什麽是招募詐騙,它是如何工作的?

儘管最近幾年在網絡安全和打擊在線欺詐者領域取得了巨大進步,但網絡犯罪分子似乎並未妥協。恰恰相反 - 他們只是找到了新的更巧妙的方法,探索迄今未知或不受歡迎的攻擊角度。一個典型的例子 - 假工作提供詐騙的數量不斷上升,也被稱為假招聘騙局。

乍看之下,騙子可能會假裝成雇主而獲得的收益很少。畢竟,只要告訴別人你擁有一個你實際上並不擁有的企業,可以承擔什麼樣的成果?如果您實際上不是雇主,那麼您無法真正與潛在僱員達成互利的工作安排。然而,這是一個誠實的人會想到的。事實上,騙子可以通過虛假的藉口從一個毫無戒心的求職者那裡汲取相當多的東西。事物,例如可以出售的個人信息,可用於身份盜竊目的的社會安全號碼,或者在某些情況下 - 用於藝術家會解釋為與工作申請流程相關的成本的實際現金。

這種方案特別有害,因為它們很難被發現。通常很少有跡象表明欺詐者發布的添加內容實際上是假的 - 當存在這些內容時,除非您知道他們可能在那裡,否則他們通常很難找到。犯罪者使用來自真實公司的信息,可以在網上找到的合法信息,以及其他可以使他們提供的假工作看起來絕對合法的令人信服的細節。

問題非常嚴重,以至於Linkedin不得不聘請一個團隊來梳理廣告,以便在他們的欺騙性消息可以在網站上發布之前對抗招聘詐騙者的行為。不幸的是, Linkedin並不是詐騙者頻繁出現的唯一地方。

招聘人員詐騙如何運作

這是一個快速而骯髒的逐步描述經典招聘騙局的運作方式。了解其機制對於避免成為它的犧牲品至關重要。

  1. 詐騙者提出了誘人的工作機會。這可能與他們冒充的公司的實際工作機會完全無法區分。
  2. 潛在的受害者與詐騙者就假工作機會聯繫。
  3. 詐騙者開始“工作”受害者,試圖說服他們工作申請是真實的。由於這實際上是一個詭計,他們傾向於試圖操縱他們的獵物在情感上承諾工作的想法 - 讓他們對在公司工作的前景感到興奮,以及可能帶來的所有好處。
  4. 在這一點上,對於知道存在此類騙局的人來說,陷阱會變得明顯。當被詢問所提供的工作或公司實踐的細節時,欺詐者可能會出現短缺。此外,他們更有可能試圖說服申請人加入,而不是嚴格測試申請人的能力 - 這是大多數公司實際上所做的事情。
  5. 一旦欺詐者說服申請人該職位屬於該申請人,他們就會緊急嘗試從受害者那裡提取他們想要騙取的信息,從. 他們通常會要求提供比通常所需的更多私人信息,例如申請人信用卡的最後四位數或社會安全號碼。
  6. 一些詐騙者實際上要求進行貨幣交易,將其稱為“處理費”或“招聘人員付款”。
  7. 受害者發送文件和金錢,然後再也沒有收到假招聘人員的消息。

如何避免被假招聘者欺騙

  1. 請注意存在此類威脅。
  2. 在你的溝通中尋找奇怪的東西。這對於一般的在線交流是一個很好的建議。檢查與發件人,郵件來源或通信本身的格式之間的差異 - 如果其中任何一個看起來很奇怪,則很可能出現問題。
  3. 通過與所述招聘人員完全獨立的渠道,與他們聲稱代表的公司核實招聘人員的身份。例如,如果他們聲稱代表亞馬遜,請向亞馬遜支持部門提供有關此事的更多信息。
  4. 花點時間查看招聘人員自己的個人資料。如果招聘人員的LinkedIn個人資料很少或者沒有您認為對他們的工作至關重要的完整信息,請保持警惕。
  5. 不要洩露任何超出您需要的信息。招聘人員不需要您的社會安全號碼,信用卡號碼,額外費用等。特別是不能通過網絡提前。

August 22, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 7是什麼?

What's a Recruiting Scam, and How Does it Work?

Even though recent years have seen tremendous advancements in the field of online security and combatting online fraudsters, cyber-criminals don't seem to have relented. On the contrary – they just find new and more ingenious ways, exploring heretofore unknown or unpopular angles of attack. Case in point – the rising number of fake job offer scams, also known as fake recruiter scams.

At a glance, it may appear that scammers have very little to gain by pretending to be an employer. After all, what fruit can be borne by just telling someone that you own a business that you don't actually own? You can't really come to a mutually beneficial working arrangement with a potential employee if you're not actually an employer. However, that's what an honest person would think. As a matter of fact, there are quite a few things that a con artist can extract from an unsuspecting job seeker, under false pretenses. Things, such as personal information that can be sold, social security numbers that can be used for identity theft purposes, or in some cases - actual cash for what con artists would explain to be costs related to the job application process.

This type of scheme is especially pernicious because they are so difficult to spot. There are usually very few indications that the adds posted by the fraudsters are actually fake – and when those exist, they are usually difficulty spot unless you are aware that they may be there. Perpetrators use information from real companies, legitimate information that can be found online, and other convincing details that can make the fake jobs they offer look absolutely legitimate.

The problem is so severe that Linkedin has had to hire a team to comb through ads in order to counter the actions of recruiter scammers before their deceptive messages can go live on the site. Unfortunately, Linkedin is not the only place said scammers frequent.

How the Recruiter Scam Works

Here's a quick and dirty step by step description of the workings of a classic recruiter scam. Knowing its mechanism is crucial to avoid falling prey to it.

  1. The scammer puts out a tempting job offer. This may or may not be completely indistinguishable from a real job offer by the company they are impersonating.
  2. Potential victims contact the scammer with regard to the fake job offer.
  3. The scammer starts "working" the victim, trying to convince them that the job application is real. Since this is actually a ruse, they tend to try to manipulate their prey into committing to the idea of the job emotionally – get them excited about the prospect of working at the company, and all the benefits that could bring them.
  4. At this point, the trap would become obvious for someone who's aware of the existence of such scams. When questioned on details of the job offered or company practices, the fraudster will likely come up short. Additionally, they are more likely to be trying to convince the applicant to join than they are to rigorously test the applicant's ability – which is what most companies tend to actually do.
  5. Once the fraudsters have convinced the applicant that the position will belong to the said applicant, they proceed with urgency to attempt to extract the information they want to scam out of the victim, to begin with. They will usually ask for more private information than is usually necessary, such as the last four digits of an applicant's credit card, or their social security number.
  6. Some scammers actually ask for a monetary transaction, justifying it as "processing fees" or "recruiter payment."
  7. Victims send documents and money, then never hear from the fake recruiter again.

How to Avoid Getting Scammed by Fake Recruiters

  1. Be aware that such threats exist.
  2. Be on the lookout for odd things in your communication. This is a piece of good advice on online communication in general. Check for discrepancies with the sender, the source of the message, or the formatting of the communication itself – if any of those seem odd, something is most likely amiss.
  3. Verify the identity of the recruiter with the company they claim to represent through a channel that's completely independent to the said recruiter. For instance, if they claim to represent Amazon, ask Amazon support for more information on the matter.
  4. Take e moment to check the recruiter's own profile. Be on your guard if the recruiter's LinkedIn profile has few connections or doesn't have complete information that you believe to be essential to their work.
  5. Do not divulge any more information than you need to. Recruiters don't ever need your social security number, credit card number, additional fees, etc. Especially not upfront, over the web.

August 22, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 8 ?