什么是安全意识培训,您应该在工作区中应用它吗?

Workplace Security Awareness Training

研究报告表明 ,多达90%的数据泄露都是以某种方式与人为错误相关联的。很难说这个估计有多准确,但是,到目前为止,我们已经报道了很多网络安全事件,我们可以有把握地说,在大多数情况下,数据受到损害并不是因为黑客太聪明,而是因为负责的人确保它做得还不够。弱密码和其他配置错误是日常事件,公司似乎并不特别确定如何改变这一点。再一次,指出解决问题的原因被证明是如此困难,这远非世界上最容易的事情。然而,很少有人愿意争辩说缺乏意识并不是问题的一部分。

工人们对威胁形势知之甚少

很容易将大多数网络安全错误归咎于鲁莽行为,而且可以说,经常会有不少数量的专家这样做。然而,我们认为,错误往往是普通的无知造成的。

用户不会使用“P @ ssword123”等密码保护敏感帐户因为他们希望看到数据落入坏人之手。他们这样做是因为他们不知道现代暴力攻击如何轻易破解这些密码。

他们将敏感信息放在安全性较差的服务器上,并不是因为他们希望看到他们工作的公司因为所有错误的原因而成为头条新闻,而是因为他们不知道网络犯罪分子能够多快找到易受攻击的数据。

简而言之,如果人们知道他们面临的是什么样的危险,他们就会更好地保护自己免受危险。

贵公司是否需要安全意识培训计划?

这不是一个问题,它是否需要它。这是一个需要什么类型的培训的问题。不幸的是,因为没有两个组织是相同的,回答它并不像你希望的那么简单。例如,如果您的员工在离线环境中处理大部分数据,那么教他们正确配置服务器防火墙对他们来说将无济于事。

良好的安全意识计划取决于您的工作人员完成工作的工具和机制的广泛知识。如果您真的要提高组织的安全性,那么您或聘请的专家必须考虑每一个细节。这确实涉及大量时间和(可能)资金,但这种培训的好处可以大大超过支出。然而,在你解决所有这些问题之前,你需要向你的工人传授有关现实世界和互联网上21世纪安全的一些基本真理。

安全意识培训的基础

根据您公司的需求定制的广泛培训计划是提高数据安全性的最佳方式. 然而,在你开始之前,你需要确保每个人都知道在家庭和办公室都需要考虑的一些普遍威胁。我们现在来看看它们,我们希望能帮助您的员工保持安全。

    • 密码卫生差

我们已经在这些页面上广泛讨论了密码问题,您可能还需要与员工讨论密码问题。尝试向他们提供真实世界的证据 ,如凭据填充密码喷涂攻击,并尝试向他们展示如何添加“123!”,而不是坚持理论上的可能性。到一个简单的字典词的结尾不会增加他们的密码的力量。至关重要的是,向他们展示Cyclonis Password Manager等专用密码管理工具如何帮助他们生成,组织和存储他们的登录数据。

    • 网络钓鱼攻击

网络钓鱼可以说是最简单的网络攻击。例如,在大多数情况下,它使用最古老,最着名的在线交流方法(电子邮件),虽然骗子们使用的信心技巧往往非常聪明,但将骗局机器设置为动作的技术工作是没有那么多。不管你信不信,这些正是网络钓鱼攻击往往如此有效的原因。发送大量电子邮件很便宜,并且想出一个欺骗用户点击错误链接或打开错误文件的技巧并不是很困难。如果您的员工意识到这一点,他们将更有可能使用他们拥有的工具来保护自己。

    • 缺乏双因素身份验证

通过启用双因素身份验证 (或2FA),您将在黑客方面面临另一个障碍。这意味着,如果他们想要进入您的帐户,他们不仅需要您的用户名和密码,还需要访问您的电子邮件,手机或物理令牌。这些作为限制未授权访问可能性的第二个因素。

2FA不是防故障的。事实上, 远非 如此 ,但它仍然是添加另一层安全性的最简单方法,您的工作人员应尽可能使用它。

    • 过时且易受攻击的软件

再一次,理论上解释旧软件带来的危险不太可能对你的工人造成任何真正的牵引力. 相比之下,如果您向他们展示用户如何继续让他们的PC感染恶意软件,因为两年前应该修补的安全漏洞,他们更有可能倾听。及时安装所有安全补丁可以为个人用户和整个组织节省很多麻烦。不可否认,这有时会导致问题,特别是如果使用的软件更复杂,但它不能成为让系统易受攻击的借口。毕竟,潜在的数据泄露不仅会损害人们的信息;它还会严重损害组织的声誉。

    • 个人设备的安全性

你可以说这更多的是政策而不是培训问题,但是,在BYOD(自带设备)文化的时代,我们不能忽视它。研究人员一直在监测这些趋势,他们得出的结论是,当他们使用自己的手机,笔记本电脑或平板电脑工作时,工作人员确实感觉更舒服。然而,专家们还得出结论,许多人没有采取足够的措施来保护他们的数据,因为他们认为他们没有什么可失去的。如果您要让您的员工使用他们的个人设备完成与工作相关的任务,您需要确保他们完全了解赌注的高低。您还需要对可以从个人设备执行哪些操作以及哪些操作无法执行规则,您可能需要考虑投资强大的身份访问管理 (IAM)系统。

    • 身体安全

如果您的员工在计算机或其他电子设备的帮助下完成大部分工作,您可能会认为此项目并不是特别重要。但情况并非如此。当然,必须密切监视公司所在建筑物和办公室的访问情况,但还有其他一些不太明显的因素需要考虑。

例如,去年夏威夷紧急事务管理局(Japanian Emergency Management Agency)成为头条新闻,因为一名记者不小心拍下了一张贴有密码的便条纸。即使数据是数字格式,它仍然可以在物理世界中受到损害。 2017年,希思罗机场的一名员工丢失了一个包含“敏感个人数据”的USB记忆棒。闪存驱动器最终被发现并返回,但英国最大的机场最终支付了大约12万美元的罚款(按当前汇率计算约为15万美元)。

还有许多其他数据在现实世界中受到损害的原因,这就是为什么告诉您的员工,您放在便携式存储设备上的信息的安全性与您在线上传的数据的安全性同样重要。

培训计划的其余部分应旨在使公司特定的任务更加安全,再次,它应该更专注于现实世界的例子,而不是理论知识. 然而,在你能够做到这一点之前,你需要奠定基础,我们认为上面列出的列表是一个好的开始。关于它的好处是,如果你的工人知道他们面对的是什么,他们更有可能制定自己的规则和限制并坚持下去。反过来,这使您的工作变得更加容易。

July 16, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 8是什么?

What Is Security Awareness Training and Should You Apply It in Your Workspace?

Workplace Security Awareness Training

Research reports suggest that as much as 90% of all data breaches are in one way or another connected to human error. It's difficult to say how accurate this estimation is, but, having covered quite a few cybersecurity incidents so far, we can safely say that in the majority of cases, data gets compromised not because the hackers are too clever, but because the people responsible for securing it haven't done enough. Weak passwords and other configuration mistakes are an everyday occurrence, and companies don't seem to be especially sure how to change this. Once again, pointing out the reasons why solving the problem is proving to be so difficult is far from the easiest thing in the world. Few people are willing to argue, however, that the lack of awareness is not a part of the issue.

Workers just don't know enough about the threat landscape

It's easy to blame most cybersecurity mistakes on recklessness, and it's fair to say that a not insignificant number of experts do it frequently. We reckon, however, that more often than not, errors are the result of plain old ignorance.

Users don't protect sensitive accounts with passwords like "P@ssword123!" because they want to see data fall into the wrong hands. They do it because they don't know how easily modern brute-force attacks can crack such passwords.

They put sensitive information in poorly secured servers not because they want to see the company they work for making headlines for all the wrong reasons, but because they are not aware of how quickly cybercriminals can find the vulnerable data.

In short, if people know what sort of danger they're faced with, they will be better prepared to protect themselves from it.

Does your company need a security awareness training program?

It's not a question of if it needs it. It's a question of what type of training it needs. Unfortunately, because no two organizations are the same, answering it is not as straightforward as you might hope. If your employees process most of the data in an offline environment, for example, teaching them about the proper configuration of a server's firewall won't help them a whole lot.

A good security awareness program is dependent on extensive knowledge of the tools and mechanisms your workers do their jobs with. Either you or a hired expert must take every single detail into account if you're really going to improve the security of your organization. This does indeed involve a serious amount of time and (potentially) money, but the benefits of this type of training can vastly outweigh the outlay. Before you get to all this, however, you need to teach your workers some fundamental truths about 21st century security both in the real world and on the internet.

The foundations of security awareness training

An extensive training program customized to fit your company's needs is the best way to improve data security. Before you get to it, however, you need to make sure that everybody is aware of a few universal threats that need to be considered both at home and in the office. We'll now take a look at them, and we'll hopefully help your workers stay safer.

 

  • Poor password hygiene

 

 

 

    • We have discussed the problem of passwords pretty extensively on these pages, and it's probably time you discuss it with your employees as well. Instead of sticking to theoretical possibilities, try to give them real-world examples of threats like

credential stuffing

    • and

password spraying

    • attacks, and try to show them how adding "123!" to the end of a simple dictionary word won't do much to increase their password's strength. Crucially, show them how dedicated password management tools like the

Cyclonis Password Manager

    • can help them generate, organize, and store their login data.

 

    • Phishing attacks

Phishing is arguably the simplest cyberattack out there. For one, in most cases, it utilizes the oldest, most well-known method for online communication (email), and although the confidence tricks the crooks employ are often very clever, the technical work that goes into setting the scam machine into motion is not that much. These, believe it or not, are precisely the reasons why phishing attacks tend to be so effective. Sending vast numbers of emails is cheap, and coming up with a trick that will fool users into clicking the wrong link or opening the wrong file is not very difficult at all. If your workers are aware of this, they will be more likely to use the tools they have at their disposal to protect themselves.

 

    • Lack of two-factor authentication

By enabling two-factor authentication (or 2FA), you're putting another obstacle in the hackers' way. It means that if they want to get into your account, they will need not only your username and password but also access to your email, your phone, or a physical token you have. These act as the second factor which limits the likelihood of unauthorized access.

2FA is not failproof. Far from it, in fact, but it is still the easiest way of adding another layer of security, and your workers should definitely use it whenever possible.

 

    • Outdated and vulnerable software

Once again, theoretically explaining the dangers old software poses is unlikely to get any real traction with your workers. By contrast, if you show them how users continue to get their PCs infected with malware because of a security vulnerability that should have been patched two years ago, they are more likely to listen. The timely installation of all security patches can save a lot of headaches both for individual users and for entire organizations. Admittedly, this can sometimes cause problems, especially if the software in use is more complex, but it can be no excuse for leaving systems vulnerable. After all, a potential data breach can not only compromise people's information; it can also massively damage an organization's reputation.

 

    • The security of personal devices

You could argue that this is more a matter of policy than it is of training, but nevertheless, in the days of the BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) culture, we can't ignore it. Researchers have been monitoring the trends, and they have come to the conclusion that workers do indeed tend to feel more comfortable when they work on their own phones, laptops, or tablets. The experts have also concluded, however, that many people don't do enough to protect their data because they think that they have nothing to lose. If you're going to let your employees use their personal devices for work-related tasks, you need to ensure that they are perfectly aware of how high the stakes are. You also need to enforce rules on what can and what can't be performed from a personal device, and you might want to think about investing in a strong Identity Access Management (IAM) system.

 

    • Physical security

If your employees do most of their work with the help of computers or other electronic devices, you might think that this item is not particularly important. This is not quite the case, though. Of course, access to the building and the office your company operates in must be monitored closely, but there are other, less obvious factors that need to be considered.

Last year, for example, the Hawaiian Emergency Management Agency made headlines after a journalist accidentally photographed a post-it note that had a password written on it. Even when the data is in digital format, it can still be compromised in the physical world. In 2017, a Heathrow employee lost a USB stick that contained "sensitive personal data". The flash drive was eventually found and returned, but the UK's largest airport ended up paying a fine of around ₤120 thousand (about $150 thousand at the current exchange rate).

There are many other examples of data getting compromised in the real world which is why it's important to teach your employees that the security of the information that you put on a portable storage device is just as important as the security of the data you upload online.

The rest of the training program should be aimed at making company-specific tasks more secure, and once again, it should be more focused on real-world examples rather than theoretical knowledge. Before you can get to that, however, you'll need to lay the foundations, and we reckon that the list you see above is a good start. The great thing about it is, if your workers know what they're up against, they are more likely to set their own rules and limits and stick to them. This, in turn, makes your job a whole lot easier.

July 11, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 3 ?