图形密码是否比文本密码更安全?

您听说过图形密码吗?他们现在都很风行。大多数人都不喜欢创建书面密码,这已不是什么秘密。根据SplashData的说法,最常用的密码是“密码”。那应该告诉您大多数人在构造新密码方面有多糟糕。安全研究人员一直试图创建一种对普通用户来说更简单却又有效的新型密码也就不足为奇了。

现在,您可能想知道“为什么要重新发明轮子?”好吧,您会看到字母表虽然可能是人类历史上最重要的作品之一,但对我们而言并不是真正自然的事物。我们已经发展为图像和图案识别,而不是记住书写。正如您在智商测试中可以轻易看到的那样,人类的智能与模式识别无疑息息相关。聪明的人能够发现不同类型的模式,然后将其可视化为可操作的步骤。从本质上讲,聪明才是能够记住比其他人更多的模式的问题。

这就是为什么我们用图像而不是文字来教孩子。比起诸如文字之类的抽象概念,我们的大脑更擅长处理图像。早在80年代和90年代,当恐龙在地球上漫游时,使用书面字符作为密码是有意义的。这项技术对于其他任何东西都太过局限了,但是如今,我们拥有功能强大的计算机屏幕,电视,手机,平板电脑和其他各种设备,可以显示您可以想到的每一个图像。这是图形密码的来源。

什么是图形密码?

我很高兴你问。 Ilesanmi Olade撰写的论文SemanticLock详细解释了这个概念。基本上,这种想法是,与其以难以记住或猜测的方式来布置一堆字符,用户可以改为布置一组图像来讲述一个对其具有一定意义的故事。因此,您可以写一组图像来代替写“ password”或“ 123456”。当今的智能手机的屏幕足够大,可以一次显示数十个图标。

图形密码已经开发了近十年了,但是使Ilesanmi Olade的概念与其他概念区分开的是用图像讲故事的想法,该想法与我们的大脑进行模式识别的方式保持同步。

但是,图形密码仍仅处于概念阶段。全面开发该概念并大规模应用将需要时间,但是该概念本身已在使用中。我们已经在手机上使用了与图形密码类似的东西以及基于模式的解锁屏幕。它们比PIN更容易,更难破解,因此表明了图形密码的优点。但是,基于模式的解锁方法容易受到所谓的污迹攻击,这种攻击依靠我们手指在屏幕上的轨迹来猜测模式,因此请确保保持屏幕清洁。

SemanticLock对基于模式,PIN和基于故事的密码进行了测试。结果是,虽然基于模式的密码最快,但与PIN码相比,它们的错误率也更高。然而,更重要的是,基于故事的图形密码最容易记住,只有10%的测试对象忘记了他们的密码。

May 20, 2019

Will Graphical Passwords Be More Secure Online Than the Text Password?

Have you heard of graphical passwords? They're all the rage right now. It's no secret that most people suck at creating written passwords. According to SplashData, the most used password is, well, "password". That should tell you just how bad most people are at making up new passwords. It's no surprise security researchers have been trying to create a new type of password that's a bit simpler for the average user, yet just as effective.

Now, you may be wondering "Why re-invent the wheel?" Well, you see the alphabet, while probably one of the most important creations in human history, isn't really the most natural thing for us. We've evolved for image and pattern recognition, not to remember writing. Human intelligence is unarguably linked to pattern recognition as you can easily see on IQ tests. Smart people are able to spot different types of patterns and then visualize themĀ into actionable steps. Essentially, being intelligent is a matter of being able to remember more patterns than other people.

That's why we teach children with images instead of with words. Our brains are better equipped with to deal with images than with abstract concepts like written words. Back in the 80s and 90s when dinosaurs roamed the Earth it made sense to use written characters as passwords. The technology was simply too limited for anything else, but these days we have powerful computer screens, TVs, mobile phones, tablets, and all kinds of other devices that can display every image you can think off. This is where graphical passwords come in.

What are graphical passwords?

I'm so glad you asked. SemanticLock, a paper written by Ilesanmi Olade, explains the concept in detail. Basically, the idea is that instead of arranging a bunch of characters in ways that are difficult to remember or guess the user could instead arrange a group of images to tell a story that holds some meaning to them. So instead of writing "password" or "123456", you could arrange a group of images instead. Today's smartphones have screens large enough to display dozens of icons at a time.

Graphical passwords have been in development for close to a decade now, but what separates Ilesanmi Olade's concept from the rest is the idea of telling a story with the images, which works in sync with the way our brains do pattern recognition.

Graphical passwords are still only in the concept stage, however. It will take time to fully develop the idea and apply on a large scale, but the concept itself is already in use. We already use something similar to graphical passwords with pattern-based unlock screens on our phones. They're easier than PINs and much harder to crack, so that shows the idea of graphical passwords has merit. However, pattern-based unlock methods are vulnerable to the so-called smudge attacks, which rely on the trails of our fingers on the screen to guess the pattern, so be sure to keep your screen clean.

SemanticLock ran tests on pattern-based, PINs, and story-based passwords. The results were that while pattern-based passwords were quickest, they also had a higher rate of errors than PIN codes. More importantly, however, graphical story-based passwords were the easiest to remember with only 10 percent of test subject forgetting their passwords.

August 1, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 3 ?