雙因素認證與多因素認證的區別

毫無疑問,Paolo Genovese看過Perfect Strangers的人會意識到通過我們的手機,電腦,社交媒體賬戶等獲取的信息是多麼敏感,然而,與電影不同,現實中存在的威脅多於向人們洩露一個人的秘密。他身邊。不幸的是,事實是你的個人信息對於網絡犯罪分子來說可能更有趣。

黑客可以出售您的敏感數據,獲取您的身份,竊取您的資金,傳播惡意軟件,以及對您的設備或其他帳戶可能允許的任何其他操作。因此,毫無疑問,保護自己帳戶的興趣日益增強。如果您正在尋找保護隱私的方法,您可能已經聽說過雙因素身份驗證多因素身份驗證方法,簡稱為2FAMFA 。它們都旨在使某人更難或理想地無法破解用戶的帳戶,並且在本文中我們不僅會更詳細地討論它們,還會解釋2FA和MFA之間的區別。

可能,確認一個人身份的最常用方法是通過密碼進行身份驗證。此時,您可能會問使用它有什麼問題,答案就是什麼都沒有。但是,記住這一點,雖然它似乎是一種更方便,更快速的登錄帳戶的方式,但它也使人們更容易入侵它們。幸運的是,使用雙因素和多因素身份驗證僅僅知道一個人的密碼是不夠的,因此入侵某人的帳戶變得更加複雜。換句話說,這些身份驗證方法需要想要登錄的人知道更多因素,因此猜測密碼或暴力破壞它變得不夠。根據Shilpa Shaju和Panchami Vijayan撰寫的一篇論文 ,這些元素分為三大類: 知識佔有內在

知識因素是優選地僅用戶應該知道的東西,例如,他創建和記憶的密碼。佔有因素是用戶獨自應有的東西;比如發送到用戶移動設備的安全代碼,電子郵件地址等。從上面提到的三個元素中,唯一的元素是Inherent。它允許用戶通過他的身體特徵來識別,例如指紋,虹膜或語音。將兩個所描述的因素組合稱為雙因素身份驗證,這意味著多因素身份驗證是指要求用戶通過呈現兩個或更多所需因子來確認其身份。這就是2FA和MFA之間存在差異以及哪種方法更好的問題。

事實是雙因素身份驗證是一種多因素身份驗證,兩種方法都可以使用相同的因素。意思是,唯一的區別在於登錄或確認用戶身份所需的元素數量。例如,2FA可能會要求提供密碼和發送到您的移動設備的安全碼,而MFA可能還會要求您掃描指紋等等. 根據各種情況,這兩種方法中的任何一種都可能使網絡犯罪分子無法破解用戶的帳戶。

儘管如此,如果我們必須選擇最佳選擇,我們會說這一切都取決於用戶選擇的因素。例如,如果您選擇使用密碼和指紋識別的雙因素身份驗證,則與不需要固有因子的多因素身份驗證保護的帳戶相比,該帳戶可能更安全。解釋很簡單 - 不太可能有人能夠或者想要獲得你的虹膜,指紋等。另一方面,如果Inherent是三個因素之一,那麼MFA也會比使用Inhere因子的2FA更好。如果獲得的元素越多,攻擊某人的設備或帳戶就越具有挑戰性。

毋庸置疑,並非所有設備或帳戶都允許使用雙因素身份驗證和多重身份驗證的所有可能因素,例如,指紋識別在新手機中有點受歡迎,而虹膜識別並不常見。此外,目前,大多數流行的社交媒體網頁(例如,Facebook,Google,Twitter和Reddit)只能提供2FA。如果你想利用這些額外的保護方法的嘗試,我們會建議嘗試 谷歌提供的兩步驟驗證 。我們中的許多人使用我們的Google郵件帳戶創建其他個人資料,這意味著入侵他們可能會讓網絡犯罪分子獲得與其相關的其他帳戶的訪問權限。因此,最難以破解它是最明智的,如果您在使用2FA保護您的Google帳戶或其他提及的社交媒體配置文件時需要任何幫助,您應該閱讀此博客文章 ,我們將逐步解釋整個過程說明。

最後,我們想提醒我們的讀者,Cyclonis Password Manager用戶也可以使用雙因素身份驗證。它通過要求提交發送到用戶所選電子郵件地址的其他身份驗證代碼來幫助用戶加強其帳戶。要激活它,只需單擊Cyclonis 設置選項卡,向下滑動直到找到高級設置,然後單擊紅色鎖以允許您進行更改。然後提交您的主密碼並滾動,直到您看到按鈕激活雙因素身份驗證選項。最好的部分是可以選擇在每次登錄時或僅在新設備上應用此要求。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

The Differences Between Two-Factor Authentication and Multi-Factor Authentication

No doubt those who have seen Perfect Strangers by Paolo Genovese realize how sensitive the information accessible through our mobiles, computers, social media accounts, etc. is, however, unlike in the film, there are more threats in reality than revealing one's secrets to people around him. Unfortunately, the truth is your personal information might be much more interesting to cybercriminals.

Hackers could sell your sensitive data, take your identity, steal your money, spread malware, and do anything else access to your device or various accounts may allow. Therefore, it is no wonder the interest in protecting one's accounts grows stronger by the day. If you are looking for ways to protect your privacy too, you might have already heard about Two-Factor Authentication and Multi-Factor Authentication methods also known as 2FA and MFA in short. Both of them are designed to make it more difficult or ideally impossible for someone to hack the user's accounts and further in this text we will not only discuss them in more detail but also explain the difference between 2FA and MFA.

Probably, the most commonly used way of confirming one's identity is authentication by password. At this point, you may ask what is wrong with using it, and the answer would be nothing. However, keep it in mind, while it might seem a more convenient and faster way of logging into one's accounts, it makes it easier for someone to hack them too. Fortunately, with Two-Factor and Multi-Factor Authentication it is not enough to know one's password and so hacking into someone's account becomes much more complicated. In other words, these authentication methods require the one who wants to log in to know more factors and so guessing the password or brute-forcing it becomes not enough. According to a paper written by Shilpa Shaju and Panchami Vijayan, these elements are categorized into three main categories: Knowledge, Possession, and Inherent.

Knowledge factor is something preferably only the user should know, for example, a password he created and memorized. Possession factor is something the user alone should have; like a security code sent to the user's mobile device, email address, etc. From the three of the mentioned elements, the unique one is Inherent. It lets the user to be identified by his body characteristics, for example, fingerprint, iris, or voice. Combining two of the described factors is called Two-Factor Authentication, which means Multi-Factor Authentication is when the user is asked to confirm his identity by presenting two or more required factors. This is the part where questions like what is the difference between 2FA and MFA and which method is better should arise.

The truth is Two-Factor Authentication is a type of Multi-Factor Authentication, and both of the methods can use the same factors. Meaning, the only difference is in the number of elements required to log in or confirm the user's identity. For instance, the 2FA might ask to provide a password and a security code sent to your mobile device, while the MFA may additionally require you to scan your fingerprint and so on. Any of these two methods might make it impossible for cybercriminals to hack user's accounts, depending on various circumstances.

Nonetheless, if we had to pick the best option, we would say it all depends on the factors the user chooses. For example, if you pick Two-Factor Authentication with password and fingerprint recognition the account might be more secure compared to the ones protected by Multi-Factor Authentication that does not require Inherent factors. The explanation is simple - it is less likely someone could or would attempt to obtain your iris, fingerprint, etc. On the other hand, if Inherent is among the three factors, the MFA would be better than 2FA also using Inherent factor as in such case the more elements to obtain would make it the more challenging to hack someone's device or account.

Needless to say, not all devices or accounts allow using all possible factors for Two-Factor Authentication and Multi-Factor Authentication, for example, fingerprint recognition is somewhat popular among newer mobile phones, while iris recognition is not as common. Moreover, currently, most popular social media web pages (e.g., Facebook, Google, Twitter, and Reddit) can offer only 2FA. If you would like to try using this extra protection method, we would advise trying out the 2-Step Verification provided by Google. Many of us use our Google mail accounts to create other profiles, which means hacking into them could allow cybercriminals to gain access to other accounts connected to it. Thus, making it more difficult to hack it would be most wise, and if you need any help while securing your Google account or other mentioned social media profiles with 2FA, you should read this blog article where we explain the whole process with step by step instructions.

Lastly, we would like to remind our readers the Two-Factor Authentication is available for Cyclonis Password Manager users too. It helps users to strengthen their accounts by requiring to submit an additional authentication code sent to the user's chosen email address. All you have to do to activate it is click on the Cyclonis Settings tab, slide below till you find the Advanced settings, and click the red lock to allow you to make changes. Then submit your master password and scroll until you see the button activating the Two-Factor Authentication option. The best part is one can choose to apply this requirement either on every login or only for new devices.

By Foley
July 18, 2018
July 18, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 9 ?