四種不同類型的身份盜竊及其防範方法

我們經常不了解我們每天面臨的身份盜竊的所有潛在危險。因此,我們想提請您注意最常見的身份盜竊類型,以及如何防止它。

請注意,身份可能會在線下和線上被盜。因此,即使您不使用社交媒體或在線購物,如果您不夠謹慎,您仍然可能成為身份盜用的受害者。如果您在閱讀完這篇博文後仍有疑問,請隨時給我們留言。我們總是樂於討論。

金融身份盜竊

大多數身份盜竊都是關於金錢和經濟利益,而金融盜竊是最明顯的。可能存在幾種類型的金融身份盜竊。它顯然可以處理您的銀行帳戶或信用卡。

首先,犯罪分子可能會竊取您的個人信息以超過您當前的帳戶。如果您經常查看帳戶的陳述,您很快就會注意到某些內容已經關閉,您將能夠防止進一步的損失。

犯罪分子還可能使用您的個人身份信息創建新的銀行帳戶或使用您的信用卡信息購買商品。如果您對這個新帳戶一無所知,可能很難注意到您遇到了金融身份盜用,但安全專家認為,定期監控您的信用聲明應該可以幫助您更快地攔截入侵者。如果您居住在美國,您還可以向Experience,TransUnion或Equifax索取免費的年度報告,以便跟踪您的帳戶。

社會保障身份盜竊

這種身份盜竊可被視為許多潛在類型的犯罪活動的總稱。這實際上是最常見的身份盜用類型,因為社會安全號碼(SSN)可以以多種方式使用,因此犯罪分子也可以利用它來偽造偽造文件。

例如,如果您的SSN落入壞人手中,它可用於製作假密碼,開立信用卡賬戶,提交退稅申請等。事實上,稅收身份盜竊是社會保障身份盜竊的一個重要分組。

每年申請退稅時,您必須使用您的SSN。犯罪分子可能會使用各種方法來吸引您的SSN信息。最常見的方式是通過電話和短信轟炸毫無戒心的用戶,並說美國國稅局(IRS)需要您的個人信息以確認您的身份。

但是,您必須了解IRS絕不會通過任何通信方式詢問您的個人信息。更不用說服務也永遠不會威脅要對你已經完成(或沒有)的事情採取法律行動。恐嚇戰術被想要你的個人信息的罪犯使用,這樣他們就可以輕鬆賺錢。

如果您不確定自己是否有遭受個人身份盜竊的風險,可以查看表明您可能面臨此類風險的前5個標誌列表。關鍵是你必須非常小心你與誰分享你的個人信息。在放棄之前,您總是需要詢問“為什麼”,並且您還可以對可能需要您的個人信息的組織進行複核。

醫療身份盜竊

我們想指出的另一種身份盜竊是醫療身份盜竊. 當發生此類盜竊時,犯罪分子竊取您的健康保險信息和醫療識別號碼,以獲取各種產品和服務。事實上,這是美國最常見的身份盜竊類型之一。一份報告顯示,2016年約有2700萬人受到醫療記錄違規的影響。

如果有人竊取您的醫療身份,您可能會因各種醫療保險索賠而遭受經濟損失。更不用說虛假信息也會添加到您的醫療信息歷史中,它也可能導致其他危險問題。為避免這種情況,您需要通過不共享來保護您的醫療信息。

兒童身份盜竊

如果對您自己身份的持續威脅不夠,您的孩子也容易遭受個人身份盜竊。當有人竊取他們的SSN和其他個人信息時,兒童成為此類身份盜竊的受害者。這很難掌握,但有人可以真正使用您孩子的信息來獲取貸款或申請政府福利。

您孩子的SSN,地址和出生日期是必須保證安全的重要信息。查看我們的博客文章, 了解如何保護您的孩子免遭身份盜用 ,找出您可以做些什麼來確保您的孩子的個人信息在幾個鎖定下保持安全。此外,您可能希望確保您孩子的學校也盡力保護每個孩子的個人身份信息。

毋庸置疑,身份盜竊的類型更多,我們只涉及最常見的身份盜竊。但最重要的是,犯罪分子可以利用您的姓名,地址,社會安全號碼,駕駛執照號碼,信用卡,銀行賬戶以及其他類型的敏感信息,以獲取經濟利益,如果他們能夠掌握它的話。

因此,您需要盡一切力量避免此類情況。不要將您的個人信息洩露給不熟悉的第三方。確保銷毀可能帶有敏感信息的未使用的申請表。保護您的桌面和移動設備免受可能針對您的敏感信息的潛在惡意軟件攻擊。

還建議採用由許多服務提供商提供的身份保護產品和服務。最後,如果您覺得自己經歷過身份盜竊,請隨時與專業人士聯繫。你越早解決問題,傷害就越小。

April 30, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 8是什麼?

Four Different Types of Identity Theft and How to Prevent It

We often are not aware of all the potential dangers of identity theft that we face every single day. Therefore, we would like to draw your attention to the most common types of identity theft, and how it would be possible to prevent it.

Please note that identity could be stolen both offline and online. So even if you do not use social media or shop online, you could still become a victim of identity theft if you are not careful enough. If you still have questions after you are done reading this blog post, please do not hesitate to leave us a comment. We are always open for a discussion.

Financial Identity Theft

Most of the identity thefts are about money and financial gain, and financial theft is the most obvious one. There might be several types of financial identity theft. It clearly deals with either your bank account or your credit card.

For one, criminals might steal your personal information to overtake your current account. If you regularly check your account's statements, you will soon notice that something is off, and you will be able to prevent further losses.

Criminals might also use your personally identifiable information to create new bank accounts or to purchase goods using your credit card information. It might be hard to notice that you have experienced a financial identity theft if you know nothing about this new account, but security experts maintain that regular monitoring of your credit statements should help you intercept trespassers sooner. You can also request a free annual report from Experience, TransUnion or Equifax to keep track of your accounts if you live in the US.

Social Security Identity Theft

This type of identity theft can be considered an umbrella term for a number of potential types of criminal activities. This is actually the most common type of identity theft because the social security number (SSN) can be used in a number of ways, and thus it can also be exploited by criminals to forge fake documents, too.

For instance, if your SSN falls into the wrong hands, it can be used to make fake passwords, open credit card accounts, file tax refund claims, and so on. In fact, tax identity theft is a big sub-group of the social security identity thefts on its own.

You have to use your SSN when you file for your tax refunds every single year. The criminals may use various methods to lure your SSN information out of you. The most common way is to bombard an unsuspecting user with phone calls and text messages, saying that the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires your personal information in order to confirm your identity.

However, you have to understand that the IRS would NEVER ask for your personal information through any mean of communication. Not to mention that the service would also never threaten to take legal action for something you have done (or haven't). Scare tactics are used by criminals who want your personal information so they could make some easy money.

If you are not sure whether you are at risk of personal identity theft, you can check the list of the top 5 signs that suggest you might be at such a risk. The point is that you have to be really careful about who you share your personal information with. Before giving it away, you always need to ask “why,” and you can also double-check with the organization that supposedly requires your personal information.

Medical Identity Theft

Another type of identity theft we would like to point out is medical identity theft. When this type of theft occurs, the criminals steal your health insurance information and medical identification numbers to get access to various products and services. In fact, this is one of the most common types of identity thefts in the United States. A report showed that around 27 million individuals were affected by medical records breach in 2016.

If someone steals your medical identity, you can experience financial losses that arise from various medical insurance claims. Not to mention that false information is also added to your medical information history, and it can lead to other dangerous issues, too. To avoid this, you need to secure your medical information by not sharing it.

Child Identity Theft

If a constant threat to your own identity wasn't enough, your children are also vulnerable to personal identity theft. Children become victims of this type of identity theft when someone steals their SSN and other personal information. It is hard to grasp, but someone can really use your child's information to take out loans or apply for government benefits.

Your child's SSN, address, and birth date are crucial information that has to be kept safe. Check out our blog post on how to protect your child from identity theft, to find out what you can do to ensure that your child's personal information is kept safe under several locks. Also, you might want to make sure that your child's school also does its best to protect the personally identifiable information of every child enrolled in it.

Needless to say, there are more types of identity theft, and we have covered only the most common ones. But the bottom line is that criminals can exploit your name, address, social security number, driver's license number, credit cards, bank accounts, and other types of sensitive information for financial gain if they manage to put their hands on it.

Therefore, you need to do everything in your power to avoid such instances. Do not give away your personal information to unfamiliar third parties. Make sure you destroy unused application forms that may carry sensitive information. Protect your desktop and mobile devices from potential malware attacks that may target your sensitive information too.

It is also advised to employ identity protection products and services that are offered by a number of service providers. Finally, do not hesitate to address a professional if you feel that you have experienced identity theft. The sooner you address the problem, the smaller the damage will be.

October 30, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 4 ?