幫助增強智能家居安全的十大提示

如果您正在試圖找出如何管理智能家居安全,那麼您已經走上了正確的軌道,因為您所需要的只是一些您可以實際應用的理論知識。我們在這里為您提供這些知識,以便您自己可以掌控自己的家庭安全。在這篇文章中,您將找到10個安全步驟,這些步驟將幫助您處理智能家居安全,並確保內部所有人始終安全。

1.安裝可靠的硬件和軟件

SmartHomeUSA完美地定義了智能家居這一術語。根據智能家居美國的說法,智能家居是:“一個住宅,有家電,照明,供暖,空調,電視,電腦,娛樂音頻和視頻系統,安全和相機系統,能夠相互通信,可以通過時間表,從家中的任何房間遠程控制,以及通過電話或互聯網從世界任何地方遠程控制。這意味著您安裝的硬件和軟件支持您的智能家居。您應該知道已經,並非所有硬件和軟件都同樣有用或可靠,您有責任採用最好,最可靠,最先進的選擇。如果您不能投資最現代的東西,請注重可靠性。在安裝任何內容之前,請密切關注評論和EULA,隱私政策,使用條款,許可協議和其他法律聲明。“

2.經常更新軟件

您不能忘記安裝更新。過時的軟件自動更容易受到嚴重的安全問題的影響,您希望不惜一切代價避免這些問題。我們以您的反惡意軟件和防病毒軟件為例。如果它已過時 - 即,未安裝最新的安全更新,並且安全漏洞暴露 - 您將面臨將自己和家庭暴露給惡性網絡攻擊者的風險。他們甚至可以使用最不起眼的安全後門來滑入和接管。就在十年前,我們使用的軟件僅限於我們的計算機,筆記本電腦和移動設備。現在,我們使用軟件來控制我們的供暖,洗衣機,嬰兒監視器,語音助理,娛樂設備,安全攝像頭等。如果您家中的單件軟件已過時,則無法保證全面的智能家居安全。要糾正此問題,請始終掌握所有更新。

3.設置防火牆

鑑於您家中可能有相當多的計算機和智能設備,您需要考慮設置防火牆。它可以顯著提高設備的整體安全性,因此在考慮如何保護智能家居時,這是最重要的事情之一。可靠的防火牆控製網絡流量,為您提供報告,並充當防禦機制。無論何時瀏覽網頁,在線購買商品,通過社交網絡帳戶與朋友交流,或做任何其他事情,信息包都會被發送和接收,防火牆的工作就是過濾它們,並可能阻止不包含的數據包。符合標準,即被網絡犯罪分子使用。如果您關心虛擬安全性,則應該考慮設置防火牆。

4.考慮安裝UTM

雖然您可以單獨安裝防病毒軟件或反惡意軟件和防火牆,但您也可以選擇安裝UTM(統一威脅管理)設備. UTM設備同時提供多種不同的安全功能,因此在處理智能家居安全時非常有用。 UTM設備通常為用戶提供防病毒,防火牆,反垃圾郵件,VPN,URL過濾以及其他可以提高整體安全性的服務。這類電器的主要缺點是它們並不便宜。 eSecurity Planet創建了十大統一威脅管理系統列表,如果您查看列表,您還可以找到定價。最終,這不是必需品,如果沒有昂貴的UTM應用程序,您當然可以管理智能家居安全。

5.固定家用相機

在保護家用相機時考慮步驟1-2非常重要。不幸的是,家用相機一直被黑客攻擊,因為它很容易做到。您可以在此博文中了解有關此內容的更多信息 。只要您安裝提供加密的合法軟件並安裝必要的更新以支持您的安全攝像頭軟件,您就可以了。在討論智能家居安全時,重點關注家用攝像機,因為如果黑客能夠訪問這些家庭攝像機,那麼您和居住在家中的人可能面臨更高的風險。讓你的賬戶遭到黑客攻擊是一回事,讓間諜跟踪你的身體完全不同。在最糟糕的情況下,他們可以使用他們獲得的視頻協調搶劫,勒索,甚至綁架。

6.保護您的無線網絡

必須正確保護無線網絡。如果您仍在使用WEP來保護您的無線網絡,您應該切換到使用WPA2和WPA3 。 WiFi保護訪問的工作是確保您的設備和路由器之間共享的信息是加密的,因此是安全的。設置無線網絡後, 您需要做一些事情 。最終,最重要的是隱藏網絡並設置強密碼。我們還建議禁用訪客網絡訪問。請注意誰始終連接到您的無線網絡。

7.保護無線路由器

在討論無線網絡保護時,我們不能忽視無線路由器的安全性。首先,請務必更改名稱和密碼。大多數路由器都帶有通用名稱和密碼,這些名稱和密碼很弱,因此,任何知道自己正在做什麼的人都可以輕易破解它們。在同一路由器上創建兩個WiFi網絡以分配負載(例如,計算機,平板電腦和手機以及您不用於處理在線銀行操作或敏感數據的智能家居設備)也是一個好主意。另外,不要忘記您的路由器也可能需要更新!

8.創建備份

您可以純粹為了方便起見創建備份,但事實上,您必須備份數據以確保在緊急情況下的安全性. 據CSO稱,由於MQTT配置錯誤, 32,000個智能家居面臨被黑客入侵的風險 ,我們確信還有很多其他問題可能導致相同的結果。在某些情況下,您的智能家居安全可能無法實現,您希望做好準備。俗話說,你必須做好最壞的準備,並希望做到最好。如果您的智能家居被黑客攻擊,您希望能夠立即恢復並運行系統。備份密碼可能是最重要的,因為您不想忘記密碼。此外,如果備份它們,則應該更容易在檢測到安全漏洞時快速更改它們。

9.謹慎更改密碼

我們已經討論過更改路由器的默認密碼。不用說,您應該更改智能家居設備附帶的所有默認密碼。無論是您的無線路由器還是您的語音助手,您都希望使用強密碼保護它。說到強密碼,您必須評估當前的密碼,以確定它們是否足夠強大以防止攻擊者離開。像qwerty1231qaz2wsx這樣的密碼是任何人都可以使用的最糟糕的密碼,但令人驚訝的是,人們仍然會這樣做。如果您的任何密碼容易被猜到或包含個人信息(例如,地址,姓名,難忘日期或電話號碼),您想立即更改它們。更改密碼時,請確保密碼盡可能長(如果長度不受限制,則至少包含14個字符),並包含大寫和小寫字母,數字和隨機字符。如果您擔心記住這些密碼,還有一件事要做。

10.使用可信密碼管理器

如果要適當地控制智能家居安全,必須設置強密碼。當然,密碼越強,記住密碼就越複雜。你想在某處保存密碼,但你不能犯錯誤。首先,不要在隨機紙上寫下你的密碼(還記得我們在安全攝像頭後面討論過間諜嗎?)。其次,請勿將密碼存儲在計算機或其他智能設備上的隨機文件中。如果他們被黑了,那麼在您意識到正在發生的事情之前,您的所有密碼都可能被盜。那麼,你怎麼能保證你的密碼安全?我們建議使用密碼管理器。如果您想為其他智能家居安全工具省錢,您會很高興得知您不需要妥協。 Cyclonis Password Manager是免費的,您可以使用它來創建和保護您的所有密碼。它們經過加密並存儲在保險庫中,因此您無需擔心會被黑客攻擊。

希望您不再需要知道如何保護您的智能家居,因為您擁有的知識將幫助您以最佳方式管理您的智能家居安全。當然,如果您希望繼續討論,可以使用下面的評論部分進行討論。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 7是什麼?

Top 10 Tips To Help Enhance Your Smart Home Security

If you are trying to figure out how to manage your smart home security, you are already on the right track because all you need is some theoretical knowledge that you could apply practically. We are here to supply you with that knowledge, so that you yourself could take the reins of your home security into your own hands. In this post, you will find 10 security steps that will help you take care of your smart home security and ensure that everyone inside is safe at all times.

1. Install reliable hardware and software

SmartHomeUSA has defined the term Smart Home perfectly. According to Smart Home USA, a Smart Home is: "a residence that has appliances, lighting, heating, air conditioning, TVs, computers, entertainment audio & video systems, security, and camera systems that are capable of communicating with one another and can be controlled remotely by a time schedule, from any room in the home, as well as remotely from any location in the world by phone or internet. That means that your smart home is supported by the hardware and software you install. As you should know already, not all hardware and software is equally as useful or reliable, and it is your responsibility to employ the best, most reliable, state-of-the-art options. If you cannot invest in the most modern things, focus on reliability. Pay close attention to reviews and EULA, Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, License Agreement, and other legal statements before installing anything."

2. Update software frequently

You must not forget to install updates. Outdated software is automatically more susceptible to serious security issues, and you want to avoid those at all cost. Let's take your antimalware and antivirus software as an example. If it is outdated – i.e., the latest security updates are not installed, and security vulnerabilities are exposed – you run the risk of exposing yourself and your home to vicious cyber attackers. They can use even the most inconspicuous security backdoors to slither in and take over. Just a decade ago, the software we used was limited to our computers, laptops, and mobile devices. Now, we use software to control our heating, washing machines, baby monitors, voice assistants, entertainment devices, security cameras, and so on. If a single piece of software in your home is outdated, you simply cannot guarantee comprehensive smart home security. To rectify this, stay on top of all updates.

3. Set up a firewall

Given that you probably have quite a few computers and smart devices inside your home, you need to think about setting up a firewall. It can significantly enhance the overall security of devices, and so that is one of the most important things to look into when thinking about how to secure a smart home. A reliable firewall controls the network traffic, provides you with reports, and acts as a defense mechanism. Whenever you browse the web, purchase goods online, communicate with your friends via social networking accounts, or do anything else, information packets are sent and received, and it's the job of a firewall to filter them and, potentially, block packets that do not meet the standards, i.e., are used by cybercriminals. If you care about your virtual security, you should really consider setting up a firewall.

4. Consider installing UTM

While you might install antivirus or antimalware software and firewall separately, you also have the option of installing UTM (Unified Threat Management) appliances. A UTM appliance offers several different security functions at the same time, and so it can be extremely useful when taking care of your smart home security. UTM appliances usually offer the user antivirus, firewall, anti-spam, VPN, URL filtering, and other services that can increase the overall security. The main downfall of such appliances is that they are not cheap. eSecurity Planet has created a list of top 10 unified threat management systems, and if you check the list, you will also find the pricing. Ultimately, that is not a necessity, and you can certainly manage your smart home security without expensive UTM applications.

5. Secure your home camera

It is important to think about steps 1-2 when securing a home camera. Unfortunately, home cameras are hacked all the time because it is fairly easy to do. You can learn more about this in this blog post. As long as you install legitimate software that offers encryption and you install necessary updates to support your security camera software, you should be fine. It is important to focus on home cameras when discussing smart home security because if hackers gain access to those, you and the people living in your home could be at higher risk. It is one thing to have your accounts hacked, and it is an entirely different thing to have spies tracking you physically. In the worst case scenario, they could orchestrate robberies, blackmailing, or even kidnapping using the video they obtain.

6. Protect your wireless network

It is essential that you protect your wireless network appropriately. If you are still using WEP to protect your wireless network, you should really switch to using WPA2 and WPA3. The job of WiFi Protected Access is to ensure that the information shared between your device and the router is encrypted and, therefore, secured. Once you set up a wireless network, there are a few things you want to do. Ultimately, it is most important that you hide your network and set a strong password. We also suggest disabling the guest network access. Be mindful about who connects to your wireless network at all times.

7. Secure your wireless router

When discussing wireless network protection, we cannot ignore the security of the wireless router. First and foremost, make sure to change the name and password. Most routers come with generic names and passwords that are weak and, therefore, can be cracked easily by anyone who knows what they're doing. It is also a good idea to create two WiFi networks on the same router to distribute the load, for example, between computers, tablets, and phones and your smart home devices that you do not use to handle online banking operations or sensitive data. Also, do not forget that your router might need updates too!

8. Create a backup

You might create a backup purely for your own convenience, but, in fact, you must backup data to keep it safe in case of an emergency. According to CSO, 32,000 smart homes are at risk of being hacked due to MQTT misconfigurations, and we are sure that there are plenty of other issues that could lead to the same outcome. In some cases, your smart home security could be out of your hands, and you want to be ready. As the saying goes, you must prepare for the worst, and hope for the best. In case your smart home is hacked, you want to be able to get the systems back up and running in no time. It might be most important for you to backup your passwords because you do not want to forget them. Also, if they are backed up, it should be easier for you to change them quickly in case a security breach is detected.

9. Change passwords mindfully

We have already talked about changing the default password of your router. Needless to say, you should change all default passwords that come with your smart home devices. Whether it is your wireless router or your voice assistant, you want it to be protected with a strong password. Speaking of strong passwords, you must evaluate your current passwords to determine if they are powerful enough to keep attackers away. Passwords like qwerty123 or 1qaz2wsx are among the worst ones anyone could ever use, but, surprisingly, people still do it. If any of your passwords are easy to guess or contain personal information (e.g., addresses, names, memorable dates, or phone numbers), you want to change them immediately. When you change your passwords, make sure they are as long as possible (if the length is not limited, go for at least 14 characters), and contain upper and lower case letters, numbers, and random characters. If you are worried about remembering such passwords, there's one more thing to do.

10. Employ a trusted password manager

Setting up strong passwords is a must if you want to control your smart home security appropriately. Of course, the stronger a password is, the more complicated it is to remember it. You want to save the passwords somewhere, but you must not make mistakes. First of all, DO NOT write your passwords down on random pieces of paper (remember when we discussed spies behind your security cameras?). Second, DO NOT store your passwords in random files on your computer or other smart devices. If they are hacked, all of your passwords could be stolen before you realize what is going on. So, how can you keep your passwords safe? We suggest employing a password manager. If you're trying to save money for other smart home security tools, you will be glad to learn that you do not need to compromise. Cyclonis Password Manager is free, and you can use it to create and protect all of your passwords. They are encrypted and stored in a vault, and so you do not need to worry about having them hacked.

Hopefully, you don't need to wonder how to secure your smart home anymore because you have the knowledge that will help you manage your smart home security in the best way possible. Of course, if you wish to continue the discussion, you can do so using the comments section below.

By Foley
November 15, 2018
November 15, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 9 ?