SIM交换攻击 - 从你的比特币到你的Instagram账户窃取所有东西

SIM Swapping

您经常看到和听到人们将密码与物理密钥进行比较。虽然相似之处很明显,但还是有很多区别。例如,没有钥匙,您将无法打开门。但是,无需密码也可以访问帐户,这全都归功于称为SIM交换的攻击。

什么是SIM卡交换?

也被称为SIM劫持或端口骗局,可以公平地说,它具有描述性更强的名称之一。这是劫持受害者手机号码并与其他SIM卡一起使用的行为。 SIM交换已经存在了几年,尽管它尚未引起主流媒体的广泛关注,但它似乎越来越流行,尤其是我们很快就会发现,新兴的网络犯罪分子正在不断涌现。

它是怎么运行的?

SIM卡交换是一种身份盗用,现在您应该知道,骗子可以访问您的数据这一事实使身份盗用成为可能。毫不奇怪,在这种情况下,他们需要您的姓名,手机号码,在某些情况下还需要其他一些详细信息。目前尚不清楚确切的机制是什么,但是最近主板调查表明,安全预防措施和解决它们的技术都在不断发展。

几年前,骗子会在泄漏的数据库中找到受害者的信息,并致电承运人。他们会冒充受害者,声称他们丢失了SIM卡。他们会说他们又有一个,并要求将该号码移植到该号码上。那时,运营商的安全协议还不够完善。客户服务代表会要求提供受害者的社会安全号码或家庭住址,黑客会提供该号码或该住所,然后运营商会很乐意将该号码移植到错误的SIM卡上。

不少人被烧死了,为避免进一步的问题,移动服务提供商别无选择,只能更新身份验证机制。游戏变脏了。骗子开始贿赂运营商员工,这些员工帮助非法移走了很多人的手机号码。腐败的工人也为合作提供了很多现金-每位受害者80至100美元。

SIM卡交换有什么用?

执法部门正在认真对待SIM卡交换,而且代理机构一直在一群犯罪分子的追踪之下,这些犯罪分子利用这种技术欺骗了很多人。上个月,他们逮捕了20岁的乔尔·奥尔蒂斯Joel Ortiz) ,据称他劫持了大约40个人的手机号码。 8月17日,年仅19岁的Xzavier Narvaez 被带入质疑大规模SIM交换操作。基本上,您可以让青少年接触到他人的电话号码。不幸的是,结果远不止几次恶作剧。

不久前,像Google这样的在线服务提供商开始允许您将电话号码添加到您的帐户中。这并不是毫无意义的跟踪和数据收集. 这样的想法是,如果您失去对个人资料的访问权限,则Google可以通过短信或电话来验证您的身份。 SIM交换器现在滥用了相同的确切帐户恢复机制。

当他们成功劫持电话号码时,骗子需要迅速采取行动,因为在切断受害者之前,运营商会发送有关更新的SIM卡的文本通知。据报道,SIM交换者使用被劫持的号码来访问受害者的电子邮件,然后他们着手重置其他在线帐户的密码。他们行动很快,几乎没有时间作出反应。由于骗子获得了受害者的所有短信和电话,因此经常会绕过两步验证。

但是,SIM卡交换程序并不只针对任何人。母公司的调查报告说,在一个熙熙online的在线市场上,被盗的带有诸如“ @彩虹”之类的有趣句柄的Instagram帐户以数百甚至数千美元的价格被买卖。

说到Instagram,前面提到的Xzavier Narvaez做到了任何19岁的年轻人都会做的-他使用图像共享平台向世界展示了他的新超级跑车有多昂贵。执法人员怀疑他可能是用SIM卡交换了一些知名加密货币交易商的电话号码后偷走的比特币购买的。今年四月,一个这样的交易员迈克尔松节油的名义去提起诉讼,反对AT&T声称,由于运营商的安全性差的做法,他的牺牲品SIM卡交换攻击,花费了他超过$ 20百万价值cryptocurrency的。

骗子越来越喜欢SIM卡交换,必须说,这不足为奇。所需的技能与潜在的收益之比对他们来说非常好,而且显而易见的是,移动服务提供商的能力不足以阻止攻击。希望这种情况很快会改变。

April 30, 2019

发表评论

SIM Swapping Attacks – Stealing Everything from Your Bitcoins to Your Instagram Accounts

SIM Swapping

You often see and hear people compare a password to a physical key. While it's obvious where the parallels come from, there are quite a few differences. For example, without the key, you can't unlock the door. Gaining access to an account without the password is possible, however, and it's all thanks to an attack called SIM swapping.

What is SIM Swapping?

Also known as SIM hijacking or a port out scam, it's fair to say that it has one of the more descriptive names. It's the act of hijacking a victim's cell phone number and using it with a different SIM card. SIM swapping has been around for a few years now, and although it has yet to receive significant mainstream media attention, it appears to be growing in popularity, especially as we'll find out in a minute, with budding teenage cybercriminals.

How does it all work?

SIM swapping is a type of identity theft, and as you should know by now, identity theft is made possible by the fact that crooks have access to your data. Not surprisingly, in this instance, they need your name, your cell phone number, and in some cases, a few other details. It's still not clear what the exact mechanisms are, but a recent Motherboard investigation suggests that both the security precautions and the techniques for going around them are evolving.

A couple of years ago, the crooks would find the victim's information in a leaked database and call the carrier. They would impersonate the victim claiming that they have lost their SIM card. They would say that they've got another one and would request that the number is ported to it. Back then, the carriers' security protocols were less than perfect. The customer service representative would ask for the victim's Social Security Number or home address, the hackers would provide it, and the carrier would happily port the number to the wrong SIM card.

Quite a few people got badly burned, and to avoid further problems the mobile service providers had no choice but to update the authentication mechanisms. The game got dirty. The crooks started bribing carrier employees who helped illegally port out the cell phone numbers of quite a few people. The corrupt workers got quite a lot of cash for their cooperation as well – between $80 and $100 per victim.

What is SIM swapping used for?

Law enforcement is taking SIM swapping seriously, and agencies have been on the trail of a group of criminals that have defrauded quite a lot of people using this technique. Last month, they arrested 20-year-old Joel Ortiz who allegedly hijacked the cell phone numbers of around 40 individuals. On August 17, Xzavier Narvaez who is just 19 years old, was brought in for questioning with regards to a large-scale SIM swapping operation. Basically, you've got teenagers getting their hands on someone else's phone number. Unfortunately, the results are far more serious than a few prank calls.

A while ago, online service providers like Google started letting you add your phone number to your account. It's not meaningless tracking and data collection. The idea is that if you ever lose access to your profile, Google will be able to verify you via a text message or a call to the number you've provided. The same exact account recovery mechanism is now abused by the SIM swappers.

When they successfully hijack the phone number, the crooks need to act quickly because before cutting the victim off, the carrier sends a text notification regarding the updated SIM card. According to reports, SIM swappers use the hijacked number to gain access to the victim's email, and they then go about resetting the passwords for other online accounts. They move fairly quickly and leave almost no time for reaction. Because the crooks get all the victim's texts and calls, two-factor authentication is often bypassed.

SIM swappers don't target just anyone, though. Motherboard's investigation reported on a bustling online marketplace where stolen Instagram accounts with interesting handles like "@Rainbow" are bought and sold for hundreds and sometimes thousands of dollars.

Speaking of Instagram, the aforementioned Xzavier Narvaez did what any 19-year-old would do – he used the image sharing platform to show the world how expensive his new supercar is. Law enforcement officers suspect that he may have bought it with bitcoins which he stole after SIM swapping the phone numbers of a few high-profile cryptocurrency traders. In April, one such trader going by the name of Michael Terpin filed a lawsuit against AT&T alleging that because of the carrier's poor security practices, he fell victim to a SIM swapping attack that cost him more than $20 million worth of cryptocurrency.

Crooks are falling deeper in love with SIM swapping which, it must be said, is hardly a surprise. The required-skills-to-potential-gains ratio is great for them, and it's blatantly obvious that mobile service providers are not doing enough to thwart the attacks. Here's hoping that this will soon change.

August 24, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 6 ?