如何發現和避免網絡釣魚詐騙

如今,在涉及現實生活(IRL)欺詐者時,幾乎每個人都在趾高氣揚。查拉坦伎倆,金字塔騙局,電視惡作劇,未經請求和虛假的服務和訂閱已經傷害了這麼多人,以至於詐騙藝術家到處都是根深蒂固的公眾良知,人們應該對他們格外警惕。
雖然互聯網已經存在了一段時間,並且不斷發展成為日常生活中不斷增長的一部分,但不幸的是,普通用戶似乎並不像應該那樣對網絡詐騙持謹慎態度。許多用戶似乎認為,如果有人破解他們的在線帳戶,他們就無法真正做到,他們的在線安全性掌握在用戶使用的服務提供商手中。畢竟,Apple的工作是確保您在創建帳戶時提供給他們的信息是安全的,對吧?
錯誤。用戶可以而且應該採取措施來提高他們的在線安全性 - 在這個方向上邁出的第一步也是最重要的一步就是要意識到危險,並教育自己最明顯的跡象表明他們已經成為惡作劇的目標。

網絡釣魚詐騙

網絡釣魚是一種騙局,詐騙者試圖通過詭計來試圖通過粗暴的互聯網用戶獲取其粗暴的個人信息。他們在這種特殊情況下使用的方法相當簡單,實際上 - 他們投入了大量網絡,希望一些毫無戒心的用戶能夠糾結於此。有趣的是他們用來吸引用戶的誘餌 - 這通常是來自一個受人尊敬的公司的一些看似合法的信息。在大多數情況下,所述電子郵件旨在欺騙用戶認為他們需要將一些個人信息發送回他們收到的此消息的發送者,或者在表單中填寫他們的個人詳細信息。如果他們確實這樣做了,那麼他們已經被釣魚了 - 現在欺詐者擁有他們所有相關的個人信息,並且可以將它用於他們可能設計的任何邪惡的目的。
值得注意的是,打擊網絡釣魚的技術一直在不斷發展 - 旨在識別此類欺詐企圖的垃圾郵件過濾器和殭屍程序正在變得越來越普遍。然而,在誘餌實際到達用戶的少數情況下,用戶可能很難識別它是什麼......除非他們知道在這種情況下應該警惕什麼。 CBS新聞和英特爾安全部門最近的調查顯示,大約80%的用戶很難認識到他們的網絡釣魚嘗試,即使是經過培訓的專業人員也不會百分之百地確定他們在那裡發現的跡象。不過,關注網絡釣魚的最佳方法是了解以下跡象:

可疑的彈出式提醒或廣告出現在他們不屬於的地方

在瀏覽網頁時,用戶可能會遇到彈出式廣告或網頁,警告他們當前使用的設備存在問題。這些通常被設計為看起來好像來自合法來源,例如來自macOS或iOS,Microsoft,PayPal等。在類似的情況下,假設這些不合法通常是安全的賭注。大多數情況下,這些只是虛假的彈出窗口,旨在誘騙用戶調用惡作劇支持號碼或購買據稱修復設備“問題”的應用程序。在類似的情況下,建議用戶不要撥打該號碼或點擊彈出/廣告並忽略可疑警告。

可疑的電話和語音信箱

世界各地的欺詐者仍在使用的最常見的方法之一是撥打電話號碼,他們以某種方式讓他們躺在手上,然後使用威脅和奉承來迫使用戶向他們提供信息,金錢等. 這就是為什麼在任何情況下的最佳實踐是用戶在提供任何個人信息之前驗證呼叫者的身份。收到來自聲稱來自Apple,Microsoft,PayPal等人的主動打電話的用戶 - 谷歌應該特別警惕來電者,然後才能確定該來電者實際上是所述公司的代表。

網絡釣魚電子郵件和其他短信

詐騙者傾向於嘗試從合法實體複製電子郵件和文本消息,以誘騙毫無戒心的用戶發送回個人信息和密碼或將所述信息輸入欺詐者可以抓取的形式。建議用戶不要關注鏈接或打開源自任何可能被視為可疑或未經請求的消息的附件。這裡有一些更明顯的跡象表明存在問題,用戶收到的消息可能是網絡釣魚嘗試:

  • 發件人的電子郵件地址或電話號碼已關閉。如果有人聲稱要與Microsoft聯繫,但如果郵件來自的電子郵件地址與其聲稱來自的公司名稱不符,則該用戶可能是網絡釣魚嘗試的目標。
  • 用戶的電子郵件地址或電話號碼都錯了。如果用戶收到的消息中包含錯誤的個人信息或用戶未向相關公司提供的消息,則該消息可能是惡作劇。
  • 消息以通用問候語開頭。幾乎沒有公司用“親愛的顧客”開始發送電子郵件。甚至是自動系統和通知機器人,用於啟動他們發出的電子郵件,其中包含問候語以及用戶在註冊其服務時設置的名稱,用戶ID,帳戶名稱或其他一些標識方法。
  • 一個可疑的鏈接。如果郵件包含模糊鏈接,則該鏈接似乎是合法的,但會將用戶帶到其網址與公司網站地址不匹配的網站。這是一個死人的贈品,有人試圖欺騙用戶。
  • 不尋常和可疑的內容。如果該消息與用戶迄今為止從該公司收到的其他消息顯著不同,那麼它本質上很可能是欺詐性的。差異可能與令人費解的破解語法一樣引人注目,或者說消息本身的文本格式與通常略有不同,或者用其他字體書寫。
  • 該消息請求個人信息。用戶應該特別警惕那些直接告訴他們應該透露敏感信息的消息,例如信用卡號或帳戶密碼。
  • 未經請求的消息。郵件是未經請求的,包含附件。這些通常是最容易發現的,但統計數據表明,每年都有相當多的用戶採用類似的策略。

用戶可以採取的進一步措施來防止網絡釣魚

Cyclonis Password Manager不僅僅是一個用戶可以使用的工具,以避免不得不一遍又一遍地填寫特定網站中的相同個人詳細信息。它在網絡釣魚方面特別有用,因為如果當前要求用戶詳細信息的網站實際上是正確的網站,它將始終提醒用戶。假設用戶看到來自Apple的消息,聲稱所述用戶需要關注特定鏈接並登錄到特定屏幕. 在這種情況下,只有當相關表格合法時,Cyclonis密碼管理器才允許用戶自動輸入所有相關數據而不用大驚小怪。否則,將提示用戶是否希望進行另一次註冊 - 這應引起用戶注意消息周圍的巨大紅旗。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 9是什麼?

How to Spot and Avoid Phishing Scams

Nowadays, pretty much everyone's on their toes when it comes to real life (IRL) fraudsters. Charlatan tricks, pyramid schemes, television hoaxes, unsolicited and phony services and subscriptions have harmed so many people that it is pretty much ingrained into public conscience that scam artists are everywhere and people should be extra wary of them.
Although the Internet has been around for some time now and is continuing to evolve as an ever-increasing part of everyday life, unfortunately, the average user does not seem to be as wary of online scams as they should be. Many users seem to think that there is nothing they can really do if someone hacks their online accounts, that their online security is in the hands of the providers of the services that the users are employing. After all, it's Apple's job to make sure that the information you gave them when making your account is safe, right?
Wrong. Users can, and should, take steps to increase their online security – and the first and most important step in that direction is to be aware of the danger, and educate themselves on the most telltale signs that they have been targeted by a hoax.

The Phishing Scam

Phishing is a type of scam that fraudsters use to try to get their grubby hands on the personal information of unwary Internet users, through subterfuge. The method they use in this particular case is rather simple, really – they cast a wide net and hope that some unsuspecting users get tangled in it. What's interesting is the bait they use to attract users – which is usually some legitimate-looking message from a respectable company. In most cases, said e-mail is designed to dupe the user into thinking that they need to send some personal information back to the sender of this message they received, or fill out their personal details in a form. If they actually do, well, they have been phished – now the fraudsters have all their relevant personal information, and can use it to whatever nefarious end they may devise.
Notably, technology to combat phishing is being developed all the time - spam filters and bots that are designed to recognize such fraud attempts and summarily remove them from the Internet are becoming ever more prevalent. However, in the few cases when the bait actually reaches the user, it may well be quite difficult for the user to recognize it for what it is… Unless they know what to be wary of in the situation. Recent surveys by CBS News and Intel Security show that about 80% of users have a hard time recognizing phishing attempts for what they are, and even trained professionals are not 100% sure to spot the signs when they are there. Still, the very best way to be on the lookout for phishing is to be aware of the following signs:

Suspicious pop-up alerts or ads appearing where they don't belong

While browsing the web, users may encounter pop-up ads or pages warning them about a problem with the device they are currently using. These are often designed to appear as if they originate from a legitimate source, such as from macOS or iOS, Microsoft, PayPal etc. In similar cases, it's usually a safe bet to assume that these aren't legit. Most often, these are just phony pop-ups, designed to trick users into calling a hoax support number or buying an app that purportedly fixes the device's 'issue'. In similar cases, users are advised to not call the number or click on the popup/ad and ignore the suspicious warning.

Dubious phone calls and voicemail

One of the most common methods still in use by fraudsters worldwide is to call phone numbers they have somehow got their lying hands on and then use threats and flattery to pressure users into giving them information, money etc. This is why the best practice in every situation is for the user to verify caller's identity before providing any personal information at all. Users who receive an unsolicited call from someone claiming to be from Apple, Microsoft, PayPal and especially – Google should be extra wary of the caller before they ascertain beyond all doubt that the person calling is, in fact, a representative from said companies.

Phishing emails and other text messages

Scammers tend to try and copy email and text messages from legitimate entities to trick unsuspecting users into sending back personal information and passwords or inputting said information into a form that the fraudsters can grab. Users are advised to never follow links or open attachments originating from any messages that may be considered suspicious or are unsolicited. Here are a couple of more telltale signs that something is awry and the message the user has received may well be a phishing attempt:

  • The sender's email address or phone number is off. If someone claims to be contacting you from Microsoft, but if the e-mail address from which the message came from doesn't match the name of the company that it claims to be from, the user is likely the target of a phishing attempt.
  • The user's email address or phone number is all wrong. If the message that the user received features personal information that is wrong or that the user didn't provide to the company in question, the message is probably a hoax.
  • The message starts with a generic greeting. Almost no company starts their emails with "Dear customer". Even automated systems and notification bots designed to start the emails they send out with a greeting and the name, user ID, account name or some other means of identification that the user set up on registering for their services.
  • A suspicious link. If the message contains obfuscated links, that appear to be legitimate but take the user to a website whose URL doesn't match the address of the company's website. That's a dead giveaway that someone's trying to dupe the user.
  • Unusual and suspicious content. If the message appears notably different from other messages that the user has received from the company to date, then it is most likely fraudulent in nature. The differences may be as striking as featuring inexplicably broken grammar, or as subtle the text of the message itself being formatted in a slightly different manner than usual, or written in another font.
  • The message requests personal information. Users should be extra wary of messages that outright tell them that they should divulge sensitive information, such as a credit card numbers or account passwords.
  • Unsolicited message. The message is unsolicited and contains an attachment. These are usually the easiest to spot, but statistics show that quite a few users fall for similar tactics every year.

Further Steps Users Can Take To Prevent Phishing

Cyclonis Password Manager is more than just a tool that users can employ to avoid having to fill in the same personal details in a particular website over and over again. It is particularly useful when it comes to phishing because it will always alert the user if the site that is currently asking for the user's details is actually the right one. Say that a user sees a message from Apple, claiming that said user needs to follow a particular link and log into a particular screen. In such an instance, Cyclonis Password Manager will allow the user to automatically input all of their relevant data without a fuss only if the form in question is legitimate. Otherwise, the user will be prompted if they wish to make another registration – which should attract the attention of the user to the huge red flags surrounding the message.

By Giles
June 22, 2018
June 22, 2018

One Comment

  • fix error code 0xc004f074:

    To avoid the phishing attack you need to pay attention to a few things that think Before You Click, Verify a Site’s Security, Install an Anti-Phishing Toolbar.

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 5 ?