kids and computers don't mix. That's why it's always critical to have regular backups of your most important data. It's best to have one physical backup (in an external hard drive) and one cloud-based backup. If an unfortunate situation occurs where a child has accidentally deleted important data or irreplaceable images, or if they ever mistakenly infected the computer with a virus, a system backup will come in handy.
  2. Use anti-virus software. According to a recent Microsoft Security Intelligence Report, about a quarter of all PCs in the world are unprotected from viruses, malware, and other threats that could cause severe harm. It is essential that an updated anti-virus or anti-malware application is used at all times to help protect against the latest malware threats that damage essential files or emerging computer viruses that may steal personal data.
  3. Keep track of online account passwords. Lots of people trust their browser to remember their passwords to various websites, which allows quick access to commonly-visited websites or online accounts. However, when the kids are online, you may not want them to automatically be able to sign in to your Amazon account or your online banking. Password managers like the Cyclonis Password Manager let you conveniently store passwords for sites in an encrypted vault. With an application like the Cyclonis Password Manager, you can create a master password to be entered for sites that you don't want your kids automatically accessing.
  4. Keep up with your kids' social media accounts. Today's social media craze is bound to captivate kids who are of the proper age to utilize services like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, etc. During the summer months, while kids are out of school, they will want to take to their favorite social media service to share a wealth of information. It is essential that parents continually monitor their kids' social media accounts to ensure that they are not sharing personal information, illicit images, or connecting with precarious individuals. Many social media platforms permit specialized privacy and security features that every parent should customize to a level that they feel is comfortable for their child.
  5. Set some rules and limit computer time. Finding a happy medium between the time that kids spend on the computer surfing the Internet versus going outside to play or socially interact with other kids without the aid of technology is a daunting but vital task. Though, an essential part of reducing looming security risks is to limit the time spent on the Internet. Such risks have a higher chance of arising if a child is spending more time surfing the Internet. Fundamentally, a kid can't get into trouble or stumble upon malware if they aren't using the home computer so often. Also, by setting some rules or encourage kids to tell you whenever they see anything that looks wrong or threatening on the Internet you can immediately address the issue instead of allowing it to evolve into severe problem or security threat that dire consequences for the whole family.

May 25, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 9 ?