網絡釣魚詐騙如何保護密碼增加80%?

近年來,通過欺詐性電子郵件詐騙的攻擊急劇增加。一些專家聲稱他們已經上漲了驚人的80%。鑑於網絡釣魚活動的增加,IT專家已向主要公司和互聯網提供商發出警告。就在最近,德班市區經理Sipho Nzuza成為無恥黑客攻擊的受害者,這次襲擊說明了大膽的網絡犯罪分子是如何成為的。

德班市官員已確認,在DA議員Marlaine Nair將此事提交給該部門之後,其完整性和調查部門正在調查網絡釣魚騙局。

根據這個故事,一位因安全原因選擇保持匿名的建築總監向Nair發送了一封電子郵件副本,該電子郵件據稱是從Sipho Nzuza收到的,其中提到了一份建築招標方案。在所謂的電子郵件中,建築總監被告知在上午10點之前聯繫Nzuza,但是一旦他聯繫偽裝成Nzuza的人,導演就被告知必須將10萬蘭特存入賬戶。施工總監告訴他的律師有關騙局的事情,調查開始了。

什麼是網絡釣魚攻擊?

網絡釣魚詐騙是通過兩個目標之一完成的。要么從受害者那裡獲取具體信息,要么偷錢。網絡釣魚電子郵件通常是網絡犯罪分子與其受害者之間的第一次聯繫。

“有針對性的惡意軟件,嚴重的社交工程模擬攻擊以及網絡釣魚威脅仍然影響到員工的收件箱。這使得組織面臨數據洩露和經濟損失的風險,”Mimecast的網絡安全策略師Matthew Gardiner表示。 “我們最新的季度分析顯示,攻擊者持續關注模仿季度的模擬攻擊。這些攻擊很難在沒有專門安全功能的情況下進行識別,而且這項測試表明,常用的系統並不能很好地捕獲它們,”他說。添加。

Ponemon Institute於2018年進行了一項研究,旨在推斷數據洩露的成本。他們發現,南非的平均成本為3,650萬蘭特,而2017年為3200萬蘭特。這超過2500萬美元。例如,當保險公司Liberty Life在2018年早些時候成為網絡犯罪分子的受害者時,他們損失了16.8億蘭特。現在,它們擁有的市場價值幾乎是其近20倍,但對於黑客來說仍然是一個巨大的分數,而且對公司來說也是一個巨大的損失。

據專家稱,超過90%的網絡犯罪都是從簡單,無辜的電子郵件開始的,而且損害不僅僅是金錢問題。
“這是最普遍的企業信息服務。針對支付工作流程的供應鏈欺詐增加是巨大的,攻擊可能涉及重要數據被加密,然後需要付出很多才能獲得數據”Mimecast的誇祖魯 - 納塔爾總經理Paul Stafford說過。

斯塔福德補充說:“當發佈網絡攻擊的消息時,也會造成品牌損失的代價。”

網絡釣魚詐騙已經發生了變化

黑客正在採用新的和更新的策略來獲取受害者的信息。他們不僅僅針對大公司。與全球公司相比,不要認為你改變笨蛋這一事實會讓你誤以為自己對網絡釣魚詐騙的免疫力。

Alto Africa首席技術官Oliver Potgieter評論說,網絡犯罪技術已經超越受害者,不得不點擊鏈接讓黑客獲取密碼。他談到了一封電子郵件,該電子郵件目前正在試圖通過指責他們下載色情內容來勒索其受害者。

電子郵件以“我知道(實際密碼)是您的密碼之一”開頭。

“網絡釣魚一直在試圖獲取你的密碼。現在他們正在直接用你的密碼引導電子郵件,以建立可信度。使用的密碼實際上是正確的(或者是). 我們認為這些最近發生的密碼信息來自諸如2015年Ashley Maddison hack之類的黑客,“Potgieter說。

“這封電子郵件中也沒有任何東西可以阻止普通的垃圾郵件保護 - 沒有鏈接,沒有惡意軟件,沒有附件,”Potgieter補充道。

要求的贖金通常是像比特幣這樣的加密貨幣。為什麼?因為黑客知道比特幣幾乎不可能被當局追踪

移動設備使攻擊者更容易進行黑客攻擊

“我們已經離開了工作站,移動接入點的後果就是我們永久地在服務器上。你甚至不必被黑客入侵,”Nemisa KZN e-Skills Colab主任Colin Thakur博士說。德班說。

Thakur和Stafford還警告說,網絡犯罪可以通過USB設備進行,可以在戰略上放棄接近目標,然後他們會認為這是他們自己的USB設備。

“你把它放入(給筆記本電腦),你接下來的每次按鍵都被拿起來,無論是你的密碼還是其他重要信息,”塔庫爾說。

“當涉及創建一個欺詐帳戶時,黑客只需要轉換兩個字母。你的眼睛會自動糾正錯誤,每個黑客都知道你會做什麼。這是一個基本的欺詐程度,人們不會相信它可能發生,但確實如此,“他補充道。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 2是什麼?

How to Protect Passwords as Phishing Scams Increase by 80%?

Attacks via fraudulent email scams have increased sharply in recent years. Some experts claim they have gone up by a staggering 80%. IT specialists have sent out warnings to major companies and internet providers in light of the increased phishing campaigns. Just recently Durban city manager Sipho Nzuza became the victim of a brazen hacker attack which illustrates how bold cybercriminals have become.

Durban city officials have confirmed that the phishing scam is being investigated by its Integrity and Investigations Unit after the DA councilor Marlaine Nair brought up the matter to the unit.

According to the story, a construction director, who has opted to remain anonymous for safety reasons, sent a copy of an email to Nair which was supposedly received from Sipho Nzuza in which reference was made to a construction bidding proposal. In the supposed email, the construction director was told to contact Nzuza by 10 am but once he contacted the person masquerading as Nzuza, the director was informed he would have to deposit 100000 rand into an account. The construction director told his lawyer about the scam and the investigation began.

What are Phishing Attacks?

Phishing scams are done with one of two goals. Either to acquire specific information from the victims or to steal money. Phishing emails are usually the first contact between the cybercriminals and their victims.

"Targeted malware, heavily socially-engineered impersonation attacks, and phishing threats are still reaching employee inboxes. This leaves organizations at risk of a data breach and financial loss," said Matthew Gardiner, cybersecurity strategist at Mimecast. "Our latest quarterly analysis saw a continued attacker focus on impersonation attacks quarter-on-quarter. These are difficult attacks to identify without specialized security capabilities, and this testing shows that commonly used systems aren’t doing a good job catching them," he added.

The Ponemon Institute conducted a study in 2018 with aimed to deduce the costs of data breaches. They discovered that the average cost in South Africa is 36.5 million rand up from 32 million rand in 2017. That's over 25 million dollars. For example, when the insurance company Liberty Life fell victim to cybercriminals earlier in 2018 they lost 1.68 billion rand was lost. Now, they have a huge market value that's nearly 20 times that but it's still a massive score for the hackers and a massive loss for the company.

Over 90% of all cybercrime starts with a simple, innocent-looking email, according to experts and the damage isn't just monetary.
"It is the most pervasive corporate information service. The increase in supply chain fraud targeting payment workflow processes is huge an attack can involve important data being encrypted and then having to pay a lot to get data back" Mimecast's KwaZulu-Natal general manager Paul Stafford said.

"There is also the cost of brand damage when news of a cyber attack is released," Stafford added.

Phishing scams have evolved

Hackers are adopting newer and newer tactics to get their hands on the victims' information. They're not just targeting big corporations either. Don't think that the fact that you make chump change compared to global corporations fool you into thinking your immune to phishing scams.

Alto Africa chief technology officer Oliver Potgieter commented that cybercrime technology has moved past the victim having to click on links for a hacker to get their password. He talked about an email that was currently making the rounds which tried to blackmail its victims by accusing them of downloading pornography.

The email starts with "I am aware that (actual password) is one of your passwords".

"Phishing has always been about trying to get your password. Now they are leading the email message with your password straight off the bat to establish credibility. The password used is actually correct (or was). We believe this password information in these recent instances has been from hacks such as the Ashley Maddison hack of 2015," said Potgieter.

"There is also nothing in this email that causes it to be blocked by normal spam protection - no links, no malware, no attachments," Potgieter added.

The ransom demanded is usually in a cryptocurrency like Bitcoin. Why? Because hackers know that the Bitcoins are virtually impossible to trace by the authorities

Mobile devices make hacking even easier for attackers

"We have moved away from the workstations and the consequence of a mobile access point is that we are on the servers permanently. You don't even have to get hacked," Dr. Colin Thakur, Director of Nemisa KZN e-Skills Colab in Durban said.

Thakur and Stafford also warned that cybercrime can be carried out through USB devices, which can be strategically dropped close to the target who would then presume it was their own USB device.

"You put it in (to a laptop) and every keystroke you do is picked up, whether it's your password or other critical information," said Thakur.

"When it comes to creating a fraudulent account, the hacker simply has to transpose two letters. Your eyes will auto-correct the error and every hacker knows that's what you'll do. It's such a basic level of fraud, people don't believe it can happen, but it does," he added.

January 18, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 2 ?