使用密碼管理器有哪些優點和缺點

許多用戶已經知道創建強密碼是保護其帳戶的方法之一。然而,並非所有人都選擇隨機字符的複雜組合。實際上,研究在數據洩露期間獲得的信息的專家注意到許多用戶仍然選擇被認為是最差的密碼(例如“密碼”)或重用在先前數據洩露期間已經洩密的密碼。問題是複雜的密碼難以記住,沒有人想要被鎖定,因為他們忘記了密碼。幸運的是,密碼管理器可以解決這個問題。如果您仍然懷疑是否應該使用此類軟件,我們邀請您閱讀我們的列表並了解擁有密碼管理器的優缺點。

使用密碼管理器有什麼好處?

密碼保存在一個安全的地方

大多數密碼管理器允許用戶將密碼或甚至其他敏感數據(例如信用卡詳細信息)存儲在設備或所選雲存儲上創建的加密保管庫中。它比將這些信息存儲在瀏覽器上或者將其寫入文本文檔,紙張等更安全。更不用說,這樣您就可以跨不同設備同步保存的信息。用戶所要做的就是創建一個強大的主密碼來保護加密的保險庫:登錄或查看已保存的密碼時可能需要它。

無需記住所有密碼

使用密碼管理器的一個主要優點是它會記住您的所有密碼,如果有此需要,您可以隨時查看它們。此外,許多這些應用程序提供自動登錄功能,允許您訪問您的帳戶,而無需提交用戶名或密碼,因為密碼管理器會為您執行此操作。因此,您可以創建更複雜的密碼,因為您不再需要擔心讓密碼令人難忘。

它允許生成健壯的密碼

密碼管理器具有使用戶能夠生成隨機密碼的工具,這些密碼是唯一且難以入侵的密碼。因此,用戶不需要浪費他的時間來考慮難以猜測的組合。例如,Cyclonis Password Manager可以從隨機字母,符號和數字創建密碼。此外,用戶可以選擇密碼的長度,這是必不可少的。許多虛擬安全專家都同意密碼越長,破解它就越困難。在創建過程中,應用程序將顯示組合是否複雜,然後密碼分析器將告訴用戶他的總密碼強度是多少,甚至建議如何增強它。

它可以更容易地更改密碼

有些網頁要求用戶每六個月或甚至更頻繁地更改密碼,除非您使用密碼管理器,否則這既煩人又麻煩。他們中的許多人,包括Cyclonis,都可以檢測到您何時更改密碼,並可能建議保存密碼,甚至詢問您是否希望自動更換舊密碼. 因此,告別因為您再次忘記了新密碼而無法訪問您的帳戶。

使用密碼管理器有什麼缺點?

忘記主密碼可能是災難性的

雖然主密碼可以輕鬆訪問並保護應用程序中存儲的所有其他密碼,但丟失可能導致您無法登錄到您的帳戶。在大多數情況下,即使密碼管理器的創建者在用戶忘記密碼管理器時也無法提供幫助。出於安全原因,一些公司選擇不記錄用戶的主密碼,例如,以防止黑客在數據洩露期間獲取此類信息。但是,我們認為這種劣勢不應該阻止任何人使用該軟件,因為有辦法創建容易記憶但複雜的主密碼。

忘記唱歌可能允許某人訪問所有帳戶

如果您啟用密碼管理器的自動登錄功能並讓設備無人值守,則可以訪問該設備的人可能會利用此機會登錄您的帳戶。因此,用戶應該在他們不再需要它時註銷,以防設備被盜或環境可能使某人有機會訪問它。不幸的是,訪問所有帳戶的能力可能允許黑客將其用於惡意目的,甚至可能會破壞其中一些帳戶。儘管如此,在Cyclonis Logout設置中,您可以選擇在15分鐘到24小時不活動或計算機鎖定/屏幕保護程序激活後註銷。此外,您還可以通過額外的密碼保護單獨的帳戶來提高密碼安全性。

它可能無法保護您的數據免受特定威脅

您可能知道某些惡意應用程序(例如,鍵盤記錄程序)可以記錄用戶的擊鍵。在這種情況下,可能會記錄包括用戶主密碼或其他密碼在內的任何信息,並將其發送給黑客的服務器,而無需用戶意識到。換句話說,用戶也不應該忘記照顧他們的計算機的安全性。為此,用戶應使所有軟件保持最新,並避免與Internet上遇到的可疑內容進行交互。此外,我們建議使用信譽良好的反惡意軟件工具,以保護計算機免受各種威脅。

該工具可能相當昂貴

有許多密碼管理器可供選擇,但其中一些相當昂貴,並且提供的免費版本可能無法提供您可能想要使用的許多高級功能或功能。這就是為什麼在選擇密碼管理器之前,必須決定您是否準備為其付費。當然,如果您想選擇最佳變體,您可能需要分別權衡每個密碼管理器的所有優點和缺點,以了解其中哪一個值得付費。我們很自豪地說,我們的產品是免費使用的,雖然一些密碼管理員會向您收取所有設備自動同步或付款和表單自動填充等功能,但Cyclonis允許您使用這些功能而無需支付費用一角錢. 如果您想嘗試一下,可以在這裡下載。

考慮到所有因素,根據具體情況,將一個人的密碼保存在一個地方可能聽起來既安全又危險。不過,在我們看來,如果您謹慎使用您選擇的密碼管理器,它可能會增加您的密碼安全性。更重要的是,該工具甚至可以節省一些時間,允許您更快地登錄或填充網站上的信息,讓您的瀏覽體驗更加愉快。

April 30, 2019

發表評論

What Are the Advantages and Disadvantages of Using a Password Manager

Many users already know creating strong passwords is one of the ways to protect their accounts. Nevertheless, not everyone chooses complex combinations from random characters. In fact, specialists researching information obtained during data breaches notice that a lot of users still pick passcodes considered to be the worst (e.g. 'password') or reuse passwords that were already compromised during previous data breaches. The problem is complex passwords can be difficult to remember, and no one wants to be locked out of their accounts because they forgot the passcode. Fortunately, password managers can solve this problem. If you still have doubts about whether you should use such software we invite you to read our list and learn what are the pros and cons of having a password manager.

What are the advantages of using a password manager?

Passwords are kept in one safe place

Most password managers allow users to store passcodes or even other sensitive data, such as credit card details, in an encrypted vault created on the device or chosen cloud storage. It is much safer than storing such information on a browser or writing it down in a text document, a piece of paper, etc. Not to mention, this way you can synchronize saved information across different devices. All the user has to do is create a strong master password to protect the encrypted vault: it might be required when logging in or looking at the already saved passcodes.

No need to remember all passwords

One of the main advantages of using a password manager is it remembers all passwords for you and you can look them up at any time if there is such a need. Plus, a lot of these applications offer an auto-login feature, which allows you to access your accounts without having to submit usernames or passcodes as the password manager does it for you. Consequently, you can create more complex passwords since you no longer have to worry about making your passcodes memorable.

It allows generating robust passwords

Password managers have tools that enable users to generate random passwords, which are unique and difficult to hack. Therefore, the user does not need to waste his time thinking of a combination that could be difficult to guess. For example, Cyclonis Password Manager can create passcodes from random letters, symbols, and numbers. Besides, the user can choose the password's length, which is essential. Many virtual security specialists agree the longer the passcode is, the more difficult it is to hack it. During the creating process, the application will show if the combination is complex or not and afterward the Password Analyzer will tell the user what is his total password strength and even suggest how to enhance it.

It makes it easier to change passwords

Some web pages require users to change passwords every six months or even more often, which can be both annoying and troublesome unless you use a password manager. Many of them, including Cyclonis, can detect when you are changing a password and may suggest saving it or even ask if you wish to replace it with the old one automatically. Thus, say goodbye to being unable to access your account because you forgot the new password again.

What are the disadvantages of using a password manager?

Forgetting master password could be disastrous

While a master password makes it easy to access and protect all other passcodes stored on the application, its loss could result in you being unable to log in to your accounts. In most cases, not even the password manager's creators can help if the user forgets it. Some companies choose not to record users' master password for safety reasons, for example, to prevent hackers from obtaining such information during a data breach. However, we do not think this disadvantage should stop anyone from using the software as there are ways to create easily memorable and yet complex master passwords.

Forgetting to sing out could allow someone access to all accounts

In case you enable your password manager's auto-login feature and leave your device unattended someone who could access it might use this opportunity to log in to your accounts. Thus, users should always log out once they no longer need it in case the device gets stolen or the circumstances may create a possibility for someone to get access to it. Unfortunately, the ability to access all your accounts could allow hackers to use them for malicious purposes or possibly even hack some of them. Nonetheless, in Cyclonis Logout settings, you can choose to be logged out after being inactive from 15 minutes to 24 hours or when the computer is locked/screensaver is activated. Also, you can increase your password security by additionally password protecting separate accounts.

It may not protect your data from specific threats

As you might be aware of some malicious applications, for example, keyloggers, can record user's keystrokes. In which case, any information including user's master password or other passcodes might be recorded and sent to the hackers' servers without the user realizing it. In other words, users should not forget to take care of their computers' security too. To achieve this, users should keep all software up to date and avoid interacting with suspicious content encountered on the Internet. Additionally, we would suggest employing a reputable antimalware tool that could guard the computer against various threats.

The tool can be rather expensive

There are a lot of various password managers to choose from, but some of them are rather expensive, and the offered free versions may not provide a lot of advanced features or functions you may want to use. This is why before choosing a password manager it is essential to decide whether you are prepared to pay for it. Naturally, if you want to pick the best variant, you may have to weight all advantages and disadvantages of each password manager separately to understand which one of them is worth to pay for. We are proud to say, our product is free to use, and while some password managers will charge you for features like automatic synchronization among all your devices or payment and form autofill, Cyclonis allows you to use these features without having to pay for them a single dime. If you would like to try it, you can download it here.

All things considered, keeping one's passwords in a single place may sound both safe and dangerous depending on the circumstances. Still, it seems to us if you use your chosen password manager with caution, it could increase your password security. More than that the tool might even save some time by allowing you to log in or fill information on websites faster and make your browsing experience more enjoyable.

September 17, 2018

Leave a Reply