回到學校?考慮使用VPN

如果你剛進入大學,你可能會擔心找到一個住的地方或了解你的同學。但是,專家們也在考慮大學中的網絡安全。學生應該弄清楚的最重要的事情之一是如何在使用公共Wi-Fi時保持安全。正如您所猜測的, VPN是使用咖啡館,圖書館等提供的熱點時保持安全的最佳解決方案之一。在本文中,我們將解釋VPN是什麼,它如何幫助您確保您的虛擬安全性大學,以及如何選擇滿足您需求的工具。與往常一樣,如果您有任何疑問,可以在下面的評論部分給我們留言。

在大學使用VPN有什麼好處?

VPN( 虛擬專用網絡 )允許您在使用其他計算機的Internet連接時瀏覽Internet。因此,您的所有互聯網流量都通過安全連接發送到連接的VPN。因此,它可能看起來好像您正在瀏覽其他國家/地區,這可以幫助您保持匿名。此外,在大學中使用VPN可以保護您的互聯網流量免受窺探,允許您訪問受限制的網站,並在使用不可靠的Wi-Fi連接時保護您。換句話說,通過VPN,您可以使用公共Wi-Fi熱點,而無需擔心有人可能會監視您。此外,它可能允許您訪問可能在您的國家/地區阻止的各種流媒體網站或其他網站。

如何為您挑選最好的VPN?

如果您已經決定在大學使用VPN,那麼現在是時候選擇最佳選擇了。一些VPN提供了許多額外的功能並且可能很昂貴,而其他VPN提供了更多基本功能並且不會花費太多。當然,也有免費服務。首先,我們建議測試免費試用版和幾種不同VPN服務的免費版本。這樣,如果您希望投資VPN,您可以了解哪種產品最適合您,哪一種產品值得您花錢。

此外,在選擇可以提高大學虛擬安全性的VPN時,您應該了解您的學校是否不會阻止所選產品。一些機構阻止VPN服務阻止連接到其Wi-Fi連接的人員下載種子。另外,我們不要忘記,流媒體網站也可以阻止使用VPN的計算機。因此,如果獲得此類服務的原因之一是進入受限制的網站,則應確保您要訪問的網站不會阻止您的VPN。如果您正在尋找被認為是大學生最佳選擇的VPN列表,您應該查看這些評論

為確保大學安全,還需採取哪些其他預防措施?

VPN可以幫助您避免在瀏覽時被跟踪,並允許您繞過可能阻止您訪問特定站點的限制。但是,它通常不會保護您的計算機免受惡意軟件攻擊,保護您免受網絡釣魚詐騙以及其他潛在威脅. 您可以在下面看到我們建議的一系列工作以及我們建議您購買的用於保護您的計算機和隱私的工具。

獲得可靠的反惡意軟件工具

大學中的虛擬安全可能比您想像的更重要。許多惡意應用程序可能毀了你的一天。例如,想像一下,你剛剛寫完了一篇你工作了很長時間的論文。你保存文件,一切似乎都很好,但是當你再次嘗試打開時,你會注意到它有一個奇怪的第二個擴展,最重要的是,它無法啟動。最後,看起來它是由勒索軟件應用程序加密的,這是一種潛入的惡意威脅。請記住,還有一些有害的應用程序會破壞或刪除計算機上的文件,而不是加密它們。因此,擁有一個可靠的反惡意軟件工具來保護您的系統免受威脅始終是一個好主意。此外,我們建議處理可能的系統漏洞,例如過時的軟件或弱密碼。

使用密碼管理器

每個帳戶都應該有一個安全的密碼,以保護其免受黑客的攻擊,黑客可能會試圖控制它或訪問通過目標帳戶提供的信息。安全密碼是大寫和小寫字母,數字和符號的組合。它也應該是唯一的,這意味著所有帳戶都應該有不同的密碼。

另外,為了確保密碼幾乎無法猜測,它應該足夠長(專家建議使用至少12個字符)並儘可能隨機,這意味著它不應包含任何描述您的詞(例如,您的姓名,出生)日期,寵物名稱等)。顯然,可能無法記住許多長而獨特的密碼,這就是密碼管理器可以成為完美解決方案的原因。像Cyclonis Password Manager這樣的專用工具可以幫助您用強密碼替換舊密碼和弱密碼,並確保您永遠不會忘記密碼。要了解如何與Cyclonis創建安全密碼,你應該繼續閱讀這裡

使用雙因素身份驗證

很遺憾,擁有強密碼並不能保證為您的帳戶提供全面保護。例如,黑客可以獲取密碼而無需在數據洩露期間猜測或強制使用密碼。因此,如果出現問題,您希望有一個備份計劃, 雙因素身份驗證可能是您最好的選擇。如您所見,啟用雙因素身份驗證後,不僅要提交正確的密碼,還要提交第二個因素,例如,發送到用戶電子郵件或移動電話的唯一代碼。這意味著,知道您的密碼可能不足以讓某人入侵您的帳戶。如果您認為為所有帳戶啟用雙因素身份驗證可能太多,我們建議僅將其用於最重要的帳戶,例如您的電子郵件和社交媒體配置文件. 要了解如何激活此功能,您可以繼續閱讀此處

了解如何識別網絡釣魚詐騙

網絡釣魚詐騙是一種攻擊,不僅是那些擔心大學安全的用戶應該知道的。通常,在這些攻擊期間,黑客會試圖通過欺騙他們的目標受害者來幫助他們而不會意識到這一點來刪除惡意軟件或獲取敏感信息。例如,受害者可能會收到一封網絡釣魚郵件,可能會說他必須登錄他的銀行帳戶才能保護其免受網絡犯罪分子的攻擊。看起來好像用戶的銀行發送了它,但實際上,它可能會導致受害者進入假銀行的網頁。可以想像,黑客可能會記錄在此惡意網站上輸入的所有密碼和PIN。這只是一個例子,網絡犯罪分子可以使用許多不同的場景和技術。因此,如果您從未聽說過網絡釣魚詐騙並且不知道它們如何工作或如何識別它們,我們建議您嘗試此測驗以及閱讀此博客文章

當您提供個人信息時要小心

最後,我們建議您在提供個人或敏感信息時要謹慎。您應該始終確保可以信任網站,應用程序或需要您數據的人員。如果您不百分之百確定提交信息是安全的,您應該避免洩露您的實際電話號碼,電子郵件帳戶的地址等。例如,您可以創建一個僅在註冊時使用的輔助電子郵件可疑的網站或填寫可疑的調查,雖然最安全的選擇是根本不提供任何數據。

總而言之,如果您從未成為黑客的目標,那麼大學中的虛擬安全似乎不是一個重要的目標。可悲的是,網絡犯罪只是在增加,而且在你成為網絡犯罪的受害者之前,它可能僅僅是一個時間問題。因此,在大學中使用VPN並選擇一些新的網絡安全習慣可能是最好的選擇。有關如何確保大學虛擬安全的更多安全提示,請繼續閱讀此處

August 21, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
9 + 6是什麼?

Going Back to School? Consider Using a VPN

If you just got accepted into college, you might be concerned with things like finding a place to live or getting to know your classmates. However, specialists urge to think about cybersecurity in college too. One of the most important things a student should figure out is how to stay safe while using public Wi-Fi. As you can guess, VPN is one of the best solutions when it comes to staying safe when using hotspots offered in cafes, libraries, etc. In this article, we explain what a VPN is, how it can help you ensure your virtual security in college, and how to pick a tool that would satisfy your needs. As always, if you have any questions, you can leave us a message in the comments section below.

What could be the benefits of using a VPN in college?

A VPN (Virtual Private Network) lets you browse the Internet while using another computer’s internet connection. Thus, all your internet traffic is sent to the connected VPN through a secure connection. As a result, it might appear as if you were browsing from another country, which can help you remain anonymous. Also, using a VPN in college could shield your internet traffic from snooping, allow you to access restricted websites, and protect you while using untrustworthy Wi-Fi connections. In other words, with a VPN you could use public Wi-Fi hotspots without having to worry that someone could spy on you. Moreover, it might let you access various streaming websites or other sites that could be blocked in your country.

How to pick the best VPN for you?

If you have already decided to use VPN in college, it is time to pick the best option. Some VPNs offer a lot of additional functions and can be expensive, while others offer more basic features and do not cost much. Of course, there are free services too. Firstly, we recommend testing free trials and free versions of a few different VPN services. This way, you could learn which product works best for you and which one of them is worth your money if you wish to invest in a VPN.

Also, while picking a VPN that would increase your virtual security in college, you should find out whether your school will not block the chosen product. Some institutions block VPN services to stop people that connect to their Wi-Fi connections from downloading torrents. Also, let us not forget that streaming websites can also block computers using VPNs. Thus, if one of the reasons for getting such services is entering restricted websites, you should make sure the sites you wish to access will not block your VPN. If you are looking for a list of VPNs that are considered to be the best options for college students, you should have a look at these reviews.

What other precautions to take to ensure security in college?

A VPN can help you avoid being tracked while browsing and let you bypass restrictions that might prevent you from visiting particular sites. However, it usually does not guard your computer against malware, protect you from phishing scams, and other potential threats. Below you can see a list of things we recommend doing and tools we advise acquiring to secure your computer and your privacy.

Get a reliable antimalware tool

Virtual security in college might be more important than you think. Lots of malicious applications could ruin your day. For instance, imagine that you just finished writing a paper you worked on for so long. You save the document, and everything seems fine, but when you try opening it again, you notice it has a strange second extension and, most importantly, it cannot be launched. Finally, it appears it was encrypted by a ransomware application, a malicious threat that managed to sneak in. Keep in mind that there are also harmful applications that can ruin or erase files located on a computer instead of encrypting them. Thus, it is always a good idea to have a reliable antimalware tool that could guard your system against threats. Additionally, we recommend dealing with possible system vulnerabilities, such as outdated software or weak passwords.

Use a password manager

Every account should have a secure password to keep it safe from hackers who may seek to take control of it or access information available via the targeted account. A secure passcode is a combination of both upper-case and lower-case letters, numbers, and symbols. It should also be unique, which means all accounts should have different passwords.

Plus, to ensure a passcode is nearly impossible to guess, it should be both long enough (specialists recommend using at least 12 characters) and as random as possible, which means it should not contain any words describing you (e.g., your name, birth date, pet names, etc.). Obviously, it might be impossible to remember lots of long and unique passwords, which is why a password manager could be a perfect solution. A dedicated tool like Cyclonis Password Manager can help you replace your old and weak passwords with strong passcodes and ensure you will never forget them. To learn how to create secure passwords with Cyclonis, you should continue reading here.

Use Two-Factor Authentication

Unfortunately, having strong passwords does not guarantee complete protection for your accounts. For example, hackers can obtain passwords without having to guess them or brute-force them during data breaches. Therefore, if something goes wrong, you want to have a backup plan, and Two-Factor Authentication is probably your best bet. As you see, with Two-Factor Authentication being enabled, one has to submit not only a correct password but also a second factor, for example, unique code sent to a user’s email or mobile phone. Meaning, knowing your passcode might be not enough for someone to hack into your account. If you think it might be too much to enable Two-Factor Authentication for all your accounts, we recommend using it only for the most important ones, such as your email and social media profiles. To learn how to activate this feature, you could continue reading here.

Learn how to recognize phishing scams

Phishing scams are attacks that not only users who are concerned about their security in college should know about. Usually, during these attacks, hackers try to drop malware or obtain sensitive information by tricking their targeted victims into helping them without realizing it. For instance, a victim could receive a phishing email that might say he has to log into his banking account to protect it from cybercriminals. It might seem as if a user’s bank sent it, but, in reality, it could lead the victim into a fake bank’s web page. As you can imagine, all passwords and PINs entered on this malicious site could be recorded by hackers. This is only an example, and there are lots of different scenarios and techniques cybercriminals can use. Thus, if you have never heard about phishing scams and have no idea how they work or how to recognize them, we recommend trying this quiz as well as reading this blog post.

Be careful when you give out your personal information

Lastly, we advise being cautious when you give out your personal or sensitive information. You should always make sure that a website, an application, or a person requiring your data can be trusted. In case you are not one hundred percent sure it is safe to submit your information, you should refrain from revealing your actual phone number, email account’s address, etc. For example, you could create a secondary email that you would only use when registering on questionable websites or filling doubtful surveys, although the safest option would be not to provide any data at all.

All in all, virtual security in college might not seem like an important goal if you have never been targeted by hackers. Sadly, cybercrime is only increasing, and it could be merely a question of time until you fall victim to cybercrime too. Therefore, using a VPN in college and picking a few new cybersecurity habits might be the best thing. For more security tips on how to ensure virtual security in college, you should continue reading here.

August 21, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 5 ?