如何使用雙因素身份驗證保護您的帳戶

Securing accounts with Two-Factor Authentication

您可能已經聽過一位安全專家在談論“雙重身份驗證”的好處。專家的問題在於,儘管他們所有人都非常擅長於自己的工作,但有時他們卻難以解釋他們如何或為什麼這樣做。結果,您可能對“雙重身份驗證”(縮寫為2FA)的含義有些困惑。讓我們嘗試清除一些混淆。

什麼是兩層身份驗證?

如果要從ATM取款,需要什麼?您需要一張銀行卡,並且需要知道您的PIN碼。這是2FA系統出色的簡單示例。這是一個身份驗證系統,僅當您出示您擁有的東西(您的銀行卡)和您知道的東西(您的PIN碼)時,您才能進入。

我在網絡世界中擁有什麼,知道些什麼?

使用在線帳戶,情況略有不同。傳統的單因素身份驗證系統僅依賴於您所知道的東西–特定帳戶的用戶名和密碼組合。如果雙因素身份驗證是可用的,並且如果是,你顯然需要東西。根據輸入的形狀,我們可以對兩種類型的在線兩因素身份驗證進行分類。

基於硬件令牌的2FA

顯然,您的計算機不是ATM機,而且很可能沒有插槽可插入類似於銀行卡的設備。但是,您的計算機確實具有USB端口,某些2FA硬件令牌使用了USB端口。他們通過與在線服務交換加密密鑰來工作,以促進身份驗證。其他硬件令牌則更簡單。它們每30或60秒生成一次密碼(OTP),當您通過2FA系統時需要輸入一次。它們看起來都像USB拇指驅動器,可以輕鬆地放在口袋或錢包中。

2FA不基於硬件令牌

硬件令牌確實有其缺點。例如,它們可能會丟失。而且,它們通常不是最方便使用的東西,但是卻要花錢。用戶不喜歡為給他們帶來不便的事情付錢,這就是為什麼存在另一種方法來建立兩因素身份驗證系統的原因。

通常,它僅依賴於一段時間後過期的一次性密碼。這些密碼可以由服務提供商生成,並通過電子郵件或短信發送給用戶,但也可以通過專用應用程序在用戶的智能手機上創建。同樣,您需要手動輸入OTP,這可能會帶來一點不便,但是在大多數情況下,這不會花費您一分錢,這可以算是一個優勢。

2FA和採用問題

可悲的是,由於大多數人認為兩因素身份驗證給登錄過程帶來了額外負擔,因此大多數人根本不理會它,採用率也非常低。造成這種情況的另一個因素是人們的意識水平低,以及一些過分偏執的人不斷指出2FA並非100%安全。這是一個反論點。

2FA不是魔術子彈

否,雙重身份驗證不是100%安全的。人們曾經使用過一次性密碼,甚至在過去某些硬件令牌也顯示出漏洞。但是,這並不意味著您不應該使用2FA。

擁有它比擁有它更好. 這是附加的安全層,雖然不一定會使騙子無法完成工作,但會使其變得更加困難,即使您在登錄時確實花費了幾秒鐘的時間,這肯定也是您應該努力的事情進入您的帳戶。

有了這種方式,現在該是時候看看如何在一些世界上最受歡迎的網站上設置兩因素身份驗證了。

臉書

  1. 確保您已登錄Facebook帳戶,然後轉到“ 安全性和登錄設置”
  2. 找到“使用兩因素身份驗證”鏈接,然後單擊“編輯”。
  3. 選擇您要使用的2FA方法。 Facebook提供了幾種選擇:
  • 通過短信發送的驗證碼
  • Facebook自己的代碼生成器生成的代碼
  • 硬件令牌
  • 第三方代碼生成器
  • 允許從Facebook識別的設備嘗試登錄
  • 使用一組可以打印的恢復代碼

谷歌

  1. 登錄到您的Google帳戶並訪問“ 我的帳戶”頁面
  2. 找到兩步驗證部分,然後單擊它。
  3. 點擊入門,輸入您的Google密碼,然後選擇您要使用的方法。像Facebook一樣,Google提供了多種選擇:
  • Google自己的提示系統,可讓您通過點擊智能手機來授權登錄嘗試。
  • 通過短信或語音電話中繼給您的代碼。
  • 智能手機上的身份驗證應用程序。

推特

    1. 登錄到您的帳戶,單擊右上角的個人資料圖片,然後選擇設置和隱私
    2. 單擊設置登錄驗證,然後輸入您的Twitter密碼。
    3. 輸入您的電話號碼,然後提供您將以短信形式收到的驗證碼,以進行確認。即使您決定不使用基於SMS的2FA,將手機與Twitter帳戶關聯也可以幫助您在出現問題時恢復對個人資料的訪問。
    4. 一旦Twitter獲得了您的電話號碼,它將使您從其他幾種獲取驗證碼的方法中進行選擇。您可以從Twitter的

自己的移動應用程序,或者您可以使用第三方應用程序。

Reddit

  1. 登錄您的Reddit帳戶,然後轉到“首選項”頁面上的“ 密碼/電子郵件”選項卡。
  2. 在“雙重身份驗證”下,選擇“啟用”,然後按照以下步驟進行操作. 與上面列出的其他服務不同,Reddit的2FA系統僅支持第三方身份驗證應用程序。

如您所見,在大多數情況下,打開2FA並不困難,並且您確實沒有藉口將其禁用。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

How to Secure Your Accounts Using Two-Factor Authentication

Securing accounts with Two-Factor Authentication

You've probably heard a security specialist talking about the benefits of Two-Factor Authentication. The problem with specialists is that while all of them are very good at what they do, they sometimes struggle to explain how or why they do it. As a result, you might be a bit confused about what Two-Factor Authentication (abbreviated as 2FA) really is. Let's try to clear up some of that confusion.

What is Two-Factor Authentication?

What do you need if you want to withdraw some cash from an ATM? You need to have a banking card, and you need to know your PIN number. This is a brilliantly simple example of a 2FA system. It's an authentication system that will only let you in if you present something you have (your banking card) and something you know (your PIN number).

What do I have and what do I know in the online world?

With online accounts, things are marginally different. The traditional single-factor authentication system relies only on a thing you know – the username and password combination for the specific account. If Two-Factor Authentication is available, and if it's on, you obviously need to have something. Depending on the shape it comes in, we can classify two types of online Two-Factor Authentication.

2FA based on hardware tokens

Obviously, your computer isn't an ATM, and chances are, there's no slot where you can insert a device similar to your banking card. Your computer does have USB ports, though, which some of the so-called 2FA hardware tokens use. They work by exchanging cryptographic keys with the online service in order to facilitate the authentication. Other hardware tokens are simpler. They generate a One Time Password (OTP) every 30 or 60 seconds which you need to enter when you're going through the 2FA system. They all look like USB thumb drives and can easily reside in your pocket or purse.

2FA not based on hardware tokens

Hardware tokens do have their shortcomings. They can, for example, be lost. What's more, often, they are not the most convenient thing to use, and yet, they cost money. Users don't like paying money for things that inconvenience them which is why there's an alternative way of setting up a Two-Factor Authentication system.

Usually, it relies solely on One Time Passwords that expire after a short period of time. These passwords can be generated by the service provider and sent via email or text message to the user, but they can also be created on the user's smartphone by a dedicated application. Again, you need to manually enter the OTP, which could be a minor inconvenience, but in most cases, it won't cost you a penny which could be considered an advantage.

2FA and the adoption problem

Sadly, because most people view Two-Factor Authentication as something that puts an additional burden on the login process, most people simply don't bother with it, and the adoption rates are abysmally low. Another factor contributing to this is the low level of awareness as well as some overly paranoid people who keep pointing out that 2FA is not 100% secure. Here's a counter-argument.

2FA is not a magic bullet

No, Two-Factor Authentication is not 100% secure. People have had their One Time Passwords phished, and even some hardware tokens have shown vulnerabilities in the past. This doesn't mean that you shouldn't use 2FA, though.

You are better off with it than without it. It's an additional layer of security, and while it won't necessarily make the crooks' job impossible, it will make it harder, and that's surely something you should strive for, even if it does cost you several additional seconds when you're logging in to your account.

With that out of the way, it's time to see how to set up Two-Factor Authentication at some of the world's most popular websites.

Facebook

  1. Make sure you're logged in to your Facebook account and go to your Security and Login Settings
  2. Locate the Use two-factor authentication link and click Edit.
  3. Choose the 2FA method you'd like to use. Facebook gives you several options:
  • Codes sent over SMS
  • Codes generated by Facebook's own Code Generator
  • Hardware tokens
  • Third party code generators
  • Allowing the login attempt from a device Facebook recognizes
  • Using a set of recovery codes that you can print

Google

  1. Sign in to your Google account and visit the My Account Page
  2. Locate the 2-Step Verification section and click on it.
  3. Click Get Started, enter your Google Password, and choose the method you'd like to use. Like Facebook, Google gives you several options:
  • Google's own Prompt system which lets you authorize the login attempt with a tap on your smartphone.
  • Codes relayed to you over SMS or voice call.
  • An authentication application on your smartphone.

Twitter

    1. Log in to your account, click your profile picture in the top-right corner, and select Settings and Privacy
    2. Click Set up login verification and enter your Twitter password.
    3. Enter your phone number and confirm it by providing the code that you'll receive as a text message. Even if you decide not to use the SMS-based 2FA, having your phone associated with your Twitter account can help you recover access to your profile in case something goes wrong.
    4. Once Twitter has your phone number, it will let you choose from a couple of other means of getting the verification codes. You can do it from Twitter's

own mobile app, or you can use a third-party one.

Reddit

  1. Log in to your Reddit account and go to the password/email tab on the Preferences page.
  2. Under Two-factor authentication, select Enable and follow the steps. Unlike the rest of the services listed above, Reddit's 2FA system supports only third-party authentication apps.

As you can see, in most cases, turning it 2FA on is not difficult, and you really have no excuse for keeping it disabled.

By Duran
April 18, 2018
April 18, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 8 ?