使用公共Wi-Fi是否安全?

毫无疑问,无论您是想在购物时快速查看电子邮件还是希望在国外保持联系但移动数据有限,公共Wi-Fi都很方便。为客户提供免费Wi-Fi始终是一个优势,许多用户选择酒店,餐馆,公共汽车和其他可以提供服务的服务并不是秘密。但是,除了考虑它可能有多大之外,您还应该始终质疑使用免费无线连接的安全性。在这篇博客文章中,我们不仅会回答您是否可以安全地连接到公共Wi-Fi,还可以讨论使用免费网络连接时可能出现的问题,以及您可以采取哪些措施来保证安全。

对本文中心问题的直接回答是否定的,在公共Wi-Fi上浏览互联网并不是特别安全。不幸的是,过去发生的各种公共Wi-Fi安全漏洞揭示了黑客访问公共无线网络并将其用于恶意活动是多么容易。唯一的希望是,当旧的WPA2安全协议将被称为WPA3的新版本取代时,Wi-Fi安全性将在几年内增加。 Wi-Fi联盟 (一家认证Wi-Fi产品的非营利组织)宣布了新协议的消息。在此之前,Wi-Fi安全性尚不确定,用户应了解使用公共网络可能带来的后果以及如何避免与之相关的风险。

使用公共Wi-Fi连接有哪些风险?

事实上,有很多场景可以通过连接到公共Wi-Fi来解决问题。例如,通过使用所谓的中间人攻击,黑客可以查看和记录用户在登录,聊天,发送电子邮件等时可能提交的信息。此外,黑客可以利用连接到不安全无线网络的设备的漏洞,并在他们的设备上丢弃恶意软件,而无需他们实现任何目标。

最令人难忘的事件之一就是以色列特拉维夫 (2016年)的公共Wi-Fi安全漏洞 ,说明使用无保护连接如何变成噩梦。显然,网络安全专家Amihai Neiderman与该市的一个名为FREE_TLV的免费Wi-Fi网络连接,并决定检查它的安全性。在晚上工作了几个小时后,他发现了一个漏洞,可以让他控制连接到上述网络的设备(例如,收集密码和银行信息等敏感数据或将用户重定向到假的网站让他们相信他们是合法的). 幸运的是,发现该漏洞的人没有恶意,并且在他报告了FREE_TLV的路由器上的固件被修补后,发现的弱点被删除了。

另一个巨大的公共Wi-Fi安全漏洞发生在2017年12月,当时有人发现其中一个布宜诺斯艾利斯星巴克分支机构的免费Wi-Fi连接被黑客劫持,以使与之相连的设备采用Monero加密货币。目前尚不清楚网络犯罪分子招募了多少设备或攻击持续了多长时间。无论如何,它表明用户不能休息,即使在享用一杯咖啡时也要放松警惕。

如何保护自己免受公共Wi-Fi安全漏洞的侵害?

  1. 保持警惕和谨慎可能,使用公共Wi-Fi热点时确保安全的首要原则是不要连接到未知或无法识别的网络连接。另外,如果您发现有关您尝试连接的公共无线网络存在任何疑问,例如,警告说将使用SSL证书,您应该寻找另一个Wi-Fi热点。
  2. 确保它是合法的无线连接黑客可以创建可能与他们试图模仿的无线连接类似的流氓Wi-Fi热点。因此,如果您来到您最喜欢的咖啡馆,并注意到它提供了多个免费的Wi-Fi连接,那么向员工询问哪些是合法的是个好主意。
  3. 使用公共Wi-Fi加密所有内容当您发送消息或输入密码时,此类信息通过网络从一个点(设备)转移到另一个点(网页或服务),黑客可以拦截它。另一方面,如果数据是加密的;网络犯罪分子无法理解它。在上网时加密所有内容的最简单方法是使用虚拟专用网络或VPN。还有允许发送加密消息的电子邮件服务,例如Protonmail.com
  4. 确保所有设备都是最新的安装设备和软件(尤其是浏览器和操作系统)都应该是最新的。原因是新的更新通常不仅可以改进应用程序,还可以修复以前版本中可能发现的修补程序漏洞。黑客一直在寻找利用漏洞的机会,所以你应该尽一切努力使他们更难以成功。
  5. 不要连接到包含敏感数据的帐户当您怀疑可用的公共Wi-Fi是否安全时,您应该避免连接到您的银行帐户,电子邮件或其他可能包含有价值信息的服务和帐户。最好等到你确定连接是安全的并且不能被黑客入侵。

显然,最安全的选择是避免完全使用公共Wi-Fi,但有时很难这样做,例如,旅行时因为支付移动数据可能会使您的假期变得更加昂贵。因此,如果您认为除了连接到免费无线网络别无选择,我们建议您记住我们刚刚列出的提示,如果您幸运,您可能不会成为公共Wi-Fi安全漏洞的受害者。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 8是什么?

Is It Safe to Use Public Wi-Fi?

There is no doubt public Wi-Fi is convenient whether you want to quickly check your email while shopping or want to stay connected abroad but have limited mobile data. Providing free Wi-Fi for customers is always a plus, and it is not a secret many users choose hotels, restaurants, buses, and other services that can offer it. However, besides thinking how useful it might be, you should also always question how safe it is to use free wireless connections. In this blog post, we will not only give you answer to the question if it is safe to connect to public Wi-Fi, but also talk about what could go wrong when using free network connections and what you can do to stay safe.

The straight answer to the central question of this article would be no, it is not particularly safe to browse the Internet on public Wi-Fi. Unfortunately, various public Wi-Fi security breaches that have occurred in the past revealed how easy it is for hackers to access public wireless networks and use them for malicious activities. The only hope is Wi-Fi security will increase in a few years when the old WPA2 security protocol will be replaced with its newer version called WPA3. The news of the new protocol was announced by Wi-Fi Alliance (a non-profit organization that certifies Wi-Fi products). Until then, Wi-Fi security is not certain, and users should learn about the possible consequences of using public networks and how to avoid the risks associated with them.

What are the risks of using public Wi-Fi connections?

In truth, there are a lot of scenarios of how one could get into trouble by connecting to a public Wi-Fi. For example, by using the so-called Man-in-the-Middle attacks, hackers can view and record information the user could be submitting while logging in, chatting, emailing, and so on. Besides, hackers can exploit the vulnerabilities of devices connected to unsecured wireless networks and drop malware on their devices without them realizing anything.

One of the most memorable incidents that illustrated how using an unprotected connection could turn into a nightmare was the public Wi-Fi security breach in Tel Aviv, Israel (2016). Apparently, a cybersecurity expert, Amihai Neiderman, connected to one of the city's free Wi-Fi networks called FREE_TLV and decided to check how secure it was. After a few days of working for a few hours in the evenings, he found out a vulnerability that could allow him to take control of the devices connected to the mentioned network (e.g., collect sensitive data like passwords and banking information or redirect users to fake websites while making them believe they are legitimate). It is fortunate the person who found the flaw had no malicious intentions and after he reported it the firmware on FREE_TLV's routers was patched, and the discovered weakness was removed.

Another huge public Wi-Fi security breach happened in December 2017 when one person discovered one of the Buenos Aires Starbucks branch's free Wi-Fi connections was hijacked by hackers to make the devices connected to it mine Monero cryptocurrency. It is still unknown how many devices were recruited by the cybercriminals or how long the attack lasted. In any case, it showed users could not take a break and let their guard down even while enjoying a cup of coffee.

How to protect yourself from public Wi-Fi security breaches?

  1. Stay alert and cautiousProbably, the number one rule to ensure safety while using public Wi-Fi hotspots is not to connect to unknown or unrecognized network connections. Plus, if you notice anything suspicious about the public wireless network you are trying to connect to, for example, a warning saying there will be SSL certificates used, you should look for another Wi-Fi hotspot.
  2. Make sure it is a legitimate wireless connectionHackers can create rogue Wi-Fi hotspots that may look similar to the wireless connections they are trying to imitate. Therefore, if you come to your favorite café and notice there is more than one free Wi-Fi connection it provides it would be a good idea to ask the staff which of them is legitimate.
  3. Encrypt everything while using a public Wi-FiWhen you send a message or type a password, such information goes from one point (the device) to another (web page or service) through the network, and hackers can intercept it. On the other hand, if the data was encrypted; the cybercriminals could not make any sense out of it. The easiest way to encrypt everything while surfing the Internet is to use a virtual private network or VPN. There are also email services that allow sending encrypted messages, for example, Protonmail.com.
  4. Make sure all is up to dateBoth the device and the software (especially the browsers and operating system) installed on it should be up to date. The reason for it is new updates usually not only improve applications but also patch vulnerabilities that might have been discovered in the previous versions. Hackers are constantly looking for opportunities to exploit weaknesses, so you should do all you can to make it more difficult for them to succeed.
  5. Do not connect to accounts holding sensitive dataWhenever you doubt whether the available public Wi-Fi is secure, you should avoid connecting to your bank account, email, or other services and accounts that could contain valuable information. It is best to wait until you are sure the connection is safe and cannot be hacked.

Clearly, the safest option would be to avoid using public Wi-Fi altogether, but there are cases when it is hard to do so, for example, when traveling as paying for mobile data can make your vacation a lot more expensive. Thus, if you feel you have no option but to connect to a free wireless network, we would recommend remembering the tips we just listed and if you are lucky you may not fall victim to public Wi-Fi security breaches.

By Foley
August 16, 2018
August 16, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 2 ?