如何预防2019年的信用卡诈骗

尽管信用卡公司在2015年推出了芯片卡 ,但在减少实体卡重复时的欺诈案件方面发挥了巨大作用(仅在美国 ,事件数量下降了46% ),此后,黑客发现了提交方式这种欺诈在线。事实上,有很多策略和方法可以获取信用卡数据,这些数据可能允许犯罪分子以受害者的费用购物,申请信用等等。当然,如果您不想成为信用卡欺诈的受害者,您应该了解可以采取的预防措施来保护自己。此外,为了避免被骗,了解这些犯罪是如何发生的至关重要,这就是为什么我们提出网络犯罪分子今天使用的不同方法来尝试信用卡欺诈,因为他们最有可能在2019年使用相同的信用卡欺诈。因此,如果您来到这里学习如何防止信用卡欺诈,我们建议您阅读我们的其余博文。

信用卡欺诈如何发生

从垃圾中获取信用卡数据

这可能听起来令人惊讶,但一些犯罪分子仍然经历垃圾希望找到各种敏感数据。在这种情况下,他们可能会查找信用卡对帐单,以便了解受害者信用卡的详细信息。因此,在将这些文件扔到垃圾箱之前,您应该确保没有人能够从他们那里收集任何信息。为此,您可以粉碎或撕掉包含有关信用卡敏感信息的文件。

窃取未签名的信用卡

如您所知,除非签名,否则信用卡或借记卡无效。当然,不是每个收银员都会检查它是否已签名,而且今天大多数客户在付款时自己插入卡,这使得更难以注意到卡未经验证。不幸的是,任何可能窃取卡片的人都可以使用未签名的卡片,或者如果收银员看到卡片上的空白区域,则可以使用自己的签名。因此,出于安全预防措施,我们建议不要推迟这项简单的任务。签名卡只需要片刻,您应该在收到新卡后立即这样做。

使用所谓的撇油器

撇油器是可以读取和记录信用卡数据的设备。犯罪分子可以将此类设备连接到ATM设备,然后再返回以获取所有收集的信息。此外,只要主人没有看到,就可以使用这种设备刷卡;例如,它可能是在餐厅有恶意意图的服务员或当地酒吧的酒保. 换句话说,试图窃取您的信用卡信息的人可能是任何人,所以最好不要放松警惕。

使用网络钓鱼诈骗在线攻击信用卡用户

网络钓鱼诈骗是一种用于获取受害者敏感信息的技术。更确切地说,那些因欺诈行为而堕落的人甚至没有意识到他们正在向欺诈者提供信息。可以通过呼叫,消息传递,电子邮件或使用其他通信方式来使用此方法。例如,犯罪分子可以打电话给受害者并向他提供他可能感兴趣的东西。为了让它看起来更有说服力,诈骗者可以声称他代表着一家知名公司。对于在线黑客,他们可以发送电子邮件,说明您的银行帐户有问题,并要求您立即登录。但是,邮件中的链接可能会将您重定向到虚假的银行网页,如果您提交了PIN和密码,则可能会记录所有这些敏感信息。

其他在线信用卡欺诈方法

前两个提到的方法可能仍然在犯罪分子中使用,但现在通过网络钓鱼诈骗或在线提交信用卡欺诈更容易,而无需拥有实体卡。如今,寻求窃取用户信用卡数据的网络犯罪分子可以使用各种恶意应用程序与键盘记录器或其他允许收集用户按键的软件相结合。最糟糕的是,恶意软件可以记录敏感数据而受害者不会注意到任何事情。此类恶意程序的安装程序可能与盗版软件捆绑在一起,也可能附带垃圾邮件,等等。此外,攻击者可能会滥用易受攻击的网页,因为他们可能会将恶意代码插入其中。使用它,他们可能能够从受感染网站的访问者收集信用卡详细信息,密码和其他数据。

如何防止信用卡欺诈?

由于犯罪分子每天都会发现新的方法和策略,因此完全防止此类攻击可能是不可能的。尽管如此,我们每个人都可以做些事情,使攻击者成功完成信用卡欺诈的机会几乎不可能。首先,我们建议保护您的实体信用卡,不要让它离开您的视线,以避免在使用撇渣器时丢失信用卡或记录其信息。

接下来,如果银行机构通过您的信用卡注意到任何可疑活动,我们建议您设置可发送到手机的提醒。如果信用卡提供商无法提供此类服务,您应该不时在线监控您的帐户,以便更快地识别欺诈活动。请记住,最好不要在公共计算机上或在连接到公共Wi-Fi热点时检查您的帐户。最后,在未知的电子商店上提交您的信用卡详细信息可能会很危险,因此网络安全专家建议您选择信誉良好的商家和网页。

您可以采取哪些额外的预防措施来避免信用卡欺诈

正如我们之前解释的那样,一些黑客可能会使用键盘记录器来记录用户输入的敏感信息. 因此,保护自己免受信用卡欺诈的一种方法是确保您必须尽可能少地输入您的信用卡详细信息。更准确地说,我们建议将信用卡信息保存在密码管理器应用程序中。在这种情况下,您可以让软件自动填充所需的数据,而不是自己键入并提供某人通过记录您的击键来获取它的机会。例如,Cyclonis Password Manager允许您保存信用卡 ,身份证,驾驶执照以及您想要自动填写的其他详细信息。此外,您可以使用该工具为您的银行帐户生成强密码,您也可以将其存储在应用程序的加密保管库中。请记住,强密码可以显着提高您的在线银行帐户的安全性。

总而言之,看起来有很多方法可以针对每种情况进行信用卡欺诈,因此我们有责任确定我们的弱点以及犯罪分子如何欺骗我们。与此同时,我们必须为任何事情做好准备。正如他们所说,有些事情发生在你最不期望的时候。更不用说,随着技术和机遇的快速增长,网络犯罪分子变得越来越有创意,所以我们只能想象他们明年会想到的新的信用卡欺诈策略。如果您认为今年在保护银行信息方面表现不佳,我们建议您使用我们提供的提示并确保您在2019年的财务安全。

April 2, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 7是什么?

How to Prevent Credit Card Fraud in 2019

Even though credit card companies introduced chip cards in 2015, which made a huge difference in decreasing fraud cases when a physical card is being duplicated (the number of incidents dropped 46 percent in the United States alone), since then, hackers discovered ways to commit such fraud online. The truth is there are a lot of strategies and methods to obtain credit card data that may allow criminals to shop at the victim's expense, apply for credit, and so on. Naturally, if you do not want to be among victims of credit card fraud, you should know about the precautions you can take to protect yourself. Also, to avoid being scammed, it is crucial to understand how these crimes happen, which is why we are presenting the different methods cybercriminals use today to attempt credit card fraud as they will most likely use the same ones in 2019 too. Thus, if you came here to learn how to prevent credit card fraud, we encourage you to read the rest of our blog post.

How credit card fraud happens

Obtaining credit card data from garbage

It might sound surprising, but some criminals still go through garbage hoping to find various sensitive data. In this case, they may look for credit card statements that would allow learning details of the victim's credit card. Therefore, before throwing such documents to the garbage bin, you should make sure no one will be able to collect any information from them. To do this, you could shred or tear up the papers containing sensitive information about your credit card.

Stealing unsigned credit cards

As you know credit or debit cards are invalid unless they are signed. Of course, not every cashier checks whether it is signed or not, and today most customers insert the card themselves when paying, which makes it even harder to notice the card is not validated. Unfortunately, anyone who may steal the card could use it unsigned as well or put their own signature if the cashier sees the blank space on the card. Thus, for safety precautions, we would recommend against putting off this simple task. Signing the card takes only a moment, and you should always do so right after receiving a new card.

Using the so-called skimmers

Skimmers are devices that can read and record credit card data. Criminals can attach such devices to ATM devices and then later come back to obtain all the collected information. Also, such a device might be used to swipe the card whenever the owner does not see it; for example, it could be a waitress with malicious intentions at the restaurant or a bartender at the local bar. In others words, the person trying to steal your credit card information could be anyone, so it is best never to let your guard down.

Employing phishing scams to attack credit card users online

A phishing scam is a technique used to obtain the victim's sensitive information. To be more precise, those who fall for the fraud give out various information without even realizing they are providing it to scammers. This method can be used by calling, messaging, emailing, or using other means of communication. For example, the criminals could call the victim and offer him a great deal on something he might be interested in. To make it look more convincing, the scammer could claim he represents a well-known company. As for online hackers, they could send emails stating there is something wrong with your banking account and asking you to log into it right away. However, the link in the message might redirect you to a fake banking web page, and if you submit your PINs and passwords, all of this sensitive information could be recorded.

Other online credit card fraud methods

The first two mentioned methods might still be used among criminals, but it is much easier now to commit credit card fraud through phishing scams or online without needing to have the physical card. Nowadays, cybercriminals seeking to steal user's credit card data can use various malicious applications combined with keyloggers or other software that allows collecting user's keystrokes. The worst part is that malware can record sensitive data without the victim noticing anything. The installers of such malicious programs could be bundled with pirated software or might come with spam emails, and so on. Also, the attackers can misuse vulnerable web pages as they can insert malicious code into them. Using that, they might be able to collect credit card details, passcodes, and other data alike from the infected website's visitors.

How to prevent credit card fraud?

As criminals discover new methods and strategies every day, it is probably impossible to prevent such attacks completely. Nonetheless, there are things every one of us can do to make the attackers' chances of succeeding in credit card fraud close to impossible. First of all, we would advise protecting your physical credit card by not letting it out of your sight to avoid having your credit card being stolen or its information being recorded while using a skimmer.

Next, we would recommend setting up alerts that could be sent to your mobile phone if the banking institution notices any suspicious activity with your credit card. If the card provider cannot offer such services, you should monitor your account online from time to time so that you could identify fraudulent activities faster. Just keep in mind that it is best not to check your account on public computers or while being connected to public Wi-Fi hotspots. Lastly, it might be dangerous to submit your credit card details on unknown e-shops, so cybersecurity specialists recommend choosing reputable merchants and web pages.

What extra precautions can you take to avoid credit card fraud

As we explained earlier, some hackers may use keyloggers to record the sensitive information the user types. Thus, one of the ways to protect yourself from experiencing credit card fraud is to make sure you have to type your credit card details as rarely as possible. To be more precise, what we suggest is saving credit card information on a password manager application. In such a case, instead of typing it yourself and providing an opportunity for someone to obtain it by recording your keystrokes, you would allow the software to fill the needed data automatically. For example, Cyclonis Password Manager allows saving credit card, ID card, driver's license, and other details you want to fill automatically. Additionally, you can use the tool to generate strong passwords for your banking accounts that you could also store on the application's encrypted vault. Keep in mind that strong passwords can significantly increase the security of your online banking accounts.

To conclude, it looks like there are numerous ways to commit credit card fraud for every situation, so it is up to us to determine what our weaknesses are and how criminals could scam us. At the same time, we have to be prepared for anything. As they say, some things happen when you least expect them. Not to mention, with rapidly growing technologies and opportunities, cybercriminals become more and more creative, so we can only imagine what new credit card fraud strategies they will think of the next year. If you do not believe you did a great job protecting your banking information this year, we encourage you to use our provided tips and ensure your financial security in 2019.

By Foley
November 30, 2018
November 30, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 2 ?