Netflix用户报告收到要求更新其付款详细信息的欺诈邮件

因此,您收到了一封电子邮件,声明您需要“更新帐户以重新开始观看Netflix”。该消息旨在使您确信Netflix在处理帐单信息时遇到问题,因此,现在需要您更新付款明细。电子邮件(这是express.co.uk捕获的屏幕截图 )显示了著名的Netflix标志,而且看起来并不太普通。话虽如此,每当要求您更新任何类型的敏感信息(无论是密码还是支付卡信息)时,您都需要停下来思考一下。电子邮件是否合法,或者您被骗了?如果收到“更新您的帐户以重新开始观看Netflix”消息,那么您就被欺骗了,如果您陷入骗局,后果可能非常可怕。

谁会收到Netflix骗局电子邮件?

计划人员可以使用多种方法来吸引Netflix用户。策划者可以进行大规模垃圾邮件攻击,并向随机的人发送网络钓鱼电子邮件。在这种情况下,攻击者可能积累了从黑暗网络和地下论坛获得的电子邮件地址。当然,此方法不能保证误导性电子邮件会发送给Netflix的实际用户。但是,如果电子邮件到达了易受骗的Netflix用户,他们可能会被骗。在不同的情况下,攻击者可能只接近实际的Netflix用户。例如,他们可以采用设置不同的网络钓鱼诈骗来提取电子邮件地址和密码。总而言之,要回答这个问题-几乎任何人都可能收到Netflix骗局电子邮件,因此必须谨慎行事。如果您没有发现警告标志(可能包括发件人地址不熟悉,消息格式奇怪以及公开私密信息的非法请求),那么您可能会被诱骗单击“立即更新帐户”按钮。

不要单击“立即更新帐户”按钮

如果这样做,您将被转到伪造的Netflix登录页面,不幸的是,该页面看起来令人信服。如果您输入电子邮件地址和密码进行登录,这将使计划人员拥有强大的功能,因为登录凭据可以在线出售,这可能使任何人都可以劫持Netflix帐户。如果您不立即嗅探Netflix骗局,那么您可能会被诱骗透露支付卡信息。如果这样做,计划人员最终可能会使用此信息来进行非法交易,并且基本上可以窃取您的钱。不幸的是,一旦披露了这些信息,您将无法知道何时何地可以使用它。策划人甚至可以躺下一段时间掩盖自己的足迹。然后,有一天,在您最不期望的时候,您的银行可能会打电话询问您是否进行了奇怪的购买,或者您自己会发现未经授权的费用。因此,如果您最终被诱骗向Netflix骗局背后的人披露支付卡信息,则应立即与银行联系。他们将为您最好的下一步建议。

随着Netflix的兴起,可能会出现更多骗局

“更新您的帐户以重新开始观看Netflix”骗局并不是该流行流媒体服务用户遇到的第一个或最后一个骗局。据《福布斯》报道 ,Netflix仍然是世界上最受骗的品牌之一。在2019年,它排在微软,贝宝和Facebook之后的第四 。趋势很明显–计划者将目标对准了世界上最受欢迎的服务。 Netflix一直在稳步扩大其用户群,目前在190个国家/地区拥有1.58亿付费用户。因此,难怪该平台的用户经常会遭受网上诱骗。跟踪所有人确实是不可能的,但是就在一年前,我们报告了臭名昭著的“使用我们的会员更新身份”骗局 ,实际上与“更新您的帐户以重新观看Netflix”非常相似' 诈骗。也许是根据以前的骗局建模的,还是由同一计划者创建的?我们永远不会知道。

如何识别网络钓鱼电子邮件

由于更多的网络钓鱼骗局很可能在2020年及以后针对Netflix用户,因此了解如何识别网络钓鱼电子邮件非常重要。在试图提取私人信息的计划人员中,这种类型的骗局继续最受欢迎。因此,您需要非常注意收到的电子邮件。正如我们之前简要提到的那样,有几种警告信号可能会使将来更容易发现Netflix骗局电子邮件。首先,您始终要分析发件人的电子邮件地址。如果收件箱中还有其他来自Netflix的电子邮件,则可以比较地址,如果有出入,则应该可以帮助您识别欺诈。

您还需要特别注意收到的消息,因为如果这些消息没有意义,则可能会怀疑是欺诈。例如,如果您收到一条消息,指出您的账单信息需要更新,则应打开Netflix.com或Netflix应用程序。如果需要更新任何数据,则会在屏幕上看到一条消息。如果您能够照常流媒体播放,则除了报告误导性欺诈邮件外,您无需执行其他任何操作。要记住的另一件事是,您始终可以通过Netflix.com更新密码和付款信息,因此,如果您收到一封奇怪的电子邮件,其中包含指向合法网站的链接,我们建议您打开浏览器并直接转到Netflix.com。归根结底,如果Netflix希望您了解某些内容,则无论何时开始流播内容,都会通过该应用程序通知您。

如果您被骗了怎么办?

如果您在学习如何识别网络钓鱼电子邮件之前就迷上了Netflix骗局,则您的虚拟安全性就已准备就绪,特别是如果使用相同的电子邮件地址和密码组合登录其他网站和帐户,则尤其如此。即使只是您的Netflix帐户被盗,您也需要尽快更改密码。我们建议您使用可靠的密码管理器来帮助您。如果您之前从未尝试过密码管理器,请点击“立即免费试用30天”按钮,立即开始免费试用。如果您被诱骗披露与付款相关的信息,请迅速与您的银行联系以寻求帮助。将来,始终期望最好,但要做好最坏的准备。

January 13, 2020

发表评论

Netflix Users Report Receiving Scam Emails That Ask to Update Their Payment Details

So you received an email declaring that you need to ‘Update your account to get back to watching Netflix.’ The message is meant to convince you that Netflix had problems handling billing information and, therefore, you are now required to update your payment details. The email (here’s a screenshot captured by express.co.uk) displays the well-known Netflix logo, and it does not seem to be too out of the ordinary. That being said, whenever you are asked to update any kind of sensitive information – whether that’s a password or payment card information – you need to stop and think for a second. Is the email legitimate, or are you being scammed? If you have received the ‘Update your account to get back to watching Netflix’ message, you are being tricked, and if you fall for the scam, the consequences could be dire.

Who receives Netflix scam emails?

There are several methods that schemers can use to approach Netflix users. Schemers can perform a mass spam email attack and send phishing emails to random people. In this situation, the attacker might have an accumulation of email addresses obtained from the dark web and underground forums. Of course, this method does not guarantee that the misleading email goes to the actual users of Netflix. Nonetheless, if the email reaches a gullible Netflix user, they could be scammed. In a different scenario, the attackers might only approach actual Netflix users. They could, for example, employ a different phishing scam set up to extract email addresses and passwords. All in all, to answer the question – pretty much anyone could receive a Netflix scam email, and so caution must be exercised. If you do not spot the warning signs – which might include an unfamiliar sender address, strange formatting of the message, and illicit requests to disclose private information – you could be tricked into clicking the ‘UPDATE ACCOUNT NOW’ button.

Do NOT click the ‘UPDATE ACCOUNT NOW’ button

If you do that, you are routed to a fake Netflix login page that, unfortunately, might look convincingly real. If you enter your email address and password to log in, that already gives schemers great power because login credentials can be sold online, and that might make it possible for anyone to hijack your Netflix account. If you do not sniff out a Netflix scam right there and then, you might be tricked into revealing payment card information. If you do that, schemers could end up using this information to perform illicit transactions and, basically, steal your money. Unfortunately, once this information is disclosed, you cannot know who and when might use it. Schemers could even lie low for a while to cover their tracks. Then, one day, when you least expect it, your bank might call you asking whether or not you made strange purchases, or you might discover unauthorized charges yourself. Therefore, if you end up being tricked into disclosing payment card information to those behind the Netflix scam, you ought to contact your bank immediately. They will advise you best on what should be done next.

With the rise of Netflix, more scams are likely to emerge

The ‘Update your account to get back to watching Netflix’ scam is not the first or the last scam to hit the users of this popular streaming service. According to Forbes, Netflix continues to be one of the most phished brands in the world. In 2019, it landed in 4th place following Microsoft, PayPal, and Facebook. The trend is clear – schemers target the most popular services in the world. Netflix has been steadily expanding its user base, and it now has 158 million paying customers in 190 countries. Therefore, it is no wonder that the users of this platform are often exposed to phishing scams. It is truly impossible to keep track of all of them, but just a year ago, we reported the infamous ‘Update Your Membership with us’ scam that, in fact, is very similar to the ‘Update your account to get back to watching Netflix’ scam. Perhaps it was modeled after the previous scam, or was it created by the same schemers? We will never know.

How to identify phishing emails

Since more phishing scams are likely to target Netflix users in 2020 and beyond that, it is important to learn how to identify phishing emails. This type of scam continues to be most popular among schemers trying to extract private information. Therefore, you need to be very careful about the emails you receive. As we have briefly mentioned before, there are several warning signs that might make it easier to spot Netflix scam emails in the future. First and foremost, you always want to analyze the sender’s email address. If you have other emails from Netflix in your inbox, you can compare the addresses, and if there is a discrepancy, that should help you recognize a scam.

You also need to pay extra attention to the messages you receive because if they do not make sense, a scam could be suspected. For example, if you receive a message stating that your billing information needs to be updated, you should open Netflix.com or your Netflix app. If any data needs to be updated, you will be introduced to a message on your screen. If you are able to stream as per usual, you do not need to do anything else besides reporting the misleading scam email. Another important thing to remember is that you can always update passwords and payment information via Netflix.com, and so if you ever receive a strange email with a link to what looks like a legitimate website, we suggest you open your browser and go directly to Netflix.com. At the end of the day, if Netflix wants you to know something, you will be informed about it via the app whenever you start streaming something.

What to do if you have been scammed?

If you have fallen for the Netflix scam before you learned how to identify phishing emails, your virtual security is on the line, especially if the same email address and password combo is used for logging into other websites and accounts. Even if it is just your Netflix account that was compromised, you need to change your password ASAP. We recommend employing a reliable password manager to help you out. If you have not tried a password manager before, click the ‘Try FREE 30-Day Trial Now’ button and start your free trial today. If you have been tricked into disclosing payment-related information, quickly contact your bank to ask for assistance. In the future, always expect the best but prepare for the worst.

January 13, 2020

Leave a Reply