關於數據洩露後的5個問題和答案

問題1:我是否經歷過數據洩露?

有幾種類型的數據洩露。有些針對大型公司和組織,而另一些針對個人。影響更大實體的數據洩露必然會導致更大數量的洩露數據。在大多數情況下,一旦發現此類違規行為,故事就會貫穿整個新聞周期,服務提供商會發佈公開聲明並單獨與受害者聯繫。通常,通過電子郵件。當然,您必須當心網絡釣魚電子郵件,這些電子郵件可能會誘使您認為您需要更改/共享密碼或洩露個人信息。要了解如何識別網絡釣魚電子郵件,您可以在此處繼續閱讀。

如果有人專門闖入您的帳戶,您可能不會注意到何時接管帳戶以及信息洩漏。這樣的數據洩露後該怎麼辦?如果可能,您需要重新獲得控制權,就像海量數據洩露的受害者一樣,您需要提出以下問題。

問題2:什麼數據被洩露?

如果已確認重大數據洩露,則服務提供商可能會列出可能已公開的數據。當然,並非所有公司都能及時發現違規情況,並且並非所有公司都立即報告違規情況 。哪種數據被洩露取決於所使用的數據類型。例如,如果您的Facebook密碼被洩露,然後您的帳戶被接管,攻擊者也許能夠收集更多數據,包括出生日期,電話號碼,朋友信息。如果醫療中心遭到攻擊,則洩露的數據可能包括患者的病歷,社會保險號,家庭住址等。

網絡安全研究人員認為 ,大多數數據洩露都會影響財務數據,醫療或個人健康信息,個人身份信息,知識產權以及敏感的政府級信息。歸根結底,網絡罪犯知道如何從每條數據中獲利,雖然暴露多個個人詳細信息而不是僅僅暴露例如一個電話號碼當然更糟,但數據洩漏就是數據洩漏,並且每個人都必須認真對待。

問題3:我需要更改密碼嗎?

密碼是網絡犯罪世界中非常受歡迎的商品,僅因為它們可以打開更多的大門。密碼可用於劫持帳戶,勒索其所有者,利用其良好聲譽來騙取家人,朋友和同事。當您聽到影響數以千計,有時甚至數百萬個用戶的重大數據洩露時,經常會對哈希密碼進行哈希處理。如果您也遇到了這種情況,則您不必擔心將密碼用於帳戶劫持。不幸的是,並不是所有的散列方法都同樣安全,並且相信用MD5散列的密碼實際上是易受攻擊的

毫無疑問,密碼是否涉及數據洩露(無論是否經過哈希處理),都是非常重要的一步。同樣,重要的是要考慮是否未重複使用相同的密碼。人們繼續重複使用密碼,這是一種可怕的做法,因為如果一項服務遇到與密碼有關的數據洩露,網絡犯罪分子就有機會使用所有使用相同密碼的其他帳戶。在替換違反密碼的密碼時,您可能犯的最大錯誤是進行了一些小的修改(例如,將password123更改為password321 )。另外,如果您要更改密碼,則應趁此機會使其變得難以滲透。這最簡單的方法是使用Cyclonis Password Manager之類的工具,該工具可以生成和保護密碼,並幫助您在登錄時更智能地使用它們。使用30天免費試用版 ,看看類似的簡單工具可以增強多少功能。您的虛擬安全性。

問題4:我的數據已經被利用了嗎?

過去,要弄清楚某些數據是否被破壞是比較困難的。但是,現在有一些在線工具可用於輸入密碼,用戶名或電子郵件地址,並了解這些數據是否在幾秒鐘內被破壞。當然,這並不能揭示數據是否已經被利用。我們的第一大網絡安全提示是,您不應等待這種情況發生。您需要積極主動,並且需要採取一切措施來保護您的帳戶和可能洩露的數據。不幸的是,許多人感到不知所措,因為他們不知道數據洩露後該怎麼辦。

當然,如果您可以看到帳戶中的更改,並且確定您沒有進行更改,則很可能已經利用了數據來接管您的帳戶, 假冒您, 提取信用額度或處方您的名字,依此類推。如果發現此類活動,則必須保護自己的帳戶,並且必須致電適當的人員(例如銀行,債權人,醫療中心),這些人員可能會為您提供特定的網絡安全提示。

問題5:如何防止新數據洩露?

事實是,即使您了解所有網絡安全提示,也可能無法防止數據洩露,因為在大多數情況下,這並不取決於您。當然,您在選擇以良好安全實踐而聞名或沒有多個數據洩露記錄的服務時要更加謹慎。查看特定服務提供商如何處理數據洩露也很重要。他們是否及時報告事件?他們在危機時期是否與受害者溝通?密碼安全性如何?服務提供商是否對它們進行散列,並且使用哪種類型的散列?

基本上,在了解願意信任您的個人數據的服務時,您必須積極主動。當然,您還必須注意共享的數據類型。始終最好共享所需的最小值。對於那些痴迷社交媒體的人來說,這可能是最好的網絡安全提示。我們最重要的網絡安全提示是保持警惕並儘快應對數據洩露。另外,不要驚慌,因為那是您最有可能犯錯的時候,例如用一個較弱的替代方法來替換違反密碼的行為。這些有關密碼的網絡安全提示仍然有效,我們強烈建議您遵循這些提示。

August 27, 2020

發表評論

5 Questions and Answers About What to Do After a Data Breach

Question 1: Did I experience a data breach?

There are several types of data breaches. While some are targeted at large companies and organizations, others are conducted on a more personal level. A data breach that affects a larger entity is bound to lead to a larger volume of breached data. In most cases, as soon as such a breach is discovered, the story goes through the news cycle, and the service provider releases a public statement and contacts victims individually. Usually, via email. Of course, you have to watch out for phishing emails that might trick you into thinking that you need to change/share your password or reveal personal information. To learn how to recognize phishing emails, you can continue reading here.

If someone breaks into your account specifically, you might not notice when accounts are taken over and information is leaked. What to do after a data breach like that? If it is possible, you need to get the control back, and just like the victims of massive data breaches, you need to ask the following questions.

Question 2: What data was breached?

If a major data breach has been confirmed, the provider of the service is likely to list the pieces of data that might have been exposed. Of course, not all companies discover breaches in time, and not all of them report breaches right away. What kind of data gets breached depends on what kind of data was in use. For example, if your Facebook password gets leaked, and then your account is taken over, the attackers might be able to collect even more data, including date of birth, phone number, information about friends. If a medical center is attacked, the breached data might include patients’ records, social security numbers, home addresses, etc.

Cybersecurity researchers suggest that most data breaches affect financial data, medical or personal health information, personally identifiable information, intellectual property, and sensitive government-level information. At the end of the day, cybercriminals know how to monetize every piece of data, and while it certainly is worse to have multiple personal details exposed rather than just, for example, a phone number exposed, a data breach is a data breach, and every single one has to be taken seriously.

Question 3: Do I need to change my password?

Passwords are a very desirable commodity in the cybercrime world simply because they can open more doors. Passwords can be used to hijack accounts, blackmail their owners, use their good reputation for scamming family, friends, and colleagues. When you hear about major data breaches that affect thousands and sometimes millions of users, the breached passwords are often hashed. If that has happened for you as well, it is unlikely that you need to worry about having your password used for account hijacking. Unfortunately, not all hashing methods are equally as safe, and it is believed that passwords hashed with MD5 are actually vulnerable.

Without a doubt, if your password was involved in a data breach – whether hashed or not – replacing it is a crucial step. Also, it is important to think if the same password has not been reused. People continue to reuse passwords, and that is a terrible practice because if one service experiences a password-related data breach, cybercriminals have the opportunity to take all other accounts that use the same password. The biggest mistake you can make when replacing a breached password is making a small modification (e.g., changing password123 to password321). Also, if you are changing a password, you should take the opportunity to make it impenetrable. That is easiest to do with a tool like Cyclonis Password Manager, which can generate and protect passwords, as well as help you use them smarter when signing in. Use the FREE 30-day trial to see how much a simple tool like that can enhance your virtual security.

Question 4: Has my data been exploited already?

In the past, it was more difficult to figure out whether or not certain pieces of data were breached. However, now there are online tools that you can use to enter a password, a username, or an email address and learn whether or not this data has been breached within seconds. That, of course, does not reveal whether data has been exploited already. Our number-one cybersecurity tip is that you should not wait for that to happen. You need to be proactive, and you need to do whatever it takes to secure your accounts and the data that has been potentially leaked. Unfortunately, many people feel frozen not knowing what to do after data breaches.

Of course, if you can see changes within your accounts, and you know for sure that they have not been made by you, it is likely that data has been exploited already to take over your account, impersonate you, take out credit or prescriptions in your name, and so on. If you discover such activity, you must secure your accounts, and you must call appropriate parties (e.g., bank, creditor, medical center) that might give you specific cybersecurity tips to follow.

Question 5: How to prevent new data breaches?

The thing is that you might not be able to prevent data breaches, even if you know all of the cybersecurity tips because, in most cases, that does not depend on you. Of course, you can be more cautious about choosing services that are known for good security practices or that do not have a record of multiple data breaches. It is also important to look at how a certain service provider deals with data breaches. Do they report incidents in time? Do they communicate with victims in a time of crisis? What about password security? Is the service provider hashing them, and what type of hashing is used?

Basically, you have to be proactive when learning about the services you are willing to trust with your personal data. Of course, you have to be mindful about what kind of data you share as well. It is always best to share the minimum that is required. This might be the best cybersecurity tip for those obsessed with social media. Our top cybersecurity tip is to stay vigilant and respond to data breaches ASAP. Also, do not act in panic because that is when you are most likely to make mistakes, such as replacing a breached password with a weak alternative. These cybersecurity tips for passwords still hold up, and we strongly recommend following them.

August 27, 2020

Leave a Reply