这是当Sprint承包商暴露AT&T,T-Mobile和Verizon Bills时发生的情况

Sprint Contractor Data Leak

总部位于佐治亚州的营销和传播公司Deardorff Communications在其网站上 (一个不相关的注解是通过HTTP而不是HTTPS加载的)表示,其团队在包括战略计划,销售,广告等。不幸的是,在配置Amazon Web Service存储桶时,他们缺乏专业知识。

Deardorff的一名员工将一百万个文档中的四分之一放在一个Amazon S3存储桶中,未能设置密码,并且忘记将可访问性设置从“公共”更改为“私有”。结果,可以从世界任何地方查看存储桶及其中的所有文件。毫不奇怪,有一次,来自一家名为Fidus Information Security的渗透测试公司的研究人员发现梵蒂冈的新eRosary 的安全漏洞以及Magic:The Gathering的发布者的数据泄漏 ,最终发现了Deardorff的存储桶。

电话费和大量敏感信息被遗漏在外

存储桶中有26万多份文档,其中大多数是属于AT&T,T-Mobile和Verizon订户的手机账单。 Deardorff收集了所有这些文件,因为他们最大的客户之一Sprint希望说服订户更改其手机服务提供商。根据其中一份文件,Sprint甚至准备支付提早终止费用,只是为了确保有更多人使用其服务。

电话账单本身会透露很多个人信息和联系方式,并且通常还包含通话记录,有些人可能不希望与世界其他地方共享。除了所有这些,研究人员还发现了银行对帐单和屏幕截图,其中显示了未知数量用户的在线用户名,密码和PIN。

起初,不清楚谁公开了数据。在找到存储桶后不久,专家通知了亚马逊,亚马逊与数据的所有者取得了联系并使其脱机。但是,出于法律原因,亚马逊拒绝告诉Fidus泄漏的责任人。

数据是与TechCrunch的Zack Whittaker共享的,后者通过元数据检查器运行了一些文件,并得知它可能是Deardorff所拥有。营销公司总裁杰夫·迪亚多夫(Jeff Deardorff)承认泄漏是由他的一名员工负责的,并承诺他将竭尽所能找出问题出在哪里,以及将来可以采取哪些措施来防止类似事件的发生。

这样的数据泄漏太普遍了

你们中的某些人可能说这绝不是最可怕的数据安全事件,而且许多其他文档可能更加危险。快速浏览一下您最近的常规电话账单,您会发现,看起来像一张无害的纸实际上包含的信息很容易导致身份盗用。在这种特殊情况下,Deardorff还泄露了订户的密码和PIN码,这增加了诸如SIM交换凭证填充之类的攻击风险。

真正的问题是每天都会发生类似的泄漏。通常,它们是由容易避免和相当简单的配置错误引起的,但是缺乏教育意味着IT人员在承担安全存储用户数据的任务时不知道该怎么办。

迪亚多夫没有透露这个水桶什么时候首次向公众开放,也没有人可以确认网络罪犯是否在脱机之前就设法找到了它。扎克·惠特克(Zack Whittaker)要求AT&T,Verizon和T-Mobile提出进一步的评论,但他没有得到实质性的答复,这很可能是因为这三家电信提供商根本没有补充。结果是,我们不知道有多少人可能受到泄漏的影响,这意味着,如果您是AT&T,Verizon或T-Mobile的订户,或者如果您已将他们从Sprint切换到Sprint,则可能要当心任何欺诈或身份盗用的迹象。

December 6, 2019

发表评论

Here's What Happens When a Sprint Contractor Exposes AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon Bills

Sprint Contractor Data Leak

On its website (which, on an unrelated note, is loaded through HTTP, and not HTTPS), Deardorff Communications, a marketing and communications company based in Georgia, says that its team is highly experienced in a variety of fields, including strategic planning, sales, advertising, etc. Unfortunately, when it comes to configuring Amazon Web Service storage buckets, their expertise is lacking a bit.

A Deardorff employee put a little over a quarter of a million documents in an Amazon S3 bucket, failed to set a password, and forgot to change the accessibility settings from "public" to "private". As a result, the bucket, along with all the files in it, could be viewed from anywhere in the world. Not surprisingly, at one point, researchers from a penetration testing company called Fidus Information Security, the same people who revealed a security flaw in the Vatican's new eRosary as well as a data leak by Magic: The Gathering's publisher, ended up looking at Deardorff's bucket.

Phone bills and plenty of sensitive information left out in the open

There were a little over 260 thousand documents in the bucket, and the majority of them were cell phone bills that belonged to AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon subscribers. Deardorff collected all these files because Sprint, one of their biggest customers, wanted to persuade subscribers to change their cell phone service provider. According to one of the documents, Sprint was even prepared to pay the early termination fees, just to ensure that more people are using its services.

The phone bills themselves reveal quite a lot of personal information and contact details, and they also often contain call logs, which some people probably prefer not to share with the rest of the world. In addition to all this, the researchers also found a bank statement and a screenshot that revealed the online usernames, passwords, and PINs of an unknown number of subscribers.

At first, it wasn't clear who had exposed the data. Shortly after finding the bucket, the experts notified Amazon, which got in touch with the data's owner and had it taken offline. For legal reasons, however, Amazon refused to tell Fidus who was responsible for the leak.

The data was shared with Zack Whittaker from TechCrunch, though, who ran some of the files through a metadata checker and learned that it was probably owned by Deardorff. Jeff Deardorff, the marketing company's president, admitted that one of his employees was responsible for the leak and promised that he'd do what he can to figure out what went wrong and what can be done to prevent similar incidents in the future.

Data leaks like this are far too common

Some of you might say that this is far from the most horrific data security incident and that many other documents can be far more dangerous. A quick look at your latest regular phone bill reveals, however, that what looks like an innocuous piece of paper actually contains information that can easily lead to identity theft. In this particular case, Deardorff also revealed subscribers' passwords and PIN numbers, which increases the risk of attacks like SIM swapping and credential stuffing.

The real problem is that similar leaks happen on a daily basis. More often than not, they are caused by easily avoidable and fairly simple configuration mistakes, but lack of education means that IT people don't know what to do when they're tasked with securely storing users' data.

Deardorff didn't say when the bucket was first opened to the public, and nobody can confirm whether or not cybercriminals managed to get to it before it was taken offline. Zack Whittaker asked AT&T, Verizon, and T-Mobile for further comment, but he received nothing substantial, most likely because the three telecommunication providers simply don't have anything to add. The upshot is, we don't know how many people were potentially affected by the leak, which means that if you're an AT&T, Verizon, or T-Mobile subscriber or if you have switched from them to Sprint, you might want to watch out for any signs of fraud or identity theft.

December 9, 2019

Leave a Reply