530,000个Zoom帐户被黑客入侵,并且登录信息现在已在暗网上出售

530,000 Zoom Accounts Sold on the Dark Web

由于当前的全球流行病,您很有可能是数百万被迫在家工作和学习的人之一。如果您愿意,那么您可能熟悉称为Zoom的视频会议平台。

远程开始工作后,来自世界各地的工人蜂拥而至,而Zoom用户的数量也从屋顶猛增。毫不奇怪,突然的流行还吸引了网络犯罪分子的注意,他们正在尝试围绕平台设计骗局。似乎还不够,Zoom在处理用户隐私方面受到了一些批评,并且由于不正确使用技术术语而成为新闻。现在,它再次成为头条新闻,因为它的某些用户数据在暗网上出售。

网络犯罪分子交易数千名Zoom用户的数据

该发现是由一家名为Cyble的安全情报公司进行的,后来又与Bleeping Computer共享了它的发现。 4月初,Cyble的研究人员注意到,一个黑客论坛的用户希望共享Zoom登录凭据列表。用户名和密码对的确切数量仍然未知,但是Bleeping Computer扫描了290个帐户,发现了与美国许多大型大学有关的数据。在联系了一些受害者之后,新闻网站确认了大部分数据是有效的。

这些凭据托管在公共网站上,发布这些凭据的人免费共享它们。黑客希望借此获得其他网络犯罪分子的认可。然而,另一名窃取信息的商人却别有用心。

在另一个地下论坛上,Cyble的研究人员找到了第二个广告,宣传受损的Zoom帐户。这次,交易者确实希望获得转储资金,但他们也提供了更多的信息。该数据库包含至少53万名Zoom用户的电子邮件地址,密码,个人会议URL和HostKeys。转储中可用的详细信息范围更广,帐户被盗用的数量也更多,这使潜在买家的生活变得更加轻松,此外,数据非常便宜。为了提醒客户,Cyble的研究人员购买了所有53万个帐户,其中一些属于花旗银行和大通银行的员工。为此,研究人员为每个帐户支付了1,060美元或仅0.002美元。

考虑到Zoom最近由于种种错误原因而发布了新闻,因此使用该服务的人们可能对此有些不满,并且很可能正在考虑转向其他解决方案。但是,在做出最终决定之前,需要牢记一件事。

交易账户并未从Zoom中被盗

尽管一些帐户所有者确认凭据是有效的,但一些帐户所有者说,在他们的电子邮件旁边找到的密码很旧,很久以前就被替换了。这向研究人员展示了实际发生的情况。

由于凭证填充攻击,帐户被盗。骗子们从一个与Zoom服务无关的盗用的用户名和密码数据库中提取了信息,并在视频会议平台上进行了尝试。由于许多人在多个网站上重复使用相同的密码,因此在许多情况下登录尝试都是成功的。

如果您想知道如何以如此低的价格买卖帐户,这应该给您一个线索。由于骗子们不需要侵入Zoom的系统,因此他们的任务要容易得多,并且他们花在它上面的时间和精力也要少得多。结果,人们的数据几乎一无所获。

这再次提醒了密码重用对在线安全状态的多重影响。这种现象不仅使每天成千上万的人处于危险之中,而且还加剧了地下数据交易经济,并鼓励网络犯罪分子出售越来越多的被盗信息。

April 14, 2020

发表评论

530,000 Zoom Accounts Were Hacked, and the Logins Are Now Sold on the Dark Web

530,000 Zoom Accounts Sold on the Dark Web

There is a fair chance that you are one of the millions of people who are forced to work and study from home because of the current global pandemic. If you are, then you are likely familiar with a video conferencing platform called Zoom.

Workers from all over the world flocked to the service after they started doing their jobs remotely, and the number of Zoom users shot through the roof. Not surprisingly, the sudden popularity also caught the attention of cybercriminals who are trying to design scams around the platform. As if that wasn't enough, Zoom received some criticism for the way it handles its users' privacy, and it made the news for its incorrect use of technical terms. Now, it's grabbing headlines yet again, this time because some of its users' data is sold on the dark web.

Cybercriminals trade the data of thousands of Zoom users

The discovery was made by a security intelligence company by the name of Cyble, which later shared its findings with Bleeping Computer. In early April, Cyble's researchers noticed that a user of a hacking forum wanted to share a list of Zoom login credentials. The exact number of username and password pairs remains unknown, but Bleeping Computer scanned through 290 accounts and found data related to quite a few big colleges and universities in the US. After contacting some of the victims, the news website confirmed that a large portion of the data is valid.

The credentials were hosted on public websites, and the person who had posted them was sharing them for free. With this, the hacker hoped to gain some recognition from fellow cybercriminals. Another trader of pilfered information, however, had ulterior motives.

On another underground forum, Cyble's researchers found a second advertisement for compromised Zoom accounts. This time, the trader did want money for the dump, but they did also offer quite a lot more info. The database contained the email addresses, passwords, personal meeting URLs, and HostKeys of at least 530 thousand Zoom users. The wider range of details available in the dump and the greater number of compromised accounts made potential buyers' lives a lot easier, and as an added bonus, the data was pretty cheap. In order to alert their customers, Cyble's researchers bought all 530 thousand accounts, some of which belonged to Citibank and Chase employees. For this, the researchers paid $1,060 or just $0.002 per account.

Given how Zoom has recently made the news for all the wrong reasons, those of you who use the service might be a bit upset with it and could very well be considering moving to a different solution. Before you make your final decision, however, there is one thing you need to bear in mind.

The traded accounts weren't stolen from Zoom

Although some of the account owners confirmed that the credentials are valid, a few said that the password found next to their email was very old and had been replaced a long time ago. This showed the researchers what had actually happened.

The accounts were compromised thanks to a credential stuffing attack. The crooks took a database of usernames and passwords pilfered from an unrelated to Zoom service and tried them on the video conference platform. Because plenty of people reuse the same passwords on multiple websites, the login attempts were successful in more than a few cases.

If you're wondering how come the accounts are bought and sold at such low prices, this should give you a clue. Since the crooks didn't need to hack into Zoom's systems, their task was much easier, and the amount of time and effort they invested in it was much smaller. As a result, people's data is now changing hands for next to nothing.

It's yet another grim reminder of the multiple effects password reuse has on the state of online security. The phenomenon not only puts thousands of people at risk daily, but it also fuels the underground data-trading economy and encourages cybercriminals to sell more and more stolen information.

April 14, 2020

Leave a Reply