Cornell University Is Hit by a Phishing Scam That Leads to Stolen Passwords

密碼盜竊是沒有人想要處理的事情。不幸的是,它發生了,它發生的次數比我們想要的更頻繁。 2019年剛剛開始,我們仍然沒有所有的統計數據可以讓我們在2018年審查身份盜竊,但已經知道,在2017年, 6.64%的美國在線消費者成為身份欺詐的受害者。這不是數量很少。當然,密碼被盜並不總是身份盜用的一部分,但你竊取密碼的可能性仍然很高。在許多情況下,我們可以責怪任何人,除了我們自己的數據洩露,因為我們不關心我們點擊的鏈接,我們訪問的網站,我們打開的電子郵件,我們填寫的調查,等等。在其他情況下,情況不在我們手中,因為密碼在攻擊公司或機構期間洩露,旨在保護它們。然後我們有混合攻擊,康奈爾大學是最新的受害者。

康奈爾大學的工作人員和學生收到網絡釣魚電子郵件

看來黑客正在捕食任何人和每個人。聽到對醫療機構,大公司甚至政府的攻擊都不乏異常。黑客可以獲取他們可以獲得的任何數據,包括姓名,電子郵件地址,社會安全號碼,當然還有可以讓他們訪問受害者帳戶的密碼。虛擬攻擊者似乎沒有準備好跨越任何線路,大學也不排除。例如,據報導,在2018年,耶魯大學畢業生社會安全號碼在2008 被洩露。不用說,這是一個重大的安全漏洞。現在,康奈爾大學因為員工和學生的密碼被洩露而受到抨擊。然而,在這種情況下,大學並不完全是罪魁禍首。很明顯,攻擊是針對大學及其社區的,但看起來攻擊者依賴於內部電子郵件系統,而且他們實際上並沒有違反本身。

密碼盜竊攻擊始於向康奈爾社區中的某人發送電子郵件。據康奈爾日報報報導 ,該電子郵件看起來像是對以前發送的電子郵件的回复。如果收件人打開了電子郵件,則會將其引入一個名為“顯示此郵件”的藍框中(您可以在此處看到屏幕截圖)。在此之下,收件人看到了大學的名字和日期戳。總的來說,電子郵件可能看起來與康奈爾社區的電子郵件完全正常。不幸的是,打開電子郵件並點擊藍色按鈕已被證明是一個由策劃者設置的陷阱,因為它被路由到要求輸入NetID(用戶名)和密碼的惡意網頁. 毋庸置疑,如果無能的收件人透露了這些信息,他們立即成為密碼被盜的受害者。

此外,如果收件人與網絡釣魚郵件進行了互動,則郵件會轉發給他們的所有聯繫人,以便他們的帳戶也可能受到損害。為了使事情變得更複雜,主題行被更改,這使得將合法電子郵件與網絡釣魚攻擊中使用的電子郵件分開更加困難。使用主題的一個例子是“RE:[重要]謹防通過欺詐性電子郵件進行網絡釣魚詐騙。”正如您所看到的,這是非常誤導的。不幸的是,在攻擊過程中,電子郵件不僅傳播到整個社區,而且傳播到可能使用康奈爾電子郵件系統聯繫過的每個人的收件箱中。例如,正如康奈爾日報報導的那樣,一名點擊網絡釣魚鏈接的學生向她申請實習的每個人發送了惡意電子郵件,這引起了很大的壓力和尷尬。

盡快更改康奈爾大學密碼

儘管康奈爾IT安全公司未提供有關密碼盜竊事件的任何信息,但仍敦促受害者立即更改康奈爾大學的密碼。如果您成為密碼被盜的受害者,您可能會遇到整體身份盜用的風險,因為一旦黑客可以訪問您的帳戶,他們就可以代表您發送電子郵件並冒充您。無論您是大學工作人員還是學生,都應盡快更改密碼。你可以在這裡做。

當您更改康奈爾大學密碼時,不要錯誤地添加額外的字母或數字,因為網絡攻擊者猜測此類密碼需要幾毫秒。由單詞(例如, 大學,qwerty,密碼 )或簡單字母組合(例如, 1234567 )組成的弱密碼也是不可接受的,因為它們也可以被猜到。即使網絡釣魚攻擊背後的黑客轉移到另一所大學,也有很多其他人可以使用易受攻擊的帳戶來執行密碼盜竊並創建更大的混亂。毫無疑問,您希望確保您創建的密碼強大且不會被破壞。您可以在此處了解如何創建強密碼,我們還建議您安裝可信密碼管理器,以幫助您以最安全,最有效的方式生成,保存和保護密碼。此外,請記住,不僅您的大學登錄憑據存在風險。

通過將康奈爾大學密碼更改為更強大的密碼來保護您的帳戶後,您還需要了解網絡釣魚攻擊以及您在使用電子郵件帳戶時可能面臨的其他威脅。最重要的是,您不要先打開電子郵件,點擊鏈接,下載附件或回复個人信息。請記住,如果你不小心行事,你更有可能吸引麻煩。希望如果您確保自己的帳戶安全並在此之前進行 思考 ,您將不再需要面對策劃者並且再次擔心密碼被盜或虛擬安全問題。

March 6, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 6是什麼?

Cornell University Is Hit by a Phishing Scam That Leads to Stolen Passwords

Password theft is something no one wants to deal with. Unfortunately, it happens, and it happens more often than we’d like it to. 2019 has just begun, and we still do not have all the stats that would allow us to review identity theft in 2018, but it is already known that 6.64% of all U.S. consumers online became victims of identity fraud in 2017. This is not a small number whatsoever. Of course, password theft is not always part of identity theft, but the chances of you having your password stolen are still pretty darn high. In many cases, we can blame no one but ourselves for having our data leaked because we are careless about the links we click, the sites we visit, the emails we open, the surveys we fill, and so on. In other cases, the situation is out of our hands because the passwords are leaked during an attack on a company or institution that is meant to protect them. Then we have hybrid attacks, and Cornell University is the latest victim of that.

Cornell University staff and students receive phishing emails

It appears that hackers are preying on anyone and everyone. It is not unusual anymore to hear about attacks on healthcare institutions, big companies, and even governments. Hackers are after any piece of data they can obtain, and that includes names, email addresses, social security numbers, and, of course, passwords that could give them access to victims’ accounts. It seems like there is no line that virtual attackers are not ready to cross, and universities are not excluded either. For example, in 2018 it was reported that the social security numbers of Yale University graduates were leaked in 2008. Needless to say, that is a major security breach. Now, Cornell University is under fire as the passwords of staff and students have been leaked. In this situation, however, the university is not exactly to blame. It is clear that the attack was targeted at the university and its community, but it looks like the attackers were relying on the internal email system, and they did not actually conduct a breach per se.

The password theft attack started with an email being sent to someone in the Cornell community. The email was made to look like a reply to a previously sent email, according to The Cornell Daily Sun. If the recipient opened the email, they were introduced to a blue box entitled “Display this message” (you can see a screenshot here). Below that, the recipient saw the university’s name and a date stamp. Overall, the email might have looked completely normal to those in the Cornell community. Unfortunately, opening the email and clicking the blue button has been proven to be a trap laid by schemers because it routed to a malicious webpage that asked to enter NetID (username) and password. Needless to say, if the clueless recipient revealed this information, they immediately became a victim of password theft.

Furthermore, if the recipient interacted with the phishing email, the message was forwarded to all of their contacts so that their accounts could be compromised too. To make things more complicated, the subject line was changed, and that made it more difficult to separate legitimate emails from those used in the phishing attack. One example of a subject line used was “RE: [IMPORTANT] Beware of Phishing Scams via Fraudulent Emails.” As you can see, this is very misleading. Unfortunately, during the attack, the emails spread not only across the community, but also across the inboxes of everyone who might have been contacted using the Cornell email system. For example, as The Cornell Daily Sun reported, one student who clicked the phishing link had malicious emails sent to everyone she applied for internships, which caused a great deal of stress and embarrassment.

Change Cornell university password ASAP

Although Cornell IT Security did not provide any information about the incident of password theft, victims were urged to change Cornell university passwords immediately. If you become a victim of password theft, you are at risk of experiencing overall identity theft because once hackers have access to your account, they can send emails on your behalf and impersonate you. Whether you are part of the university’s staff or you are a student, you should change the password ASAP. You can do it HERE.

When you change Cornell university password, do not make the mistake of adding an additional letter or number because it takes milliseconds for cyber attackers to guess such passwords. Weak passwords that are made of words (e.g., university, qwerty, password) or simple letter combinations (e.g., 1234567) are not acceptable either because they can be guessed too. Even if the hackers behind the phishing attack move on to a different university, there are plenty of others who could use vulnerable accounts to perform password theft and create bigger messes. Without a doubt, you want to make sure that the password you create is strong and cannot be breached. You can learn about the creation of strong passwords here, and we also recommend installing a trusted password manager to help you generate, save, and protect passwords in the most secure and efficient manner. Also, remember that it is not only your university login credentials that are at risk.

Once you secure your account by changing Cornell university password to something much stronger, you also need to educate yourself on phishing attacks and other threats that you could face while using your email account. It is most important that you do not open emails, click links, download attachments, or respond with personal information without thinking things through first. Remember that if you act carelessly, you are more likely to attract trouble. The hope is that if you secure your account and think before you do, you will not need to face schemers and worry about password theft or your virtual security ever again.

March 4, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 8 ?