每個月都會創建數以百萬計的網絡釣魚網站:揭開他們的面具

沒有人想成為隨機誘餌上的傻魚。當我們想要告訴用戶當他們被網絡釣魚網站,電子郵件和彈出窗口欺騙時的感覺時,釣魚類比就可以了。畢竟,“網絡釣魚”這個詞並非冒出來:比較就在那裡,這是恰當的。

您可以告訴我們,在這篇博文中,我們會告訴您有關網絡釣魚和網絡釣魚網站的更多信息。我們希望本文中的信息將幫助您將來識別此類網頁,並且您將能夠保護自己免受個人數據竊取。

什麼是網絡釣魚?

在我們開始討論我們的主題之前,我們想先了解一下網絡釣魚是什麼。簡而言之,網絡釣魚是一種惡意活動,允許詐騙者竊取敏感信息 。此敏感信息可能包括用戶名,密碼,信用卡詳細信息等。網絡釣魚攻擊可能通過電子郵件,即時消息和其他社交工程技術進行,這些技術通過各種Internet渠道傳達給用戶。

例如,垃圾郵件通常是網絡釣魚詐騙的一部分。例如,用戶可以收到類似於來自特定銀行的合法通知的電子郵件。該消息通常包含一個外發鏈接,並敦促用戶單擊該鏈接以確認其身份。但是,通過“確認”他們的身份,他們只會將這些信息洩露給網絡犯罪分子。

因此我們可以看到網絡釣魚攻擊基本上由兩部分組成:消息和源頁面。我們已經介紹了用戶應該做些什麼來避免這個鏈第一個組成部分 。因此,今天我們想專注於釣魚網站。

網絡釣魚網站

如果我們能夠為您提供釣魚網站列表,那就太棒了,您可以將它固定在某個地方以避免它們。不幸的是,安全專家建議此類頁面的使用壽命非常短。據報導,他們每隔幾個小時更換一次以避免被發現 。短壽命意味著有數百萬這樣的網站。 WebRoot的一份報告稱,每個月平均創建約140萬個網絡釣魚網站

由於這些網站是短暫的,他們能夠避免阻止列表,這是傳統的反網絡釣魚策略之一。靜態列表在幾秒鐘內就會過時,當用戶需要驗證某個頁面是否是惡意頁面時,用戶就無法再依賴它了。更重要的是,黑客現在使用旋轉網站,而不是使用一個頁面,這使他們的網絡釣魚活動能夠延長壽命。那麼用戶可以做些什麼來發現虛假網站呢?

假網站趨勢

安全專家一致認為,識別虛假網站正變得越來越具有挑戰性. 試圖竊取敏感信息的網絡釣魚網站往往看起來非常逼真,當你將它們用來欺騙無辜用戶的緊迫感結合時,可能很難說網頁是假的。

如果您習慣於某個流行網站的特定字體或佈局,即使您看到相同的色調或相同的徽標,您也可能會覺得假頁面是真實的。因此,黑客冒充谷歌,Facebook,Dropbox,PayPal等其他熱門網站吸引不知情用戶的重要信息也就不足為奇了。

通常,應該可以通過檢查其URL來判斷頁面是否為假。但是,網絡釣魚攻擊開發人員知道這一點,並且他們傾向於使用腳本工具來加擾他們的地址,使其看起來像加密和安全。在這種情況下,可能引起你注意的是網站的設計。雖然詐騙者可能使用相同的配色方案和相同的徽標,但設計可能已過時。因此,如果您發現您打開的PayPal頁面看起來與昨天打開的頁面不同,那麼這是第一個出現問題的跡象。

是否可以避免網絡釣魚攻擊?

欺詐網站的絕對數量顯然使得安全專家甚至難以提出相關有效的方法來控制這種網絡釣魚流行病。更不用說跟踪網站幾乎是不可能的,因為它們很快就會脫機。網絡釣魚攻擊技術的變化需要新的檢測方法,這顯然是網絡安全專家今天面臨的主要挑戰之一。但普通用戶呢?他們可以做些什麼來避免這種攻擊嗎?

雖然發現這種攻擊變得非常困難,但仍有一件事是他們所有人分享的,這就是緊迫感。換句話說,網絡釣魚攻擊會賭博你的恐懼和情緒,以欺騙你洩露你的敏感信息。網絡釣魚消息通常意味著,如果您不立即執行某些操作,您的整個世界將立即崩潰。因此,您應該注意的詞包括“警告”,“警報”,“錯誤”等。網絡釣魚郵件和網站中使用的語言旨在將您推向行動,而不會給您任何時間思考。

因此,即使有人聲稱你必須立即傾向於某個緊急事件,你也必須保持冷靜。例如,在您披露敏感信息之前,您可以隨時仔細檢查問題是否是真正的威脅。如果您使用的是PayPal,您可以嘗試通過其他瀏覽器訪問您的帳戶,或者您只需聯繫他們的客戶服務(甚至向他們提供可疑鏈接!),詢問您的帳戶是否確實存在特殊問題。

任何企業都不會在幾個小時內終止您的帳戶,而不會在此之前多次與您進行雙重檢查。沒有人會想要像這樣失去一個客戶。因此,保護自己免受網絡釣魚攻擊的最佳方法是保持頭腦清醒並始終仔細檢查特定消息中描述的可怕後果是否真實。沒有必要首先潛入網絡釣魚網。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 4是什麼?

Millions of Phishing Websites Are Created Every Month: Uncover Their Masks

No one wants to be the silly fish that hooks up on random bait. The fishing analogy works just fine when we want to tell users what it feels like when they get tricked by phishing websites, email messages, and pop-ups. After all, the word "phishing" didn't come out of nowhere: the comparison is there, and it is appropriate.

As you can probably tell, in this blog entry, we will tell you more about phishing and phishing websites. We hope that the information in this post will help you recognize such web pages in the future, and you will be able to protect yourself from personal data theft.

What Is Phishing?

Before we go down to the main topic of our entry, we would like to give you a general idea about what phishing is. To put it simply, phishing is a malicious activity that allows scammers to steal sensitive information. This sensitive information may include usernames, passwords, credit card details, and so on. Phishing attacks might be carried out through email messages, instant messages, and other social engineering techniques that reach users through various Internet channels.

For example, a spam email message is often a part of a phishing scam. For example, users can receive an email that looks like a legitimate notification from a specific bank. The message usually contains an outgoing link, and users are urged to click that link in order to confirm their identity. However, by "confirming" their identity they would only give away that information to cybercriminals.

So we can see that a phishing attack basically consists of two parts: the message and the source page. We have already covered what users should do to avoid the first constituent of this chain. Therefore, today we would like to focus on phishing websites instead.

Phishing Websites

It would be great if we could provide you with the list of phishing websites, and you could pin it somewhere in order to avoid them. Unfortunately, security experts suggest that such pages have a really short lifespan. Reportedly, they are replaced every few hours to avoid detection. The short life-span means that there are millions of such websites out there. A report by WebRoot claims that around 1.4 million phishing websites are created on average every single month.

Since these websites are short-lived, they are able to avoid block lists that are one of the traditional anti-phishing strategies. A static list becomes outdated in a matter of seconds, and users can no longer rely on it when they need to verify whether a certain page is malicious or not. What's more, instead of using one page, hackers now utilize rotating websites, and this enables their phishing campaigns to live longer. So what can users do to notice fake websites?

Fake Site Trends

Security experts unanimously agree that it is becoming challenging to recognize fake websites. The phishing sites that try to steal sensitive information tend to look extremely realistic, and when you couple that with the sense of urgency that they use to trick innocent users, it might be rather difficult to say that a page is fake.

If you are used to a particular font or layout of some popular website, you might feel that the fake page is real even if you see the same color shade or the same logo. Therefore, it is no surprise that hackers impersonate such popular websites as Google, Facebook, Dropbox, PayPal, and others to lure important information from unsuspecting users.

Normally, it should be possible to tell that the page is fake by checking its URL. However, phishing attack developers know this, and they tend to use scripting tools to scramble their addresses, making it look like they are encrypted and safe. In this case, the thing that might catch your eye is the site's design. Although scammers may use the same color scheme and the same logos, the design could be outdated. So if you notice that the PayPal page you have opened looks different from the one you opened yesterday, it's the first sign that something is off.

Is It Possible to Avoid Phishing Attacks?

The sheer number of fraudulent sites clearly makes it hard even for security experts to come up with relevant and effective methods to contain this phishing epidemic. Not to mention that it is nearly impossible to keep track of the sites because they go offline really fast. The changes in phishing attack techniques call for new detection methods, and that is clearly one of the main challenges cyber security specialists face today. But what about regular users? Is there anything they can do to avoid such attacks?

Although it is becoming really hard to spot such attacks, there is still one thing that all of them share, and that is the sense of urgency. In other words, phishing attacks will gamble on your fears and emotions in order to trick you into giving away your sensitive information. More often than not, phishing messages imply that if you do not do something immediately, your entire world will collapse in an instant. Hence, the words you should look out for include "warning," "alert," "error," and so on. The language used in phishing messages and websites is designed to push you into action without giving you any time to think.

Hence, you have to remain calm even if someone claims that you have to tend to a certain urgent matter immediately. For example, before you disclose your sensitive information, you can always double-check whether the problem is is a real threat. If you are on PayPal, you can try accessing your account via another browser, or you can simply contact their customer service (and even provide them with the suspicious link!) asking whether you really have particular problems with your account.

No business would terminate your account in a matter of hours without double-checking with you several times before that. No one would want to lose a client just like that. Therefore, the best way to protect yourself from a phishing attack is to keep your head straight and always double-check whether the dire consequences described in a specific message are real. There's no need to dive head first into the phishing net.

By Foley
November 12, 2018
November 12, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 2 ?