黑客轉移重點和目標教育領域

隨著感染數量的不斷增加,冠狀病毒並沒有顯示出減慢的跡象。儘管有些國家對COVID-19的反應有所改善,但其他國家卻沒有那麼幸運。這是一個動蕩的時期,因為個人和政府都在尋找最好的策略來應對這種大流行,遵守居家秩序並遵守社會疏散準則。根本無助於此的是,網絡犯罪分子的持續干預。

這張圖表顯示了與6月5日至6月11日之間與冠狀病毒爆發相關的趨勢惡意軟件。黑客似乎已經遠離了一些惡意軟件工具,例如Zloader,其中有幾次“復興”。

圖。1
在6月5日至6月11日之間流行與COVID-19相關的惡意軟件。來源:cdn2.hubspot.net

惡意騙子並未降低其網絡攻擊的速度。相反,他們加強了黑客攻擊,並針對各個部門的政府和個人。曾經有一段時間, 醫療行業是黑客入侵的首選受害者。如今,作為網絡活動的主要目標,醫療保健行業似乎已被教育部門所取代。

許多政府官員懇求黑客停止對醫療保健行業的攻擊 ,這導致一些騙子轉向關注教育領域。而且,它現在顯示出攻擊高峰。

COVID-19大流行如何影響教育部門已經夠糟糕的了,但是現在黑客將目光投向了教育領域,這種情況可能會變得更糟。

圖2
冠狀病毒對教育部門的影響。資料來源:cdn.statcdn.com

學校,學院和大學已經削減了預算,這無助於他們抵禦惡意個人及其攻擊。大多數此類機構沒有必要的資金來安裝適當的防禦措施,例如網絡安全工具和教育在那里工作的人(例如管理員 )要注意的內容-惡意廣告,垃圾郵件,損壞的鏈接等。而且,他們無法保護自己免受網絡攻擊。

而且,不僅僅是機構的代表使他們面臨允許黑客進行不必要訪問的危險。也是學生有些人沒有更好的了解,並且容易冒險上網。就像訪問網站一樣,他們不應訪問,單擊可疑鏈接或打開看起來無害但具有惡意的附件。學生是進入學校系統的另一個門戶,黑客可以利用它。

冠狀病毒使這些攻擊更加容易。

由于冠狀病毒大流行及其對所有年齡段學生的遠程教育,騙子的襲擊變得更加容易。在線課程是目前的規範,這是另一種蠕蟲病毒。 Zoom和Google Hangouts,幾乎每個可為團體提供在線聚會功能的平台,都容易受到黑客攻擊。

這些機構經常會成為勒索軟件攻擊的犧牲品。這是黑客從迫使惡意軟件進入其係統中最有利可圖的方式之一。

勒索軟件進入系統,對保存在其中的所有數據進行加密,然後要求支付解密費用。這是一個簡單的方案,但有效。

在下面,您會看到一張圖表,顯示了2018年和2019年平均勒索軟件付款。由於今年勒索軟件攻擊更為猖,,因此2020年的統計數字可能令人難以置信。

圖3
與2018年相比,2019年勒索軟件付款的驚人增長。來源:ninjarmm.com

研究指出,勒索軟件攻擊佔據了該行業80%的與惡意軟件相關的事件-教育。以下是成為勒索軟件受害者的目標場所的一些示例。

3月,美國堪薩斯州威奇托州立大學向學生髮出了安全事件的警報,該事件導致“未經授權訪問WSU用於操作各種學生和員工Web門戶的計算機服務器”。大學官員估計,它影響了多達1,762個人。

5月,可西嘉大學不得不做出相同的宣布。它通知了學生類似的事件。黑客設法控制了學校的網絡,並要求對其進行贖金。

這是來自2019年有關美國同一年勒索軟件目標的數據的又一張圖表。由於與前一年相比,今年對政府,醫療保健和教育機構的惡意軟件攻擊才有所增加,因此2020年的數字可能會出現明顯差異。

圖4
勒索軟件的目標是在2019年到達美國。來源:ninjarmm.com

騙子如何欺騙您?

有很多技巧,網絡犯罪分子會利用這些技巧來欺騙您,讓您允許惡意軟件進入您的計算機。關於COVID-19,出現了偽造的地圖 ,虛假的聯繫人跟踪應用程序,欺詐性短信欺詐,惡意網站 。而且,黑客仍然使用許多其他方法來欺騙受害者。

惡意廣告和網絡釣魚活動仍然是傳播黑客謊言的最常用手段。這是可以吸引最多人的最簡單方法之一。

該圖表顯示了與關鍵基礎架構攻擊相關的趨勢攻擊類型。可見,網絡釣魚處於領先地位。

圖5
北美在勒索軟件攻擊中使用的最常見的滲透方法。資料來源:safetydetectives.com

在線時請務必謹慎。警惕您要去的站點以及您單擊的所有內容。網絡罪犯非常精明,他們的某些騙局比其他騙局更難以發現。收到電子郵件時,在打開之前先問自己幾個問題。你知道發件人嗎?您是否希望收到此發件人發送的電子郵件,還是使您感到驚訝?您是否注意到發件人的電子郵件地址有任何問題?騙子常常模仿合法的電子郵件地址。不要讓欺騙性的電子郵件欺騙您,使您陷入騙局!細看電子郵件的內容。確認它們來自經過驗證的來源。危險信號往往包括語法,拼寫和標點錯誤。請保持謹慎,不要盲目按照說明進行操作,例如下載附件或單擊鏈接。額外的注意力不會受到傷害,但是可以為您節省很多問題。

June 26, 2020

發表評論

Hackers Leveraging Coronavirus Outbreak to Shift Focus and Target Education Sector

Coronavirus doesn't show signs of slowing down as the number of infected keeps growing. While some countries are getting better with the response to COVID-19, others are not as fortunate. It's a time of great turmoil as individuals and governments are looking for the best strategy to combat the pandemic, stay-at-home orders, and comply with social distancing guidelines. What's NOT helping the situation at all, is the persistent meddling of cybercriminals.

This chart shows the trending malware related to the Coronavirus outbreak between June 05 and June 11. There have been several 'revivals' for malware tools that hackers appeared to have moved away from, like Zloader, for one.

Fig. 1
Trending COVID-19-related malware between June 05 and June 11. Source: cdn2.hubspot.net

Malicious crooks have not slowed down their cyberattacks. Instead, they've amped up their hacking, and have targeted governments and individuals from every sector. There was a time when the healthcare sector was a preferred victim of their hacking. Nowadays, the healthcare industry appears to be giving way to the education sector as a prime target of cyber-activities.

Many government officials have pleaded with hackers to cease their attacks on the healthcare industry, which has led to some crooks switching focus on the education sector. And, it's now showing a spike in attacks.

It's bad enough how the COVID-19 pandemic affected the education sector, but now that hackers are turning their sights to it, it will likely get even worse.

Fig. 2
Coronavirus impact on the education sector. Source: cdn.statcdn.com

Schools, colleges, and universities have suffered budget cuts, which doesn't help them defend against malicious individuals and their attacks. Most such establishments don't have the necessary funding to install proper defenses, like cybersecurity tools and educating people working there (like administrators) what to look out for – malvertising, spam emails, corrupted links, and so on. And, they fail to protect themselves from cyberattacks.

What's more, it's not only the establishments' representatives that put them in danger of allowing hackers unwanted access. It's also the students. Some don't know any better and are prone to risky online behavior. Like, visiting sites, they shouldn't go to, or clicking suspicious links or opening an attachment that seems harmless enough but is malicious. Students are another gateway into the school system, which hackers can turn to use.

Coronavirus Makes These Attacks Easier.

Crooks' attacks have been made easier due to the Coronavirus pandemic, and the remote schooling that it forced upon students of all ages. Online classes are currently the norm, and that's yet another can of worms. Zoom, Google Hangouts, almost every platform that offers groups the ability to gather online, is susceptible to hacking.

More often than not, these establishments fall prey to ransomware attacks. That's among the most lucrative ways hackers can profit off of forcing malware into their system.

The ransomware slithers its way into the system, encrypts all the data kept there, then demands payment for the decryption. It's a simple scheme, but an effective one.

Below, you'll see a chart of the average ransomware payment made in 2018 and 2019. Since ransomware attacks are more rampant this year, the statistics for 2020 will likely be mind-boggling.

Fig.3
The impressive growth of ransomware payments made in 2019 compared to 2018. Source: ninjarmm.com

Research points out that ransomware attacks take up 80% of malware-related incidents in this sector – education. Here are a few examples of targeted establishments that have fallen victim to ransomware.

In March, Wichita State University in Kansas, USA, alerted its students of a security incident, which led to "unauthorized access to a computer server that WSU used to operate various student and employee web portals." University officials estimated that it impacted up to 1,762 individuals.

In May, the University of Corsica had to make the same announcement. It notified its students of a similar incident. Hackers managed to seize control of the school's network and demanded a ransom for its release.

Here's yet another chart made of data from 2019 about ransomware targets that same year in the USA. The numbers in 2020 will likely display a stark difference since malware attacks on government, healthcare, and education establishments have only grown this year compared to the previous.

Fig. 4
Ransomware targets in the USA in 2019. Source: ninjarmm.com

How Do Scammers Trick You?

There has been a slew of tricks, which cybercriminals resort to in an attempt to deceive you into allowing malware into your machine. Concerning COVID-19, there have been fake maps, sham contact-tracing apps, fraudulent text message scams, malicious websites. And, so many more methods, hackers still use to dupe their victims.

Malvertising and phishing campaigns remain the most commonly used means to spread hackers' lies. It's one of the easiest ways you can reach the most amount of people.

This chart shows the trending attack types related to critical infrastructure attacks. It's visible that phishing takes the lead.

Fig.5
Most common methods of infiltration used in ransomware attacks in North America. Source: safetydetectives.com

Always exercise caution when online. Be wary of the sites you go to, and everything you click. Cybercriminals are savvy, and some of their scams are more difficult to spot than others. When receiving an email, ask yourself a few questions before opening it. Do you know the sender? Were you expecting an email from this sender, or did it catch you by surprise? Do you notice anything off with the sender's email address? Often-times, crooks mimic legitimate email addresses. Don't allow a spoofed email to fool you into falling for a scam! Look at emails' contents with a grain of salt. Verify they come from a verified source. Red flags tend to include grammatical, spelling, and punctuation mistakes. Remain cautious, and don't blindly follow instructions, like downloading an attachment or clicking a link. Extra attention won't hurt, but it can save you a ton of issues.

June 26, 2020

Leave a Reply