冠状病毒骗局使用伪造的COVID-19地图,推动一款让网络骗子通过手机监视您的应用程序

fake covid 19 map app spying

我们目前正处于大流行中。冠状病毒正在迅速传播,已成为全球性问题。人们感到害怕,而新闻只会加剧这种恐惧 。每次打开电视,打开网站或任何社交媒体时,您都会发现冠状病毒是讨论最多的话题。每个人都在谈论冠状病毒或我们现在正在处理的毒株– COVID-19。无论人们获得多少信息,总会有更多的需求。网络犯罪分子利用人们对冠状病毒数据的需求谋取利益。

在这个危机时刻,人们求助于专家和他们提供的建议。为了防止这种传播,他们建议人们采取一些预防措施–保持较高的卫生水平,避免与他人和人群接触,并尽可能在家中工作。这些准则有助于减少可怕的冠状病毒的迅速传播。但是,待在家里与社会疏远意味着要花更多的时间上网-与朋友和家人联系,工作,分散自己的注意力,最重要的是紧跟最新的冠状病毒新闻。

冠状病毒被证明是Google历史上最突出的搜索趋势之一。美国人赞叹不已,他们分享的推文和图表描绘了与其他热门短语相比,该主题引起的巨大兴趣。


附带图表的推文。资料来源:twitter.com

流行图冠状病毒
该图表显示了冠状病毒搜索的激增。资料来源:pbs.twimg.com

人们最渴望与冠状病毒相关的信息,而网络罪犯则知道这一点。

网络骗子利用互联网和人们对冠状病毒的恐惧

互联网是丰富的信息资源,目前,冠状病毒主导着网络。在短短三个月内,已经注册了与冠状病毒和COVID-19相关的一千多个域。自2020年1月以来,注册量一直呈稳定增长趋势,如下图所示,它们在3月份呈爆炸式增长。

共注册了19个冠状病毒域
自一月以来注册的与冠状病毒和COVID-19相关的域增加的描述。资料来源:www.digitalshadows.com

并非所有这些域都是出于恶意目的而被恶意个人注册的。有些是,它们的唯一目的是欺骗您采取违背自己最大利益的行动。

一旦网络犯罪分子注册了这样的域名,他们便会使用它来证明自己的欺诈行为。 “我们有一个网站,那必须意味着我们合法可靠,对吗?”错误!始终保持警惕,不要忽略警惕。这些网站冒充真正合法的网站,并托管网络钓鱼页面,并进一步传播错误信息。他们总是有一个诉说权-带有徽标,拼写错误等问题。即使您一眼找不到,也要进一步检查!

推销假应用程序的冒名顶替者地图

最新的与冠状病毒相关的虚假网站似乎显示了冠状病毒的传播-死亡,感染,与该主题相关的所有信息。并且,所有这些都按国家和城市排序。不幸的是,该网站不可靠,因为它冒充了执行上述所有操作的真实网站。该网站与许多其他恶意网站一样,欺骗了约翰·霍普金斯提供的合法地图,该地图提供了可信赖的信息。您可以在以下网站上找到实际可靠的地图: coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html 。并且,您可以在下面看到它的描述。

约翰·霍普金斯covid 19地图
假冒伪冒者的合法约翰·霍普金斯冠状病毒相关地图。资料来源:digitalshadows.com

带有冒名顶替者地图的网站将Android应用程序推向落在其上的毫无戒心的受害者。据推测,该应用程序还可以跟踪冠状病毒–传播,受害者,死亡等等。当然,它并没有这样做,但是人们天真地相信了这些虚假的主张,最终只会为此受苦。

网络骗子如何设法监视您?

这是最新的冠状病毒骗局的展开方式。您会在手机上收到包含链接的文本。该链接有望带您到冠状病毒追踪地图,以帮助您了解有关COVID-19威胁的最新消息。另外,它还提供了一个应用程序,使您可以在手机上执行相同的操作!如果您从该站点下载Android应用程序,则表示您正在向窥探者打开手机。

恶意应用程序背后的网络罪犯将窃取您手机的麦克风和摄像头的访问权限,并能够监视您的一举一动。他们将始终知道您在说什么和在做什么。安全专家怀疑他们的目的是勒索。恶意人员通过监视您来收集数据,然后他们可以选择勒索您。或者,他们可以使用它在暗网上进行销售。或者,如果他们设法从您那里收集了足够的个人和财务信息,则他们可以窃取您的身份。

注意红旗!

该应用程序不在Google Play上,这应该是您的第一个危险信号。请勿下载未在经过验证的来源上找到的任何内容。您的谨慎将为您节省很多问题。

如果您没有发现危险并获得该应用程序,则将收到一个自定义版本的SpyMax。 SpyMax是商业间谍软件,只要有Internet连接,任何人都可以免费获得。

令人震惊的是,该恶意软件已与至少三十多个恶意Android应用程序链接在一起。自2019年4月以来一直活跃的大型监视活动都使用相同的命令和控制基础结构。
安全研究人员认为,该计划的黑客在利比亚活动。到目前为止,它尚未得到证实,但应该指出的是,上述三十个应用程序之一提供了允许用户搜索利比亚手机号码客户名称的服务。

当涉及到此类恶意应用程序时,渗透的模式保持不变。 网络犯罪分子通过链接以SMS消息的形式传播它们 。单击链接,您将进入一个提供可下载应用程序的网站。请勿从未经验证的网站下载应用程序!不要屈服于恐惧和恐慌,但要保持警惕。我们生活在网络骗子因人们的恐慌而壮成长的时代。不要让他们从你身上获利。

March 25, 2020

发表评论

Coronavirus Scam Uses a Fake COVID-19 Map Pushing an App That Lets Cybercrooks Spy on You Through Your Phone

fake covid 19 map app spying

We are currently living through a pandemic. Coronavirus is spreading rapidly and has become a global issue. People are scared, and the news is only adding to that fear. Every time you turn on a TV, open a site, or any social media – you discover Coronavirus is the most-discussed topic. Everyone is talking about Coronavirus or the strain that we're now dealing with – COVID-19. No matter how much information people get, there's always a want for more. Cybercriminals exploit people's need for Coronavirus data for their gain.

In this time of crisis, people turn to experts and the advice they give. To combat the spread, they advise people to take a few precautionary steps – keep hygiene levels high, avoid contact with others and crowds, work from home if you can. These guidelines help to cut down the rapid spread of the dreadful Coronavirus. But staying home and social distancing means spending more time online – reaching out to friends and family, working, distracting yourself, and, above all, keeping up with the latest Coronavirus news.

Coronavirus proves to be among the most prominent search trends in Google history. Americans awed as they shared tweets and charts depicting the enormous interest around the topic in comparison to other highly-searched phrases.


The tweet with the attached chart. Source: twitter.com

tweet popular chart coronavirus
The chart, which displays the surge of Coronavirus searches. Source: pbs.twimg.com

Coronavirus-related information is what people crave most, and cybercriminals know that.

Cybercrooks make expert use of the Internet and people's Coronavirus fears

The Internet is a plentiful source of information, and right now, Coronavirus dominates the web. In only three months, there have been over a thousand domains registered that relate to Coronavirus and COVID-19. The registrations have been on a steady incline since January 2020, and as you can see on the chart below, they have blown up in March.

covid 19 coronavirus domains registered
A depiction of the increase of domains related to Coronavirus and COVID-19 registered since January. Source: www.digitalshadows.com

Not all of these domains are registered for malicious purposes by malicious individuals. Some are, and their only objective is to fool you into acting against your best interest.

Once a cybercriminal registers such a domain, they use it to give credence to their scams. 'We have a website, and that must mean we're legitimate and reliable, right?' Wrong! Always be on your guard, and don't disregard vigilance. These sites impersonate real legitimate ones, as well as host phishing pages and further the spread of misinformation. They always have a tell – something off with the logo, a spelling mistake, et cetera. Even if you don't find one at first glance, inspect further!

An impostor map pushing a sham app

The latest Coronavirus-related bogus website is one that appears to display the spread of Coronavirus – deaths, infections, everything related to the topic. And, all of it sorted by country and city. Unfortunately, the site is unreliable as it impersonates the real one that does all of the things listed above. This website, like many other malicious ones, spoofs a legitimate map offered by Johns Hopkins, which provides trustworthy information. You can find the actual reliable map on this website: coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html. And, you can see a depiction of it below.

johns hopkins covid 19 map
The legitimate Johns Hopkins Coronavirus-related map impersonated for the scam. Source: digitalshadows.com

The website with the impostor map pushes an Android application on unsuspecting victims that land on it. An app that, supposedly, tracks Coronavirus, as well – its spreading, victims, deaths, all of it. Of course, it does no such thing, but people naïve enough to believe these bogus claims, only end up suffering for it.

How do the cybercrooks manage to spy on you?

Here's how the latest Coronavirus scam unfolds. You receive a text on your phone that contains a link. That link promises to take you to a Coronavirus tracking map to help you keep up with the latest news on the COVID-19 threat. Plus, it also offers an application that allows you to do the same, but on your phone! If you download the Android app from the site, you're opening your phone to snoops.

The cybercriminals, behind the malicious app, will steal access to your phone's microphone and camera and will be able to spy on your every move. They'll know what you're saying and doing at all times. Security experts suspect that their objective is extortion. The malicious individuals collect data by spying on you, and then they can extort you if they choose. Or, they can use it to sell on the dark web. Or, if they manage to collect enough personal and financial information from you, they can steal your identity.

Note the red flags!

The app is NOT on Google Play, which should be your first red flag. Do NOT download anything that you don't find on a verified source. Your caution will save you a ton of issues.

If you don't catch on the red flag and do get the app, you'll receive a customized version of SpyMax. SpyMax is commercial spyware that anyone can get for free as long as they have an Internet connection.

What's alarming is that this malicious software has gotten linked to at least thirty more rogue Android apps. All of which use the same command and control infrastructure of a grander surveillance campaign that's been active since April 2019.
Security researchers believe that the hackers behind the scheme operate in Libya. So far, it's unconfirmed, but it should get noted that one of the thirty apps mentioned above offers services that allow a user to search for the customer name of a Libyan mobile number.

When it comes to such malicious apps, the pattern of infiltration remains the same. Cybercriminals spread them via links, delivered in SMS messages. Follow the link, and you land on a website that offers an application available for download. Do NOT download apps from unverified sites! Don't give in to fear and panic, but remain vigilant. We live in a time when cybercrooks thrive on people's panic. Don't let them profit off of you.

March 25, 2020

Leave a Reply