停止製造這5個配置錯誤

5 Common Configuration Mistakes

誰負責當前的網絡安全狀況?乍一看,這看起來像一個簡單的問題,答案很簡單,但是當你想到它時,你會發現它有點複雜。

一方面,黑客是違法者,他們應該為自己的行為負責。然而,另一方面,如果沒有服務提供商和用戶的錯誤,網絡犯罪分子就不會做他們正在做的事情。

敵人沒有你想像的那麼強大。通常情況下,成功的網絡攻擊並不依賴於能夠打破最精明的用戶和組織安全的特別複雜的犯罪分子。無論我們是在談論一個新穎的IoT小工具還是一個高知名度的組織的服務器,通常,成功的攻擊都歸結為一個或多個可以避免的常見配置錯誤。今天,我們將討論人們每天犯下的一些基本錯誤,我們將為您提供一些現實事件的例子,說明潛在的後果。

使用默認用戶名和密碼

你們當中有些人可能還記得2016年10月21日。那時候,大規模的分佈式拒絕服務(DDoS)攻擊使DNS提供商Dyn倒閉,並且在歐洲和北部的大部分地區都有一些世界上最受歡迎的在線服務無法訪問。美國。淹沒Dyn的基礎設施的交通量確實是前所未有的,它來自現在臭名昭著的Mirai。

Mirai是一個惡意軟件家族,它在2016年將大量物聯網小工具收集到一個強大的殭屍網絡並將其用於歷史上最大的DDoS攻擊之後,於2016年嶄露頭角。在其高峰期,殭屍網絡由數十萬台連接互聯網的攝像機,DVR,嬰兒監視器,路由器,智能鎖等組成。您可能認為感染所有這些設備將是一項艱鉅的任務,但實際上,它都是下至60個默認用戶名和密碼組合的列表。

默認憑據的問題非常大。事實上,它是如此之大,以至於它吸引了一些立法關注。例如,加利福尼亞州試圖迫使供應商以一種阻止用戶安裝它們而不分配新密碼的方式配置他們的設備。立法者試圖解決這個問題的事實是好消息,但我們需要等待,看看他們的嘗試是否會成功。與此同時,更改所有聯網設備上的默認密碼應該在您的待辦事項列表中很高。

密碼管理不正確

上週,數百名開發人員發現他們的私人git存儲庫中的代碼已被贖金票據取代,該票據表明,如果他們想要恢復數據,他們需要支付價值約600美元的比特幣. 關於這次攻擊的奇怪之處在於它不僅限於一個提供者。三個最受歡迎的git託管服務GitHub,GitLab和Bitbucket的用戶都受到了影響。所有這些服務是否同時遭到黑客攻擊?

在調查違規行為後,GitLab 得出結論認為其係統尚未受到損害 - 其他供應商也表示了這一點。與此同時,安全研究人員告訴ZDNet ,他們看到有人正在掃描可能包含登錄憑據的git配置文件。最後,發現黑客成功地猜測了受害者的密碼,或者將其從以明文形式存儲的文件中刪除。

我們最近談到像微軟這樣的大型科技公司正在拼命地用更強大和更容易使用的東西來替代傳統的身份驗證機制,但我們還提到至少目前,替代方案並不完美,並且採用的是仍然有限。雖然密碼似乎正在逐漸消亡,但開發正確的密碼管理習慣比以往任何時候都更加重要。

依靠過時的軟件

2017年9月,Equifax 失去了近1.5億美國人的全名,社會安全號碼,駕駛執照號碼,地址和出生日期。

這是近年來最嚴重的數據洩露事件之一,為了找出能夠實現這一目標的數據,你需要將時鐘倒回到2017年3月,當時研究人員發現了Apache Struts的安全漏洞 - 一個Equifax使用的編程框架以及世界各地眾多其他大型組織。該漏洞被追踪為CVE-2017-5638,允許遠程執行代碼,在信息公開後不久,犯罪分子開始攻擊Apache Struts安裝。

一個補丁很快發布,安全專家敦促組織作為緊急事項更新他們的Web應用程序。然而,在接下來的六個月裡,Equifax未能做到這一點,它(以及其毫無戒心的客戶)最終付出了相當高的代價。

每天都會在各種軟件應用程序中發現安全漏洞。幸運的是,在大多數情況下,開發人員負責任地處理它們並且不浪費時間發布補丁。可悲的是,他們無法遠程安裝更新。依賴於所述產品開展業務的個人用戶或組織對此負責,並且希望像Equifax漏洞這樣的事件告訴人們使用過時應用程序的含義是什麼。

訪問管理不善

您認為在存儲信息時,決定誰可以訪問什麼是相當簡單的任務。事實證明,情況並非如此. 不到兩個月前,安全研究人員發現了幾個亞馬遜S3存儲桶,經過仔細檢查,結果顯示包含超過5.4億Facebook用戶的個人詳細信息。其中一個數據庫由一個現已解散的遊戲開發者上線,其餘數據由墨西哥營銷公司收集。訪問它所需要的只是一個互聯網連接。

這只是我們看到的許多案例中的一個,供應商故意將數據放在互聯網上,而沒有考慮後果。盡量避免這個錯誤。

如果不需要在線提供一條信息,請不要將其放在那裡。如果確實如此,請確保只有正確的人才能訪問它。將所有重要數據放在強密碼後面,並儘量限制可以查看和更改信息的IP數量。存儲提供商為您提供了許多不同的選項來定制世界其他地方不可見的東西,並且沒有理由不利用它們。

網絡配置不正確

你還記得WannaCry嗎?雖然它在近兩年前成為頭條新聞,但它仍然是迄今為止世界上最大的勒索軟件攻擊。它於2017年5月12日爆發,總共耗盡了150多個國家的20多萬台計算機。在最初突破幾個小時後,安全專家馬庫斯·哈欽斯激活了一個殺戮開關並使攻擊突然結束,但到那時,WannaCry已經設法造成數億美元的損失。

由於一種名為EternalBlue的NSA黑客工具,它正像眾所周知的野火一樣蔓延。而且EternalBlue之所以有效,是因為第一版Server Message Block(縮寫為SMBv1)協議存在缺陷。

微軟再次發布了許多人未能安裝的補丁,但即使你忽略了這一點,SMB作為一個整體在當時已經是一個非常古老的協議,它的第一個版本或多或少已經過時了。然而,成千上萬的網絡已經激活它,使得WannaCry攻擊成為可能。

正確配置本地網絡可能不是世界上最容易的事情,但絕對不是不可能的。您需要知道的是,您需要使用哪些協議和端口,以確保所有設備之間的無障礙通信。實際上,您可能需要做一些研究,如果您的網絡特別複雜,您應該向專家諮詢一些建議。然而,丟失文件到WannaCry的人可以證明,這種努力絕對是值得的。

安全必須從一開始就是優先事項

你無法預測一切。網絡世界正在發生變化,攻擊者每天都在尋找新的方式來破壞設備。但是,您必須了解他們久經考驗的技術,並且您應該確信在插入互聯網電纜之前已經做了足夠的保護數據。避免我們今天討論的錯誤只是一個開始。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 3是什麼?

Stop Making These 5 Configuration Mistakes

5 Common Configuration Mistakes

Who is responsible for the current state of cybersecurity? At first glance, this looks like a simple question with a straightforward answer, but when you think about it, you'll see that it's a bit more complicated.

On the one hand, the hackers are the ones breaking the law, and they should be held responsible for their own actions. On the other, however, cybercriminals wouldn't be doing what they're doing if it wasn't for some mistakes made by both service providers and users.

The enemy isn't as powerful as you might think. More often than not, a successful cyberattack is not dependent on an especially sophisticated criminal who is capable of breaking the security of even the savviest users and organizations. Regardless of whether we're talking about a novelty IoT gadget or the server of a high-profile organization, often, a successful attack is down to one or more common configuration errors that could have been avoided. Today, we'll talk about a few of the basic mistakes that people make every day, and we'll give you some examples of real-world incidents that illustrate the potential consequences.

Using default usernames and passwords

Some of you might remember October 21, 2016. Back then, a large-scale Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attack brought down DNS provider Dyn and made quite a few of the world's most popular online services inaccessible in large parts of Europe and North America. The amount of traffic that flooded Dyn's infrastructure was truly unprecedented, and it was coming from the now-infamous Mirai.

Mirai is a malware family that came to prominence in 2016 after it gathered a large number of IoT gadgets into a powerful botnet and used it for some of history's biggest DDoS attacks. At its peak, the botnet consisted of hundreds of thousands of internet-connected cameras, DVRs, baby monitors, routers, smart locks, etc. You might think that infecting all these devices would be a massive undertaking, but in reality, it was all down to a list of 60 default username and password combinations.

The problem of default credentials is pretty big. In fact, it's so big, that it's managed to attract some legislative attention. The State of California, for example, is trying to force vendors into configuring their devices in a way that would prevent users from installing them without assigning a new password. The fact that lawmakers are trying to address the problem is good news, but we'll need to wait and see if their attempts will be successful. In the meantime, changing the default passwords on all your internet-connected devices should be high on your to-do list.

Incorrect password management

Last week, hundreds of developers found out that the code in their private git repositories had been replaced with a ransom note which stated that if they want their data back, they need to fork out about $600 worth of bitcoin. The curious thing about the attack was that it was not limited to a single provider. Users of the three most popular git hosting services, GitHub, GitLab, and Bitbucket, were all affected. Did all these services get hacked at the same time?

After investigating the breach, GitLab concluded that its systems hadn't been compromised – something the other providers stated as well. At the same time, security researchers told ZDNet that they had seen someone scanning for git config files which could have included login credentials. In the end, it was discovered that the hackers managed to either guess the victims' passwords or scrape them from files that stored them in plaintext.

We recently talked about how big technology companies like Microsoft are trying desperately to replace the traditional authentication mechanisms with something more robust and easier to use, but we also mentioned that for the time being at least, the alternatives are not perfect, and the adoption is still limited. Although the password seems to be on its way to its demise, developing proper password management habits is more important than ever.

Relying on outdated software

In September 2017, Equifax lost the full names, Social Security numbers, driver license numbers, addresses, and birth dates of close to 150 million Americans.

It is one of the most severe data breaches of recent years, and to find out what enabled it, you need to rewind the clock back to March 2017 when researchers found a security flaw in Apache Struts – a programming framework used by Equifax as well as numerous other large-scale organizations all around the world. The vulnerability, tracked as CVE-2017-5638, allowed remote code execution, and shortly after the information was made public, the criminals started attacking Apache Struts installations.

A patch was quickly released, and security experts urged organizations to update their web applications as a matter of urgency. For the next six months, however, Equifax failed to do it, and it (as well as its unsuspecting customers) ended up paying a rather hefty price.

Security flaws are found in all sorts of software applications every single day. Fortunately, in most cases, developers handle them responsibly and waste no time releasing patches. Sadly, they can't install the updates remotely. Individual users or organizations that rely on the said products to do business are responsible for this, and hopefully, incidents like the Equifax breach have taught people what the implications of using out-of-date apps can be.

Poor access management

You'd think that when it comes to storing information, deciding who has access to what is a fairly straightforward task. As it turns out, this is not strictly the case. Less than two months ago, security researchers found a couple of Amazon S3 buckets which, upon closer inspection, turned out to contain personal details of over 540 million Facebook users. One of the databases was put online by a now-defunct game developer, and the rest of the data had been collected by a Mexican marketing company. All that was needed to access it was an internet connection.

This is just one of the many cases we've seen where vendors knowingly put data on the internet and fail to think about the consequences. Try to avoid this mistake.

If a piece of information doesn't need to be available online, don't put it there. And if it does, make sure only the correct people have access to it. Put all the important data behind strong passwords, and try to limit the number of IPs that can view and change the information as much as possible. Storage providers give you numerous different options for customizing what is and what isn't visible to the rest of the world, and there really is no excuse for not taking advantage of them.

Incorrect network configuration

Do you remember WannaCry? Although it made headlines nearly two years ago, it's still by far the biggest ransomware attack the world has ever seen. It broke out on May 12, 2017, and in total, it managed to cripple more than 200 thousand computers in 150 countries. A few hours after the initial breakout, security expert Marcus Hutchins activated a kill switch and brought the attack to an abrupt end, but by that time, WannaCry had already managed to cause hundreds of millions of dollars' worth of damage.

It was spreading like the proverbial wildfire because of an NSA hacking tool known as EternalBlue. And EternalBlue worked because there was a flaw in the first version of the Server Message Block (abbreviated as SMBv1) protocol.

Once again, Microsoft had released a patch which many people had failed to install, but even if you disregard this, SMB as a whole was already a pretty ancient protocol at the time, and its first incarnation was more or less obsolete. Yet, thousands of networks had it activated which made the WannaCry attack possible.

Properly configuring a local network might not be the easiest thing in the world, but it's definitely not impossible. All you need to know is which protocols and ports you need to use in order to guarantee hassle-free communication between all your devices. Indeed, you might need to do some research, and if your network is especially complicated, you should probably ask an expert for some advice. As the people who lost their files to WannaCry can testify, however, the effort is definitely worth it.

Security must be a priority from the very start

You can't predict everything. The online world is changing by the second, and attackers are finding new ways of compromising devices every day. You must be aware of their tried and tested techniques, though, and you should be confident that you've done enough to protect your data before you've plugged the internet cable. Avoiding the mistakes we discussed today is just the beginning.

May 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 8 ?