密碼何時可以被認為是安全的?

Secure Password

1990年的間諜電影可能讓你相信破解密碼涉及一個坐在電腦前的靈巧的人,嘗試不同的組合,直到出現綠色的“訪問授權”消息。現在的現實有點不同。黑客擁有可以對他們進行暴力破解的工具。使用正確的硬件,這些工具每秒可以進行數十萬次猜測,這意味著在破解單個帳戶時需要投入的時間和精力可以忽略不計。擁有一個弱密碼只會讓壞人的工作變得更容易。

我們如何讓黑客的工作變得更加困難?

這個問題的答案很簡單:“使用安全密碼。”不幸的是,安全密碼問題的答案不過是簡單的。幾年前,一個名為xkcd的現在著名的網絡漫畫試圖教會用戶正確的電話主題 ”是比“ Tr0ub4dor&3 ”更強的密碼。把這兩個放入任何密碼強度計,它會告訴你兩個密碼都相當強。顯然,這不是真的。

他們已經上網,人們已經使用過它們,現在它們幾乎都是密碼詞典的一部分。 xkcd的方法還有另一個問題。網絡漫畫的論點是將四個隨機常用詞拼接在一起使得密碼既無法猜測又容易記憶。雖然這可能是當漫畫首次亮相時,專家現在認為密碼破解工具已經趕上了。

複雜性很重要

真的,這是簡單的數學。如果你有一個只有小寫字母的雙字符密碼(你不應該),每個字符只有26種可能性。換句話說,有676種可能的排列。如果您有小寫和大寫字母,則每個字符有52種可能性,總共有2,704種可能的排列。添加數字,每個角色的可能性最多為62,排列數為3,844。然後,您有許多特殊字符可以進一步提高密碼的複雜性。不幸的是,這還不夠。

長度也很重要

顯然,即使它有一個“?”並且在其中包含“@”,三個字符的密碼將在不到一秒的時間內被破解。您添加到密碼中的字符越多,破解它所需的猜測次數就越多。大多數專家建議,一個相當強大的密碼不應該短於14個字符,並且公平地說這是你應該瞄準的數字。

隨機選擇大寫和小寫字母,數字和符號的長密碼可能是保護帳戶的一種非常好的方法。它也可能完全沒用。

獨特性至關重要

如果您正在考慮創建一個非常強大的密碼,然後將其用於所有帳戶,那麼您也可以省去麻煩。網絡犯罪分子不只是破解密碼。他們也竊取了他們,而且我們每天都看到的數據洩露不斷湧現,表明供應商做得不夠,無法保護他們。如果壞人從一個網站獲得您的用戶名和密碼,他們也會在其他網站上嘗試相同的組合。他們再次擁有可自動完成流程並使其速度極快的工具。如果密碼被重用,複雜性和長度並沒有真正起作用,因為犯罪分子不需要破解它. 他們只需要做同樣的事情 - 在其他網站上輸入。

回顧一下,多年來,關於什麼是安全密碼和什麼不是安全密碼的想法已經發生了很大變化。在過去,當網絡攻擊很少而且很遠時,超長而復雜的密碼並不重要。然而,如今,壞人們擁有的工具可以讓他們立刻妥協妥協大量賬戶。幸運的是,你還有一個可以將輪輻放在輪子上的工具。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 10是什麼?

When Can a Password Be Considered Secure?

Secure Password

1990's spy movies might have you believe that cracking a password involves a nimble-fingered person sitting in front of a computer, trying out different combinations until the green "Access Granted" message appears. The reality nowadays is quite a bit different. Hackers have tools that do the brute-forcing for them. With the right hardware, these tools can make hundreds of thousands of guesses per second meaning that the time and effort that needs to be invested in cracking a single account is negligible. Having a weak password just makes the bad guys' job a whole lot easier.

How do we make the hackers' job more difficult?

The answer to this question is simple: "by using secure passwords." Unfortunately, the answer to the question of what a secure password is is anything but simple. Several years ago, a now-famous web comic called xkcd tried to teach users that "correcthorsebatterystaple" is a stronger password than "Tr0ub4dor&3". Put these two into any password strength meter, and it will tell you that both passwords are fairly strong. This, obviously, isn't true.

They've already been put on the internet, people have used them, and they're now a part of virtually every password dictionary. There's another problem with xkcd's approach. The web comic's argument is that stitching together four random common words makes a password both impossible to guess and easy to remember. While this was probably true back when the comic made its first appearance, experts now argue that password cracking tools have caught up.

Complexity is important

It's simple maths, really. If you have a two-character password (you shouldn't) with only lowercase letters, there are just 26 possibilities for each of the characters. In other words, there are 676 possible permutations. If you have lowercase and uppercase letters, you have 52 possibilities for each character and a total of 2,704 possible permutations. Add numbers, and the possibilities for each character go up to 62, with the number of permutations sitting at 3,844. Then, you have dozens of special characters that can boost the complexity of your password further up. This, unfortunately, isn't enough.

Length is also important

Obviously, even if it has a "?" and a "@" in it, a three-character password will be cracked in less than a second. The more characters you add to your password, the greater the number of guesses needed to crack it. Most experts suggest that a reasonably strong password shouldn't be shorter than 14 characters, and it's fair to say that this is the number you should be aiming for.

A long password with a random selection of uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols could be a really good way of protecting your account. It could also be completely useless.

Uniqueness is crucial

If you're thinking about creating a really strong password and then using it for all your accounts, you might as well save yourself the trouble. Cybercriminals don't just crack passwords. They also steal them, and the constant torrent of data breaches we see every day shows that vendors don't do enough to protect them. If the bad guys get your username and password from one website, they'll try the same combination on other websites as well. Once again, they have tools that automate the process and make it extremely quick. Complexity and length don't really play a role if the password is reused because criminals won't need to crack it. They just need to do the same thing you've done – enter it on other websites.

To recap, the idea of what is and what isn't a secure password has evolved quite a bit over the years. In the past, when cyberattacks were few and far between, a super long and complex password wasn't that important. Nowadays, however, bad guys have tools that let them compromise large numbers of accounts in no time. Luckily for you, you also have a tool that can put a spoke in their wheel.

May 10, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 3 ?