懶惰的密碼習慣和重用是大多數人認為但不應該採取的猖獗問題

reusing password lazy habits

我們最近進行了一項調查,期間我們讓275名美國人告訴我們他們如何對待他們的密碼。除此之外,我們了解到,對於大多數人來說,密碼是一種麻煩。當您考慮到大多數參與者表示他們使用11到40個需要密碼的網站和服務時,這不應該是一個驚喜。跟踪所有這些數據並非易事,這就是為什麼用戶一直在尋找解決問題的方法。

很可能,您和我們調查中的人一樣,也有十幾個帳戶需要擔心,而且您也可能一直在尋找一種有效的方法來處理它們。問題是,我們的調查結果表明,您可能選擇的解決方案並不完美。看看人們做了什麼,看看你是否能發現自己的一些做法。

密碼重用很猖獗

高達83%的人重複使用密碼 ,只有超過2%的受訪者承認他們對所有帳戶使用相同的密碼。超過三分之一(35.9%)的重用密碼在5%到25%的案例中,17.6%在26%到50%的案例中重複使用。 14%的參與者重複使用密碼佔51%至75%的帳戶,13.5%的參與者在76%至99%的時間內使用密碼。

現在應該非常清楚, 密碼重用是人們犯下的最大網絡安全錯誤之一 。不幸的是,它也是最常見的一種。

密碼的大量重用引發了一種稱為憑證填充的攻擊,在此期間,騙子從一個網站竊取密碼,然後使用它來破壞多個帳戶。但是,在某些情況下,密碼根本不需要被盜。可以猜到。

人們仍然使用簡單,易於猜測的密碼

您可能聽說過密碼應該是長而復雜的字母,數字和字符的隨機字符串,但我們的調查顯示用戶沒有密碼。統計數字令人震驚。

34%的受訪者使用他們的貓或狗的名字作為他們的密碼。 33%依靠簡單的數字組合,如“123456”,少於30%使用常用詞,添加“1”或“!”當遇到更嚴格的密碼規則時。人們在創建密碼時傾向於考慮的其他事項包括兒童和親戚的名字,出生日期和學校吉祥物。不到17%的受訪者使用密碼生成器,可以生成真正獨特的隨機密碼。結果是,儘管有很多警告,人們繼續使用可怕的易於猜測的密碼。當然,這是有原因的。有些人可以得出結論,這些做法來自於一些用戶未能創建複雜密碼的懶惰氣氛。其他人可能只是認為創建一個強密碼是沒有必要的. 但是,使用強密碼至關重要,有助於防止數據洩露案件或幫助防止黑客在我們稱之為互聯網的巨大高速公路上滲透個人帳戶。

密碼存儲仍然是一個問題

超過一半(54%)參與我們調查的人試圖記住他們的密碼,大致相同的百分比未能做到這意味著他們被迫每年重置密碼四次或更多次。 28%的受訪者每年重複過程十次以上。

那些不依賴於他們的大腦來跟踪所有密碼的人參與其他不太理想的實踐。 22%的參與者使用他們瀏覽器的集成密碼管理器,有些人將他們的密碼寫在紙上。只有12%的受訪者使用專用的密碼管理應用程序來加密和組織他們的登錄數據。

我們Cyclonis認為這應該改變。此外,我們認為,無論是在便利性還是金錢方面,這種變化都應該為用戶免費提供。這就是我們創建Cyclonis密碼管理器的原因 - 這是一款免費工具,可幫助您跟踪密碼,信用卡和個人資料信息,以及您可能想要組織的任何其他敏感數據。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 8是什麼?

Lazy Password Habits and Reuse are a Rampant Issues That Most People Take for Granted but Shouldn't

reusing password lazy habits

We recently conducted a survey during which we asked 275 Americans to tell us how they treat their passwords. Among other things, we learned that for most people, passwords are a nuisance. This shouldn't really be a surprise when you consider the fact that most of the participants said that they use between 11 and 40 websites and services that require a password. Keeping track of all this data is no easy task which is why users have been looking for ways around the problem.

In all likelihood, you, like the people in our survey, also have more than a dozen accounts to worry about, and you too have probably been looking for an efficient way of handling them all. The problem is, the results of our survey show that you've likely chosen a solution that's less than perfect. Take a look at what people do and see if you can spot some of your own practices in there.

Password reuse is rampant

A whopping 83% of people reuse passwords, and just over 2% of the surveyed admit that they use the same password for all their accounts. More than one in three (35.9%) reuse passwords in between 5% and 25% of the cases, 17.6% do it in 26% to 50% of the cases. 14% of the participants reuse passwords for between 51% and 75% of their accounts, and 13.5% do it between 76% and 99% of the time.

It should be abundantly clear by now that password reuse is one of the biggest cybersecurity mistakes people make. Unfortunately, it's also one of the most common ones.

The prolific reuse of passwords has given birth to an attack called credential stuffing during which crooks steal a password from one website and then use it to compromise multiple accounts. In some cases, however, the password doesn't need to be stolen at all. It can be guessed.

People still use simple, easy-to-guess passwords

You've probably heard that passwords should be long, complex, random strings of letters, numbers, and characters, but our survey shows that users are having none of it. The statistics are quite shocking.

34% of the interviewed use their cat or dog's name as their password. 33% rely on simple number combinations like "123456" and a little less than 30% use common words, adding a "1" or an "!" when confronted by stricter password rules. Other things people tend to think about when creating their passwords include names of children and relatives, birthdates, and school mascots. Less than 17% of the interviewed use a password generator that can generate truly unique, random passwords. The upshot is, despite the numerous warnings, people continue to use horrendously easy-to-guess passwords. There is, of course, a reason for this. Some can conclude that such practices is from an atmosphere of laziness on part of users failing to create complex passwords. Others may simply think that creating a strong password isn’t necessary. However, use of a strong password is essential and will help combat data breach cases or help prevent hackers from infiltrating personal accounts over the vast superhighway that we call the Internet.

Password storage continues to be a problem

More than half (54%) of the people that took part in our survey try to remember their passwords, and roughly the same percentage fail to do it meaning that they're forced to reset their passwords four or more times a year. 28% of the interviewed go through the reset process more than ten times a year.

Those that don't rely on their brains for keeping track of all the passwords engage in other practices that are less than ideal. 22% of the participants use their browser's integrated password manager, and some write their passwords down on pieces of paper. Only 12% of the interviewed use a dedicated password management application that encrypts and organizes their login data.

We at Cyclonis believe that this should change. Furthermore, we believe that this change should come at no cost to the user, both in terms of convenience and money. That's why we created Cyclonis Password Manager – a free tool that helps you keep track of your passwords, credit card and profile information, as well as any other sensitive data that you might want to organize.

July 17, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 2 ?