2018年七種類型的數據洩露:網絡釣魚,惡意軟件和其他

當您認為“數據洩露?”時,您首先想到的是什麼?也許您會立即想像有人使用惡意軟件侵入您的虛擬隱私並竊取個人信息?雖然這在很大程度上是大多數數據洩露的發生,但這並不是唯一存在的威脅。惡意軟件專家列出了用戶在2018年需要注意的7種主要類型的數據洩露。我們強調這個列表是在查看當前趨勢時創建的,虛擬陰影和網絡攻擊者總是可以想出新的方法來攻擊毫無戒心的用戶。來自網絡犯罪分子世界的最大阻礙是他們能夠在沒有任何警告的情況下適應和轉移。因此,雖然我們建議認真對待本報告中提供的信息,但您還需要記住,任何時候都可能存在其他安全問題。

為什麼網絡犯罪分子對個人數據感興趣?

研究表明,普通用戶擁有7個社交媒體賬戶 。 Instagram,Facebook,Twitter和Snapchat是全球最受歡迎的社交網絡平台之一,全球有超過30億活躍的社交網絡用戶。他們披露全名,出生日期,聯繫信息,並分享個人照片,視頻和其他類型的私人內容。通常,他們是公開做的。許多用戶在圍繞網絡犯罪創建並針對公開信息時完全無能為力,但大多數人認為不會發生任何不良事件。畢竟,誰在乎我,以及我和家人一起度假的地方。如果這種想法已經超出了你的想法,你可能會面臨風險。最終,您不應該公開提供私人信息,因為它可以在很多方面使用。在最糟糕的情況下,您可能成為2018年下一次數據洩露的受害者。

如果網絡犯罪分子成功進行身份盜竊,他們可以繼續進行其他詐騙。例如,如果您不小心披露或共享信用卡信息(我們在報告中談論如何進一步發生這種情況),陰謀家可能會將此信息與您的全名和其他類型的個人數據配對以進行信用卡欺詐。最近,虛擬安全專家也一直在觀察與醫療相關的信息洩露的新趨勢。根據大眾科學 ,已發現攻擊者使用患者的私人醫療數據偽造昂貴的藥物處方。以下是可以幫助您保護此類數據的10個提示 。總而言之,很明顯,網絡攻擊者並不是為了獲得樂趣而試圖獲取私人數據。相反,他們這樣做的目的明確,通常需要獲利。

2018年的數據洩露類型需要您最謹慎

1.惡意軟件

您是否跳過或推遲了計算機或移動設備的更新?如果有,可能存在嚴重的安全漏洞,並且您可能在2018年成為私人數據洩露的受害者。網絡攻擊者一直在尋找新的漏洞,以便他們可以利用它們. 如果網絡犯罪分子找到了辦法,他們可以使用可以獲取敏感信息的各種惡意軟件。例如,鍵盤記錄器是一種可以靜默記錄鼠標點擊並捕獲屏幕截圖以收集信息的感染。特洛伊木馬,間諜軟件和侵入式HTTP cookie可以以相同的方式使用,也可以使用許多其他方式。

2.釣魚

虛假安全警報 - 也可能由惡意軟件引入用戶 - 在線技術支持詐騙和偽造的電子郵件消息可用於欺騙受害者披露私人信息。例如,攻擊者可以冒充銀行並發送虛構消息,欺騙輕信用戶點擊損壞的鏈接並洩露信用卡數據。虛假的在線調查,獎品抽獎,在線訂閱或登錄表格也可用於收集敏感數據。這可能包括全名,電子郵件地址,電話號碼,性別,年齡和類似數據。雖然這類信息有時可能看起來無關緊要,但如果網絡攻擊者獲得更敏感的數據(例如信用卡號),身份盜竊可能會在途中出現。

3. SKIMMING

當受害者使用卡時,構建撇取裝置以刷卡嵌入磁條內的信用卡信息。這些設備可以由假供應商使用並內置於ATM中。雖然有時可能非常難以注意到撇油器,但在大多數情況下,用戶應該能夠注意到物理篡改機器的跡象。如果您要使用自動櫃員機或讀卡器,請查找任何划痕或異常標記,並物理接觸機器以檢查其是否在任何地方都沒有鬆動。如果您有疑問,請向銀行或店主發出警告,以便他們進一步調查。

4.管理員訪問

如果網站或服務器不受可靠保護,它也可能成為網絡攻擊者的目標。在網站和服務器用於存儲個人信息的情況下,糟糕的安全措施可能導致重大數據洩露。在大多數情況下,此類信息以其他方式加密和保護,但有時,安全漏洞和成功的暴力攻擊使網絡攻擊者能夠訪問敏感文件。除此之外,如果遠程攻擊者獲得網站的管理權限,他們可以加載惡意代碼,然後該網站的每個訪問者都可能面臨讓鍵盤記錄器或面臨身份盜竊相關詐騙的風險。

5.物理訪問

用戶仍然使用外部驅動器來存儲個人數據,他們仍然選擇在不受保護的文本文件中寫下敏感信息。除了惡意軟件滑入和竊取無保護信息的風險之外,您還必須考慮未經授權的物理訪問的風險。如果您的USB驅動器,筆記本電腦或移動設備被盜,存儲在其中的數據可能會陷入危險之中。不言而喻,您應該始終照顧您的物品,以保護他們免受物理盜竊。但是,即使存儲數據的設備被盜或丟失,您還必須確保數據受到保護。

6.人為錯誤

還是人類的恍惚?人為錯誤是不可避免的,而且,正如我們之前討論的那樣,它只需要一次跳過更新就會受到網絡攻擊者的關注。不幸的是,並非每個人都有能力保持數據安全,即使有最好的意圖,這就是為什麼只與信譽良好和可靠的服務提供商共享數據很重要。企業所有者和網站管理員還需要謹慎對待誰可以訪問敏感數據以避免不必要的風險. 重要的是要注意那些離我們最近的人最有可能直接訪問敏感信息,這就是為什麼保持警惕在任何時候都很重要。

7.密碼攻擊

當您可以使用一個數據(密碼)接管用戶的整個在線身份時,為什麼要捕獲一些信息。網絡攻擊者使用允許他們猜測密碼並獲取用戶帳戶訪問權限的軟件。這些被稱為暴力攻擊,弱密碼是主要目標。雖然可能需要一段時間來猜測密碼(如密碼123),但是猜測一個真正複雜的密碼需要花費很長時間才能破解數據。當然,由於用戶擁有龐大的帳戶,用戶通常會使用易於記憶的密碼。在最壞的情況下,他們還會回收密碼並反複使用相同的密碼。建議使用密碼管理器並使用可靠的密碼生成 ,而不是這樣做。

如何在2018年保護自己免受數據洩露?

歷史上最大的數據洩露之一是在一年前(2017年7月)發現的,當時有1.479億Equifax用戶的個人信息因應用程序漏洞而洩露。信用卡信息在此過程中洩露,使數百萬用戶面臨信用卡欺詐風險。今年,我們已經了解了Cambridge Analytica和Facebook數據洩露醜聞,雖然它本身並沒有在2018年發生,但有很多例子表明阿迪達斯,西爾斯和雅虎等知名公司與最大的公司有關聯。顯然,網絡犯罪分子通常比負責保護公司及其客戶數據的人更聰明,更快地發現漏洞。雖然這些客戶無法對公司採取的安全措施採取任何措施,但每個人都可以採取措施來加強其虛擬安全性。 繼續閱讀這裡 ,了解更多。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 7是什麼?

Seven Types of Data Breaches in 2018: Phishing, Malware and Others

What is the first thing you think about when you think “data breach?” Maybe you immediately imagine someone using malware to invade your virtual privacy and steal personal information? Although that is, in large part, how most data breaches occur, that is not the only threat that exists. Malware experts list 7 main types of data breaches that users need to beware of in 2018. We emphasize that this list was created while looking at the current tendencies, and it is always possible that virtual schemers and cyber attackers could come up with new ways to assault unsuspecting users. The greatest impendence that comes from the world of cybercriminals is that they are capable of adapting and shifting without any warning. Therefore, while we recommend taking the information presented in this report seriously, you also need to keep in mind that other security issues might come into existence at any point.

Why are cybercriminals interested in personal data?

Research shows that an average user has 7 social media accounts. Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Snapchat are among some of the most popular social networking platforms in the world, and there are over 3 billion active social network users worldwide. They disclose full names, birth dates, contact information, and share personal photos, videos, and other kinds of private content. Often, they do it publicly. Many users are completely clueless when it comes to cyber crimes created around and targeted at publicly available information, but most believe that nothing bad would happen to them. After all, who cares about me and where I’ve been on holiday with my family. If this is the kind of thought that has crossed your mind, you might be at risk. Ultimately, you should NEVER make private information publicly available because it could be used in many ways. In the worst case scenario, you could become the victim of the next data breach in 2018.

If cybercriminals manage to perform identity theft successfully, they can move on to other scams. For example, if you accidentally disclose or share credit card information (we talk about how this could happen further in the report), schemers could pair this information along with your full name and other kinds of personal data to commit credit card fraud. More recently, virtual security experts have also been observing the new trend of healthcare-related information breaches. According to Popular Science, attackers have been found forging expensive drug prescriptions using private medical data of patients. Here are 10 tips that can help you protect this kind of data. All in all, it is clear that cyber attackers are not trying to obtain private data just for fun. Instead, they are doing it with a clear purpose, which, usually, entails making a profit.

The types of data breaches in 2018 you need to be most cautious about

1. MALWARE

Have you ever skipped or postponed an update for your computer or mobile device? If you have, a serious security vulnerability could exist, and you could become a victim of private data breach in 2018. Cyber attackers are constantly on a lookout for new vulnerabilities so that they could exploit them. If cybercriminals find a way in, they can employ different kinds of malware that could obtain sensitive information. For example, a keylogger is the kind of infection that can silently record mouse clicks and capture screenshots to gather information. Trojans, spyware, and intrusive HTTP cookies can be used in the same way, as well as many other kinds of ways.

2. PHISHING

Fake security alerts – which could be introduced to users by malware as well – online tech-support scams, and bogus email messages can be employed to trick the victim into disclosing private information. For example, attackers can impersonate banks and send fictitious message to trick gullible users into clicking on corrupted links and disclosing credit card data. Fake online surveys, prize sweepstakes, and online subscription or sign-in forms can be utilized to gather sensitive data too. This might include full names, email addresses, telephone numbers, gender, age, and similar data. Although this kind of information might appear to be irrelevant at times, if cyber attackers obtain more sensitive data (e.g., the credit card number), identity theft could be on its way.

3. SKIMMING

A skimming device is built to swipe credit card information embedded within the magnetic strip when the victim uses the card. Such devices can be employed by fake vendors and built into ATMs. Although it might be extremely difficult to notice skimmers at times, in most cases, users should be able to notice signs of physical tampering with the machine. If you are about to use an ATM or a card reader, look for any scratches or unusual marks and physically touch the machine to check if it is not loose anywhere. If you are suspicious, warn the bank or a shop owner so that they could investigate further.

4. ADMINISTRATOR ACCESS

If a website or server is not protected reliably, it could become a target of cyber attackers too. Poor security practices can lead to major data breaches in those cases where websites and servers are used to store personal information. In most cases, such information is encrypted and protected in other ways, but, sometimes, security exploits and successful brute-force attacks enable cyber attackers to gain access to sensitive files. Besides that, if a remote attacker gains administrative privileges to a website, they can load malicious code, and then every visitor of that website could fall at risk of letting in keyloggers or facing identity theft-related scams.

5. PHYSICAL ACCESS

Users still use external drives to store personal data, and they still choose to write down sensitive information in unprotected text files. Besides the risk of malware slithering in and stealing unprotected information, you also have to think about the risk of unauthorized physical access. If your USB drive, laptop, or mobile device is stolen, the data stored within could fall into danger. It goes without saying that you should always take care of your belongings to protect them against physical theft. However, you also have to make sure that data is protected even if devices storing it get stolen or lost.

6. HUMAN ERROR

Or human turpitude? Human error is unavoidable, and, as we discussed earlier, it takes one skipped update to fall under the radar of cyber attackers. Unfortunately, not everyone is competent to keep data safe even with the best intentions, which is why it is important to share data only with reputable and reliable service providers. Business owners and website administrators also need to be cautious about who can access sensitive data to avoid unnecessary risks. It is important to notice that those closest to us are most likely to have direct access to sensitive information, which is why staying vigilant is important at all times.

7. PASSWORD ATTACKS

Why fish for bits of information when you can take over the entire online identity of a user with one piece of data – the password. Cyber attackers use software that allows them to guess passwords and obtain access to users’ accounts. These are known as brute-force attacks, and weak passwords are the main target. While it may take moments to guess a password like password123, it would take ages to guess a truly complicated one and breach data. Of course, users often go for easy-to-remember passwords because of the sheer volume of accounts they have. In the worst case, they also recycle passwords and use the same ones over and over again. Instead of doing that, employing a password manager and using a reliable password generator is recommended.

How to protect yourself against data breaches in 2018?

One of the biggest data breaches in history was revealed just a year ago (July 2017) when personal information of 147.9 million Equifax users was leaked due to an application vulnerability. Credit card information was leaked in the process, which put millions of users at risk of credit card fraud. This year, we have learned about the Cambridge Analytica and Facebook data breach scandal, and although it did not happen in 2018 per se, there are plenty of examples where such big-name companies as Adidas, Sears, and Yahoo have been linked to biggest data breaches of 2018. Clearly, cyber criminals are often smarter and quicker to find vulnerabilities than the people who are responsible for protecting the companies and their customers’ data. Although there is nothing these customers can do about the security measures taken by the companies, there are things everyone can do to strengthen their virtual security. Continue reading here, to learn more.

By Foley
July 25, 2018
July 25, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 8 ?