幾乎五分之一的美國人聲稱他們的身份被盜了

越來越多的數據洩露和網絡釣魚攻擊最有可能歸咎於虛擬身份盜竊案件的增長。這是一個嚴重的問題,因為在某些情況下它會造成長期後果。例如,如果有人在冒充您的同時犯下欺詐或其他罪行,則可能需要一些時間來糾正公共記錄。此外,據CNBC報導 ,身份盜竊不再是成年人的問題,因為兒童的身份也可能被盜。在這一點上,您可能想知道是否有任何可以做的事情來保護自己和孩子免遭身份被盜。在這種情況下,我們建議您仔細閱讀我們的博客文章,以便進一步回答如何防止虛擬身份盜用的問題。此外,我們將更詳細地討論虛擬身份盜竊。

ZDNet最近從一家名為nCipher的網絡安全公司收購的調查顯示,大約18%的受訪美國人承認他們的身份被盜。這種情況看起來可能並不那麼可怕,但您也應該知道,近17%的受訪者表示他們無法判斷他們的虛擬身份是否曾被盜過。換句話說,經歷過身份盜竊的人數可能更為重要,只是他們中的一些人可能根本不知道。

如前所述,越來越多的數據洩露可能與身份盜竊的增長有關。網絡犯罪分子可以在此類事件中獲取大量登錄憑據和其他敏感信息。這一切都取決於目標公司持有的記錄數量以及受保護的程度。如果使用強大的密碼系統加密被盜數據,黑客就無法訪問它。不幸的是,據Breachlevelindex.com稱 ,自2013年以來發生的數據洩露事件中只有4%是所謂的“安全漏洞”,當被盜數據被加密並被視為無用時。因此,數據洩露的受害者很快就會成為虛擬身份盜用的受害者。

獲取身份盜用所需信息的另一種方法是網絡釣魚 。在此類攻擊中,網絡犯罪分子試圖誘騙受害者向他們透露敏感信息。有很多不同的方式來接觸目標受害者,例如,黑客可以誘使他們進入虛構的網站或發送虛假的電子郵件。這些網站和電子郵件的內容取決於詐騙者希望獲得的信息。例如,如果他們需要受害者銀行賬戶的登錄憑證,網絡犯罪分子可能會發送一條消息,說有人試圖登錄您的銀行賬戶. 這樣的電子郵件可能會要求您更改密碼並引導您進入上述銀行的假密碼重置頁面以竊取您當前的密碼。

在獲取您的敏感信息後,網絡犯罪分子可以使用它來竊取您的資金,接管您的帳戶,以您的名義獲得信用,等等。可悲的是,黑客可能有各種可能性來濫用您的數據,所以假設沒有人對竊取您的身份感興趣是一個巨大的錯誤。信息可能是當今最有價值的事情之一,所以你應該意識到,如果有機會,任何黑客都會竊取你的身份。他們也可以在以後找出如何使用它。因此,最大的問題是如何防止虛擬身份盜用。事實是,雖然有很多方法可以使竊取您的敏感信息的任務盡可能具有挑戰性,但您無法做任何事情可以保證您永遠不會成為虛擬身份盜用的受害者。儘管如此,這並不意味著試圖保護您的隱私毫無意義。我們建議您不要放棄,並查看下面提供的提示。

關於如何防止虛擬身份盜竊的3個提示

1.迅速採取行動

雖然您可能無法保護自己免受數據洩露 ,但如果您反應迅速,可以防止網絡犯罪分子濫用您的信息。例如,可以替換登錄憑據以使受損的用戶名和密碼無效。如何了解數據洩露?一些組織立即通知他們的用戶,而其他組織則試圖盡可能長時間地隱藏這一事實。儘管如此,有網絡安全專家和組織讓我們了解此類事件,因此請務必查看不時發佈網絡安全新聞的網站。此外,請不要忘記檢查您的電子郵件,因為您提供的電子郵件可能會使用它來告知您有關數據洩露的信息。

2.了解如何識別網絡釣魚

有各種類型的網絡釣魚攻擊,了解其存在的最糟糕方式是親自體驗它們。因此,最好不要等到遇到網絡釣魚網站網絡釣魚郵件,並花一些時間學習如何避免被騙。最近, Google提出了一個測驗,其中顯示了釣魚郵件的示例,並教導用戶注意可以幫助他識別郵件的詳細信息。如果您識別網絡釣魚電子郵件,則還應進行報告 。這樣做可能有助於保護那些可能不像你那樣知識淵博的人。

3.確保您的帳戶受到保護

網絡犯罪分子可以竊取您的虛擬身份,而無需在數據洩露期間獲取您的登錄憑據。實際上,如果您使用的是弱密碼,他們甚至可能不會欺騙您自己洩露這些數據。字典密碼或組合包括用戶的姓名或出生日期很容易猜到。因此,如果您想保護自己的虛擬身份,則應從保護帳戶開始. 要了解如何操作,我們建議您閱讀此處並安裝Cyclonis密碼管理器,它可以幫助您創建強密碼並為您記住密碼。

總而言之,虛擬身份盜竊可能會導致很多問題,但它並不是世界末日,因為有辦法恢復你的身份 。重要的是要從經驗中學習並採取額外的預防措施。我們希望有關如何防止虛擬身份盜用的提示將幫助您入門,如果您想了解有關如何保護隱私的更多信息,您也可以閱讀我們之前的博文

April 12, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 5是什麼?

Almost 1 in 5 Americans Claim That Their Identities Had Been Stolen

The increasing number of data breaches and phishing attacks are most likely to blame for the growth of virtual identity theft cases. It is a serious problem since in some cases it can cause long-lasting consequences. For example, if someone commits fraud or other crimes while pretending to be you, it could take time to correct public records. Moreover, according to CNBC, identity theft is no longer an adult problem, as children can have their identities stolen just the same. At this point, you may wonder if there is anything you can do to protect yourself and your children from getting your identities stolen. In such a case, we recommend reading our blog post carefully as further we answer the question of how to prevent virtual identity theft. Also, we discuss virtual identity theft in more detail.

The recent survey ZDNet acquired from a cybersecurity company called nCipher revealed that about 18 percent of questioned Americans admitted that their identities had been stolen. The situation may not look so scary, but you should also know that almost 17 percent of the respondents said they cannot tell if they have ever had their virtual identity thieved. In other words, the number of people who have experienced identity theft might be much more significant, it is just that some of them may have no idea about it.

As mentioned earlier, the increasing number of data breaches might be associated with the growth of identity theft. Cybercriminals can obtain vast amounts of login credentials and other sensitive information during such incidents. It all depends on how many records the targeted company holds and how well they are protected. If stolen data is encrypted with a robust cryptosystem, hackers cannot access it. Unfortunately, according to Breachlevelindex.com, only 4 percent of data breaches that occurred since 2013 were the so-called “Secure Breaches” when the stolen data was encrypted and considered useless. Therefore, victims of data breaches can quickly become victims of virtual identity theft.

Another way to obtain information needed for identity theft is phishing. During such attacks, cybercriminals try to trick their victims into revealing their sensitive information to them. There are lots of different ways to reach targeted victims, for example, hackers could lure them into fictitious websites or send them fake emails. The content of such sites and emails depends on what information the scammers wish to obtain. For example, if they need login credentials for the victim’s banking accounts, cybercriminals could send a message saying someone is trying to log into your banking account. Such an email could ask you to change your password and lead you to a fake password reset page of the mentioned bank to steal your current passcode.

After obtaining your sensitive information, cybercriminals can use it to steal your money, take over your accounts, take credit in your name, and so on. Sadly, hackers can have various possibilities to misuse your data, so assuming no one could be interested in thieving your identity is a huge mistake. Information is probably one of the most valuable things nowadays, so you ought to realize that, given a chance, any hacker would steal your identity. They can figure out how to use it later on too. Thus the big question is how to prevent virtual identity theft. The truth is that while there are ways to make the task of stealing your sensitive information as challenging as possible, there is nothing you can do that would guarantee you will never become a victim of virtual identity theft. Still, it does not mean there is no point in trying to protect your privacy. We encourage you not to give up just yet and take a look at the tips available below.

3 tips on how to prevent virtual identity theft

1. Act quickly

While you might not be able to protect yourself from data breaches, you can prevent cybercriminals from misusing your information if you react fast. For instance, login credentials can be replaced to make the compromised username and password useless. How to learn about data breaches? Some organizations inform their users right away, while others try to hide the fact for as long as possible. Nonetheless, there are cybersecurity experts and organizations who keep us informed on such incidents, so make sure you check websites announcing cybersecurity news from time to time. Also, do not forget to check your email as companies you provide it to may use it to let you know about data breaches.

2. Learn how to recognize phishing

There are various types of phishing attacks and the worst way to find out about their existence is to experience them yourself. Thus, it is best not to wait till you come across a phishing website or phishing email and invest some time in learning how to avoid being scammed. Recently, Google came up with a quiz that shows examples of phishing emails and teaches the user to pay attention to the details that could help him identify them. If you recognize a phishing email, you should also report it. Doing this might help protect others that could be not as knowledgeable as you from getting scammed.

3. Make sure your accounts are protected

Cybercriminals can steal your virtual identity without obtaining your login credentials during a data breach. In fact, they may not even have to trick you into revealing such data yourself if you are using weak passwords. Dictionary passwords or combinations including the user’s name or date of birth are easy to guess. Therefore, if you want to protect your virtual identity, you should start from securing your accounts. To learn how to do so, we recommend reading here and installing the Cyclonis Password Manager that can help you create strong passwords and that can remember them for you.

All in all, virtual identity theft might cause a lot of problems, but it is not the end of the world, as there are ways to recover your identity. What is important is to learn from the experience and take extra precautions. We hope our tips on how to prevent virtual identity theft will help you get started, and if you want to know more about how to protect your privacy, you could read our previous blog post too.

April 2, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 9 ?