密码安全报告:83%的受访用户对多个站点使用相同的密码

security report most users same password all sites

据估计,到2020年 ,人们将需要管理多达3000亿个密码 。这是地球上每个男人,女人和孩子的40个密码。你可以想象,这也是黑客和盗贼的很多目标。据估计, 每SECOND有近100个密码被盗,每天超过800万个密码。

我们想看一看美国人的密码习惯,找出引起关注的地方。因此,我们调查了275名美国人如何创建,更改和管理他们的密码。不幸的是,正如我们发现的那样,有很多值得关注的原因。

让我们先来看看人们最珍视的网站和服务。根据我们的数据,美国人宁愿将他们的医疗记录归咎于他们的社交媒体账户。 Cyclonis要求人们对他们最不想被黑客攻击的在线服务进行排名。毫不奇怪,网上银行位居榜首。社交媒体网站排名第二,比健康和医疗记录领先两位。对于在线服务,LinkedIn位于列表的最底层。

根据Cyclonis数据,这里是人们最不想被黑客入侵的在线服务的完整排名。

  • 网上银行业务
  • 社交媒体(Facebook,Instagram,SnapChat,Twitter)
  • 亚马逊
  • 健康/医疗
  • 在线约会档案
  • Netflix公司
  • 成人网站/搜索历史
  • 个人电邮
  • 工作电邮
  • LinkedIn

不幸的是,在Cyclonis密码安全报告的调查中显示的密码习惯表明很有可能这些服务中的许多服务在某些时候都会被黑客攻击。我们查看了一些可能影响Cyclonis密码管理器总强度分数的密码习惯。这是我们为用户提供的分数,可帮助他们确定密码的整体运行状况。该分数会考虑密码的复杂程度,重复使用频率,更改频率以及许多其他因素。

尽管有无数警告,但大多数人对多个站点使用相同的密码

保持密码安全的最佳方法之一是为您使用的每个网站或服务使用不同的密码。不幸的是,令人震惊的83.15%的受访者表示他们在多个网站上使用相同的密码。如下图1所示,一小部分但令人震惊的用户(2.20%)表示他们对每个网站都使用相同的密码。

令人惊讶的是,为您的所有网站使用相同的密码相当容易(并且不小心)。另外,令人惊讶的是,使用我们的Cyclonis密码管理器 (免费)等应用程序为您的所有站点实现不同的强密码使用是一件容易的事。. 通过使用Cyclonis密码管理器,您可以生成强密码并将其全部存储在保管库中以便快速访问,因此您不会成为无法保护您的帐户并将访问权限置于恶劣黑客手中的统计信息。

多久使用一次密码图表
经常使用相同的密码答案
图1. Cyclonis密码安全报告调查表和答案回答“用户对不同网站/在线服务使用相同密码的频率”

我们提供密码的方式使他们也很容易猜测/破解。 Cyclonis推荐一系列随机字母,数字和字符,由免费的Cyclonis密码管理器生成和记住。但是,大多数人都采用密码拣选技术,这些技术的随机性要低得多,如下图和图2所示。

  • 34%的受访者承认使用他们的宠物名称来提出他们的密码。
  • 33%的人使用简单的数字组合(12345,1111等)作为密码。
  • 29%使用一个非常常见的单词,只需添加“1”或“!”最后,以满足网站的要求。
  • 只有16.85%的受访者使用随机密码生成器。
  • 密码的其他常见来源包括生日,最喜欢的学校吉祥物,以及最喜欢的运动员的姓名或号码。

最流行的密码选择技术
图2.最流行的密码拣选技术的Cyclonis密码安全报告图表。

一旦选择了密码,就会有太多人抓住它们的时间超过应有的时间,如下图3所示。 Cyclonis建议用户每90天更改一次密码,但这种情况很少发生。接受调查的人中有三分之一要么从不更改密码,要么只有在因安全漏洞而被通知他们必须更改密码或忘记密码时才更改密码。密码保持不变的时间越长,泄露的风险就越大。此外,当很多人在多个站点上使用相同的密码时,风险会更大。

更改密码通常应该是常规的,但不是

多久更换一次密码
图3. Cyclonis密码安全报告调查图表,显示用户更改用户最常使用的网站/在线服务密码的频率。

最后一类的一部分 - 忘记密码时更改密码 - 已经成为我们数字生活中令人讨厌的事实。你有多少次尝试在没有进入的情况下在网站上输入多个密码? “这是第一个字母大写的那个,我必须添加一个'!'最后,或者这是我用'$'开始并使用全部大写的那个?“随着越来越多的在线服务需要密码,简单地记住它们将变得越来越难. Cyclonis调查发现,有一半的受访者每年忘记密码四次或更多次。 27.95%的人每年忘记密码10次或更多次,如下图4所示。根据我们的Cyclonis密码安全报告的调查结果,高达6.96%的人每年忘记密码16次或更多次,如下图4所示。

多久忘记密码更改
图4. Cyclonis密码安全报告调查图表显示一年中用户忘记在线密码并且必须重置密码的次数。

难怪当你考虑大多数人存储和管理他们的密码时,很多人不得不经常重置他们的密码。我们的调查中有一半以上(54.41%)表示,他们只需记住密码即可跟踪密码。其他人将它们存储在计算机上的不安全文件中,或者将它们写在计算机附近的便利贴或纸上。 21.61%依靠他们的网络浏览器记住他们的密码。并且只有12.09%的人使用第三方密码管理器来存储他们的密码。

如何在安全性和便利性的基础上处理多个密码?

在Cyclonis,我们显然认为处理密码最方便,最安全的方法是使用我们的免费密码管理器。上面提到的每个其他选项都存在以下潜在问题。

  • 只需将密码保存在头脑中就会导致大量重复使用并最终重新设置密码。我们调查的大多数人都有11到40种需要密码的不同在线服务/网站。这太多了,不容易记住。
  • 在一张纸上写下您的密码的硬拷贝与在客厅窗口上发布密码一样安全。
  • 将密码存储在计算机上的不安全文件中也会产生问题。有权访问您计算机的任何人都可以找到您的信息,有些恶意软件程序旨在寻找其中包含“登录”和“密码”字样的文件。
  • 很多人依靠他们的网络浏览器来记住密码。但是,Web浏览器通常是黑客的目标,并且通常是数据泄露的来源。这种方法对于喜欢使用多个网络浏览器产品的人也没有帮助。

为了跟踪多个密码并生成复杂的密码,免费的Cyclonis密码管理器可以直接在您的浏览器中使用,让您访问多个密码并自动登录您的网站帐户。 Cyclonis Password Manager将您的数据存储在AES-256加密保险库中 - 您只需要使用主密码来解锁保险库。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 5是什么?

Password Security Report: 83% of Users Surveyed Use the Same Password for Multiple Sites

security report most users same password all sites

It's estimated that people will have to manage as many as 300 billion passwords by the year 2020. That's 40 passwords for every man, woman, and child on the planet. As you can imagine, that's also a lot of targets for hackers and thieves. Some estimates say that nearly 100 passwords are stolen every SECOND, that's more than 8 million passwords per day.

We wanted to take a look at the password habits of Americans to find out where there is cause for concern. So, we surveyed 275 Americans on how they created, changed, and managed their passwords. Unfortunately, as we discovered, there is a lot of cause for concern.

Let's start with a look at what websites and services people hold most dear to them. According to our data, Americans would rather have their medical records hacked than their social media accounts. Cyclonis asked people to rank which online service they would least want to be hacked. Not surprisingly, online banking was at the top of the list. Social media sites ranked second, which was two spots ahead of health and medical records. For online services, LinkedIn was at the bottom of the list.

Here's the complete ranking of online services that people least wanted to be hacked according to Cyclonis data.

  • Online banking
  • Social media (Facebook, Instagram, SnapChat, Twitter)
  • Amazon
  • Health/Medical
  • Online dating profile
  • Netflix
  • Adult Website/search history
  • Personal email
  • Work email
  • LinkedIn

Unfortunately, the password habits revealed in the survey for Cyclonis Password Security Report shows that there's a good chance many of these services will be hacked at some point. We looked at a number of password habits that can impact the Cyclonis Password Manager Total Strength Score. This is a score we provide to our users to help them determine the overall health of their passwords. The score looks at things like the complexity of your passwords, how often they are re-used, how often they are changed, and many other factors.

Most people use the same password for multiple sites despite countless warnings

One of the best ways to keep passwords secure is to use different passwords for each website or service that you use. Unfortunately, an astounding 83.15% of respondents said they use the same password for multiple sites. As shown in Figure 1 below, a small but shocking amount of users, 2.20%, said they use the same password for every single website.

Surprisingly, it's rather easy (and careless) to utilize the same password for all your sites. Also, surprising, it's an easy task to implement the use of different and strong passwords for all your sites using an application like our Cyclonis Password Manager (free-of-charge). By using Cyclonis Password Manager, you can generate strong passwords and store them all in a vault for quick access, so you don't become a statistic that failed to secure your accounts and keep access out of the hands of egregious hackers.

how often use same password chart
often use the same password answers
Figure 1. Cyclonis Password Security Report survey chart and answer responses on 'How often users use the same password for different websites/online services'

The way we come up with our passwords makes them very easy to guess/hack as well. Cyclonis recommends a random string of letters, numbers, and characters, generated and remembered by the free Cyclonis Password Manager. However, most people employ password picking techniques that are a lot less random, as demonstrated below and in Figure 2 chart.

  • 34% of respondents admitted to using their pets' name to come up with their passwords.
  • 33% use simple number combinations (12345, 1111, etc.) for their passwords.
  • 29% use a very common word and just add a "1" or "!" at the end to satisfy the requirements of the website.
  • Only 16.85% of respondents use a random password generator.
  • Other common sources for passwords include birthdays, favorite school mascots, and names or numbers of favorite athletes.

most popular password selection techniques
Figure 2. Cyclonis Password Security Report chart for most popular password-picking techniques.

Once passwords are selected, far too many people hold onto them for longer than they should as shown in Figure 3 below. Cyclonis recommends users change their passwords every 90 days, but that rarely happens. One third of people surveyed either never change their passwords, or only change them when they've been notified that they have to because of a security breach or they forgot the password. The longer a password remains unchanged, the greater risk of it being compromised. Moreover, when so many people use the same password on multiple sites, the risk grows even greater.

Changing passwords often should be routine but isn't

how often change passwords
Figure 3. Cyclonis Password Security Report survey chart for how often users change passwords for websites/online services they use most often.

Part of that last category – changing your password when you forget it – has become an annoying fact of our digital lives. How many times have you tried to enter multiple passwords on a website without getting in? "Is this the one where the first letter is capitalized and I have to add a '!' at the end, or is this the one where I started with a '$' and used all caps?" As more online services require passwords, it will be harder and harder to simply remember them all. The Cyclonis survey found that half of the respondents forget their passwords four or more times a year. 27.95% of people forget their passwords 10 or more times a year, as shown in Figure 4 below. And a whopping 6.96% forget their passwords 16 or more times a year, according to our Cyclonis Password Security Report's findings as shown in Figure 4 below.

how often forget password change
Figure 4. Cyclonis Password Security Report survey chart on how many times in a year do users forget online passwords and have to reset it.

It's no wonder so many people have to reset their passwords so often when you consider how most people store and manage their passwords. More than half in our survey (54.41%), said they keep track of their passwords by simply remembering them. Others store them in an unsecured file on their computer, or write them down on a Post-It note or piece of paper near their computer. 21.61% rely on their web browser to remember their passwords. And only 12.09% use a third party password manager to store their passwords.

How do you handle multiple passwords with security and convenience in mind?

At Cyclonis, we obviously believe the most convenient and most secure way to handle passwords is with our free password manager. Each of the other options mentioned above presents the following potential problems.

  • Simply keeping your passwords in your head leads to a lot of re-used and eventually re-set passwords. The majority of the people in our survey had between 11-40 different online services/websites that require passwords. That's way too many to easily remember.
  • Having a hard copy of your passwords written on a piece of paper is about as secure as posting your password on your living room window.
  • Storing passwords in an unsecured file on your computer poses problems, too. Not only can anyone who has access to your computer find your information, there are malware programs designed to seek out files that have the words "login" and "password" in them.
  • A lot of people rely on their web browser to remember passwords. But web browsers are often the targets of hackers and are often the sources of data breaches. Such a method also isn't helpful for the people who like to use multiple web browser products.

To keep track of multiple passwords and generate complex passwords, the free Cyclonis Password Manager works directly in your browser to let you access your multiple passwords and log in to your website accounts automatically. Cyclonis Password Manager stores your data in an AES-256 encrypted vault – you simply need your master password to unlock your vault.

July 13, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 4 ?