用户收到iCloud违反电话:为什么Apple不宣布其安全违反

众所周知,受数据泄露影响的用户了解得越快,他们就可以更快地采取措施来防止黑客滥用可能泄漏的数据。对于经历数据泄露的公司,通常的做法是发布说明发生了什么的声明,并在需要时通过电子邮件分别通知每个受影响的用户。因此,像苹果这样的大公司选择通过电话与客户联系,而不是发布有关所谓的iCloud数据泄露的声明,这似乎很奇怪。事实是没有声明,因为事件从未发生。这意味着,拨打iCloud违规电话的不是苹果的代表,而是骗子。在此博客文章中,我们讨论了iCloud违规电话骗局背后的人们可能如何欺骗您,以及如何避免陷入此类骗局。

假苹果电话会带来什么?

诈骗者可能声称该公司经历了大规模的数据泄露,并且黑客获得了访问其客户的iCloud帐户的权限。如果您启用了双重身份验证,则诈骗者可能会要求您告诉他们您的帐户密码和验证码。他们可能会说他们需要此信息来帮助您保护帐户。但是,如果您向他们提供此信息,他们可以接管您的iCloud帐户。

而且,某些用户可能会被告知有人正在尝试访问其iCloud帐户,并且他们需要Apple技术人员的帮助以阻止黑客这样做。这种电话称为技术支持诈骗 。通常,要求用户提供对其计算机的远程访问,以便声称是技术人员的人员可以解决此问题。当然,该问题并不存在,因此,实际上,黑客可能会在您的系统上安装恶意软件或窃取您的敏感信息时,假装自己正在解决问题。永远记住,技术支持绝不会要求您访问计算机。更不用说仅当用户通过电话请求帮助时,它才应呼叫。

如何保护自己免受骗局?

识别诈骗者的电话可能并非易事。黑客可以操纵呼叫者ID,以便显示特定组织的名称。一些收到虚假Apple呼叫的用户报告说,呼叫者ID为Apple ,显示的号码是公司的实际电话号码。因此,用户应始终牢记,无论呼叫者ID说什么,实际上,他们都可能与骗子打交道。此外,诈骗者可能已经了解有关您的一些信息,例如您来自哪里,您的电子邮件地址或任何其他可以帮助他们建立信任并使其看起来像是合法呼叫的信息。

质疑公司电话

说实话,企业和其他组织很少打电话给他们的客户。即使他们这样做,他们也从来不会在电话中询问敏感信息。因此,如果敦促您放弃敏感信息或个人详细信息,则应挂断电话。挂断电话后,您应该找到组织的电话号码,打电话给它,并询问您刚刚与假定的技术人员或其他工人的交谈是否合法。

搜索信息

如果您不确定通话是否合法,也可以搜索Internet。诈骗者可能会觉得您必须立即采取行动,但事实是总是有时间检查事实。因此,请他们回电并寻找证据。例如,在这种情况下,您可以在首选的搜索引擎中输入诸如iCloud违规呼叫之类的关键字。如果是骗局,您可能会发现收到过此类电话的其他人的举报和推荐,并认为这些举报来自诈骗者。

问问自己是否有意义

例如,可能会被告知收到iCloud违规呼叫的用户,黑客在最近的一次数据违规期间窃取了他们的iCloud帐户的密码。接下来,可能会要求他们提供其帐户的密码和验证码。在这种情况下询问您的密码是否有意义?答案是不。如果确实在数据泄露期间泄露了密码,则公司应敦促您更改密码,而不是要求您将密码提供给他们。他们无法为您执行此操作,因为他们会知道您的密码,并且您是唯一应该知道该密码的人。因此,在任何情况下都要求透露密码是不可能的。

接到骗局电话后,您还应该采取其他预防措施吗?

如果您认为自己已将诸如密码之类的敏感信息提供给黑客,则应在锁定帐户之前立即进行更改。当然,新密码必须完全不同,否则黑客可能能够破解它。另外,专家建议使用随机 的大小写字母数字符号以及至少10-12个字符来制作。如果您不认为可以提出这样的组合或可以,但又不想记住,建议您使用Cyclonis Password Manager之类的工具。它可以生成最多32个字符的复杂组合,而且最重要的是,它可以确保它们对您的安全,因此您无需记住它们。

如果您泄露了其他敏感信息,则应通知应该意识到的敏感信息,并可以为您提供帮助。例如,如果您共享银行详细信息,则应致电您的银行并告知他们发生了什么事情。这些事情一直发生,因此您的银行应该已经准备好一份安全预防措施清单,可以建议您,并告诉您是否需要更改任何登录凭据,甚至来银行。

总而言之,Apple最近没有遇到任何数据泄露事件,如果您收到电话,电子邮件或其他声称有此消息的消息,则应假定这是一个骗局。识别此类骗局可能并不容易,但是如果您始终牢记本文中提供的提示,那么将来识别不可靠的电话,电子邮件和消息应该会更容易。有关针对Apple用户的骗局的更多信息,建议您在此处阅读。

September 24, 2020

发表评论

Users Receive iCloud Breach Calls: Why Apple Does Not Announce Its Security Breach

It is known that the faster users who are affected by a data breach learn about it, the quicker they can take actions that would prevent hackers from misusing the possibly leaked data. It is a common practice for companies that experience data breaches to release statements explaining what happened and inform each affected user individually via email if needed. Thus, it might seem strange that a huge company like Apple chooses to contact its customers over the phone and does not release a statement about the supposed iCloud data breach. The truth is that there is no statement because the incident never happened. Meaning, the ones making iCloud breach calls are not Apple’s representatives, but scammers. In this blog post, we talk about how people behind the iCloud breach call scam may try to trick you and how not to fall for such scams.

What to expect from the fake Apple calls?

Scammers might claim that the company has experienced a massive data breach and that hackers gained access to its customers’ iCloud accounts. The scammers may ask you to tell them your account’s password and your verification code if you have Two-Factor authentication enabled. They may say they need this information to help you protect your account. However, if you give them this information, they can take over your iCloud account.

What’s more, some users might be told that someone is trying to access their iCloud accounts and that they need help from Apple technicians to stop hackers from doing so. Such phone calls are called technical support scams. Usually, users are asked to provide remote access to their computers so that the person claiming to be a technician could fix the problem. Of course, the problem does not exist, so hackers might pretend to be fixing issues when, in reality, they could be installing malware on your system or stealing your sensitive information. Always remember that technical support would never ask you for access to your computer. Not to mention that it should call only if a user requests help over the phone.

How to protect yourself from scams?

Recognizing calls from scammers might not be an easy task. Hackers can manipulate the caller ID so that it would show a particular organization’s name. Some users who received the fake Apple calls reported that the caller ID said Apple and that the displayed number was the actual company’s telephone number. Thus, users should always keep in mind that no matter what the caller ID says, in reality, they could be dealing with scammers. Moreover, scammers might already know some things about you, like where you are from, your email address, or anything else that could help them establish trust and make it seem like their call is legitimate.

Question unsuspected company phone calls

Truth be told, businesses and other organizations rarely call their customers. Even if they do, they never ask for sensitive information during a phone call. Thus, if you are urged to give up your sensitive information or personal details, you should hang up the phone. Once you hang up, you should find the organization’s telephone number, call it, and ask if the conversation you just had with the supposed technician or other worker was legit.

Search for information

You can also search the Internet if you are not sure whether a call is legitimate or not. Scammers might make it feel like you have to take immediate action, but the truth is that there is always time to check facts. Thus, ask them to call you back and look for proof. For instance, in this case, you could enter keywords like iCloud breach call into your preferred search engine. If it is a scam, you may find out reports and testimonials of other people who have received such calls and believe them to be from scammers.

Ask yourself if it makes sense

For example, users who receive the iCloud breach calls might be told that hackers stole their iCloud accounts' passwords during a recent data breach. Next, they might be asked to provide their accounts' passwords and verification codes. Does it make sense to ask you for your password in such a situation? The answer is no. If your password was indeed leaked during a data breach, the company should urge you to change your password instead of asking you to give it to them. They cannot do it for you because they would know your password, and you are the only one who is supposed to know it. Thus, asking to reveal a password is never okay under any circumstances.

Should you take any extra precautions after receiving a scam call?

If you think you gave your sensitive information like passwords to hackers, you should change them immediately before being locked out of your account. Of course, the new password has to be completely different, or else hackers might be able to crack it. Also, specialists advise making it from random lower-case and upper-case letters, numbers, and symbols as well as using at least 10-12 characters. If you do not think you can come up with such a combination or can, but do not think you could memorize it, we advise using a tool like Cyclonis Password Manager. It can generate complex combinations from up to 32 characters, and, most importantly, it can keep them safe for you so you would not have to memorize them.

If you revealed other sensitive information, you should inform companies or institutions that should be aware of it and can assist you. For example, if you shared your banking details, you should call your bank and inform them about what happened. Such things happen all the time, so your bank should already have a list of safety precautions ready to recommend to you and tell you if you need to change any login credentials or even come to the bank.

To conclude, Apple did not experience any data breaches lately, and if you receive calls, emails, or messages claiming otherwise, you should assume that it is a scam. It might not be easy to recognize such scams, but if you keep our tips provided in this article always in your mind, it should become easier to identify shady phone calls, emails, and messages in the future. For more information about scams targeted at Apple users, we recommend reading here.

September 25, 2020

Leave a Reply