6个提示将帮助您设置安全的电话会议

任何信息都可能是有价值的,即使它看起来不像。显然,永无止境的数据泄露和为窃取数据而设计的恶意应用程序证实了这一点。没有人是安全的,因为网络犯罪分子不仅针对普通用户,而且针对各种公司,无论是大型还是小型组织都无关紧要。不同的信息可能提供多种机会,例如,勒索人们,欺骗他们,在黑暗网络上销售他们的数据,等等。如今,在员工远程工作或出差的公司中,电话会议非常受欢迎。然而,虽然方便,但重要的是不要忘记,如果公司没有确保其电话会议安全,这些服务可能会造成很大的损害。因此,在这篇博客文章中,我们将讨论如何确保电话会议以保护商业信息免受网络犯罪分子的侵害。

举行不安全的电话会议会有什么风险?

无担保的电话会议可能会吸引可能对公司的商业信息感兴趣的网络犯罪分子。想象一下,您正在讨论您的组织在不安全的电话会议期间可能面临的业务策略,新产品或问题。如果一个网络犯罪分子得到这样的信息,它可能会破坏一个组织。攻击者可能会试图将其出售给该组织的竞争对手,甚至勒索其所有者,同时威胁要泄露所收集的商业机密。当然,数据越敏感,其曝光可能带来的麻烦就越多。因此,如果组织处理非常有价值的信息,那么召开安全的电话会议可能至关重要。

如何保证电话会议?

根据Loopup在2016年进行的一项调查,70%的人认为在电话会议期间讨论机密信息是正常的。虽然这样做没有任何问题,但用户不应忘记它可能存在风险,并且需要采取特殊的安全措施来防止网络犯罪分子秘密加入电话会议并记录敏感信息。以下是我们如何确保电话会议安全的前6个提示:

1.仅使用可靠的会议软件

与您为公司选择的任何其他计划一样,您应该确保您选择的用于召开电话会议的应用程序可以信任。大多数情况下,我们建议远离未知的免费软件工具。在做出最终决定之前,您应该了解首选程序的开发人员并阅读一些用户/专家评论。此外,了解应用程序的工作原理,如何确保您的隐私以及是否具有安全电话会议所需的功能至关重要。

2.教育员工使用不可靠软件的风险

向员工解释在工作计算机,电话和其他设备上可以安装和不安装哪种软件总是一个好主意。如果没有边界,他们可能会认为他们可以使用他们喜欢的任何工具,甚至不用考虑这样做的后果。因此,如果您希望保护您的业务信息免受网络威胁,您应该教育您的员工,以便他们不会使用不可靠的程序进行工作。当然,使用不可靠软件的风险并不是您应该告知您的员工是否要保护公司免受网络威胁的唯一主题. 要了解其他与员工相关的重要问题,我们建议您阅读此处

3.确保所有参与者都获得授权

某些Web会议应用程序提供双因素身份验证 。这意味着必须首先验证受邀参加特定电话会议的各方才能连接到该电话会议。双因素身份验证是指用户除了提供登录名,密码或会议ID号之外还必须提供更多内容。通常,它是通过电子邮件或手机发送的唯一密码。因此,任何试图入侵您的电话会议的人都将无法这样做,除非他们攻击会议参与者的某个电子邮件或偷走了他的手机。

4.监控加入电话会议的人员

最好是您可以看到有多少人加入了通话,并在有新人连接时收到通知。如果您可以查看参与者的姓名和位置,那就更好了。如果假装成您的员工或同事的网络犯罪分子加入电话会议,如果您发现从不寻常的位置登录的人,例如,真实的人是城市或国家,您可能能够看透它。不应该在。在这种情况下,如果您有权立即断开伪装者,以防止他拦截敏感的商业信息,那就太棒了。

5.确保经常更改密码

如果您的会议软件允许参与者在提交特定密码后进行连接,您应该不时进行更改。当网络犯罪分子计算出密码时,它可能已经被更改,这将阻止他们加入您的电话会议并记录您可能在其中讨论的任何信息。我们建议的另一件事是设置难以猜测的强密码。提出安全密码的最简单方法是使用专用密码管理器。例如,如果您在私人笔记上保存密码, Cyclonis密码管理器可以帮助您为会议软件提供长随机密码并为您记忆。

6.加密您的电话会议

最后,如果您想要保护电话会议,您应该考虑做的另一件事是加密它们。这种方式即使有人在没有邀请的情况下闯入电话,他也无法理解任何事情。通常,加密内容不再有意义;例如,加密文本可能包含大量隐藏实际文本的随机字符。

总而言之,您应该始终假设有人在您或您公司的敏感数据之后,因此您应该采取一切必要措施来保护它。认为没有人对你的组织的秘密感兴趣是一个错误。正如我们之前所说,没有毫无价值的信息。因此,如果您不时进行电话会议,我们强烈建议您使用我们提供的有关如何确保电话会议安全的提示. 此外,如果您想了解有关如何保护敏感业务信息的更多信息,请继续阅读此处

July 31, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 8是什么?

6 Tips That Will Help You Set up Secure Conference Calls

Any piece of information can be valuable even if it does not look like it. Obviously, never-ending data breaches and malicious applications designed for stealing data confirm it. No one is safe as cybercriminals target not only regular users, but also various companies, and it does not matter if it is a big or a small organization. Different pieces of information may provide multiple opportunities, for example, to blackmail people, scam them, sell their data on the dark web, and so on. Conference calls are extremely popular nowadays among companies that have employees who work remotely or go on business trips. However, while it is convenient, it is important not to forget that such services could do a lot of damage if a company does not secure its conference calls. Consequently, in this blog post, we discuss how to secure a conference call to protect business information from cybercriminals.

What are the risks of having unsecured conference calls?

Unsecured conference calls could attract cybercriminals who might be interested in a company’s business information. Imagine you are discussing business strategies, new products, or problems your organization could be facing during an unsecured conference call. If a cybercriminal gets his hands on such information, it could ruin an organization. The attacker could try to sell it to the organization’s competitors or even blackmail its owners while threatening to leak the collected business secrets. Naturally, the more sensitive the data is the more troubles its exposure could bring. Therefore, having secure conference calls might be crucial if an organization deals with highly valuable information.

How to secure a conference call?

According to a survey carried out by Loopup in 2016, 70 percent of people think it is normal to discuss confidential information during a conference call. While there is nothing wrong in doing so, users should not forget that it could be risky and that there are particular safety measures to take to prevent cybercriminals from secretly joining conference calls and recording sensitive information. Here are our top 6 tips on how to secure a conference call:

1. Use only reliable conferencing software

Like any other programs you choose for your company, you should make sure the application you pick for making conference calls can be trusted. Mostly, we recommend staying away from unknown freeware tools. Before making your final decision, you should find out about the preferred program’s developers and read some user/expert reviews. Also, it is vital to learn how the application works, how it can ensure your privacy, and whether it has features needed for a secure conference call.

2. Educate your employees about the risks of using unreliable software

It is always a good idea to explain to your employees what kind of software can and cannot be installed on work computers, phones, and other devices. If there are no boundaries, they may think they can use whatever tool they like without even thinking about the consequences of doing so. Thus, if you want your business information to be protected against cyber threats, you should educate your employees so they would not use unreliable programs for work. Of course, the risks of using unreliable software is not the only subject you should inform your employees about if you want to protect your company against cyber threats. To learn about other important employee-related issues, we recommend reading here.

3. Make sure all participants are authorized

Some web conferencing applications offer Two-Factor Authentication. It means that parties invited to a particular conference call have to be verified first to be able to connect to it. Two-Factor Authentication is when a user has to provide something more besides his login name, password, or a meeting’s ID number. Usually, it is a unique passcode sent via email or mobile phone. As a result, anyone trying to hack into your conference call would be unable to do so unless they hacked one of the meeting participant’s emails or stole his mobile phone.

4. Monitor people joining your conference calls

It is best if you can see how many people joined the call and get notified when someone new connects. It is even better if you can view participants’ names and their location. In case a cybercriminal pretending to be your employee or a colleague joins a conference call, you might be able to see through it if you notice the person logged in from an unusual location, for example, a city or a country that the real person is not supposed to be at. In such a case, it would be great if you had the right to disconnect the pretender at once, to prevent him from intercepting sensitive business information.

5. Make sure you change passwords frequently

If your conferencing software allows participants to connect after submitting a particular password, you should change it from time to time. It is likely that by the time cybercriminals figure out the passcode, it will be already changed, which would prevent them from joining your conference calls and recording any information you might be discussing during them. Another thing we advise is setting up strong passwords that would be difficult to guess. The easiest way to come up with a secure passcode is to use a dedicated password manager. For example, Cyclonis Password Manager can both help you come up with long random passwords for your conferencing software and memorize them for you if you save passcodes on Private Notes.

6. Encrypt your conference calls

Lastly, another thing you should consider doing if you want to secure your conference calls is encrypting them. This way even if someone hacks into a call without an invitation, he will not be able to understand anything. Usually, encrypted content no longer makes sense; for example, an encrypted text could have lots of random characters that would hide the actual text.

All in all, you should always assume that someone out there could be after your or your company’s sensitive data and so you should take all necessary steps to protect it. Thinking no one is interested in your organization’s secrets is a number one mistake. As we said earlier, there is no such thing as worthless information. Thus, if you make conference calls from time to time, we strongly recommend making use of our provided tips on how to secure a conference call. Also, if you want to know more about how to keep sensitive business information protected, you should continue reading here.

July 30, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 6 ?