過時的MD5如何使您的密碼置於危險之中

MD5 Outdated Hashing Function

5F4DCC3B5AA765D61D8327DEB882CF99 - 對於絕大多數人來說,這可能看起來像一個隨機的字母和數字串。然而,對於追踪人們個人數據的網絡犯罪分子來說,這種特殊的字母數字符號可能是一個非常好的跡象。

5F4DCC3B5AA765D61D8327DEB882CF99是使用MD5進行哈希處理時“密碼”一詞的哈希值,今天,我們將解釋如果在在線數據庫中找到此特定字符串會產生多大的後果。首先,讓我們確保我們熟悉基本概念。

我們已經討論了密碼存儲的重要性,並且我們已經確定散列實際上是處理此類信息的唯一正確方法。

Hashing是一種加密函數,正如您從第一段中看到的那樣,它將密碼轉換為難以辨認的文本字符串。從這個意義上說,它與加密類似,但由於沒有密鑰,因此無法逆轉這一過程。換句話說,您可以使用散列將密碼轉換為符號字符串,但不能將字符串轉換回密碼。從理論上講,這就是使散列成為存儲密碼的最佳方法的原因。不幸的是,現實情況有點複雜。

選擇正確的散列函數的重要性

有許多不同的散列函數(也稱為算法),即使您將它們應用於相同的密碼,它們中的每一個都會產生完全不同的結果。正如您可能猜到的,某些算法比其他算法更安全。 MD5,我們上面提到的功能,可以說是最糟糕的。

MD5於1992年推出,但在四年內,人們開始對其安全性產生懷疑。起初,這些攻擊並不真實,而且使用MD5進行哈希登錄數據的普通用戶並沒有立即發生任何危險。研究仍在繼續,計算機硬件變得更加強大,當然,在2008年,一群加密專家設法使用三台PlayStation 3遊戲機的計算能力打造了MD5簽名的SSL證書。當時,安全行業最知名的公司之一布魯斯施奈爾表示“沒有人應該再使用MD5了”。如今,這些話比以往任何時候都更加真實。

研究人員發現MD5仍在廣泛使用

自加密社區證明MD5的安全性不足以來已有十多年了,您認為在那個時候,人們會意識到使用它是一個壞主意。不幸的是,雖然SSL證書不再與MD5有任何關係,但在最近的黑客攻擊事件中洩露的數據庫確實表明一些在線服務提供商繼續使用古老的哈希函數。

但是,找出他們中有多少人這樣做是不可能的。通常,您不知道密碼是如何存儲的,雖然您可以隨時詢問每個網站運營商,但您不會得到所有這些密碼的回复。. 即使你這樣做,進行可能提供任何有意義數據的規模的調查也是不切實際的。

然而,來自希臘比雷埃夫斯大學的研究人員仍然很好奇,他們組織了一個實驗,可能只是給我們一些網站存儲我們密碼的數據。

今天的大多數網站都建立在開源內容管理系統(CMS)上 - 這些軟件可讓您通過相對易於使用的後端管理面板控制整個在線平台。甚至一些更加個性化的在線服務通常也基於Web應用程序框架 - 預先編寫的計算機代碼,作為網站其餘部分的基礎。

為了避免網站所有者選擇和實施密碼散列機制的麻煩,幾乎所有的CMS和一些應用程序框架都有自己的。希臘的eggheads想知道他們的設計是多麼好。結果並不完全令人鼓舞。

研究人員對49個流行的內容管理系統和47個Web應用程序框架進行了實驗,他們關註三個主要因素 - 哈希算法本身;散列機制是否採用多次迭代;密碼是否在被散列之前被醃製。

默認情況下,13個經過測試的CMS仍依賴MD5進行用戶密碼的散列,還有6個使用SHA1 - 另一個早已被宣佈為過時的功能。有點令人驚訝的是,據報導,據報導,全世界所有網站中佔三分之一的CMS都是依賴MD5的CMS之一。

還有更令人不安的數據。 WordPress可能會使用MD5,但至少它會在對它們進行哈希處理之前對其進行處理,並且哈希函數應用了8000多次,所有這些都使密碼破解者的工作變得更加困難。 18個測試的內容管理系統不使用迭代,7個不使用用戶的密碼。

在Web應用程序框架方面,事情並沒有根本的不同。只有1個測試框架使用MD5,但總共10個依賴弱哈希函數,6個不使用迭代。其中兩個框架不會限制用戶的密碼。

銀色襯裡

很容易讓毫無疑問令人失望的數字聳人聽聞,並說所有使用WordPress的網站都在不安全地存儲密碼。但這是錯誤的。

專家研究的目標是CMS的默認散列機制。每個開發人員都可以將其更改為依賴於更強大功能的不同開發人員。更重要的是,即使散列算法不那麼強大,鹽析和大量迭代仍應足以阻止大多數黑客進入他們的軌道。

該研究確實表明,許多CMS的散列機制並不像它們應該的那樣強大,支持和開發它們的社區應該考慮做20個測試系統已經做的事情 - 使用bcrypt作為默認算法保護人們的密碼。

如果您的易於猜測和廣泛重用的密碼落入壞人手中,那麼不完美的存儲實踐永遠不會成為藉口。因此,普通用戶的優先級應該不同。

July 16, 2019

發表評論

How the Outdated MD5 Can Put Your Passwords at Risk

MD5 Outdated Hashing Function

5F4DCC3B5AA765D61D8327DEB882CF99 – for the vast majority of you, this probably looks like a random string of letters and digits. For cybercriminals going after people's personal data, however, this particular mess of alphanumeric symbols could be a very good sign.

5F4DCC3B5AA765D61D8327DEB882CF99 is the hash value of the word "password" when it's been hashed with MD5, and today, we'll explain just how bad the consequences could be if this particular string is found in an online database. First, however, let's make sure we're familiar with the basic concepts.

We have talked about how important password storage is, and we've established that hashing really is the only proper way to handle this type of information.

Hashing is a cryptographical function which, as you can see from our first paragraph, turns a password into an illegible string of text. In that sense, it's similar to encryption, but because there are no keys, the process can't be reversed. In other words, you can use hashing to turn a password into a string of symbols, but you can't convert the string back to a password. Theoretically speaking, this is what makes hashing the best method for storing passwords. Unfortunately, the reality is a bit more complicated.

The importance of choosing the right hashing function

There are many different hashing functions (also known as algorithms), and even if you apply them to the same password, each and every one of them will produce a completely different result. As you can probably guess, some algorithms are more secure than others. MD5, the function we mentioned above, is arguably the worst of them all.

MD5 was introduced back in 1992, but within four years, people started having doubts about its security. At first, the attacks were not really practical, and regular users who had their login data hashed with MD5 weren't in any immediate danger. Research continued, and computer hardware became more powerful, though, and sure enough, in 2008, a group of cryptography experts managed to forge an MD5-signed SSL certificate using the computational power of just three PlayStation 3 gaming consoles. Back then, Bruce Schneier, one of the most recognizable names in the security industry, said that "no one should be using MD5 anymore". Nowadays, these words ring truer than ever.

Researchers discover that MD5 is still used extensively

It's been more than a decade since the cryptographic community demonstrated just how inadequate MD5's security is, and you'd think that in that time, people would have realized that using it is a bad idea. Unfortunately, while SSL certificates no longer have anything to do with MD5, databases leaked during recent hacking incidents do suggest that some online service providers continue to use the ancient hash function.

Finding out how many of them do it is impossible, though. Usually, you have no idea how your password is stored, and although you can always ask every individual website operator about it, you won't get a response from all of them. And even if you do, conducting a survey on a scale that could provide any sort of meaningful data is just not practical.

Researchers from the University of Piraeus in Greece were still curious, however, and they put together an experiment that might just give us some data on how websites store our passwords.

The majority of today's websites are built on open-source Content Management Systems (CMSs) – software that lets you control an entire online platform through a relatively easy-to-use backend administration panel. Even some of the more customized online services are usually based on web application frameworks – prewritten computer code that acts as the foundation for the rest of the website.

To spare website owners the trouble of choosing and implementing password hashing mechanisms, virtually all CMSs and some of the application frameworks come with their own. The Greek eggheads wanted to find out how well designed they were. The results were not exactly encouraging.

The researchers experimented on 49 popular content management systems and 47 web application frameworks, and they focused on three main factors – the hashing algorithm itself; whether or not the hashing mechanism employs multiple iterations; and whether or not passwords are salted before they get hashed.

By default, 13 of the tested CMSs still rely on MD5 for the hashing of users' passwords, and a further 6 make use of SHA1 – another function that has long been declared obsolete. Somewhat surprisingly, WordPress, the CMS that is reportedly powering about a third of all the websites in the world, is among the ones relying on MD5.

There's more disturbing data. WordPress might use MD5, but at least it salts the passwords before hashing them, and the hashing function is applied more than 8 thousand times all of which makes the password crackers' job much harder. 18 of the tested content management systems employ no iterations, and 7 don't salt users' passwords.

Things are not radically different when it comes to web application frameworks. Only 1 of the tested frameworks uses MD5, but 10 in total rely on weak hashing functions, and 6 use no iterations. Two of the frameworks don't salt users' passwords.

The silver lining

It is rather easy to sensationalize the undoubtedly disappointing figures and to say that all the websites using WordPress, for example, are storing passwords insecurely. That would be wrong, though.

The target of the experts' research was the CMS' default hashing mechanism. Every developer can change it for a different one that relies on a more robust function. What's more, salting and a large number of iterations should still be enough to stop most of the hackers in their tracks, even if the hashing algorithm is not that robust.

The research does show that the hashing mechanisms of many CMSs aren't as strong as they should be, and the communities that support and develop them should probably think about doing what 20 of the tested systems already do – employ bcrypt as the default algorithm for protecting people's passwords.

The less-than-perfect storage practices can never be an excuse if your easy-to-guess and extensively reused password falls into the wrong hands, though. So, the priorities for the regular user should be different.

June 21, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 8 ?