另一个垃圾邮件活动使用CVE-2017-11882提供恶意软件

CVE-2017-11882 Spam Campaign

我们最近谈到了漏洞管理和修补的问题。事实上,很大一部分严重依赖计算机的用户和组织完全没有意识到跟踪软件供应商每天发布的所有重要安全更新的重要性。有无数的例子可以向我们展示这是多么真实,而最新的一个例子是微软上周警告我们的垃圾邮件活动。

尽管它的年龄,CVE-2017-11882仍然被积极滥用

2017年11月,安全研究人员对提供Loki的垃圾邮件活动感到有些困惑,Loki是一种旨在窃取敏感信息的间谍软件程序。这些消息确实附带了恶意文件,这对于当时的Loki广告系列来说非常标准,但附件并不是典型的支持宏的Microsoft Office文件。它们是富文本格式(RTF)文档,可在打开时自动下载有效内容。他们不需要用户进行其他交互。

经过一些研究,专家们发现这些文件正在利用Microsoft Office中的漏洞。安全漏洞得到了一个跟踪代码 - CVE-2017-11882 - 事实证明,它在发现之前已经推出了高达17年,增加了MS Office的公式编辑器 - 一个用于将对象插入Office文件的组件。 2017年11月的补丁星期二包括修复安全漏洞,2018年1月更新完全删除了公式编辑器。对于让他们的软件保持最新的人来说,CVE-2017-11882不再是一个问题。然而,对于许多人来说,情况并非如此。

有些人尚未修补CVE-2017-11882

周五,微软在Twitter上使用其安全情报帐户 警告人们使用CVE-2017-11882的垃圾邮件活动。这些消息已经传播了几个星期,而且它们主要针对欧洲用户。打开后,附加的RTF文件会下载一个脚本,该脚本会在计算机上安装后门木马。上周,骗子的命令与控制(C&C)服务器已关闭,但没有人知道他们何时会恢复运行。 Microsoft将有效负载跟踪为Trojan:MSIL / Cretasker,并承诺Office和Windows中的内置安全工具可以保护用户免受成功感染。

事实上,骗子在发现近两年后积极使用CVE-2017-11882是非常重要的。他们显然认为,尽管有补丁,人们仍然没有保证他们的MS Office安装。与此同时,微软警告人们关于该活动的事实表明,黑客的假设很可能是正确的。

为什么黑客如此喜欢CVE-2017-11882?

在过去一年半的时间里,CVE-2017-11882已被用于大型组织和普通用户,最近的垃圾邮件活动表明,网络犯罪分子无意放慢速度,这应该不会让人感到意外。它提供的感染链. 漏洞的主要优势源于这样一个事实:除了说服受害者打开恶意附件之外,黑客不需要做任何其他事情。换句话说,CVE-2017-11882漏洞利用取决于两个因素 - 一个糟糕的过时MS Office安装和一个非常愿意打开电子邮件附件的用户。看起来,这两者并非难以实现。

July 16, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 3是什么?

Yet Another Spam Campaign Uses CVE-2017-11882 to Deliver Malware

CVE-2017-11882 Spam Campaign

We recently touched upon the problem of vulnerability management and patching. The fact of the matter is, a very large portion of users and organizations that rely heavily on computers are completely unaware of how important it is to keep track of the all-important security updates that software vendors release every single day. There are endless examples that can show us how true this is, and the latest one comes in the form of a spam campaign that Microsoft warned us about last week.

Despite its age, CVE-2017-11882 is still actively abused

In November 2017, security researchers were a bit baffled by a spam campaign that was delivering Loki – a spyware program designed to steal sensitive information. The messages did carry a malicious file with them which was pretty standard for a Loki campaign at the time, but the attachments weren't the typical macro-enabled Microsoft Office files. They were Rich Text Format (RTF) documents that automatically downloaded the payload the moment they were opened. They required no other interaction from the user.

After some more research, the experts discovered that the files were exploiting a vulnerability in Microsoft Office. The security flaw was given a tracking code – CVE-2017-11882 – and it turned out that it had been introduced a whopping 17 years before its discovery with the addition of MS Office's Equation Editor – a component used for inserting objects into Office files. November 2017's Patch Tuesday included a fix for the security flaw, and a January 2018 update removed the Equation Editor completely. For people who keep their software up-to-date, CVE-2017-11882 is no longer a problem. For many, however, this is not the case.

Some people have yet to patch CVE-2017-11882

On Friday, Microsoft used its Security Intelligence account on Twitter to warn people of a spam campaign that is utilizing CVE-2017-11882. The messages have been flying around for a "few weeks", and they are primarily targeting European users. Once opened, the attached RTF file downloads a script which installs a backdoor trojan on the computer. Last week, the crooks' Command & Control (C&C) server was down, but there's no telling when they're going to get it back up and running. Microsoft tracks the payload as Trojan:MSIL/Cretasker and promises that the built-in security tools in Office and Windows can protect users from a successful infection.

The fact that the crooks are actively using CVE-2017-11882 almost two years after its discovery is significant. They apparently believe that despite the availability of a patch, people still haven't secured their MS Office installations. At the same time, the fact that Microsoft warns people about the campaign shows that the hackers' assumptions are most likely correct.

Why do hackers love CVE-2017-11882 so much?

Over the last year and a half, CVE-2017-11882 has been used against both large organizations and regular users, and the recent spam campaign shows that cybercriminals have no intention of slowing down, which shouldn't really be that surprising given the smooth infection chain it provides. The vulnerability's main advantage stems from the fact that other than persuading the victim to open the malicious attachment, the hackers don't need to do anything else. In other words, a CVE-2017-11882 exploit depends on two factors – a woefully out-of-date MS Office installation and a user who is all-too-willing to open email attachments. Both of these, it seems, are not that difficult to come by.

June 11, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 5 ?