Cyber Security Tips for School Administrators and Teachers

当我们考虑网络安全时,学校可能是最后想到的空间,这也许是这些机构可以轻松获得网络安全措施“F”的原因之一。然而,任何学校工作人员和行政部门都应该认真对待网络安全。我们可能会认为学校网络安全的大多数威胁可能等于学生试图入侵学校的数据库以改变他们的成绩或随机钓鱼电子邮件,这些电子邮件可能会落入员工收件箱。但是,还有更多内容,我们希望在下面更详细地讨论它。

网络钓鱼电子邮件威胁

无论我们喜欢与否, 网络钓鱼诈骗都可以轻松地针对教育机构。因此,转移或避免网络钓鱼诈骗的能力是学校网络安全政策的重要组成部分。这里的问题通常是学校提供的电子邮件服务可能更容易受到网络钓鱼攻击。更多垃圾邮件可能会落入主收件箱,因此教师和管理人员需要学习如何识别这些虚假邮件。避免在收到的电子邮件中单击随机传出链接尤为重要。例如,它们可能看起来像普通的Google文档链接,但有必要确保您收到来自可靠发件人的特定电子邮件。

公共Wi-Fi威胁

我们可能不会考虑太多,我们可能会欢迎免费提供的公共Wi-Fi网络,但网络安全专家总是强调,当您连接到公共Wi时发送或接收敏感信息不是一个好主意。 -Fi网络。没有密码保护的公共Wi-Fi网络很容易被网络犯罪分子攻击。如果您必须发送包含有关您学校的敏感信息的电子邮件,实际上最好使用您自己的移动数据计划,这比使用公共Wi-Fi更安全。如果您学校的Wi-Fi网络是公开的,您可能希望将其指向IT团队,因为这肯定是错误的方法。

不要忘记退出

学校的网络安全处理潜在威胁的各个方面。黑客并不是唯一可以窃取敏感信息的人。将您的设备留在课堂上或在会话结束后忘记注销也可能导致信息泄露。每次离开房间时,请务必退出帐户并关闭设备。

此外,您应该定期更新密码。请避免重复使用相同的密码,因为这样可以更容易破解它们。如果您需要帮助,请考虑使用密码管理器 。使用密码管理器,您只需要一个主密码,所有其他密码将是复杂和独特的,因此任何人都很难入侵您的帐户。

IT团队面临的挑战

当然,教育员工和学生了解潜在的网络安全威胁是一回事,为机构的IT团队制定待办事项清单是完全不同的事情。. EdTech的安全工程师表示,学生和员工的意识只是可以改善学校网络安全的因素之一。

学校应该考虑的另一件事是根据系统和用户的角色和用户政策来分离系统和用户。换句话说,不同的用户应该具有不同的权限,从而限制对没有更大权限的用户访问某些系统和设备。虽然这是一个非常简单的例子,但肯定有学校限制在台式计算机上安装新软件的权限。只有拥有更大权限的用户才能做到这一点,从而实际上阻止任何未经授权安装可能有害的软

另一个网络安全提示包括监控网络流量。检测异常流量可以立即向官员或IT团队发出警报,从而防止出现严重的安全问题。然而,很明显,并非每所学校都能投资于此类交通监控,因此这项建议主要适用于能够雇佣相对较大的IT团队的大型学校。

但是,每个人都可以做的一件事是制定规则,政策和指导方针,规范学校数据库的使用。毕竟,学校的数据库是最常见的网络攻击目标。因此,控制访问这些数据库的人员非常重要。再一次,这让我们回到了特权。这意味着虽然大多数用户可能在特定数据库上拥有帐户,但应根据其权限限制访问级别。当然,不言而喻,学生不应该拥有比教师更广泛的访问权限,但有时由于编程不当,这些访问权限可能遍布整个地方,因此有必要小心这一点。

其他一般提示

我们都可以看到,学校的网络安全取决于多方。如果负责基础设施的一方不能正常工作,那么意识到潜在的威胁可能还不够。但是,如果我们在今天签到之前要完成一些最终提示,我们想提醒您一般的网络安全方面也适用于学校。也就是说,保持所有软件的最新状态非常重要。更新安装程序补丁,使犯罪分子更难以使用软件漏洞入侵系统。

不要忘记备份所有数据。数据窃取不是唯一的安全威胁。让我们不要忘记可以轻易破坏大多数重要文件的勒索软件感染。因此,定期数据备份是一个非常好的主意。毕竟,他们确实说你不应该把所有鸡蛋放在一个篮子里。

如果您需要有关教育相关网络安全的更多信息,您可以查看我们之前关于大学生安全提示的条目。现在,请确保您完成当前的网络安全实践,看看是否有任何可以改进的地方。

March 6, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 10是什么?

Cyber Security Tips for School Administrators and Teachers

Schools are probably the last space that comes to mind when we think about cybersecurity, and that is perhaps one of the reasons these institutions could easily receive an "F" for their cybersecurity measures. Nevertheless, it is time that cybersecurity is taken seriously by any school staff and the administration. We might think that most of the threats to cybersecurity at schools may amount to students trying to hack into the school's database to change their grades or random phishing emails that may land into the staff inboxes. However, there is more to it than that, and we would like to discuss it in greater detail below.

Phishing Email Threat

Whether we like it or not, phishing scams can easily target education institutions as well. Therefore, the ability to divert or avoid phishing scams is an important part of cybersecurity policies at schools. The problem here is usually that email service provided by schools might be more susceptible to phishing attacks. More spam could land in the main inbox, and thus teachers and the administration staff need to learn how to recognize these fake messages. It is especially important to avoid clicking random outgoing links in the received emails. They may look like regular Google Docs links, for example, but it is necessary to make sure that you received a certain email from a reliable sender.

Public Wi-Fi Threat

We probably do not think much about it, and we might welcome public Wi-Fi networks that are available for free, but cybersecurity experts always emphasize that it is not a good idea to send or receive sensitive information when you are connected to a public Wi-Fi network. Public Wi-Fi networks that do not have a password protecting them can be easily hacked by cyber criminals. If you must send that email containing sensitive information about your school, it is actually better to use your own mobile data plan, which is safer than using public Wi-Fi. And if your school's Wi-Fi network is public, you might want to point that out to the IT team because that is surely the wrong way to go about it.

Don't Forget to Log Out

cybersecurity at schools deals with various aspects of potential threats. Hackers aren't the only ones who could steal sensitive information. Leaving your device on in your class or forgetting to log out once your session is over could lead to information leak as well. It is important to log out of your account and turn off the device each time you leave the room.

Also, you should renew your passwords regularly. Please avoid reusing the same passwords because that makes it easier to crack them. If you need assistance with that, consider using a password manager. With a password manager, you will only need one master password, and all the other passwords will be complicated and unique, thus making it hard for anyone to hack into your accounts.

Challenges for the IT Team

Of course, it's one thing to educate the staff and students about potential cybersecurity threats, and an entirely different thing to make a to-do list for the institution's IT Team. Security engineers at EdTech say that the awareness of students and staff is just one of the things that can improve cybersecurity at schools.

Another thing schools should consider doing is separating systems and users based on their roles and user policies. In other words, different users should have different privileges, thus restricting access to certain systems and devices to users who do not have bigger privileges. Although it is a very simple example, there are certainly schools that restrict privileges to install new software on their desktop computers. Only users with bigger privileges can do it, thus virtually stopping anyone unauthorized from installing potentially harmful software.

Another cybersecurity tip includes monitoring network traffic. Detecting abnormal traffic flows can alert officials or the IT team immediately, thus preventing severe security issues. However, it is clear that not every school is able to invest in such traffic monitoring, and so this recommendation mostly applies to big schools that can afford to hire a relatively bigger IT team.

However, one thing that everyone can do is establishing set rules, policies, and guidelines that regulate the use of the school's databases. After all, the school's databases are the most common target of cyber attacks. Therefore, it is important to have control over who accesses those databases. Once again, this brings us back to the privileges. It means that while most of the users may have accounts on a particular database, the access level should be restricted based on their privileges. Of course, it goes without saying that a student shouldn't have wider access than a teacher, but sometimes these access rights could be all over the place due to poor programming, so it is necessary to be careful about that.

Other General Tips

We all can see that cybersecurity at schools depends on several parties. Being aware of potential threats may not be enough if the party responsible for the infrastructure does not do its job properly. However, if we were to run through a few final tips before we sign off for today, we would like to remind you that the general cybersecurity aspects apply to schools as well. That is, it is important to keep all your software up-to-date. Updates install program patches that make it harder for criminals to hack into the system using software vulnerabilities.

Do not forget to back-up all of your data. Data theft is not the only security threat. Let's not forget ransomware infections that can easily destroy most of the important files. Thus, regular data back-ups are a very good idea. After all, they do say that you shouldn't put all of your eggs in one basket.

Should you need more information about education-related cybersecurity, you can check out our previous entry on security tips for college students. For now, make sure that you go through your current cybersecurity practice and see whether there's anything you can improve there.

March 4, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 9 ?