在2019年幫助您保護密碼的十大提示

你有沒有做過任何新年的決議?也許你決定控制你的健康,或者你決定閱讀更多。無論是什麼,我們建議再添加一個目標,那就是保護密碼。不要害怕,這不是火箭科學,而且憑藉我們對最佳密碼安全實踐的提示,您將立即走向成功。

不幸的是,您的密碼不安全。這並不意味著你需要倒在地上並滾成球。許多人認為在數字世界中保護自己幾乎是不可能的。是的,我們每天都在不斷了解新的網絡安全威脅,大公司繼續受到成功攻擊。網絡攻擊者也在尋找攻擊我們的新方法。話雖這麼說,雖然不可能保證100%的密碼保護 - 也就是說,除非你刪除所有帳戶,刪除你的數字存在,並躲在岩石下 - 有些東西可以幫助你顯著提高你的虛擬安全性。

1.拋棄弱密碼

我們已經知道2018年最受歡迎的密碼是什麼,而且非常令人震驚。雖然用戶知道123456,密碼,qwerty,iloveyouabc123是最弱的密碼,但他們仍然繼續使用它們。不幸的是,您永遠無法使用此類密碼控制密碼保護。為什麼?原因很簡單:這些密碼被人們使用,因為它們令人難忘,而且由於它們被許多人使用,因此網絡攻擊者很容易猜到它們。在大多數情況下,用戶名已經公開發布(例如,您的社交媒體配置文件名稱也是用戶名),因此攻擊者無需任何時間打破鎖定並完全控制您的個人資料或帳戶。

2.了解如何創建強密碼

令人遺憾的是,如果網絡攻擊者瞄准你,你自己提出的密碼不太可能足夠強大。最後附有數字的任何字典單詞都是一個容易解決的難題,攻擊者甚至不需要自己處理它。他們有軟件和硬件為他們做猜謎遊戲。如果要確保密碼保護,您需要創建強密碼,這並不總是一件容易的事。幸運的是, 密碼生成器存在,他們可以在幾毫秒內創建長,複雜和難以理解的密碼。當然,記住這些密碼本身就是一個問題。

3.找一個可靠的密碼管理器

密碼管理器主要作為可以保存所有密碼的工具提供給用戶。但它可以做更多的事情。例如, Cyclonis Password Manager還可以生成和加密密碼,以確保完整的密碼保護。此外,它還可以為您提供自動填寫登錄表單以便於訪問,並且它可以評估已使用的密碼,以幫助您確定它們是否足夠強大。最好的部分是這個工具對於不同平台上的所有用戶都是免費的,所以嘗試它真的不會有什麼壞處。如果您選擇第三方密碼管理器,請小心並進行研究,因為您不想下載甚至投資無法滿足您期望的軟件。

4.檢查你的密碼

除非您使用可以自動更新密碼的密碼管理器,否則您將更改所使用的所有弱密碼是不現實的. 除非你把它們全部寫在某處(請參考步驟5,為什麼這是一個糟糕的主意),你甚至可能不記得你擁有的所有帳戶或你使用過的所有密碼。但是,如果你擔心密碼保護,你應該養成測試密碼的習慣。當然,我們建議盡快這樣做。如果您使用密碼管理器,它將自動測試您的密碼強度。您可以做的另一件事是檢查您的密碼是否已被黑客入侵。能夠做到這一點的工具可在線獲得。

5.停止以不安全的方式存儲密碼

如果您是那些仍然使用便利貼記下密碼的人之一,請仔細考慮這是否是最好的密碼安全措施之一。當然,事實並非如此。除非你獨自生活並且不邀請別人,否則任何人都可以找到你的密碼並使用它們。毫無疑問,這在辦公室和公共場所是最危險的。將密碼存儲在計算機中未受保護的文件中也不安全。惡意軟件可以滑入並讀取您的密碼甚至銷毀文件,這可能導緻密碼恢復問題。如果您必須在一張紙上寫下您的密碼或將其存儲在一個文件中,請確保您也考慮到後果。

6.不要回收密碼

是的,創建一個強密碼可能具有足夠的挑戰性,這就是為什麼有些用戶認為一旦他們這樣做,他們就可以一遍又一遍地重複使用相同的密碼 。問題是沒有密碼足夠強大。所有密碼都可以破解,如果你注意到最好的密碼安全措施,那麼發生這種情況的可能性要低得多,你就不應該放鬆警惕。您使用的每個帳戶,您設置的每個配置文件,您擁有的每個設備都必須使用唯一的密碼/密碼/密碼/等進行保護。

7.更改密碼

有些人可能會告訴您,您需要每月或更頻繁地更改密碼。這是不必要的。當然,如果這讓你晚上睡得更好,那就去吧,但不要忘記第2步和第6步。如果你經常更改密碼,你可能會忘記最好的密碼安全措施,你可能會開始用這些密碼替換強密碼更容易想出並記住。這將是一個錯誤。話雖這麼說,如果您知道自己的身體虛弱或被破壞,您應該立即更改密碼。這就是為什麼保持最新安全新聞的重要性。

8.掌握安全新聞

如果您在打開任何新聞網站時直接進入娛樂部分,我們建議您今年改變您的習慣。至少瀏覽一下最新新聞的標題,看看世界上發生了什麼。這可能是您了解主要數據洩露和密碼安全問題的最快方法。您越早了解密碼洩露,就越早採取行動。如果您想要輕鬆易懂地訪問密碼安全和密碼保護相關新聞,您可以隨時與我們聯繫。

9.保持防範網絡釣魚攻擊

一些攻擊者使用網絡釣魚詐騙來竊取用戶的密碼。他們建立一個詐騙網站,詐騙垃圾郵件或類似的工具,以欺騙輕信用戶洩露有關他們自己的私人信息。總的來說,請記住,如果有人要求您通過陌生網站或奇怪的電子郵件確認您的密碼,則不應該這樣做。即使您可能認為自己知道的人(例如您的銀行)聯繫過您,也不應洩露您的密碼. 毫無疑問,保護自己的密碼是最好的密碼安全實踐之一。

10.不要忘記雙因素身份驗證

如果我們想在2019年確保完整的密碼保護,我們就不要忘記雙因素身份驗證。我們已經討論了雙因素身份驗證 ,它與多因素身份驗證之間的差異,以及安全問題很長,因此我們不會進一步深入研究。最重要的是,如果有人猜測,蠻力或洩露您的密碼,雙因素身份驗證將成為一個障礙,可以幫助您保護您的帳戶足夠長的時間,以便您更改受損密碼並控制密碼保護。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 7是什麼?

Top 10 Tips That Will Help You Secure Passwords in 2019

Have you made any New Year's resolutions yet? Maybe you decided to take your health under control, or maybe you decided to read more. Whatever it is, we suggest adding one more goal, and that is to take care of password protection. Do not be afraid, it is no rocket science, and with our tips on best password security practices, you will be on track to success in no time.

Unfortunately, your passwords are not safe. That doesn't mean that you need to fall to the ground and roll into a ball. Many believe that protecting themselves in the digital world is practically impossible. And yes, we keep learning about new cybersecurity threats every day, and big companies continue getting attacked successfully. Cyber attackers are also finding new ways to attack us. That being said, although it is impossible to guarantee 100% password protection – that is, unless you delete all your accounts, erase your digital presence, and go hide under a rock – there are things that can help you improve your virtual security significantly.

1. Ditch the weak passwords

We already know what the most popular passwords in 2018 were, and it is pretty shocking. Although users know that 123456, password, qwerty, iloveyou, or abc123 are some of the weakest passwords, they continue to use them. Unfortunately, you will never be able to take password protection under control with such passwords. Why? The reason is pretty simple: Such passwords are used by people because they are memorable, and because they are used by many, it is easy for cyber attackers to just guess them. In most cases, usernames are already available publicly (e.g., your social media profile name is also the username), and so it does not take any time at all for an attacker to break the lock and take full control of your profile or account.

2. Learn how to create a strong password

The sad reality is that the password you come up with yourself is unlikely to be strong enough if cyber attackers target you. Any dictionary word with a number attached at the end is an easy puzzle to solve, and attackers don't even need to handle it themselves. They have software and hardware to do the guessing game for them. If you want to ensure password protection, you want to create strong passwords, and that is not always an easy task. Luckily, password generators exist, and they can create long, complex, and impenetrable passwords within milliseconds. Of course, remembering such passwords is a problem of its own.

3. Find a reliable password manager

A password manager is primarily offered to users as a tool that can save all of their passwords. But it can do much more than that. Cyclonis Password Manager, for example, can also generate and encrypt passwords to ensure complete password protection. Furthermore, it also can offer you to auto-fill login forms for easy access, and it can assess already used passwords to help you determine whether or not they are strong enough. The best part is that this tool is free for all users across different platforms, and so it really cannot hurt to try it out. If you choose a third-party password manager, be careful and do your research because you do not want to download or even invest in software that cannot meet your expectations.

4. Check your passwords

Unless you use a password manager that can update your passwords automatically, it is unrealistic that you would change all weak passwords you use. Unless you have all of them written down somewhere (please refer to step 5 why that is a terrible idea), you might not even remember all of the accounts you have or all of the passwords you have used. However, if password protection is something you are worried about, you should really get in the habit of testing your passwords. We suggest doing that as soon as possible, of course. If you use a password manager, it will test your passwords' strength automatically. Another thing you can do is check whether or not your password has been hacked already. Tools capable of doing that are available online.

5. Stop storing your passwords in unsafe ways

If you are one of those people who still use post-it notes to write down their passwords, think carefully whether that is one of the best password security practices. Of course, it is not. Unless you live alone and do not invite people over, anyone could find your passwords and use them against you. This is, without a doubt, most dangerous in offices and public spaces. Storing passwords in unprotected files within your computer is not safe either. Malware can slither in and read your passwords or even destroy the file, which could lead to password recovery problems. If you MUST write down your passwords on a piece of paper or store it in a file, make sure you think of the consequences too.

6. Do not recycle passwords

Yes, creating one strong password can be challenging enough, which is why some users believe that once they do that, they can reuse the same password over and over again. The thing is that no password is ever strong enough. All passwords can be cracked, and while the chances of that happening are much lower if you take note of the best password security practices, you should never let your guard down. Every account you use, every profile you set up, every device you own must be protected using a unique password/passcode/pin/etc.

7. Change passwords

Some might tell you that you need to change your passwords every month or even more frequently. That is unnecessary. Of course, if that makes you sleep better at night, go for it, but do not forget steps 2 and 6. If you change your passwords frequently, you might forget about best password security practices, and you might start replacing strong passwords with those that are easier to come up with and remember. This would be a mistake. That being said, you should change your passwords immediately if you know they are weak or have been breached. This is why it is so important to stay on top of the latest security news.

8. Stay on top of security news

If you go straight to the Entertainment section when you open any news website, we suggest changing your habit this year. At least skim through the titles of the latest news to see what is happening in the world. That might be the fastest way for you to learn about major data breaches and password security issues. The sooner you learn about a password breach, the sooner you can take action. If you want easy and comprehensible access to password security and password protection-related news, you can always check-in with us.

9. Stay guarded against phishing attacks

Some attackers use phishing scams to steal users' passwords. It does not take long for them to set up a scam website, a scam spam email, or a similar tool to trick gullible users into disclosing private information about themselves. Overall, remember that if someone is asking you to confirm your password via a strange website or a strange email, you should not do it. Even if you are contacted by someone you might think you know (e.g., your bank), you should never disclose your passwords. Keeping your password to yourself is, without a doubt, one of the best password security practices.

10. Do not forget about two-factor authentication

To dot the i's and cross the t's, we must not forget about two-factor authentication if we want to ensure complete password protection in 2019. We have already discussed two-factor authentication, differences between it and multi-factor authentication, as well as security issues at length, and so we will not get into this much further. The bottom line is that IF someone guesses, brute-forces, or leaks your password, two-factor authentication will be the barrier that will help you protect your accounts long enough for you to change compromised passwords and take control of password protection.

January 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 10 ?