以下是黑客对您的社会安全号码做了什么以及如何保护它

Social Security Number

我们真诚地希望大家完全理解您的社会安全号码应该保密。你必须知道现在很少有组织会要求它,而在你放弃它之前,你必须知道谁在请求它以及它们将要用它做什么。只有这样你才能放弃它,并希望它们能保证安全。他们经常不这样做。

这里只是对一些涉及社会安全号码的最近网络安全事件的快速回顾。上个月,耶鲁大学了解到, 大约十年前 ,网络犯罪分子窃取了大约11.9万人的社会安全人数。同样在7月,人力资源公司CompliRight 宣布它已成为网络攻击的目标,暴露了数量不明的个人的社会安全号码。当然,没有人能够忘记2017年的Equifax违规行为 ,其中有1.43亿社会保障号码落入骗子的手中。

网络犯罪分子显然对九位数字感兴趣。如果没有办法从中受益,他们就不会这样做,今天,我们将看看他们窃取您的社会安全号码后可以做的一些事情。

开立银行账户并申请贷款和信用卡

这是无钱的计划。骗子们以你的名义贷款或获得信用卡,然后开始疯狂购物。当然,他们绝对无意支付账单,这就是为什么,你突然发现自己被一些想要退钱的金融机构追逐。即使你设法说服他们不是你拿走现金并跑了,延迟付款也会破坏你的信用记录,这可能会产生严重后果。

即使他们不发行信用卡或贷款,他们也可以简单地以您的名义开设银行账户,并将其用于各种犯罪活动。最终,警察会来敲你的门,你会有很多解释要做。

申请退税

难道你们都不喜欢政府实际上会给你回复的东西吗?好吧,如果犯罪分子拥有您的社会安全号码,他们就可以取而代之。事实上,税务欺诈猖獗,报告显示每年有数十亿美元的欺诈性退税被错误地发送。

在每个税收季节之前,安全专家都会警告你要小心处理你收到的电子邮件,因为众所周知骗子是网络安全号码,特别是在提交纳税申报表的时候。人们经常被告知不要等到截止日期。如果您提前提交文件,身份窃贼将有更少的时间冒充您并逃走您的钱。

获得医疗帮助

当然,这是一个不太可能的情况,但它是可能的。如果犯罪分子想要掩盖他的身份(例如,他是依法行事)但需要一些医疗照顾,他可以使用您的社会安全号码冒充您. 这将改变您的医疗记录,并且在某些情况下,更改的医疗记录可能会危及生命。

同样,这不像其他可能的攻击那样可能,但后果严重到足以记住它。如果您的社保号码已经被盗,您应该定期检查以确保您的医疗记录没有显示任何异常情况。

身份窃贼可以通过许多其他方式使用您自己的社会安全号码来对付您。不幸的是,一旦号码被盗,你可以做很多事情。

反击的方式并不多

理论上可以向社会保障局索取新号码。然而,在你收到它之前,你需要证明你得到它不是因为你做了非法的事情,而是因为你的旧事件被滥用并且“ 正在给你造成重大的持续伤害” 。这是一个繁琐的过程,即使你设法得到一个新的数字,这可能无法解决你所有的问题。

根据社会保障管理局自己的传单 ,其他政府机构和私人组织可能不会立即获得您的新社会安全号码,这反过来又会使身份盗窃的机会大开。在一个甚至你的灯泡都连接到互联网的世界里,这听起来很奇怪,但它就是它的本质,而且只是另一个理由是要更加注意你的社会安全号码的安全性。

除非您绝对需要,否则请小心与谁共享,并且不要随身携带社会安全卡。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

Here's What Hackers Do with Your Social Security Number and How to Protect It

Social Security Number

We sincerely hope that all of you fully understand that your Social Security number should remain private. You must know by now that few organizations are supposed to ask for it and that before you give it away, you must know who's requesting it and what they're going to do with it exactly. Only then you can give it away and hope that they'll keep it safe. Which they often don't.

Here's just a quick recap of some of the recent cybersecurity incidents that involved Social Security numbers. Last month, Yale University learned that some ten years ago, cybercriminals stole the Social Security numbers of about 119 thousand individuals. Also in July, HR firm CompliRight announced that it had been targeted by a cyberattack which exposed the Social Security numbers of an unknown number of individuals. And of course, nobody can forget the Equifax breach from 2017 during which 143 million Social Security numbers fell into the crooks' hands.

Cybercriminals are clearly interested in the nine-digit numbers. They wouldn't be if there was no way to benefit from them, and today, we'll take a look at some of the things they can do after they steal your Social Security number.

Opening bank accounts and applying for loans and credit cards

It's the money-for-nothing scheme. The crooks take out a loan or get a credit card in your name and embark on a shopping spree. Of course, they have absolutely no intention of paying the bills which is why, you suddenly find yourself being chased by a few financial institutions that want their money back. Even if you manage to persuade them that it wasn't you who took the cash and ran, the delayed payments will ruin your credit history which could have serious consequences down the line.

And even if they don't issue a credit card or take out a loan, they can simply open a bank account in your name and use it for all manner of criminal activities. Eventually, the police will come knocking at your door, and you'll have quite a lot of explaining to do.

Apply for your tax refund

Don't you all long for the moment when the government will actually give you something back? Well, if criminals have your Social Security number, they can get it instead of you. In fact, tax fraud is rampant, and reports suggest that several billion dollars in fraudulent tax refunds are being sent the wrong way every year.

Before every tax season, security experts warn you to be extra careful with the emails you receive because crooks are known to phish for Social Security numbers, especially when the time for filing tax returns comes. People are often advised not to wait for the deadline as well. If you file your documents earlier, the identity thieves will have less time to impersonate you and run away with your money.

Getting medical help

Granted, this is a less likely scenario, but it is possible. If a criminal wants to cover his identity (for example, he's running from the law) but needs some medical attention, he can use your Social Security number to impersonate you. This will alter your medical records, and under certain circumstances, altered medical records could be life-threatening.

Again, this isn't as likely as the rest of the possible attacks, but the consequences are serious enough to keep it in mind. And if you happen to have already had your Social Security number stolen, you should perhaps check regularly to ensure that your medical records don't show any anomalies.

There are numerous other ways in which identity thieves can use your own Social Security number against you. Unfortunately, there aren't that many things you can do once the number is stolen.

Not many ways of fighting back

It is theoretically possible to ask the Social Security Administration for a new number. Before you receive it, however, you'll need to prove that you're getting it not because you're doing something illegal, but because your old one is being abused and "is causing you significant continuing harm." It's a cumbersome process, and even if you do manage to get a new number, this might not solve all your problems.

According to the Social Security Administration's own leaflets, other government agencies and private organizations might not get your new Social Security number immediately which, in turn, leaves the opportunity for identity theft wide open. In a world where even your light bulbs are connected to the Internet, this sounds positively strange, but it is what it is, and it's just one more reason to be extra mindful about the security of your Social Security number.

Be careful who you share it with, and don't carry your Social Security card with you unless you absolutely need to.

By Duran
August 9, 2018
August 9, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 10 ?