数据黑客和数据泄露之间有什么区别吗?

您已经听说过数据泄露和数据破解。近年来,新闻界人士一直在互相使用这些词语,但它们是否相同?有相似之处可以肯定,但它们不是一回事。在数字时代,计算机知识比以往任何时候都更重要,了解黑客和违规行为之间的细微差别可能意味着您的私人数据保持私密性并将其泄露到整个互联网上。

什么是黑客以及黑客如何工作?

让我们从黑客入手。我们都看过电视和好莱坞电影中的电脑黑客。穿着黑色的冷酷,反叛的类型疯狂地键入他们的键盘来攻击NSA或CIA或其他什么,但这是否反映了现实?什么是黑客甚至?好吧,黑客是故意攻击你的计算机的防御,这个恶意的第三方旨在获取非法入侵你的系统,其目的是窃取私人或商业信息,他们将出售或用于以后敲诈你。

有时,第三方可能只是一个男人(或女人),也可能是一群黑客一致工作。有两种类型的黑客,那些手动破解系统的人,需要大量的知识和技能,以及所谓的“脚本小子”,他们依靠计算机程序为他们做所有繁重的工作。无论哪种方式,他们都很危险。

然而,重要的是你知道并非所有的黑客都是邪恶的。有两组黑客,白帽子和黑帽子。我不需要告诉你谁是好人,对吧?白帽子适用于软件安全公司,他们的工作是不断测试雇主的在线防御措施,以发现潜在的弱点。黑帽黑客当然是坏人,他们的目标通常是窃取有价值的信息。

黑客事件的例子。

其中一个最臭名昭着的例子是2016年美国总统大选之前的DNC电子邮件丑闻。泄露的电子邮件对希拉里克林顿的竞选活动造成了无法弥补的损害,有人说她要反对唐纳德特朗普的竞选活动。另一个例子是2014年的Home Depot黑客攻击。黑客悄悄地获得了超过7,000个结账登记的支付交易,这使他们获得了超过5000万的信用卡号码。

知道了,那么数据泄露是什么,有什么区别?

另一方面,当恶意第三方(或任何非预期的第三方,实际上)看到意外不安全的信息时,就会发生数据泄露。

违规与黑客之间的主要区别在于黑客是故意攻击的结果,而违规则是人为疏忽造成的。

例如,采取Facebook和剑桥Analytica事件炸毁互联网,迫使马克扎克伯格在国会面前解释自己。数百万Facebook用户通过Facebook获得Cambridge Analytica的私人和公共数据。你认为这是某种违规行为,但事实并非如此。 Cambridge Analytica只是利用Facebook的API(应用程序编程接口的简称)中的一个错误来获取访问权限。没有真正的黑客行为,这只是Facebook的一个错误。对于那些有数据泄露的8700万Facebook用户而言,这是一个小小的安慰。

正如您所看到的,违规与黑客之间的关键区别在于,一方是人为疏忽的结果,而另一方是对您的故意攻击. 了解这种简单的区别是充分保护自己和个人数据的第一步。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 7是什么?

Is There Any Difference Between a Data Hack and a Data Breach?

You've heard of data breaches and data hacks. It's been all over the news in recent years with journalists using the words interchangeably, but are they the same? There are similarities to be sure, but they're not the same thing. In the digital age being computer literate is more important than ever, and understanding the subtle differences between a hack and a breach can mean the difference between your private data staying private and having it leaked all over the internet.

What are hackers and how does hacking work?

Let's start with hacks. We've all seen computer hackers on tv and in Hollywood movies. Cool, rebellious types clad in black furiously typing away at their keyboards to hack the NSA or CIA or whatever, but is that reflective of reality? What is a hack even? Well, a hack is a deliberate attack against your computer's defenses committed by a malevolent third party who aims to gain illegitimate entree into your system with the goal of stealing private or business information, which they will sell or use to blackmail you later.

Sometimes that third party can be just one man (or woman) or it can be a whole group of hackers working in unison. There are two types of hackers out there, the ones who hack systems manually, which requires a great deal of knowledge and skill, and the so-called "script kiddies", who rely on computer programs to do all the heavy lifting for them. Either way, they're dangerous.

However, it's vital you know that not all hackers are evil. There two groups of hackers, the white hats and black hats. I don't need to tell you who the good guys are, right? White hats work for software security firms, and it's their job to constantly test the online defenses of their employers for potential weaknesses. Black hat hackers are, of course, the bad guys, whose goal is to steal valuable information usually.

Examples of hacking incidents.

One of the most infamous examples is the DNC email scandal before the American presidential elections in 2016. The leaked emails dealt irreparable damage to Hillary Clinton's campaign and some say cost her the campaign against Donald Trump. Another example is the Home Depot hack in 2014. The hackers stealthily got access to the payment transactions on more than 7,000 checkout registers, which let them get over 50 million credit card numbers.

Got it, what's a data breach then, and what is the difference?

On the other hand, a data breach happens when information that is accidentally left unsecured is seen by malicious third parties (or any unintended third party, actually).

The main difference between a breach and a hack is that the hack is the result of an intentional attack, while the breach is the result of human negligence.

For example, take the Facebook and Cambridge Analytica incident that blew up the internet and forced Mark Zuckerberg to explain himself in front of the Congress. Millions of Facebook users had their private and public data taken by Cambridge Analytica through Facebook. You'd think this is some kind of breach, but it was not. Cambridge Analytica simply exploited a mistake in Facebook's API (short for application programming interface) to gain access. No actual hacking was involved, it was simply a mistake on Facebook's part. That's small comfort for the 87 million Facebook users, who had their data leaked, though.

As you can see, the key difference between a breach and a hack is that one is the result of human negligence, while the other is an intentional attack on you. Understanding this simple distinction is the first step to adequately protecting yourself and your personal data.

By Nash
June 28, 2018
June 28, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 2 ?