惡意Android應用程序繞過2FA並竊取加密貨幣帳戶登錄

BtcTurk users targeted by 2FA-bypassing Android apps

如果有人要求你用一個類比來說明現代威脅景觀,那就說它是一個貓捉老鼠的遊戲。如果有人要求您澄清,請告訴他們ESET的研究人員最近發現的三個惡意Android應用程序。

這些應用程序的開發人員設法將其推送到谷歌的惡意軟件掃描程序,並將其發佈到Android的官方應用程序商店。整個行動的目標是誘騙受害者放棄他們的土耳其加密貨幣交易所BtcTurk的登錄憑證。

BtcTurk有一個合法的Android應用程序 ,根據ESET的截圖判斷,這些騙子在復制它的外觀方面做得相當不錯。可能這就是為什麼,雖然假冒的應用程序相對較快地從Google Play報告並被刪除,但至少有50名用戶因詐騙而下載並下載了惡意軟件。

從表面上看,沒有什麼特別之處。打開時,應用程序會顯示一個與BtcTurk完全相同的虛假登錄頁面,受害者輸入的任何用戶名和密碼都會直接發送給犯罪分子。然而,當ESET的Lukas Stefanko更仔細地檢查它們時,他意識到他們帶來了繞過基於SMS的雙因素身份驗證(2FA)的新機制。

黑客開發另一種擊敗2FA的方式

我們已經討論了基於短信的2FA以及如何在飛行途中攔截短信的騙子擊敗它。然而,直到幾個月前,還有另一種可以說是在Android設備上擊敗安全功能的簡單方法。

黑客知道,如果他們的應用程序可以獲得讀取用戶短信和通話記錄的權限,他們可以竊取臨時密碼並通過第二個因素而不會有太多麻煩。這就是為什麼在3月份,谷歌的安全團隊決定限制使用短信和呼叫日誌權限,認為這將結束這一特定威脅。然而,並沒有花費太多時間來找到解決限制的方法。

開發虛假BtcTurk應用程序的黑客意識到Android應用程序可以請求另一個權限,這可以讓他們訪問最重要的2FA密碼。谷歌可能對現在哪些應用程序可以閱讀短信有更嚴格的規定,但是當涉及到通知時,規則就像以前一樣鬆散。任何Android用戶都會告訴您,當您收到短信時,您也會收到通知,當短信來自2FA系統時,通知中通常會顯示臨時密碼。正如您可能想像的那樣,黑客設法將兩個和兩個放在一起。

一旦受害者輸入他們的登錄詳細信息,假冒BtcTurk應用程序會嘗試使用它們在實際交換時登錄。這會觸發BtcTurk的2FA系統,該系統將一次性密碼作為SMS發送給用戶. 由於惡意應用程序先前已請求讀取通知的權限,因此它會竊取一次性密碼並讓騙子登錄受害者的BtcTurk帳戶。如果後續事務再次觸發2FA系統,則應用程序可以使用一次性密碼然後關閉通知,這意味著受害者不太可能注意到。

總而言之,操作是經過深思熟慮的,如果不是ESET的專家,它可能會吸引不少土耳其加密貨幣粉絲。也就是說,騙子確實犯了一個錯誤。

BtcTurk網絡釣魚者將敏感數據暴露出來

誰去用別名安全研究員@ fs0c131y (我們已經談到 關於過去)是由網絡釣魚操作很感興趣,他著手通過命令和控制(C&C)的基礎設施去。他注意到騙子們將所有被盜信息記錄在Firebase數據庫中,該數據庫沒有受到任何保護。換句話說,他們不僅竊取了人們的登錄數據,而且還通過製造可能是他們所有人最簡單的配置錯誤來讓整個世界看到它。

如您所見,這是信息安全如何工作的一個很好的例子。像谷歌這樣的供應商努力堵塞網絡犯罪分子利用的漏洞,但最終,騙子才找到新漏洞。在這個過程中,他們的邋iness意味著被盜的數據往往得不到保護,這反過來為其他機會主義騙子打開了更多的大門。不幸的是,這一切都是以普通用戶為代價的。

July 16, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 7是什麼?

Malicious Android Apps Bypass 2FA and Steal Cryptocurrency Account Logins

BtcTurk users targeted by 2FA-bypassing Android apps

If someone asks you to illustrate the modern threat landscape with a single analogy, just say that it's a cat and mouse game. If this someone asks you to clarify, tell them about the three malicious Android applications that researchers from ESET found recently.

The developers of these apps managed to push them past Google's malware scanners and published them on Android's official app store. The goal of the whole operation was to trick victims into giving away their login credentials for a Turkish cryptocurrency exchange called BtcTurk.

BtcTurk has a legitimate Android application, and judging by ESET's screenshots, the crooks did a rather good job of copying the way it looks. Probably that's why, although the fake apps were reported and taken down from Google Play relatively quickly, at least 50 users fell for the scam and downloaded the malware.

On the face of it, there's nothing special. When opened, the apps present a fake login page that looks pretty much identical to BtcTurk's, and any usernames and passwords victims enter into it are sent directly to the criminals. When ESET's Lukas Stefanko examined them more closely, however, he realized that they came with a new mechanism for bypassing SMS-based two-factor authentication (2FA).

Hackers develop another way of beating 2FA

We've already discussed SMS-based 2FA and how it can be defeated by crooks who intercept text messages mid-flight. Up until a few months ago, however, there was another, arguably simpler way of beating the security feature on Android devices.

The hackers knew that if their apps can get permissions for reading users' text messages and call logs, they can steal the temporary passwords and go through the second factor without too much hassle. That's why, in March, Google's security team decided to restrict the use of SMS and call log permissions, thinking that this would put an end to this particular threat. It didn't take the crooks too much time to find a way around the restrictions, though.

The hackers that developed the fake BtcTurk applications realized that Android apps can request another permission which could give them access to the all-important 2FA password. Google might have stricter rules on which apps can read SMSs nowadays, but when it comes to notifications, the regulations are as loose as ever. As any Android user will tell you, when you receive an SMS, you also get a notification, and when the text message is coming from a 2FA system, the temporary password is often visible in the notification. As you might imagine, the hackers managed to put two and two together.

As soon as the victims enter their login details, the fake BtcTurk apps try to use them to log in at the actual exchange. This triggers BtcTurk's 2FA system which sends a one-time password to the user as an SMS. Because the malicious app has previously requested permission to read notifications, it steals the one-time password and lets the crooks log in to the victim's BtcTurk account. If the subsequent transactions trigger the 2FA system again, the applications can take the one-time password and then dismiss the notification, which means that the victim is less likely to notice.

All in all, the operation was well-thought-through, and if it wasn't for ESET's experts, it would have probably caught quite a few Turkish cryptocurrency fans. That said, the crooks did make a mistake.

The BtcTurk phishers leave sensitive data exposed

A security researcher who goes by the alias @fs0c131y (whom we've talked about in the past) was intrigued by the phishing operation, and he set about going through the Command & Control (C&C) infrastructure. He noticed that the crooks were logging all the stolen information in a Firebase database that wasn't protected in any way. In other words, they were not only stealing people's login data, but they were also exposing it for the whole world to see by making what is arguably the simplest configuration mistake of them all.

As you can see, this is a pretty good example of how information security works. Vendors like Google work hard to plug the holes that cybercriminals exploit, but in the end, the crooks just find new ones. In the process, their sloppiness means that the stolen data is often not protected which, in turn, opens more doors for other opportunistic crooks. Unfortunately, it's all at the expense of the regular user.

June 24, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 8 ?