由于冠状病毒关闭,Netflix用户无法获得支持

Slow Netflix Support Because of Coronavirus Shutdowns

为了阻止新的冠状病毒的传播,世界各地的公司都将其雇员遣返了家,并敦促他们避免社交互动。数千人仍不确定他们将如何应对,而其他人几乎看不到问题。他们已经准备好了Netflix播放列表,并且正在为观看狂热的马拉松做准备。当然,如果他们的Netflix帐户遭到入侵,他们的所有计划都可能崩溃,如果发生这种情况,他们可能正面临另一个由COVID-19爆发引起的问题。

由于COVID-19大流行干扰了支持代理的工作,因此Netflix用户努力找回自己的帐户

由于冠状病毒的爆发,电视剧迷并不是唯一被送回家的人。像其他所有公司一样,Netflix必须采取必要的预防措施来保护其员工及其亲人,这不可避免地影响了其日常运营。例如,客户服务运营商目前在家中工作,这意味着根本无法使用电话支持。用户只能通过聊天或流媒体平台的在线帮助中心获得帮助,而Netflix本身承认等待时间“更长”。

同时, Comicbook.com报告说,不缺很多被锁定帐户并需要帮助才能重新进入的人。可以理解的是,这些用户对漫长的等待时间感到沮丧,但除了对由此带来的不便表示歉意之外,Netflix并没有采取任何行动以确保他们正在设法摆脱困境。

的确,不可能预见冠状病毒爆发的影响,并且最好是将客户支持代理送回家。但是,人们希望看到世界上最大的流媒体平台正在寻找解决问题的方法,并且到目前为止,这还没有发生。还有其他问题。

研究人员找到了劫持会话Cookie和破坏Netflix帐户的方法

一位名叫Varun Kakumani的安全研究人员最近发现了一种破坏同一网络上Netflix用户帐户的方法。该漏洞利用了以下事实:Netflix的某些子域通过HTTP而不是HTTPS提供服务。结果,黑客可以执行Ars Technica的Dan Goodin 所说的 “经典的中间人攻击”并窃取会话cookie,这将使他们能够登录到目标的帐户。

应当指出,这不会导致帐户接管。如果他们窃取了您的会话cookie,则攻击者可以登录您的帐户,但是他们在不知道您的登录凭据的情况下无法分配新的电子邮件地址或密码。这并不意味着该漏洞应该被低估,不幸的是,必须说该问题的处理不是很好。

Kakumani通过Netflix的错误报告平台Bugcrowd负责地披露了该漏洞。最初,他被告知该问题不在流服务漏洞程序的范围之内,但是在他发布推文并发布了概念验证视频之后,Bugcrowd宣布他的初次报告已被驳回,因为它是另一个错误。

通过HTTP而不是HTTPS提供内容是完全不能接受的,尤其是对于像Netflix这样的大型已建立的服务,但是必须说这不是世界上最严重的错误。成功的攻击需要高水平的技能,并且如果黑客要窃取您的会话cookie,则它们需要与您位于同一网络上。

因为您使用弱密码或在多个网站上重复使用一个密码,所以您更有可能被帐户劫持。当前抱怨Netflix的缓慢支持的人可能对此感到内and,应该清楚地知道您需要做什么才能避免加入他们的行列。

March 23, 2020

发表评论

Netflix Users Can't Get Support Because of Coronavirus Shutdowns

Slow Netflix Support Because of Coronavirus Shutdowns

To stop the spread of the new coronavirus, companies the world over sent their employees home and urged them to avoid social interaction. Thousands of people are still not sure how they're going to cope with this, while others can hardly see a problem. They have their Netflix playlists at the ready, and they're prepping themselves for a binge-watching marathon. Of course, all their plans could come to a crashing end if their Netflix account is compromised, and if that happens, they might be facing another problem that was caused by the COVID-19 outbreak.

Netflix users struggle to get their accounts back as the COVID-19 pandemic interferes with support agents' work

TV-series fans weren't the only ones who got sent home because of the coronavirus outbreak. Netflix, like all other companies, had to take the necessary precautions to protect its employees and their loved ones, and this has inevitably affected its day-to-day operations. Customer service operators, for example, currently work from home, which means that phone support is not available at all. Users can get assistance only via chat or through the streaming platform's online help center, and Netflix itself admits that the wait time is "higher."

Meanwhile, Comicbook.com reports that there's no shortage of people who are locked out of their accounts and need help to get back in. These users are understandably frustrated with the long wait times, but apart from apologizing about the inconvenience, Netflix has done nothing to assure them that it's trying to find a way out of the situation.

It's true that foreseeing the impact of the coronavirus outbreak was impossible, and it's also true that sending customer support agents home is the best call. Nevertheless, people expect to see the world's biggest streaming platform look for ways of solving the issue, and as of right now, this is not happening. There are other problems as well.

A researcher finds a way of hijacking session cookies and compromising Netflix accounts

A security researcher by the name of Varun Kakumani recently discovered a way of compromising accounts of Netflix users who are on the same network. The exploit takes advantage of the fact that some of Netflix's subdomains are served over HTTP rather than HTTPS. As a result, a hacker can perform what Ars Technica's Dan Goodin describes as "a classic man-in-the-middle attack" and steal a session cookie, which would allow them to log into the target's account.

It should be pointed out that this does not lead to account takeover. If they steal your session cookie, an attacker can log into your account, but they can't assign a new email address or password without knowing your login credentials. This doesn't mean that the bug should be underestimated, and unfortunately, it must be said that the handling of the issue wasn't great.

Kakumani responsibly disclosed the vulnerability through Bugcrowd, Netflix's bug reporting platform. Initially, he was told that the issue is outside the scope of the streaming service's vulnerability program, but after he tweeted about it and published a proof-of-concept video, Bugcrowd announced that his initial report had been dismissed because it was a duplicate of another bug.

Serving content through HTTP rather than HTTPS is completely unacceptable, especially for a big, established service like Netflix, but it must be said that this is not the worst bug in the world. A successful attack requires a high level of skill, and if the hacker is to steal your session cookie, they need to be on the same network as you.

You are more likely to get your account hijacked because you use a weak password or reuse one on multiple websites. The people who are currently complaining about Netflix's slow support are probably guilty of this, and it should be pretty clear what you need to do to avoid joining their ranks.

March 23, 2020

Leave a Reply