您知道什麼是2FA嗎? 72%的美國人不

無論您具有電子郵件帳戶還是社交網絡帳戶,都具有在線身份。保護您的在線身份與其作為您的物理身份一樣重要,並且儘管這個世界上並不是每個人都可以做到這一點,但越來越多的人開始認識到虛擬安全性極為重要。假設您正走在街上,有人阻止了您。他們告訴您他們代表國家調查,並且需要您的身份證號碼,全名和聯繫方式。在這種情況下,您很可能會告訴陌生人您對參加比賽不感興趣,然後您會以一種不舒服的感覺離開。那人是誰他們為什麼需要有關您的信息?如果您顯示虛擬身份會發生什麼?

不幸的是,當我們在線時,我們往往不太謹慎。我們經常收到奇怪的電子郵件,要求您披露個人信息和身份信息。在某些情況下,陌生人甚至不需要詢問此類信息,因為該信息已經公開並正在顯示。花點時間考慮一下您的所有在線個人資料。您的生日,全名,電子郵件地址或寵物的名字是否公開?如果僅與“朋友”共享,您確定您認識這些“朋友”中的每一個,並且可以信任他們中的每一個嗎?不幸的是,有很多信息在線,並且其中一些信息使網絡犯罪分子能夠強行使用密碼。在許多情況下,人們將自己的家鄉,街道名稱,寵物的名字以及類似的數據包含在他們創建的密碼中。在其他情況下,他們選擇簡單但較弱的組合 。基本上,網絡罪犯無需努力猜測或破解此類密碼,然後劫持個人帳戶。雖然設置強密碼至關重要,但是如果採用兩因素身份驗證,則即使是弱密碼也可以使用。

您知道什麼是雙重身份驗證嗎?

兩因素身份驗證(2FA)是一種在線身份驗證方法。一切都很簡單,但是一項新研究表明 ,只有28%的美國人可以成功識別出兩因素身份驗證的示例。這真是令人震驚。這意味著72%的美國人基本上不知道什麼是兩因素身份驗證。他們可能對此有一個大致的了解,但是在日常生活中應用它時,他們會迷失方向。那麼,什麼是雙重身份驗證?您可以將其視為開門的第二把鑰匙。如果第一個鑰匙被盜,小偷有望進入,因為他們沒有第二個鑰匙。登錄身份驗證也是如此。如果攻擊者獲得了您的密碼,則希望他們不會破壞您的帳戶,因為他們沒有通過電子郵件或手機以短信形式發送給您的輔助密碼。顯然,如果黑客可以訪問您的電子郵件帳戶或電話,他們仍可能會闖入。也就是說,兩因素身份驗證使事情變得更安全。

由於如今兩大部分身份驗證已集成到大多數在線服務中,因此Gmail,Instagram,Facebook或其他類似服務的用戶沒有任何不使用該功能的藉口。不幸的是,皮尤研究中心(Pew Research Center)進行的研究清楚地表明,該國的虛擬安全知識已被大多數人推倒。孩子們尚未在學校接受有關虛擬安全性的教育,甚至公司也未能向其員工提供最基本的安全性準則。不幸的是,不了解虛擬安全性會傷害所有人。人為錯誤通常會導致大規模的數據洩露,從而洩漏數千個密碼。網絡罪犯會使用這些密碼,並使用它們來劫持毫無戒心的用戶的帳戶。儘管您的帳戶安全性並不總是掌握在自己手中,但是如果可以使用兩因素身份驗證,那麼成功攻擊的人無非是您自己,而是您自己。讓我們簡單地說:兩因素身份驗證很重要。

兩因素身份驗證補充密碼

您不應將兩因素身份驗證和密碼視為兩個獨立的事物。 2FA旨在補充您的密碼,但是您絕對應該從密碼開始。希望您不要選擇password123bealestreet5ucla4life或類似的東西作為在線帳戶的密鑰。您設置的密碼必須很強,即使總有負責確保其安全的公司冒著丟球的風險,您也必須儘自己的一份力量。那麼,什麼是強密碼,它的外觀如何?您可以繼續閱讀這裡了解更多,但是,基本上,一個強壯的密碼是一個獨特複雜 ,並包含大寫/小寫字母,符號和數字的組合 。重要的是要注意,儘管並非總是有機會使用不同字符的組合,但是必須確保利用可用的選項。因此,例如,如果您只能使用數字,請使用最長的組合,並確保數字是隨機的,並且不包括您的個人數據。我們建議使用Cyclonis Password Manager來自動生成強密碼。

儘管兩因素身份驗證並非不可戰勝 ,但您需要利用必須採取的每一種選擇,以確保任何人都不會破壞您的虛擬帳戶。這意味著您需要設置強密碼,啟用兩因素身份驗證,並可能採用其他安全措施。例如,在Facebook上,您可以設置設置以在有人嘗試從未知設備或位置登錄時警告您。可用的安全解決方案取決於您使用的服務,並且取決於您自己進行設置並選擇對您重要的解決方案。不要太舒服也很重要。虛擬安全遊戲在不斷變化,如果您不緊跟最新的安全新聞,最新更新或安全工具庫的最新內容,則可能無法保護自己。歸根結底,您不希望成為不安全的人(因為他們不了解基本知識)的72%的一部分。正如弗朗西斯·培根爵士曾經說過的,知識就是力量。

December 11, 2019

發表評論

Do You Know What 2FA Is? 72% of Americans Do Not

Whether you have an email account or a social networking account, you have an online identity. It is just as important to protect your online identity as it is your physical identity, and while not every person in this world gets it yet, more and more people begin to understand that virtual security is extremely important. Let’s say you are walking down the street and someone stops you. They tell you that they are representing a national survey and that they need your ID card number, full name, and contact details. It is most likely that, in such a situation, you tell the stranger that you are not interested in participating, and then you walk away with an uneasy feeling in your stomach. Who was that person? Why did they need information about you? What would have happened if you revealed your virtual identity?

Unfortunately, when we are online, we tend to be less careful. We often receive strange emails asking to disclose personal and identifying information. In some cases, strangers do not even need to ask for such information because it is already public and on display. Take a moment to think about all of your online profiles. Is your date of birth, full name, email address, or pet’s name public? If it is shared with “friends” only, are you sure that you know every one of these “friends” and that you can trust every one of them? Unfortunately, a lot of information is online, and some of that information can make it possible for cybercriminals to brute-force passwords. In many cases, people include their hometowns, street names, pets’ names, and similar data into the passwords they create. In other cases, they choose simple but weak combinations. Basically, cybercriminals do not need to work hard to guess or breach such passwords and then hijack personal accounts. While setting up strong passwords is crucial, even weaker passwords can work if two-factor authentication is employed.

Do you know what two-factor authentication is?

Two-factor authentication (2FA) is a method of online authentication. It’s all very simple, but a new study has revealed that only 28% of Americans can successfully identify an example of two-factor authentication. This is shocking. That means that 72% of Americans basically do not know what two-factor authentication is. They might have a general understanding of it, but when it comes to applying it in their day-to-day lives – they are lost. So, what is two-factor authentication, exactly? You can think of it as the second key to your door. If the first key is stolen, the thief, hopefully, cannot get in because they do not have that second key. The same goes for login authentication. If the attacker obtains your password, hopefully, they cannot breach your account because they do not have the secondary password that is sent to you via email or your phone as a text message. Obviously, if hackers can access your email account or your phone, they might still break in. That being said, two-factor authentication makes things safer.

Since two-factor authentication is integrated into most online services these days, there is no excuse for the users of Gmail, Instagram, Facebook, or other similar services not to use the feature. Unfortunately, the study presented by Pew Research Center clearly indicates that the virtual security literacy in this country has been put on the back burner by most people. Kids are not yet taught about virtual security at schools, and even companies fail to offer the most basic security guidelines to their employees. Unfortunately, failure to understand virtual security hurts everyone. Human error often causes massive data breaches that leak thousands of passwords. Cybercriminals take these passwords and use them to hijack the accounts of unsuspecting users. Although the security of your accounts is not always in your own hands, if two-factor authentication is available, you have no one to blame for successful attacks but yourself. Let us put it simply: two-factor authentication is IMPORTANT.

Two-factor authentication compliments passwords

You should not look at two-factor authentication and passwords as two separate things. 2FA is meant to compliment your passwords, but you should definitely start with the passwords. Hopefully, you do not choose password123, bealestreet5, ucla4life, or something like that as keys to your online accounts. The passwords you set up have to be strong, and even if there is always a risk that the company responsible for keeping them safe will drop the ball, you have to do your part. So, what is a strong password, and how does it look? You can continue reading here to learn more, but, basically, a strong password is one that is unique, complex, long, and contains a combination of upper/lower-case letters, symbols, and numbers. It is important to note that although you are not always given the chance to use a combination of different characters, you have to make sure that you exploit the available options. So, for example, if you can only use numbers, use the longest combination you can, and make sure that the numbers are random and do not include your personal data. We suggest employing Cyclonis Password Manager to have strong passwords generated automatically.

Although two-factor authentication is not invincible, you need to exploit every option you have to ensure that your virtual accounts cannot be breached by anyone. That means that you need to set up strong passwords, enable two-factor authentication, and, potentially, employ other security measures. For example, on Facebook, you can set the settings to warn you when someone tries to log in from an unknown device or location. What security solutions are available to you depends on the service you use, and it is up to you to go through the settings and pick and choose the solutions that are important to you. It is also important that you do not get too comfortable. The virtual security game is ever-changing, and if you do not stay on top of the latest security news, the latest updates, or the latest additions to the arsenal of security tools, you might fail to protect yourself. At the end of the day, you do not want to be part of the 72% of people who are not safe because they do not understand the basics. As Sir Francis Bacon once said, knowledge is power.

December 11, 2019

Leave a Reply